Introvert and Solitude

89 121
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Experiences, Story, Writing, ...

November 15, 2020

There are times in our life that we experience being alone. But some people assimilate being alone with loneliness, however, those two words are actually different. Loneliness is when you feel sad because you do not enjoy your own company; However, being alone simply means not having someone around.

Photo by @Jane

Introverts like me love spending time to be alone. While extroverts dread it, it really depends on the individual. For some, loneliness seems to be a very hard feeling to feel and there is always a reason for this. I don't just enjoy being alone, I actually require it. And usually, I turn down party invitations and I prefer to curl up in bed with a good movie and snacks, books, or writing in my journal or articles. But when it comes to trips, you can count me in. I prefer going on trips to parties - I don't like the noise and the crowd.

People are asking why I like being alone. What is wrong with that? Since young, I never like going out just to visit my neighbor's or cousin's house to do chit-chat. Setting cynical topics that won't even benefit anyone of us. I know many who are like that. But for me, it's just a waste of time and I rather save my costly words for sensible conversations.

Photo by @Jane

Someone even told me that my words are limited, my laugh and smile are expensive that they often saw the curve of my lips. Yes, they are expensive because I only express my real thoughts and feelings to persons who are true to me. I hate fake people. If I can only dump them like plastics on a trash bin, for sure I will be needing more bins.

If extroverts enjoy sensation-seeking, partying, and risk-taking, we introverts do not need the same level of excitement. That is too much for us. Of course, we want friends and be liked by others too, but these rewards do not seem to be tantalizing for us. To be honest, we find us more overwhelming than satisfying, so we seek out a lot of quiet time to recharge after a long day.

Many don't like the idea to be alone without being distracted. They rather text someone, scroll through Facebook, fall into Youtube black hole, or do something else to keep their mind busy than completely be alone with themselves. We should understand that being alone is the best time to relax and enjoy solitude, or, it's our choice to allow anxiety to overtake us.

Why do I like to be alone?

Simply because,

I am more comfortable with silence.
As I have mentioned earlier, I don’t actually feel an urge to make unnecessary comments to the conversations that don't bring stimulation or meaning. I rather enjoy the silence of nature that is why I like hiking, listen to good music, read books, write journals or articles, without being near trivial chit chat. By doing such things, I felt like I am not lonely, rather enjoying the moment of being alone.

People can call me aloof, but I am fine with it.
Being alone is my way to reconnect to the "real me". It seems like I have the freedom to be who I am and be comfortable in my own skin without feeling pressure to change. Living in this extraverted word is exhausting. Sometimes, it is nice to shut down for a while and do what I love without being judged by others. Many thought that introverts feel lonely. No, we are not. Believe me or not, being alone even makes us feel less lonely than feeling left out and misunderstood by extroverts. Sorry for the extroverts out there.

Photo by @Jane

People call me too serious, minding every little aspect of my life, taking the simple problem seriously, and trying to solve it immediately. That is because introvert like me have a habit of internalizing problems. The end of the day is my time to empty my mind, to process my thoughts, and to problem-solve things that needed to be solved. I actually don't like going to bed with my head on fire or with so many worries, because I find it difficult to fall asleep. So as much as possible, I will try to solve any issues or problems at work or at home at the end of the day.

Once I find time to unwind at the end of the day, I typically reflect on daily episodes. Sometimes I need a way to release my thoughts in a healthy natural way.Β So that is the reason why I do blogging or expressing thoughts in another creative form like art.

Every time I can't express my thoughts, it seems like stress or a burden to me. I will really find a way to express it, or else, it will be accumulated in my mind which is not good and might lead to another depression. I have been there, so I don't want to go back to that horrible part of my life.

Of course, just because I tend to be introverted does not mean that I want to be alone all the time. Even the most introverted person also needs a support system and social connections. Once introverted people seek other people's attention or have the feeling to talk to others, that only means that we already have finished recharging our mental battery and want to use it.


Do you know that being alone is important to introvert's mental health?

Research says that, when introverts do not get enough solitary time, it can harm their mental health. Symptoms include:

  • Trouble sleeping or eating

  • Frequent colds

  • Headaches

  • Back pains

  • Allergies

  • Irritability

  • Difficulty concentrating and making a decision

  • Feeling trapped finding life meaningless
    exhaustion

  • Feeling disconnected from the usual self

I actually do not have any idea about these symptoms, until I have read an article about this matter. I sometimes have some of those symptoms, so that only means that I don't have enough alone time, especially during hectic schedules and the only thing I can do at the end of the day is to lie down on my bed and bid adieu to the toxic day.

For introverts out there, it is best to keep these symptoms in mind and often check in with yourself when you are not feeling good. Although it is easy to ruin everyday commitments that need us to always put smiles on our faces and accomplishments, health should never be set aside.

Always create time to prioritize your well-being. The world will not go and it can wait!

Β 

Written by: @Jane

40
$ 1.55
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
$ 0.10 from @bheng620
+ 5
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Experiences, Story, Writing, ...

Comments

Yeah I'm some kind of an introvert too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My son is introverted and lonely. He has a lot of problems with that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you talj with about that,? Sometimes you need to check on him coz there might be an underlying problem if his being alone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I changed from being an outdoor person to another version after having a family of my own.I don't attend occassions also even the ussual holidays it feels a normal day to me. I don't come out of the house more often. Only if there are important meetings outside. I am still an easy person to talk to but i ussually don't talk first anymore. But regarding your post i think i don't belong to any of it. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Why? Seems that you like to be alone too, so you belong there too 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha oh perhaps but atleast i have my family to give me company.. 😁 That i differ🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.family is always our company... Kala ko single kpa.. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes it is better to be alone, without losing company. Very nice text

$ 0.00
3 years ago

eems to be a very hard feeling to feel and there is always a reason for this. I don't just enjoy being alone, I actually require it. And usually, I turn down party invitation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly get this a lot. These days, the only people i enjoy tslking to are my best friend, mom and bf then if I'm feeling social enough, of course i love talking to you guys too. Even at work they already ssk why I'm so quiet, even my movements are so silent XD but that's me. Though i try to make conversation with them. The guys from the laboratory love anime too and that makes me happy UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am like that at work too.. And i don't talk until they approach me... That's why they call me too serious... Once i want to talk with others, simply means i an fully recharge.. But to virtual friends, i can talk anytime 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think you're too serious, probably thinking of something else though but at least the lab guys here spoil me :"" they bless me with anime and head pats because there's only 3 girls in the lab πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ idk. My interactions with people really depend on how tired my brain is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i am. Haha..if you will see me in person you will say that i am serious.. From the looks to gestures and postures.. Not that obvious in my photos.
At least you don't feel that bores in the lab.. Atleast you can talk to them bout animes 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, so not obvious in photos but let's see by the time i see you when you come back to ph? We still gotta go on samgyup and shabu shabu date UwU Well yeah and they play anime osts and i really love those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i remember that 😁😁 sana nga makadaan ako manila before umuwi ng province

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes pleaseee! Wanna see you in person at least once XD tho I'm not sure which are good places to get shabu shabu from :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanna see you in person too as well as other users in our group 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh sameeee! Maybe next year we could have a get together if it's possible :") i think it would be fun and well worth a try

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be fun 😁 but everyone is from different parts of Ph 😒 will be difficult to see each other . not unless all have the money to get together.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True ;;-;; let's see by next year though. Hopefully we can save enough for a get together if it's planned or something

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer being alone too. i don't like being in a crowd that sometimes I even think of myself as abnormal because I don't like talkimg even to my family members. I hate the noise and would prefer to stay in my room rather than talking nonsense with them. But there are few people who caught my attention and I'm comfortable being with them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here m I don't even like visiting my relatives to do chit chat.. I prefer staying in my room, listen to music, watch movies and write anything.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I could relate. Relatives are source of headaches πŸ˜‚ I mean their small talks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

some people assimilate being alone with loneliness, however, those two words are actually different.

I don't get it why they would associate being alone to loneliness when in fact alone time is perfect for meditation. I'd prefer to be alone than to be in a group.

If I'm going to write my thoughts about the whole article, I'm afraid I'll write another article on your comments section again πŸ˜‚. But one thing I can say, I can relate to every point on the article that I feel like you're an older version of me, no sugar coated words 🀚

Just don't mind those people, because they won't ever understand us, unless they're an introvert as well 😊

$ 0.03
3 years ago

i know you can relate to this 😁😁 i would like to read it... Extroverts don't know our real feelings, they often judge us for being alone.. We are actually more comfortable than being surrounded by a group of people..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. I remember back in high school, a lot of my classmates tried their best to make me an outgoing person but all of them failed. I appreciated their efforts though. They usually tell me that I'm too serious and just found out recently that they are actually intimidated because of my seriousness, like seriously? I'm also nice haha but with the right people.

And you are also right, from time to time, we also need to socialize with others as they say: 'no man is an island'.

I hope that someday I could have the chance to meet you for real hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Madam, pagkakasexy mo ga! 🀩 I enjoy my own company but I love to party party! Haha. Madam ikay magjowa jowa din, pumagibig ka rin huh! 😜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Saan baga jan ang sexy? 🀣🀣 wala kc nagkakagusto ko single parn 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some people like being comfortable spending time alone while some find it difficult and I have seen so many intorverts who use their word sensibly and when required and they are quite logical and a great human being

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, you really did a great job by developing this article, good job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

TRUE! I always have my ME time, sa beach, park, kahit sa resto ako lang mag isa kakain, okay lang hahah! My colleagues said its weird daw but it's not. It is an expression of who we are so who cares?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, realmente lo has publicado bien, puedo ver que eres un introvertido productivo y un aventurero tambiΓ©n

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i dont like to be alone dear,you wroze nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are all on point. You became the voice of the introverts instantly. I appreciate that. Hehe.

Introversion often gets the label of being boring and low energy but I beg to disagree. It's about finding the right people. If an introvert gets comfortable with the person, he/she can be the most cheerful in the group. However, as you said, we need alone time to recharge our energy.

Personally, my head hurts so bad if there's too much conversation that has been going and the crowd's noise. It is too overwhelming.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

True.. It is actually stressful dealing with other people and taking part with their conversations.. I don't even want to talk to be honest πŸ˜… unless they ask me something..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. We have the same personality talaga. Hehe ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya birds with same feathers flocks together 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally believe that. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know what I am. I like to be alone but still feel exhausted when people or any noise were gone. I love silence but I want to hear some noise

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Solitude sounds more positive for most people, but maybe for others personal definition also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can so much relate to you. I do want to be alone too. But it doesn't mean that I am lonely. Great read here. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

so you mean you are an introvert too? I seldom reach out with others or mingle with others.. Most of the time i want to be alone..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I admit that I am an introvert and there's nothing wrong with that. I can think better when I am alone. Me too, I seldom reach out to others but will mingle only when needed. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here... Kpg kelangan lng..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I typically reflect on daily episodes. Sometimes I need a way to release my thoughts in a healthy natural way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you really have posted it well I can see you are a productive introvert and an adventurous too 😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha... A not so typical type of introvert... I guess you remember my comment on your article πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that's why I immediately click your article πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading btw 😊 are you enjoying your stay here?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes the people are so friendly and embracing ,πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer being alone while watching movies and reading . I choose to be alone because that's what i want and also I don't have anyone to talk to. But even if I have, I prefert being alone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here.. I don't like talking with others tackling nonsense topics... But if i am with my true friends, i is fine with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also a person who is kinds of solitude. Minds are introverted. Nothing feels good. Feels depressed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I thought you are a kid who likes to mingle with friends. πŸ˜… new acct sajib?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sharing someone else's though πŸ˜‘, don’t worry. Yeah.. It's a new account. I'm getting now much better tips from bot. ❀️ 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can see that.. I guess it's because newbies gets better tips than old users now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don’t think so, everything is depend on writing style and how much interesting article you wrote

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really .some interesting articles don't get decent tips. It still depends on the bot.it is so random

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually girl's mind and out bot's mind are same. You can understand them πŸ˜ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 maybe the bot is a girl? 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have to invite the bot in my room to understand πŸ˜ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 your funny. Atleast you are earning now unlike before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I start loving it again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako talaga gusto ko laging mag isa, sanay na kasi ako. Lagi kasing iniiwan ee, charr..

Pero seriously, I love being alone too, I just love to stay in my room with my phone, headset and foodsssss. If for example nass labas ako ng bahay tapos may tao na dumating, papasok agad ako sa loob. Ayaw kon ng may kasama. Gusto ko ako lang sa isang lugar, it's not like I don't want to share, it's just that i'm more comfortable with it. Minsam nga natatawag pa ako ni mama na mangyan, kasi takot daw ako sa tao at hindi marunong makihalubilo. I mean, I like it that way kasi. Ayaw ko din ng naiiisturbo ako, pag example matutulog ako, tapos tinawag ako ni mother kasi biglang may itatanong sakin, may nagpapaload kasi kaya need minssn ng assistance. Pag lalabas ako, asahan no na ang mukha ko, hindi mo maipipinta sa pagkabusangot. Naiinis kasi ako. Gusto ko walang isturbo, ayaw ko ng kausap goodness. I'm happy this way, so happy lang tayo

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Sa bahay dn..kpg my bisita kmi pasok akovsa loob ng kwrto.nkasanayan na kc nung bata pa kmi, turo ni mama wag magin pasaway sa harap ng visitors.. Kya yun ginagawa ko..kpg nmn ksama ako sa mga invitations. Mas gusto ko sa pinakasulok umupo.. Malayo sa crowd.. Lol.. Parang taong bundok.. Naeenjoy ko lng ang crowd kpg kasama ko real friends ko

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga, mas masarap pa nga mag isa kesa may kasama ka nga mga dakilang tulperware naman, ay inaku wag na laang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate reading this post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I often to spend much time to alone. Introverts like me love spending time to be alone. While extroverts dread it, it really depends on the individual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also an introvert, I enjoy my own company, I don't like noise, I don't party, I so so much like traveling, but that doesn't mean I won't get married some days.....πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ ( Let's continue here)☺️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I thought you are already married πŸ˜…πŸ˜… enjoy being single because being in the married world is too different and complicated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why I want to remain single anytime I recall how married people act.... πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes it's when you are alone that makes you feel comfortable and happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you have indicate great point that Mark a good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It just feels great that someone out there have the same feelings/situation that you have. And yeah, personally, being alone is what i prefer than being in a group, especially a toxic one.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Toxic people just give me stress,.. Are you an introverted person too? Or ambivert?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Basing in your article, it somewhat defines me, so maybe I'm an introboys

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Introboy.. Sounds cool.. Like astroboy 🀣🀣 ✌✌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no, the keyboard again πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ͺhahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was that a mistake? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I forgot who tell me that silent people are mysterious. Is it correct?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is strange and mysterious when talking about silence.. However, there are many reasons behind it.. And for me, why i like silence is because am more comfortable with it.. And some reasons are mentioned above 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, now I know. So you're not mysterious girl. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course not.. I still know how to mingle with others.. But i prefer lesser crowd, and not so noisy..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh haha. I'm just curious. I have friends that silent people and she's so mysterious. Sorry my bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But have you talk to your friend why she likes being alone ? There is always a reason

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, ayaw ko po sya pakialaman baka sabihin pakealamera pa ako. Hinahayaan nalang namin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not being pakialamera if you are a concerned friend. Sometimes that kind of person needs attention from others as well. It's just that, they cannot say it hesitating to ask favors from others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lagi naman namin sya kasama kaya hindi nya need ng attention namin. Concerned kami pero iba iba ang takbo ng utak ng tao, sa iba pwede kang magtanong ng ganon, sa iba hindi. Baka ma- misinterpret lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago