Every Smile Counts!

65 105
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

March 23, 2022

I came across @Princessbusayo's article about Things That Makes Me Smile. This reminded me of someone who told me, "it seems like your smile is expensive, you seldom smile."

When people see my photos, they would perceive me as a jolly and happy-go-lucky person. Someone enthusiastic and outgoing as I love exploring and wandering around different places. I never curved my lips down nor formed lines on my forehead in my photos. Unless it's a stolen shot.

There were several times when I took photo IDs in different photo shops, the assigned staff would say, "your smile is pretty" and I would literally form a smile on my face because being praised with beautiful words is soothing to ears, genuine, not the fake one. I do know how to distinguish both.

I do love smiling in photos, because that's what makes me pretty, lol. Without curves on my lips, I feel like I look too serious and mature. Albeit, when in an uncomfortable situation or facing people I don't like interacting with, I couldn't form a genuine smile, and I would rather fake it. But when with people I truly like and am comfortable talking with, smiles would come out willingly.

Little did you know that I seldom form a smile, most especially at work. My boss' daughter would always say that my smile is expensive and she likes making jokes and other funny things just to make me smile. My sister once told me that the heart's exercise is through laughing as she also saw me being serious most of the time at home.

I grew up absorbing the responsibilities of others, and when I was younger, I hated staying at home as I always had tasks to do and needed to babysit my younger siblings. So an upside-down smile was always painted on my face. My neighbor once told me, "stop frowning early in the morning, you'll get old too young."

And having a solemn face stayed until I grew up. Every time I see jolly people who like laughing and smiling, I would always tell myself, "how does it feel to always be happy?" Because seriously, even at work, I would pull a face unexpectedly that often led to misapprehension or misunderstanding.

Ask people about their first impression of me. They would probably say, "suplada (unapproachable/snobbish), very serious, or unfriendly." So only a few people approach me first. I do have a serious face, but I am not snobbish or unfriendly because I like befriending people I'm comfortable talking with.

But do you know that my real character appears online? It got me confused why, but that's the fact. So how you perceive me is the real me, very optimistic, but unsmiling most of the time at work. I am friendly to those who show a good personality to me, I am snobbish to those I am not comfortable talking with. It happens not just in the real world, but also in the online world. As I could feel who is genuine and who's taking me only for granted.


But what makes me smile?

Smiling is seldom to me, but I would become optimistic and my day would be complete when hearing appreciative words and genuine praises from others. It makes me flatter and I become more motivated to work harder and do better things. I smile when people appreciate my little effort and positive deeds. On the other hand, I hate those who only see my mistakes, take me for granted, and don't know how to appreciate my hard work. I hate those who accused me of things I didn't and will never do. I hate those thinking negatively against me without any proof. Not just at work, but in all cases, both real and digital world. A genuine appreciation and praise are what could motivate me to strive harder. But that feeling of being taken for granted and misjudged is what makes me unmotivated and feel like I am not good enough.Β 

My smile may be expensive but appears genuinely when receiving small blessings. It is something not given to all people in this world, so appreciating the little things we receive is a way to smile. I smile when we have delicious food on your table. I smile when there are new clothes and other stuff in my wardrobe. I smile when my boss handed my salary to me, and frown when he forgets about it, lol. And I laugh out loud when I can see only a few coins are remaining in my purse, lol.Β 

I smile when people say "Thank you" after receiving good things from me, tangible or intangible. I smile too when receiving something from others. I smile when achieving my little goals and something new in life. I smile when seeing new places and experiencing new things. I smile when an opportunity knocks on my door. I smile when people think positively about me. I smile when something good and beautiful happens.

Life without the people I love would be worthless. I smile when seeing my family happy and in a good state as I could say that my effort is worth it. Their smiles make me smile. Their laughter makes me happy. Knowing that they are healthy makes me grateful. Because I live for them and that's my main purpose in this world. Just to see them smile all day, I would be at ease.

Each day I wake up positively makes me smile in the morning and throughout the day. It is indeed true that "starting a day right with a smile would make us optimistic the whole day and attract more positives." Each day is a blessing and something to put on a smile, not until work throws stress on me. It is something I need to change to make me a mindful person. And that is one of my goals this year.


What makes me smile are not the material things but the genuine intangible ones. From this day onward, I would put on a curve on my lips and would stay happy and blessed each day. Because every smile counts!

Smile, though life is tough. Because i's the prettiest thing we can wear.

What about you? What makes you smile? I'll leave this a challenge to you. I bet @Ruffa already made hers, haha.

And you know another thing that makes me smile? And that's when BCH is so green 😁.

Keep smiling and thanks for reading.

The Fu Shan trail in Tai O village will be the next 😁 Stay tuned!

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

32
$ 11.16
$ 10.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Smile always increase our beauty. I love to do smile although my smile is not so sweet.Your smile is so sweet ma'am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakahawa yung smile mo ate (walang halong bola). Ako ate laging nakasmile para daw akong timang yung nag try ako hindi mag smile na kita yung ngipon hindi daw bagay. Para sakin ate smile or smiling is nakakaganda at nakakaaliwalas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yup..nkakaganda hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also smile po kahit maliit lang na blessing kasi no matter how you look at it kahit bali-baliktarin mopa ang mundo..blessing parin iyan..and it's something we should be thankful. Pati pag wala ako pera..tinatawanan ko lang.. ngayon wala ako hawak ni piso ....na cash ..bitcoincash lang meron ako..😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's true you look beautiful with your smile when i see your photo in pink t-shirt and glasses your smile has brought a man's heart watching you carefully. I am praising this not for any other reason but you are really beautiful with a smile. sometimes people smile because they are forced to guarantee other people's feelings for me it's better to be silent but sincere and maybe that's what you do too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your smile is very precious. I love smiling too, I love laughing. I really want to have that moment always like I love being with gays because it will make me smile and laugh. Yan tlga ung pinaka gusto ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your smile Jane, it brightens your face and also it boost positive vibes anywhere 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is kind of true of me as well. I seldom smile not because I don't like to but because i hate having to fake it. If I have a genuine reason to , I do, but don't expect me to smile just bcos, although I'm npw learning to

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's pleasant to smile at all times. It relieves stress. Let's learn to smile whether we are appreciated or not cos most people don't even wanna see us smile. So prove them wrong and smile all the way

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha..tama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon lang kita nakitang nakangiti na kita yung teeth ate. And yes, you're naman talaga. I can say that you are smiling for real because your eyes sparkle too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay dami kya photos ko dto kita teeth ko na hndi mganda 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are hard working and lots of going on with you online. I guess that makes you look serious, absorbed in what you do.

During my working days at a BPO, we were always reminded to smile during our calls. I applied that in my current work as well and although I don't make calls it does brighten up your day and makes work go smoothly :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..minsan d ko namamalayan nkasimangot na pla ako 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was smiling all through especially staring at your first picture. Gosh, I love the smile as it brings that beauty out in you. ❀😘 Yes, we have different reasons why we smile and I did smile when you talk about not making your lips curvy, but I actually practiced it now and couldn´t help but smile. When I don´t smile, I feel like I am ugly 🀣 Let´s keep smiling as it is a way we can stay happy and be optimistic. Thank you for the mention.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Same ma..so let's keep smiling..but don't be like crazy smiling without reason 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do smile to any little thing and my friends thinks I take things for granted. Smiling make you younger even when you are getting really old

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Few days ago a colleague complained about my facial expression, how i was keeping a serious face without a smile, immediately i put on a smile on my face to avoid other people noticing what was going on. Smile has another special beauty it adds to our faces, if we maintain it every single moment then you could imagine how beautiful you will be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a beautiful smile Jane. Find more reasons to smile every day πŸ’™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You smile so beautifully, Janey and even from afar I can see that and I feel blessed knowing a sweet soul like you. I know your smile is magical and when we get to see, I would definitely stare for long hahaha. Get ready.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. I'm ready uncle 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I trust you 😍❣️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how much you are absorbed in your responsibilities and duties. The work and the success make you feel happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap namam tlga magsmile lalo sa mga taong totoo sa atin, at nakakaapreciate sa atin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama.. Lumalabas naturally

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't help when someone's words or simple acts makes me smile. I'm also not a smiley one but when I do it will probably a genuine one. You glow differently when you smile.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile is energy which is much more powerful the boosters.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now I can see it, You are truly beautiful with that smile, this is my first time seeing you po in your picture because the one that I always see is that cartoon be like one ( Your profile), I am glad seeing you in that beautiful smile πŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree ako sayo friend. Ang ating mga ngiti ay ngdadala ng laging kasayahan. Kahit may lungkot sa buhay. Ngitian lamang natin mawawLa ang ating problema. Sabi nga ni sis pachuchay nkkpgpabata bsta plangiti. Tama iun kaya dapat lagi tayong mg smile.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha tama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you smile, a different beauty emerges in you. it's beautiful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also not used to smile which is supposedly good to start a new day with smile. Many people said that I am strict because of my ugly face. But what makes me smile is when I saw my children they are happy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are not ugly friends, nobody was create to be ugly. Add more beauty to that face with a smile even when your kids are not around you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The smile a mother πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh ang bilis nakagawa ka agad hahaha baka akoy bukas pa haha.

Anyways, ako di talga ako pala smile in real life ee lalo pag sa harap ng maraming tao. I only smile if something good happen to me or pwdng isang tao din ang dahilan kaya ako nangingiti. Pero nangyayari lang yan talaga pag asa bahay ako, ahahaha. Napagkamalan pang loka loka kaso di lanh tawa kundi halakhak talaga ginagawa ko jahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣.. Halakhak mag isa? πŸ˜…. Ako din naman.. Magsmile kung may magsmile sakn..pro palasimangot ako 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, people are really the most beautiful whenever they smile. You are indeed one of them. No lie. I want to suddenly write something about smiling, too. πŸ˜€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha . go na Mare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you have such a beautiful smile! I am a smiling person. Even when I’m going through hard times, I always laugh because it’s in my nature. I know people who have a hard time laughing even when something is really funny and on the contrary, I laugh very easily and that makes my life easier and more beautiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My smile is expensive..my laugh is rare 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama nga naman kasi sil, kaganda mo naman kasi kapag nakangiti kaya smile often.. Saka nakakabata kapag lage nag ssmile..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lage na ko mag smile 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah, yan dapat..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako di rin ako palangiti kaya madalas napagkakamalang suplada haha.. makasulat nga din about smile haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Ayun..madami na kyo magsusulat ,🀣..suplada dn tingin nla sakn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha kaya nga.. suplada ka talaga ayaw mo kibuin yung lagi nasunod sayo dyan sa hk πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ibang usapan yun 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaa sabi na eh.. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The word "Thank you" does a thousand thing to me too. it makes me smile. by the way, you've got a great smile ate. it's beautiful

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you too πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! For been always there :)

  • I hope you can smile now. 😊
$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Thank you 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You definitely have to smile often or always, you look great with it :) And the heart gets lighter too when there's an upside curve in the lips hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang genuine ng smile kahit wala pang nagpapa smile 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. Wag naman 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA sad life ry πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takot pa ata sa commitment eh πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago