Airdrop Post: My Last Moon Festival Experience In Hong Kong

74 131
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 23, 2021

Time of writing: 11 am 09/22/21

Before I jump to the main topic of this article, let me introduce to you the $NOMAD coin. It is a SEP20 token on SmartBCH that acts as a Nomad-to-Nomad medium of exchange. You can visit the website for more information about the coin.

https://nomadcoinproject.wordpress.com/

To join the airdrop, check this article below.

https://read.cash/@nomadghada/nomadcoin-airdrop-is-here-764d6fbe

Looking forward to using this token in traveling and buying goods and other stuff. 😁

First, let me show you this beautiful full moon captured on the night of September 21, the exact date of the Moon Festival. It's filtered to make the night more magical and removed the bruises on my arm which I got from the cupping therapy, haha. You can check my original post with this photo on noisecash using this link https://noise.cash/post/174jx2gg.


Mid-Autumn Festival, Mooncake Festival, Moon Festival, whatever you call it, is one of the most popular festivals in Chinese countries like Hong Kong. It happens every 15th day of the eighth month in the Chinese calendar, which landed on the 21st day of September this year. Since the celebration typically happens at night, the day of the festival is not a public holiday. However, since people have different celebrations at night that usually continue up to midnight, the following day is a holiday. And that is September 22, Wednesday, this year. This gives me an additional holiday for this week aside from Sunday, thus, an opportunity to make my last Mid-Autumn/Moon festival worth it.

Eleven months ago, I posted an article about how Chinese celebrate the Moon Festival. Last year's Moon festival wasn't that enjoyable because of the pandemic restrictions. People just stayed at home and were not even allowed to gather around. So it was kind of a boring Moon Festival. No special events as well and lesser Moon Festival public displays. And I remembered I visited a park that day as I was expecting to see public displays. But there was nothing so I opted to just roam around the park.

This year's pandemic restrictions have been lifted and are less strict compared to last year. People are already allowed to gather around and celebrate special occasions in different buffets or ordinary restaurants, or even at homes. Then I found out that there are lantern displays this year in this article Best Lantern Displays Hong Kong Mid-Autumn Festival 2021.

I got excited to see and capture those lantern displays because that would be my last Mid-Autumn photos here in Hong Kong. From the places listed in the article, I chose the three places that are nearest to my place and I read that some displays are available up to the 22nd day of September only. Without hesitation, I dressed up and off I went to visit the three places.

Jane the explorer can't go with an empty stomach so I have to fill it to fuel my journey. I saw this new recipe in the Fairwood restaurant where I usually eat during the weekend. Pork chop in white curry sauce and they gave me a free lemon soda drink. Probably because it's a holiday and they don't have many customers, lol.

After eating my lunch, I traced the locations on the map to easily locate them.

From the nearest to the farthest.

  • Wong Tai Sin Temple & Temple Mall

  • Kwun Tong Promenade: Fly Me To The Moon

  • Lee Tung Avenue: Lanterns to the Moon


First off...

Wong Tai Sin Temple

Coincidentally, Wong Tai Sin Temple celebrates its 100th anniversary this year. Its colorful pillars and golden roof adorned with blue friezes, yellow latticework, and multi-colored carvings compliments the magnificent colors of the Mid-Autumn lantern displays all over the place.

Prior to entering the temple, you'll see stalls selling Chinese trinkets, charms, and different decorations.

On the entrance hall are the two giant colorful dragon lanterns welcoming the visitors.

More giant lanterns in the different sides of the temple with notable references under the cultural Chinese heritage.

This heart-shaped float symbolizes the year of the goat.

I finally used my pretty long skirt 😁

Another lantern display of Qilin that brings auspicious.

At the Good Wish Garden are more floating lanterns of different zodiac signs and recreation of cultural imagery.

The temple is so huge with different parts but it's relaxing strolling around the temple. I got a pretty shot of this hanging lantern and this beautiful colorful pillar with the sun shining brightly above them.

While walking around the archway, I saw these pretty flowers inside the bottle.

It seemed like a non-ending temple and I found more Chinese pavilions at the northern part of the garden.

After an hour of strolling around, I stumbled across the main part of the temple where people were burning incense and doing their praying rituals.

You can't really tell that there is a pandemic here because the place is so crowded, except for the masks on their faces.

And that's where I ended my tour inside the temple as I opted to visit the mall next to it because it was freaking hot.


Golden Autumn Lumiere

After visiting the lavatory, I've seen people queuing at one corner of the mall taking photos inside the interactive installation called "Golden Autumn Lumiere." It is a mirrored room with lantern decorations on the ceiling.

Posted this on noisecash, so I have to use screenshots for this part. πŸ˜…

That was after almost an hour of lining up, lol. Thanks to the staff, I got this pretty photograph.


Kwun Tong Promenade: Fly Me To The Moon

It was past five in the afternoon already when I reached the Kwun Tong station. Unexpectedly, I had a very long walk as I thought that the moon display was just right around the corner. I almost lost my way due to this stupid Google map. I was lucky to see a Filipina who taught me how to get to the place. I was heading in the left direction but the display was on the right, lol.

While heading in the right direction, I've seen hundreds, perhaps, thousands of people heading the Kwun Tong promenade just along the harbor. A Filipina said that people were waiting for the moon to glow and it's the first time to have a moon display in HK.

The moon just landed in Hong Kong πŸ˜…. The scenery looks so pretty with the sunset πŸ₯°.

A closer look at the moon, I mean, the moon display.

My plan to visit the lanterns displays in Lee Tung Avenue was canceled because of this moon display. People said that the moon will glow at 7:30 pm which was too long to wait. But I got hooked by the view and even stayed there longer until nightfall.

I love the scenery by the harbor showing the city's glittering and shimmering lights and boats sailing around with passengers wanting to have a closer look at the moon.

Several drones were in the air. The moon did not glow yet, it's just a light reflection from the building in front of the harbor.

I got tired of standing because I also had a long walk that afternoon so I opted to leave the place and at 7:15, I head back to the MTR station which was quite far from the venue. It was only 15 minutes before the main event, whatever that thing they were waiting for that will happen to the moon, glow or fly, lol. But the theme says, "Fly to the moon." I'll just wait for the news then.

There was a singing contest as well near the harbor, and kids were still playing at the water fountain.

The hanging lanterns lighted up at night and I had a chance to take selfies with them.

Excuse my eyebags πŸ™ˆ

Here's another closer look at the moon display. It really resembles the real moon right? I took this photo before leaving the place, in fact, I took many shots, haha. In case I need them for future meme contests, lol.

It was a tiring day but I enjoyed my last Moon Festival experience in HK. Because of this moon thingy display, I wasn't able to eat my dinner and I only bought two pieces of cupcakes and ate them on a bench near our building before going back home πŸ˜….

Moreover, I was amazed by the number of steps I've got for this day. 16,052 steps with 48% brisk walking and reached 12.04 km distance. Just wow.

That's all folks, and thanks for reading this virtual tour.

I started writing this article at 11 am, continued while walking, and finished at 8 pm, haha.

Til next time πŸ˜‰.

Don't forget to check the article above about NOMAD coin. Thanks 😘

My SmartBCH address:, 0xf5d93eEce5bc27d5733d0aC0838F18F16C01075B

You are free to send some coins 🀣

39
$ 15.72
$ 14.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 29
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You really enjoy so much and fun for the whole activity and i like the way the moon that you captured and it was too big. While i used artuficial moon to captired the full moon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jane , I felt like traveling with you by seeing those pictures! It is just amazing, this is a beautiful festival, I definitively need to go there and experience it by myself, thanks for showing us this! Now Moon Festival is gonna be on my list!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The overflowing positive vibes brought by the festival there is the one I truly miss here in our town..it's been 2 years narin na walang nakasabit na dekorasyon sa mga daan ..at yung nagdradragon dance.. That moon pic is awesome po ..parang abot kamay na ang buwan .πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am amazed how they celebrate the Moon festival even in these difficult times. Seeing your photos gives me a slice of experience in Hong Kong. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Prang normal lng dto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are free to send us coins too, ms. Jane πŸ˜‚ I can see you enjoying the festival with that pink shirt

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice, you made it Jane. I have a moon festival at each full moon πŸŒ• even if it’s just staring at it in my garden. Great pictures, I love them all πŸ’™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you . full moon is really lovely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a nice walk I just took with you, I enjoyed every part of your publication.

Only the Chinese can bring down the moon and make it, shine, fly and so on hahaha.

When I saw that lunch I exclaimed how divine, it provoked me. How nice those festivals full of color and amazing images, I like the spiritual that Asians are because they are always doing rituals for everything, for the moon, for the sun, for the wind, I'm exaggerating a little.

The photo with the room of lamps and mirrors is beautiful, the time you spent in the queue was worth the sacrifice because that photo turned out great.

And to say goodbye because this looks like a post, you do not notice the bags under your eyes, thanks for this walk, happy day.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha.. Yeah you have a long comment there. Thank you for stopping by amiga 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this enjoyable virtual tour of the Moon Festival! I love all the pics you took.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

amazing..mas naamaze ako sa number of steps.. exercise na din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Kya nga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pick from all the pictures was that with the lanterns...i saw it on noisecash and i looked magical. The picture with the moon is also beautiful

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The moon was really fascinating.. Especially when it glows because of the reflection of the light

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng moon festival sis. Galing naman at na experience mo yan... Kelan kaya ako? Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Soon hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheheh hayssttt sana magka totoo yan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful celebration! Never heard of this one. And these pictures made me fall in love with the celebration. Thanks Jane.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

halaaaa ate ang ganda ng shots mo, puro instagramable lahat. Pinaka favourite ko sa lahat yung photo mo with lanterns, ang ganda haha. I can see na you're enjoying the Moon Festival! Wish I was there too HAHAH

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamuch. Napost na sa IG 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, I also want to join saduuy huehue.

Ang gaganda jan madam, gaganda din ng kuha. Samsung pang shot mo? Sana sa sunod may ka date kana at di nalang alone ano? Haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Vivo madam. Haha. May article ako bukas 🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wonderful festival. Full moon festival is so fascinating. It so fun to travel alone. Thanks for sharing your shots I feel like I was there also hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A succulent lunch for a great tour. I like all this colorful display of festivity. And this moon as a representation. You had an excellent day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I did 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks wonderful! The festival was real colorful and the decorations are beautiful. The moon was no small feat, and it can even reflect light just like the real one!

I will definitely check out the NOMAD airdrop, I ain't going to miss that opportunity πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sure. Then make your article about trips πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So how should we greet you then, ms. Jane? Is it Happy Moon Festival? Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha oo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AWESOME. What a marvel of photographs friend. Really amazing. I really like your style. You are an inspiration to everyone. Good health and good luck. Happy day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's like a dream travel for me. But I guess I could never the same as you had. I can't walk that long, let alone make 16,000 steps wow. And I really love that the Chinese have so many celebrations. Wish I could witness that Moon Festival for myself. If only this pandemic would end soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nkakapagod yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba po marami din bus diyan Hong Kong ate? Or medyo pricey ba yung pamasahe? Pero atleast nakapamasyal ka po hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi naman. Sakto lng 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed your last Moon Festival. It was a nice virtual tour by the way, thanks for being our tour guide through this article. The last photo of the moon reminds me the movie β€œdespicable me” where Gru steals the moonπŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omyy all the photos are instagrammable especially the one taken at the Golden Autumn Lumiere. It can make a good profile picture.

I have also many cancelled classes last Sunday, Monday and Tuesday too because of the Moon Cake Festival.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really? You guys are celebrating too? There is only one holiday here 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was holiday for my students from China. I'm here in the Phils.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Online teacher ka pla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito pala yung nakita ko na post mo sa noise kagabi. Iniisip ko kung saan yun at parang totoong moon talaga. Akala ko edited photos, etc lang..

Anyways, mukhang busog na busog ang mata mo sis , dun palang sa makukulay na lanterns panalo na.

Enjoy mo ang stay mo jan at ingat na din.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat 😁hndi yan edited haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko talaga dun sa kagabing post mo sis.. Kasi nagkataon din na full moon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. One question first. πŸ˜‚

So does the Chinese use a different date to the one we use on the Gregorian calendar? 😳

And the moon festival I can feel it’s totally fun and I remembered watching scenes like this in their movies. Hehehe.

But don’t you think it would be much more fun If we visited those places together. 🀭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haham. Sure. So I'll have a photographer 🀣..they are following the chinese calendar..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s my pleasure

I am satisfied if I could just have a selfie 🀳 with you πŸ˜‚

Then i show it to my children and grandchildren that I met with my virtual crush in real life. And I took this selfie

I would tell them to pass it down generations πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. You're so funny .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jane, your picture with touching the moon perspective and all the other pictures attached are simply outstanding and incredibly colourful.. thanks for sharing the beauty with us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap may kasamang jowa jan char! Hahaha. Para ka na ring Chinese Ate hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaso wala 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayee sis! You had a very colorful moon festival day! Your shots are amazing and you have proven yet again that one can have a lot of fun even by herself :) Please invite me next time, lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha . no choice but to go alone 🀣 .sure, i would love to invite you next time because you're a great photographer 😁🀞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are lovely and I believe will be lovelier with an arm candy :) I will be honored to join you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tiring as that escapade may be, it is fulfilling anyway! your smile says it all. and that moon lantern is so nice! . . .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really so nice sis. It's not a lantern, I guess they shipped it from China because I saw a giant moon as well before in one of the moon festival photos in China.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already tasted moon cake LoL, ano kaya pinagkaiba diyan sa natikman ko? Whahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Baka same lng haha. Lasang hopia b? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had me at airdrop ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know right 🀣🀣 same with moregen 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all thanks for the air drop opportunity.

I love the vibe here. Everything is in vivid colors and it looks like there is a lot going on. Is it your first time there? Do they do it every year?

Your long dress is nice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There's none last year because of strict covid protocols but it's an annual tradition...this year is better so they celebrated the festival..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the pictures - especially the ones of the moon on a boat. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I know you are here because of the airdrop post on the heading 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's obvious you had fun. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to hear about your experience in Hong Kong. My hobby is to go to Hong Kong. It is a dream city of mine. But never went, hopefully one day I'll be gone. To enjoy it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? When ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great well written article, Hong Kong sounds great. Sent you 20,000 NomadCoin, now you are a Nomad whale

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll for that. Thank you 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep writing

$ 0.00
2 years ago