What makes a Journey Exciting?

9 55
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

In the past, I was so focused mainly on my long-term goals. Every year, I would rewrite my goals. Updating them. But I wondered, why am I not getting any closer to my goals. Perhaps my goals were too big for me to reach in such a short period? Then, recently, I realized why.

"Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it" -Greg Anderson


Hello, wonderful readers. It's the first day of 2022. So before anything else, let me greet you, "Happy New Year!"

 The new year always marks a fresh start. A new chance to start a new journey, or continue an old one. However, if we don't learn the lessons from the past, we might end up making the same mistakes all over again.

 One thing I learned recently is, to reach my destination, I have to prepare and focus on the journey.


First Set Your Destination.

Our goals are our destinations. We need to know where we are going. If not we will be like a boat at sea that doesn't know where to go. We end up drifting, carried by the current. Going nowhere.

Give your life meaning. Do you have dreams? Things that you want to do or have? Turn them into goals.

"A goal is a dream with a deadline!" - Napoleon Hill

 As for me, I have my goals listed a few years ago. I just wish I made those goals when I was younger. It's never too early to set your goals. The younger, the better. Also, It is never too late to set your goals.

 When and where to start

Once you know where to go, decide when and where to start. Don't wait for the right circumstances or the right time to start. The best time to start is "NOW".

Don't wait for next week or tomorrow. Start today.

 Don't wait for the perfect condition. It may never come. If you are on a boat adrift at sea with no wind, start paddling.

 Start with what you have and what you can do.

 I have been planning to start a small business, but I don't have the financial resources to start one. Now, I am earning online and offline. I am saving for the amount I need to start my business.


Related post: Start Where You Are


Plot your course.

You know where to go and you now know where you start. You can now plot your course towards your destination. Make a plan on how to get there.

This is what kept me away from achieving my dreams. I did not know how to get to my destination. I know where I want to go, but there are so many circumstances, distractions. I was on a boat floating at sea with no sails nor rudder. I had no control. I was going in circles.

Now I know better. I am now on the right boat it seems.

 Be ready to adjust your sails.

The wind will not always be favorable. A lot of times I felt I was going against the tide.

This is what makes a journey exciting and sometimes frustrating at the same time. There are always a lot of obstacles in a journey, and so many distractions. Sometimes, I even lost sight of my goals. Thus there are times, I need to change direction to go around the obstacles or just to keep going.


Related Post: When the Wind Goes the Other Way, Adjust Your Sails


Keep Going

This is where perseverance comes in. The journey is not always easy. It's not a luxury cruise. But this is what makes us wiser and stronger. The obstacles and distractions we encounter are the things that make the journey more exciting.

The bigger the obstacle that we have hurdled, the sweeter the victory.

Don't stop. Keep going. And keep learning along the way


Related Post: Setting My Eyes on The Price to Keep Me Going.


 Final Thoughts

I used to write about my dreams and plans at the start of the year. But this time, I want to keep them private. But I will share about little victories along the way.

Lastly, I hope 2022 is a much better year for all of us here. Let's continue to support each other and help each other. Once again, Happy New Year! 

Thanks for reading.


Check out my other content at:

8
$ 10.50
$ 10.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

What a motivational words... I am already greatful for small developments,we dont need to hurry and be competitive,. We just need to enjoy the journey no matter how far we will go😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very insightful piece, I have been greatly inspired. My short term goal for the month is to get new altcoins on my trusted multi-coin wallet from https://atomicwallet.io/.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to set goals for our future and at the same time we need to understand that when we start to enjoy our journey too that's when we can fulfil all our dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should learn from the past, and that brings us guide for the new year 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gave a big trouble with my procrastination... Starting now is harder than it seems, especially when it's easy to justify waiting for the tiny thing you lack. While forgetting the 20/80 rule: 80% of the results is caused by 20% of the work/resources. So if you have that 20% you're set!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy to see that you are at Forum coin too. I was there but not active anymore. Also, I might do the same. I will not write my goal but share my victories more, even the little ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often feel like I am standing still amidst people hurrying to and fro. Unlike me, they know where to go. But this is a journey. I have to get myself to somewhere meaningful. The best destinations are difficult to reach and could be hidden until we find it. Happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year 🎉 dear, or expectations are quite good and every journey would to destination if we work for it and made a perfect time table for this. May God bless you and helping to achieve your goals,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year Sir, I hope you achieve your goals kung ano man po iyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago