How we actually treated our parents.

4 42
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Writings, Learning, Read, ...

Have you noticed that when we were children we played with our parents, we were always clinging to them, and we wanted to be with them wherever they went. But when we become adults we look to them only when we are in need or going through some problem, for our parents to get us out of that predicament.

I am reading a book entitled: "IT'S THE COW'S FAULT." It contains a compilation of anecdotes, parables, fables, and reflections. Its compilers are: Jaime Lopera Gutiérrez, and Marta Inés Bernal Trujillo. 

 Reading this book, I came across a story that is a kind of parable with a very interesting and real reflection, which sadly happens a lot nowadays. For this reason I wanted to write this article on this subject, and share the story with you, for which I made a series of drawings to illustrate the story and make it a little more interesting. I want to add that I am only an amateur illustrator, so they are not professional quality illustrations.

The apple tree.

This was a huge apple tree that a little boy loved very much. Every day he played around it.

He would climb to the top, eat its fruit and take a nap under its shade.

The tree also loved him very much. As time passed, the boy grew up and never played around the tree again.

One day the boy came back, and heard the tree say to him with some sadness.

- Are you coming to play with me?

But the boy answered:

- I am no longer the boy I used to be who plays around trees. Now I want to have toys, and I need money to buy them.

- I'm sorry," said the tree, "I don't have any money, but I suggest you take all my apples and sell them; then you can buy your toys.

The boy took the apples, got the money and was happy. The tree was happy too, but the boy did not come back.

Some time later, when he returned, the tree asked him:

 - Do you come to play with me?

 - I don't have time to play, I have to work for my family and I need a house for my wife and children. can you help me?

 - I'm sorry - replied the tree - I don't have a house, but you can cut my branches and build your house.

The man cut off all the branches of the tree, who was happy and did not come back.

One hot summer day, he came back. The tree was delighted.

- Are you coming to play with me? - I ask it.

- I feel sad, I'm getting old. I want a boat to sail and rest. Can you give it to me?

The tree answered

- Use my trunk to build one; then you can sail and you will be happy.

The man cut the log, built his boat and went sailing for a long time.

He came back after many years and the tree said to him.

 - I am very sorry, but I have nothing left to give you, not even apples.

 The man replied:

 - I have no teeth to bite nor strength to climb, I am old now.

 Then the tree, crying, said to him:

 - I really can't give you anything. All I have left are my dead roots.

 The man replied:

 - I don't need much now, just a place to rest. I am tired after so many years...

 - Well - said the tree - the old roots of a tree are the best place to lie down and rest. Come, sit with me and rest.

 The man sat down next to the tree and the tree, cheerful and laughing, let some tears fall.

REFLECTION:

 This story is a figurative comparison of the life of each of us; the tree symbolizes our parents. When we are children, we love them and play with them. When we grow up we leave them alone; we go back to them when we need them, or when we are in trouble. However no matter what, they are always there to give us everything they can and make us happy, you may think the boy is cruel to the tree, but isn't that how we sometimes treat our parents?

 We need to be more aware of our parents. Remember that the older we get, the older they get. The more time goes by, the more our beautiful old people want to see us, and the more they want to feel that we still love them. Let's show them love and appreciate them while we still have the joy of having them with us. If they live far away, let's call them on the phone. If they can't come to visit us, let's visit them, and show them that they are still important to us. Let's not wait for them to leave this world, and then say that we miss them.

 How many times did you look for them in need, but never to know how they were?


Dear readers, your opinions are very valuable to me, I will be very attentive to your comments. Thank you for investing your valuable time reading my post, best regards.


Disclaimer: I would like to let you know that English is not my mother tongue, I may even make some mistakes in the elaboration of sentences in my posts. Feel free to correct me attentively. It will help me in my learning process.


My comics on reflective themes:

What some long for, others do not desire.

Let us not judge people by their appearance without first getting to k...

No matter how hard we try to hide it, the truth always comes out. / La...

Infidelity is the necessary step to mistrust.


Articles related to being a writer:

Writing a book.

Imagination, our best ally.

Characteristics of a writer.

Inspiration, source of wisdom.

The idiom present in the text.

Character creation.

Choose a place for your story

Choose your style when writing.

Taking notes and jottings.


You can follow me on:

Facebook - Instagram - Youtube


My Blogs:

Ecency Noise.Cash - publish0x

3
$ 0.57
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @itsmeCguro
Sponsors of JCnakama
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JCnakama
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Writings, Learning, Read, ...

Comments

The Giving Tree is one of my favorite short stories. I think I've read another story that is related to this one with a different ending, since the tree here is more on giving, the story that i've read mentioned a healthy boundary on when to stop giving. Indeed, our parents aren't getting younger, let's treat them better or else we'll carry with us a heavy regret.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt my friend I will investigate the story you tell me. Thanks for reading and commenting, we will be reading, greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time I read a beautiful story like it... thanks for sharing this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good friend that you liked it, I also liked it a lot, that's why I wanted to share it. Greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago