Just a ramble -Wednesday edition

28 71
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

It’s a normal thing to see people taking advantage of others kindness. I’ve got a soft spot that is known to a lot of my friends and acquaintance and it doesn’t come as a surprise to see a lot of people exploiting it to their advantage. A few months back I received a call from a friend that he needs cash, he sounded desperate and promised to refund it that same day when he gets home. I had nothing in the bank, just cash and it was so early that I couldn't get a POS stand to do the transfer. I called my brother to help me send the money to him, which I refunded in cash.

I planned to reject a refund since the money was just a little above $5 back then. Moreover, what are friends for? Since he promised to return it that same day, I waited for his message, expecting him to request for my account number, and my rehearsed lecture was "Don't worry brother" but his message never came in. The next day no message and days after.

For weeks he didn’t return the money as promised, neither did he mention it once. We met in school and he completely ignore me. sometime later he came to me and we chatted as if nothing transpired between us during the holiday and he must have thought I'd forgotten. Yesterday, he messaged me as usual, he said he needs a little cash, he promised to return it as soon as possible. Unfortunately, I didn't have up to that with me again but this time around, I didn't go out of my way to get it for him.

If he didn't act that way the other time, I could have helped. Even if he doesn't have the money. A message of acknowledgement, a message to show that you have me in mind could have helped and of course, I will tell him not to bother. But he acted as if he doesn't care at all. I don't wish him bad, in fact, I pray he achieves all his heart desires but his nonchalant attitude has blocked all forms of help from me. It isn't wickedness. It's lessons I've learnt my lessons from different friends.

This brings me to today's nugget...

We all need help at one time or another while working on a project. Most times, it's financial help. When you need help from others, it is important to ask, but have a limit on how much you ask. Most people would like to help, but here are some things I have learned and I have come to realize that, constantly asking for financial help has a downside.

First of all, think about how you can help others and what you can do for them. And think about how to make this help as much as possible without being caught by others who are waiting to help themselves and others. What do you have to offer in exchange for help rendered? It's rare to see people help nowadays without the expectation of something in return, so you need to be careful of who you run to for help.

Another thing, worth considering is who to ask, where, how and who wants to give. It sounds so simple but in fact, it is not so. In our country, many people are asking without thinking about what might be asked in return or where the news of their request will get to. "When you give with your right hands, your lefty hands shouldn't know" isn't in everyone's book. The purpose of giving has been defeated if you keep telling everyone what you did. Though some people show ingratitude which might lead to an outburst of things you've done for them, we need to learn how to control ourselves and not spoil the help we've rendered.

Thanks for Reading! ✍💚✍

Got to go... It's been a busy day for me, and tomorrow promises to be even busier. Lectures are ongoing in school but Lazy Valour is still at home eating momma's food. By Sunday I'll be joining the others. Let's do this again.

30
$ 14.68
$ 13.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.08 from @King_Gozie
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I've had this same encounter, I helped someone with cash, he promised to return but never did nor showed any sign of "I'm coming I don't have it now". That instantly blocked the giving Chanel. Oftentimes if I'm giving out, I seldom go with the mind of borrowing out so I won't be expecting much because we(human beings) are unpredictable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes a small 'NO' and 'Thank You ' can more things than we can think. I really do hate ungrateful people and those people who after getting our help starts to ignore us. There are lots of people wandering here and there, we need to be more careful and wise before lending anything to anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just figured out that I was owing you as well 😅😅… I need to pay up my debt as well… but it isn’t fair to ignore the fact that someone risked everything to get it and that same person neglects that.. this is a good message, but don’t stop being who you are, not for anyone..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahn an 😂😂😂. You owe me nothing. Not with the present price of BCH🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get your big head to school now. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Till sunday 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all you need to do is make Him realize his faults because some people do things without being aware they are wrong. You can speak to him so that he will be aware and make amends where necessary but that doesn't mean you should give him what he newly requested for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ungrateful soul made it difficult for the givers to give, bcoz of their attitude. There's is a saying which says, Givers never lack. Don't stop doing good to people bcoz of what your friend has done. Has long as is coming from your heart, just do the best you can and God will reward you abundantly in a way you did not expect.

And one more thing, Thanks for everything you have been doing for all the newbies like more and other people, an person you be❤.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy resumption in advance my friend... Lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a good person and staying positive is a test every day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just think that you've done something good for him.. And let him realize it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your last words are lit 🔥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate it everytime I feel like I am just taken for granted. They only know you when they need something from you. Abused you and when you've learned from it, they will say that you are being wicked. Without realizing that it was their action whom made you act that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the sad thing, you'll only be remembered by them if they need something from you, after getting it they will just forget it like they didn't desperately ask for help before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just think that you've done something good for him.. And let him realize it 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good Article,,,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you are absolutely right, ‌ It is very bad that some people just expect, what he did was really shameless, and this behavior makes him lose a good friend like you forever...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing that I know that will cause things like this, is the word “familiarity”. People take advantage of familiarity and good heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've decided that I won't borrow money to friends anymore cos they have the tendency to not pay back. When my friend is in need, and I have the money to spare I'll just give it as a gift and not expect it back cos they never pay back and when they do it's years after the time they they promised.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That has sure ruined any help that might come from you to him, people take advantage of a good heart, you should just forget about that, he pays or not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Negative situations like this allow us to get to know our friends better, exchanges between friends often result in bad experiences. I have faced similar situation many times, so the people I can borrow and lend to are limited.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My comment for this matter is simple: No ungrateful soul deserves my help, period.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a thing used to pain me and I don't think such a person would see me helping another day. Something about me is that I love to give and even if I have to lend you, you should pay up at that day you promised because this is what I do too and I would work towards paying up at that time. This would definitely make me receive next time if I ask.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder where you meet all these kinds of people. Such kinds of friend will forever be considered a fraud to me and I wouldn't hesitate to make him suffer, after all I'm not a very nice person.

Coincidentally, my money is still hanging till today and no call or text received from your guy since then. Looks like he intends to use my money to start up his life, unfortunately his life isn't even worth starting. You can't start what has already been destroyed, it's like destroying a career before it even begins.

I think you need to re-select your friends and throw away these bad eggs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel bad about what Tolu did, hence the reason why i tried all my possible best to get your money back for you. The contract was between you two, i only introduced him to you. I never knew when you both agreed on a binance fee but i still try my best to get it back for you.

My openness has cost me a lot. I don't care whether I've seen a person or not , i take such as friend but last year i learnt a lot. I've done a shuffling and reduced the way i make myself available to all. In fact, I've cut contact with so many people. I can't let other's problem turn to mine. Once again, sorry about what he did. Lesson learnt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sure have a soft spot , it is good to give though but let not give more than what we can't afford to lose or give out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A simple "thank you" goes a long way. What your friend did was not nice, he didn't even realise how much you cared for him that you had to go through your brother to send him money and you were even planning not to collect it back. You were really nice and he wanted to take advantage of that

$ 0.00
2 years ago