How to increase productivity

17 77
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

I was having one of my usual writers’ blocks when my friend Victor messaged me. He gave me an idea of what to write and also a way to be productive each day and how to set my priorities right.

What is the first thing you do when you wake up? You pick up your phone, check the notifications and check your various Social media accounts right?. This is a common thing everyone does, but this is the wrong way to start your day

Studies show that setting off your phone notifications really affects people's productivity. Even if I don’t know how the study was carried out and how the conclusion was made, I can agree with the result based on personal experience. Notifications are constant distractions for most people. After checking a single notification, the next thing you check is something on the internet. You check your phone for a notification, and then you move on to something else, and before you know it, hours have passed.

When you don't receive a notification, it doesn't take your attention away from what you're doing, and you can focus more on what's important. I’m not saying that you should turn off all notifications because some are very useful for productivity (like reminders, or weather/traffic alerts).

Are you guilty of checking your phone notification? Do you want to know how to get things done?

Here's how to take back control over your focus:

-Samantha Lorgan (Olivier from my favourite TV series - All American. I wrote something on the movie a few weeks back) once said since she started ignoring her phone for an hour after waking up each day, she’s been having a productive day. If you’re the type that your phone is your working tool, checking it first thing in the morning for emails or other important notifications isn’t bad but if you are someone like me, putting your phone aside for some minutes or hours after waking will be a good help for you.

- Turn off all notifications from your mobile device - If there's nothing new waiting for you, you won't be distracted

- Stay motivated by only checking your phone for important emails twice a day - Schedule time each day to check your emails

- Start each day by writing a list of the things you want to accomplish that day - Prioritize them - Do the most important ones first - Get them done one by one, tick by tick

- Take a 5-minute break after an hour of work. We don't like breaks when we're working but it will help you get more done

These simple steps will help you stay focused on the task at hand and accomplish more - be more productive.

Don't wait for motivation to work on what matters, set up the environment for productivity, not distraction.

To lay more emphasis on the 4th point

To avoid procrastination, try to have a scale of preference. If you have a lot of tasks to do, decide how important they are and start with the vital ones first.

As the hours' pass, our ability to focus and prioritize diminishes. We're bombarded with messages and our brains struggle to keep up. We try harder, mixing in more tasks, but instead, we begin to disengage. Answering a hundred emails in pursuit of one important one can lead us from productive to frantic as we lose perspective on what really matters.

The original goal of the task list was to help people get stuff done by getting it out of their heads and down into a list. But in an age where managing email inboxes is a full-time job, the old task list strategy doesn't cut it anymore. You might need to change your list every day, it might be stressful but one thing is assured, at the end of the day you will be satisfied with what you’ve achieved.

Thanks for Reading! ✍💚✍

30
$ 2.89
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Captainkay
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 20
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

This is a well organized writeup on organization and prioritization of one's day. I need to mention to you though that the sourcing on your image is not correct, it needs to go to the image wherever you got it from. So I made this sourcing up for you to insert: [Source or Prateek Katyal(owner)](https://unsplash.com/photos/xv7-GlvBLFw) at Unsplash, just edit out what you don't want in the brackets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very good advice and help to be productive. For someone like me, the first thing I do in the morning is visiting my devotion through the app on my phone and I don't attend to other things until I am done praying.

Then, I leave my phone to attend to other things like sweeping the floor, taking my bath and eating. Once I am done, I resume back to my phone since most of what I do is on my phone 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good advise. It seems true for me because when I do my chores first thing in the morning before opening my cellphone, I could finish them all as early as possible. but when I start checking my cellphone, I never noticed that the time is up and haven't cook food for breakfast first

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The notifications I mostly check in the morning are those that are part of my daily routine (readcash and Twitter). Readcash because that's where I earn and Twitter because I always come across tips, advice and motivation from people in similar field as me, and that goes a long way in boosting my productivity for the rest of the day. My biggest distraction is Whatsapp, and I took care of that problem by muting the notifications from there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes when some notifications popped up on my phone I don't usually open it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its true our mobile phones are major distractions nowadays, so we should avoid to see usual notifications while we wake up. You shared some really good tips for being a productive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmmm this is a great help for me, good thing i found this, thanks friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media distraction is something I am struggling with..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

every notifications distract for real and one must learn to do away with it before it is too late.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been using this scope for a while now and I didn’t even realize it. My phone is mostly on dnd until I am done doing what I want to do because if I don’t do it like that it blows up every minute with notifications and I get distracted

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly I checked my emails first before opening socmed accounts. Oh, I forgot to say that I give time to self-reflect from the verse popped in my screen..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray this still works for me cos I work with mood ooo😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should spend our most of time in meditation and more activities that make us healthy brother. You are right each notification distracted us to other one so we should off notifications menu till some important sites. Thanks for awaking me as I was wasting my most time in notifications.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

noted on this., it is a big help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I seldom do procrastination...to avoid it, I just preoccupied my mind with things I need to be done and busy online in my spare time haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, productivity is accomplishing more with less effort. There are a few techniques and methods that work for me. These include using timers, scheduling tasks, delegating, prioritizing, and setting goals.

To improve your productivity, ask yourself: What things can you add to your daily routine to boost your productivity and get more done? Start implementing these habits today and see results soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really guilty of checking my phone's notifications everytime that's why most of my days are all unproductive. Thanks for these tips, these made up my mind.☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago