Happy ever after?

34 70
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Happy new month everyone. I know I’m not the first person to wish you a happy new month, but let mine ring in your ear for it’s coming from my heart. So here is my first article for the new month. I attended a "singles submit" yesterday though I contested going but when my Dad is bent on something, it is hard to say “No” to him.

So there I was, seated amid other young boys and girls. Many are of marriage age so they were seated there excited to hear from the speaker, I kept on looking around not sharing any iota of excitement with them, looking around for the easiest escape route but my Dad who was one of the speakers kept on throwing threatening glances at me. I resigned to fate and plugged my Earbud in my ear ready to listen to the new playlist I created, but a soft tap on my shoulder stopped me in my track. I look up to see a beautiful usher smiling at me and gesturing that I should remove the Earbud. If it were to be a guy I will be angry and might tell him to f*ck off but this lady was too beautiful for me to say “No” and the smile was out of this world. I feigned interest in what the speaker was saying like an obedient child.

However, after some minutes of pretending to be attentive, the speaker was able to get my full attention when she mentioned little things we don’t pay attention to, that destroy marriages. She was specifically talking about marriages in this part of the world because things that might lead to divorce here might be negligible in other countries. Vice versa.

-The men’s ego

I was surprised to hear that some men are against their wives working and some that allow them to work don’t want them to earn more than they do. My mouth was left open. How on earth will you be sad because your wife earns more than you?. I thought after marriage the two become one and both parties want the best for each other. Why then do some men feel intimidated when their wives earn more money than them.

-Joint account

Having a joint account is another issue some marriages have. The husband and wife make use of a single account, that way they can control how they spend. However, this sometimes leads to more problem for them when one of them start spending on things the other doesn’t approve of, or when one withdraws without telling the other.

-Dotting on kids

It’s now a normal thing in most families for either the mother or father to act as the bad cop and the other the good cop. Some fathers/mothers dot on their kids too much and take offence when their kids are chastised by their partner

-Friends of the opposite sex

Having a best friend of the opposite sex might be an issue in a marriage. That doesn’t mean after getting married you cut ties with your close friends of the opposite gender, but try to limit the closeness. When you talk about your female friend every time you are with your wife, she will get tired one day and might start suspecting you. Throughout we all love to claim that we are not the jealous type but by nature, we hate fighting for space/ love.

-Who cooks?

Someone asked a question - “Let's say the husband closes from work by 5 pm and the wife by 8 pm who should do the cooking?”. I thought it was a no brainer. The husband can do the cooking when he gets back early on some days and other days he can decide to wait for the wife or they eat out but so many guys there disagreed. They say the husband shouldn’t be the one cooking at any time, neither is eating out an option.

Conclusion

There are so many minute things leading to break up nowadays, the courtship period is the time to discuss all these issues. Do not make assumptions, ask questions that are not clear to you. Be sure before saying “Yes I do”

 

Thanks for Reading!

27
$ 8.55
$ 7.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Zainab-15
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 24
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Hey there you are the first person to telle " happy new month here " I wish you the same sir it good to be exploring more after a month of less attention . Who cooks we all know who owns the duty it should be the wife and nice meeting you sir

$ 0.02
2 years ago

the one you mentioned about friends of the opposite gender is very true, and indeed one should limit the closeness. Because it's the question of who you willing to lose? Also, there should be a willingness to cook for our loving ones, we should be happily cooking for our loving partners no matter we are the husband or the wife. And one thing which i would love is seeing my wife working and respecting her choice even if she do not want to work, and I won't be jealous if she'd be earning or growing more than me, I would love to see her growth, and support her in her every step.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Speaking in f joints account, I don't think so that would be a good idea. Maybe it is, we the couple are already married, or if the two are really sure that they destined.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree , even if they are married they can have a joint account but also have personal/private accounts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, all these you have mentioned are very important to know before entering into the marriage, both partners must have agreed on some terms before getting married or else, break up will come in. There's nothing bad if a man cooks for his wife, for God's sake, we are helpmates and not slaves to each other. Anyone can cook, that I will do every time when I get married cos I love cooking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! The word "Helpmates" is not in most people's dictionary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most men do not want their wives to be superior over them and they use that to shatter their dreams which is not good. At least communication and agreement are important. As for the cooking, you are right. The guy can take up the cooking before his wife arrives, but that doesn´t mean he will always do that. Many things they take for granted in marriages but they are important to talk about them among themselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If a lady sees signs that a guy is the type that doesn't want his wife to prosper more than him during courtship, it's better she Quit before going to the altar with him because such men kills their wife's dream.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every couple should have a joint account and separate accounts as well. So it's okay to allow wives to make a living too. It's a new century. Things are not the same as it was before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alot if me. Don't let their wife work her e in the North. And when something eventually happens in the case of the man losing his job or kicking the bucket, one can only feel sorry for his wives and kids

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are creating problem for their wives and Kids. It's better to let a woman work and prepare her to be independent in case the unexpected happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really have thought about how my relationship with my female friends be like when they, I or both of us get married.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why some men take that issue too serious as if they can't do that thing Meanwhile they can actually help in cooking but it is just an excuse for them to keep their woman at home without doing anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First date question: what do you feel about men that cook?

If he thinks like a cave man then 🚩🚩🚩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... i think it's a good question. If he say "Yes" , it's better to go ahead and add another question "Are you the type that doesn't eat out at all?, Are you the type that prefer only fresh meals? And finally , Are you the type that can't go to the Kitchen to cook when the wife isn't around or isn't in the mood to?". Because it's one thing to know how to cook, ego is another thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Frankly speaking, many divorce cases are not worth listening to because people overreact on simple matters that could have been handled maturely. When love is mixed with understanding, the world becomes a better place

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right sir. Immaturity is a problem in most marriages nowadays. A little issue can escalate into something big if not handled well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many things that causes divorce in our today's world, but the one that I keep witnessing is having friend of the opposite sex, there is this lady in my street that her husband don't even want to see her greet any guy... Whenever he finds out she is dead because he beats her like a slave

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's excessive Jealousy. Men like that are dangerous. Very dangerous

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are minor issues we take too seriously, I wake up and pray every day that my fiancee grows. I know if money comes, I will be getting goodies (not necessarily money).

Honestly, a lot of need real counseling. All these things lead to a break up and it is just a lack of understanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! When God blesses one's wife, it's also a blessing to one. There's no need to feel intimidated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays, for some young people, breakups are just normal. And being in a relationship is just like fun to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For the men's ago, he shouldn't have the mindset that his wife shouldn't earn more than he does, even if it causes problems in the relationship because the woman may be carrying her shoulder up and wanting to be the family's head because she earns more than her husband... Happy New Month to you.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know Men are always scared of the Lady trying to rule because she earns more, but before getting married you should have an idea of who your partner is, moreover there is a way you will act that she won't be proud, so far you both love each other, pride won't surface.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When a family is practicing joint account, none of the partners is supposed to take money without the consent of the other.

Some men don't want their wife to earn more than them because the wife may later become proud.

I pray those of us who are women will not faint in the kitchen one day 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen o 🙏

Only a foolish man with ego want to always earn more than his wife. There should be no competition between them. Whoever earns more, i don't mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For that last one, If the husband can't cook he should simply just go buy the food and keep for the wife.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Very simple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Men will always be men. Cooking is a life skill and everyone should be willing to do that as long as they have the time and resources. I don't know how it became exclusively a female's job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder when it became a female only thing. I believe mothers can change this belief by training their male child the same way they will train a female child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I feel like I am reading a marriage seminar booklet. For the joint account my parents had that and believe it strengthened their marriage so much that sometimes I get jealous

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer a joint account but at the same time, the couples should have private accounts. We never can tell, Love fit turn sour tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that’s true sha una gats love each other well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really learnt a lot. I don't even know why some men would prevent their wives from working. That's really absurd cause an idle mind is the devil's workshop. She might end up think about things she should never have thought about in the first place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago