The day I saved a life

31 56
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Saving a life

How often does anyone get to say this? While reviewing some of the best things I had done, a memory flashback came to me, it reminded me of the day I saved a friend's life. It also reminded me of the day I said I would never be a doctor, I was young and dumb then but if given the decision now my answers would remain the same. A big thanks go out to all the professionals in medicine, I don't know how you do it but continue saving lives, may God also save yours in the process.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my sponsors 

This story dates back to High School, my junior year (JS2), I had just been elected the new class captain, this position had its benefits because it made me friends who wouldn't want their name to be written as one of the "class noise makers" which attracted punishment from the class teacher, it's the type of position that makes you feel powerful like you're the boss. I used the power for evil most times especially when I want to get back at someone who had offended me, I'm not sorry though, they deserved it. I was loved by some and hated by others but I guess that is what having power is about, you can't be loved by everyone.

The school lacked emergency services at the time and when the case was serious, the student would be rushed to a clinic that was at least 35 to 45 minutes away from school. It was not uncommon to hear a student die on their way to the clinic which was very sad. This case could have just been one of them if I hadn't interfered.

I am not going to point fingers at anyone because no matter how hard I look at it, everyone had a part to play in the blame (Everyone except me because I'm a Saint ha!). Being in the boarding house means you need to try and keep up with the school timetable, sometimes you might end up oversleeping and getting to the dining hall late only to see that the gate had been locked, this would mean starvation till lunchtime.

Timothy was one of such students who fell prey to this disciplinary system one day and had to go to class on an empty stomach. It started as a stomach ache which was easily diagnosed with hunger. We had no idea it was about to get serious. Lunchtime came and everyone all went out to get snacks to eat but Timothy remained seated. He couldn't move from his seat, but as it would appear, everyone had their problem to take care of to care about another student.

The bell was rung and it was time for the afternoon classes, that was when I observed he wasn't breathing right (imagine, I would have been a great doctor). Of course, I questioned him to find out what was wrong, he was able to answer by saying it was just slight chest pain.

I reported this to the class teacher, who came to give him a quick check-up but didn't observe anything wrong according to him and the class continued. Later, the hiccups began, I took an excuse to go get him a cup of water hoping it would stop the hiccups but it didn't work.

Alas, the teacher instructed me to take him to the school clinic which was a long hike from the class, I wondered why he didn't do it himself since he had a car and would have made life better for everyone, I didn't argue though, I agreed to follow Timothy to the clinic.

We were not even close to halfway to our destination when the breathing became worse. He couldn't walk again, I looked around to call for help but there was no one in sight, everyone was in their various classes. He tried speaking begging me to just leave him to die, saying he couldn't walk again.

At that point, I got so scared and didn't even notice where the strength came from for me to carry him on my back and staring jogging towards the clinic. The fear of having a friend die as a result of me not getting to the clinic brought fear to me. I kept on praying for some sort of miracle to occur before I got to the clinic.

On my journey, a senior student (a girl) saw this and ran to my aid, she was much bigger and stronger, I was so happy to have met her, I can't remember her face or her name but if not for her, maybe Timothy would have died. We exchanged the load along the way, during this period, Timothy was almost out of breathe and was barely breathing.

I remember begging him not to die, I'm not sure if I said it out loud or it was just in my head but we hurried along until we got to the clinic. Thankfully, the head nurse was around and knew exactly what to do. They told us to stay outside while they took care of him so I waited with the Senior. As soon as they were done, we came to check on him and there was a notable difference in his breathing, he was getting better.

He was diagnosed with Asthma, and no one was aware of this (including his parents), he claimed he had noticed signs of an attack but kept it to himself. The attack came as a result of dust inhalation from that morning because his name was included in the class roaster for sweeping for the day.

It was a close one but everything worked out well for him. He's alive and well today, at least he was the last time we chatted on Facebook. That day I wondered what it must feel like for doctors who practically hold the lives of their patients in their hands knowing fully well that the patient might not walk out of the hospital alive if they don't do a good job.

There you go, that was how I saved someone's life and it felt really good

18
$ 3.76
$ 3.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 11
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Saving a life

Comments

Good job man. You are a real life hero.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have never saved a life yet but for sure it feels good to be the one who can do that. The most difficult is when you need to chose between choosing to save your life or choosing someone's life to be saved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That can be really difficult

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done for your bravery.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh Wow!!! I really hope for an opportunity like this

I need to be an important part of someone's story

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't worry, one of these days, opportunity might present itself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I salute you, you deserve something presentable, maybe an award for being a good Leadership. I salute you once again 🙌🏿

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm really glad to hear that you're a really good person. People don't want to do really good things anymore. People don't want to help people anymore and there's something much bigger about you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are a real hero. My dear friend

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's the spirit of being a leader and a hero at the same time. You realy did great that time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hats off to you. The Devil appreciates it. Clapping for you. You have earned my respect.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's an honour Lucifer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really took bold steps and Timothy will never forget that. You showed leadership

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If I am in the situation I might get panick. You really had a great heart and very courage. Well done sir

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, thank God for that, I would have been scared too. Doctors are trying I wonder how they sleep at night when they loose a patient, they must be really strong.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also think about that, imagine feeling the way I did but almost every day, saving some and losing some, requires a strong emotional capability.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whaoo! You are real hero,you saved his life,good people was always there and helps other you are one of them,stay blessed and happy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Honestly, it is a scary experience seeing one under asthmatic attack without his or her inhaler close by. Well done for your heroism.

$ 0.03
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

You really were courageous. I consider you a hero.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I saved a friend's life once, he was asthmatic and almost died on me. I had to leave him at the spot and located the nearest inhaler which was a far distance. I ran like I have never done before or he would have died that day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can relate, at that point, the body will be filled with adrenaline just to get the task done. Good one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a hero...!!! Not many people get to do what you did... You're awesome!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You did real good as a friend and also as a leader that you were then. I'm sure he will never forget what you did for him till date

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was even surprised he still remembered me for him to chat me up on Facebook, it has been over 8 years

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all will do the heroic deed. Even at a young age, you courageously took the risk and saved someone. You have a very wonderful soul.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I'll do well to remember this moving forward

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserve a noble price for this and just to imagine that you were so young when this happened is just wow nice one bro

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was a scary experience, you are right need a noble price, oya, do the needful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you really tried then because if not you the young Timothy would have die. And thanks God for giving the doctor the strength to be able to save him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank God the nurses that helped him, if not, it would have been a sad story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You start fulfilling the essence of life if you can save more people in different situations!

$ 0.03
2 years ago