Should we be scared of getting old?

33 61
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

November 19, 2021

Hello wonderful noisers!

I'm trying to catch up on my days without articles but...

There are times that I really want to write but couldn't because all the topics are there but my mind is blank, and there are times that I just read one article and thoughts just keep on flowing just like after I read the article of @CoquiCoin Do I fear to age. And because it was triggered by the article of @Jher0122 Becoming Old Scares Me To The Bone. I also read his article. And here are the thoughts that linger on my mind after reading their article.

Their article made me question myself. Do I fear to age? What is it that scares me in growing old? Should I think about it now? Should I check how much I have in my account that is saved for my old age? Do I already have enough? Is growing old should be scary?

Asking myself those questions gives me lots of answers. And that led me to another question, should we be scared of aging? Isn't age is just a number that we can stop counting?

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Check them out they are amazing people who shares their wisdom through their writing :)

Age is just a number, not a state of mind or a reason for any type of particular behaviour.- Cecilia Ahern

After I reached 27, my age was stuck there forever and I stopped counting, not because I don't want to get old but because I want to keep in mind that age is just a number. It is just a number to keep track of how long we have lived here on earth. Of how long earth enjoyed our stay here. How we think or act should not be based on that numbers. How we enjoy life should not be based on numbers but it doesn't mean that we shouldn't be aware of our age. What I'm saying is let's enjoy our life because that is what we should be doing and not because time is running out on us. Of course, getting old is scary, everything unknown is scary actually but we have to be adventurous enough to get excited about what is in store for us in the future.

One of the good things about getting older is you find you're more interesting than most of the people you meet - Lee Marvin

Getting old shouldn't stop anyone from doing the things that they enjoyed doing, may it be riding the bike or roller skating. May it be just seating there near the lake and waiting for your bait to catch a fish. May it be meeting someone new and falling in love all over again. May it be trying to climb that mountain just to witness the sunset from up above there. May it be trying to climb that wall that keeps you interested for some time now. Getting old shouldn't be the reason why life becomes boring. Getting older should be the reason why life becomes more interesting.

I think by now you are thinking that I'm not scared of getting old, of course, I am, there are so many reasons to be scared especially when you are single. However, I'm not afraid to get old what scares me is the thought of me being alone during those times that I'll be needing someone that I can depend on. Not financially but physically and emotionally. I"m afraid there will be no one who will be there for me during those last moments in life. I'm afraid there will be no one who will hold my hand to reassure me that leaving my loved ones behind is alright, that they carry on without me. Damn, writing this made me cry. You see, just the thought of those moments makes me cry, that's how scared I am not of getting old but of the time that I need to leave all the people around me behind.

Interesting isn't it? Getting older is just in the mind. We may get wrinkled and weak but if our heart stays young and we enjoy life to the fullest without stepping on anyone, we can say that we are not getting old, we're only getting better.

Let's keep on making memories. Let's make sure to smile and laugh every day. There will be a lot of stressors out there but don't let them take you down. Stand up tall but be humble too. Let's keep our life more interesting as we grow old and never let growing old scare us.

And when the time comes that there'll be wrinkles in our faces, let's make sure that our wrinkles twinkle.


Click the photos for the credits

Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)


22
$ 11.30
$ 10.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 16
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

People say you have to become sporty or at least physically active as you get older. The problem for me is it seems like the more I do physical activities, the more body aches I develop more often. Hahaha. I dunno why. Ah old age.

I am not afraid of getting older or dying but it's going to be a sad day when I still can't afford to take my mom all over the world before she gets too old. 😅 Would be cool to travel with her but I dunno. She just prefers to stay in one place. Ah well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although thought of getting older sometimes made us sad,but we should not let it to ruin our happiness, instead we should enjoy our life to the fullest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's is not being old that I'm scared of it's the fact that someone I love, whom I spend time with will gonna leave me when time comes. That's why every bit moment with them should be cherish and enjoy. Everyone do aged, and that's constant, we just need to face it with confident and smile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing old is nice but I would love to grow old with someone I love and be surrounded by people that love me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grow up, not just grow old. It is always better that our mind and morals grow, thus making ourselves more interesting as our "wrinkles twinkles" hehe! love that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep it is important to grow up not just grow old. And yes to wrinkles twinkles hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Sis! you are right, feeling old is in the mind. I do have some fears but not about age. More years made us more interesting, hehe, I think that's a true. As we say in Spanish, como el buen vino mientras mas viejo mejor. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my grandparents :( Wonder how would it be getting old. I don't want to get t the point that I don't remember anyhing. Ayoko ng ganun. Sad :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we must optimize well when we are young, because time will not return, indeed some people are afraid of getting old but we have to face all the realities of life. age will not give a limit for us to be young souls. age may be old but soul must be young. Self-change must exist but we can manage it both physically and in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just this morning, I saw a grandma riding her mountain bike. Quiet a sight to behold. I seldom see such kind of beauty in my life. She is not young but she dies things that the youngs do. Also, my grandma told me that she thinks like she is 15. Her mind is still the same when she is still 15 years old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting old is part of our life cycle. It is inevitable. Siguro sa mga walang asawa o anak, magiging malungkot ang buhay dahil wala kang makasama at mag-alaga sayo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep it is inevitable..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"And when the time comes that there'll be wrinkles in our faces, let's make sure that our wrinkles twinkle" awe, I love this ate 💕 . Yup, age is just a number and it's not a hindrance for us to achieve what we want to achieve or things that we haven't done when we were younger. Nakita ko nga mostly mga oldies ngayon na sumasabay na sa mga trends din ngayon haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha ang cool nila diba? and yep.. it's important that are wrinkles twinkle when they appear :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

twinkling wrinkles ;)

nah.. not afraid of getting old... afraid of physically turning weak. Horrendous thought of walking out of my room which currently takes less than ten seconds to taking me more than a minute just reaching the door. :)

also i hope i won't lose that appetite for laughter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nope.. let us not lose that appetite for laughter.. . we will always laugh no matter what

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman ako takot tumanda pero gusto ko talaga hanggang 50+ lang itatagal ko sa mundo ee. I mean mas maigi na pag ganon kesa tumagal ka sa mundo tapos boring na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang aga naman nun ayaw mo ng hanggang 60 man lang? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman nakakatakot ang pagtanda, don naman pupunta ang lahat, cguro nakakatakot tumanda kung walang mag aalaga sa time na kailangan natin ng karamay

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. ganun nga sis.. pero growing old shouldn't scare us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting old is not a barrier, but just as you have said. The fear of leaving the ones that we made moments together and the ones that we love is what brings makes us over conscious most of the times

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's just no need to be afraid of getting old after all, old age is but a blessing to mankind as it shows that one has passed a milestone in life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

true.. actually getting old is a privilege, it is one thing that is denied to some people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't be afraid, but some may panic. The important thing is to enjoy life. Everything has its moment. That age is that of the grandchildren and as you say, the accumulated experience and the stories they have to tell. Time on earth is limited, live it to the fullest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

true.. there are people who are afraid to get old but that shouldn't be case

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the same way :) But you know what, one of my goals is to die happy or at least, content and ready. I want to see that my kids are secured before I go to the other dimension.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's my goal to.. to die happy and content knowing that i did my best to live this life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't want to grow old but it's inevitable. The best thing is to create memories

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. that's the best thing we can do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best line: make sure your wrinkles will twinkle. Cute. ✨ Pero same ate, I am not afraid getting old. I am afraid na di pako financially stable when I get old. Naiisip ko palang, ayokong maging pabigat soon kasi. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo kaya nag iipon din ako kasi ayoko din maging pabigat pagdating ng panahon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not afraid of getting old as I'm looking forward to see my son to graduate , work , to be married and to see my apo also hahaha. 3 years old plng anak ko ayun n naiisip ko 🤣

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

ahahahaha oks lang yan sis.. at least may goal di ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago