Do I fear to age

57 88
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hola awesome readers of Read.cash!

Earlier today, while I was looking for my ideas to flourish for my today's article, I was reading other's posts and came to one of @Jher0122 that made me change my mind about the topic of my article today. Jher's post said Becoming Old Scares Me To The Bone.

The first thing that came to mind was asking myself if I'm afraid of getting old. I didn't leave a comment on Jher's article and I thought this is something I need to elaborate on a bit more.

I would be lying to myself if I said that I'm not afraid. But my fear isn't the years or old age itself. Because if we have enjoyed our lives, years should bring us fond memories and wisdom.

My fear is dependency, the possibility of not being able to fend for myself or illness. But while both of these factors may be associated with old age, they are not exclusive to it. You don't have to be old to get sick, and getting old doesn't mean you're going to get sick.

So then I'm not afraid of being old, but I would like to be a healthy and independent old woman.

"Getting old is like climbing a mountain; you get a little out of breath, but the view is much better!" - Ingrid Bergman

The other thing that sometimes haunts our minds when we talk about old age is how the society in which we live sometimes pretends to make us see that the elderly are a burden for the family when the truth is that they are a treasure full of wisdom. And we should feel fortunate when we can have them with us.

I'm very lucky because I was able to enjoy one of my grandmothers until a few years ago. My grandmother was the best, she didn't care ever about her age, she was always a young spirit. My son adored her. I'll never forget the Christmas that Baby Jesus brought him the Wii console. My grandmother ended up sitting down playing Wii Sports with him.

Image by pasja1000 from Pixabay

She was up to date with everything and could talk about the most unusual things. My dad loved Formula 1 and so did she, and I was always amazed to hear her talking about the racers with him on Sunday mornings.

I will always remember the last year end she was with us. We had gone to spend Christmas and year end to Margarita Island since my uncle was living there. It was a tradition of many people on the island to meet at the largest beach, El Agua, to receive the new year. My grandmother had a prosthetic hip and used a cane, so my mother and aunt had decided not to go to the beach to receive the year end and stay with my grandma so as not to make her walk on the sand at night. When they told my grandmother they wouldn't go, she replied, I'm sorry, you'll miss it, but I won't miss it. I've never received the year end on the beach in front of the sea and I won't miss the chance. Of course, we all went. My grandmother had a full life and until the last moment, she had that aura of young spirit that inspired us so much.

So if you ask me how I want to grow old, the only thing I know is that I hope I have some of my grandmother's genes and grow old like her.

"Wrinkles will only go where the smiles have been." - Jimmy Buffet

I think we have to enjoy today but that doesn't mean not thinking about tomorrow. It's okay to plan for the future if it doesn't imply enjoying the present less. We should always have goals and dreams, it doesn't matter how old we are, that keeps us alive

And what about you, do you fear age?

Thank you to my awesome sponsors. And today my big thanks to @TengoLoTodo and @Simon.M32   for renewing their sponsorship. You guys, rock!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much for reading!

Image credit on the caption.

All writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 18, 2021


33
$ 10.56
$ 9.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 28
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Yeahh thats life. We can't avoid and control our age..swerte nga yung iba dahil they have grandma and grandpa.. And because of age we know how to be independent in all aspect in life..

Im newbie here :) pls support me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow your late grandma sounds really cool. Hope we can all be like her in terms of how she looked at life. Hehe.

As for growing older, ah I am just taking it slower than usual now. Can't "abuse" my body too much now. Hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In that case, I shouldn't abuse my body either, LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is what i also fear of old age, the tendency that I will be so dependent and will feel like I am a burden to people around me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think that deep down that's the biggest fear we all have regarding old age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am scared for my mom and dad too cos I don't want them to grow old, I just like them like this😪😪😪, but nothing can be done. The best thing I can only do is to pray and make sure they are comfortable at their old age and they are well taken care of and love because most age people here are not properly care for and it makes me feel sad when I see them and this must have been the reason I am scared of them getting old.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, that's life and you should not be afraid of that if you will be there to take care of them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will encourage myself not to be scared again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear age because that moment I get older my mama could leave me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Before I was afraid, but now that I am in my 20's i am no longer afraid, but i continuously discovering things.. and i am proud of my age

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very young and with lots of things to discover ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello friend, your article today is very interesting. I am not afraid of age, old age has its pleasures as youth does, the soul must feel young. There is still a lack in society, although we are working for the rights of old age. "Live 120" is a social inclusion program in my country, which involves the participation of senior citizens. Greetings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Interesting that of Live 120. Thank you so much for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like you, I fear for old age because of dependency. my second fear is the joint ache (Arthritis). I often imagine myself being old and gray.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have some grey hairs already, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear of being away with my daughter when I get old ☹️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can relate with you on this. I fear that without being old. My son is about to finish high school and is looking for scholarships to go abroad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only problem I find in getting old is "dependency" which I hate completely.. otherwise, old people are mostly wiser :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agree with you, that's my fear too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not actually scared of getting old, what terrifies me is getting old without achieving my goals, dreams and ambitions. Just like you said, I also want to be able to fend for myself when I am old

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, being able to fend ourselves both physically and monetarily on our own is one of the things that worries me about getting older.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I fear most is not achieving my goals in life. We will surely grow old, no doubt but how are we going to live our lives? I don't want to depend on anyone but to be independent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a fear of mine too, being independent and not a burden to someone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Admirable your grandmother, many people act in a bad way with the elderly, it is a horror in public transport, I have seen the mistreatment of not letting them get on the bus because they pay half the fare, apart from the insult. Not thinking that someday their turn will probably come too, so they will not have the right to complain thanks to their actions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is a disrespect that no person deserves, least of all an older person. But that's it, sadly my friend, many believe that they will not get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing to fear in age. Whatever the law of nature, it will happen. But we will continue to work according to our rules. Fear means you are far behind. So fear must be overcome.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree,everyone at his place is feard of getting old, but if we live our life to the best we can avoid any regret later.I also want to be energetic in my old age like your grandmother.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have said something important, grow old having lived our life at fullest without regrets. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s the nature. No matter what you do, it’s inevitable. That's why I accepted the fact that I'm getting old. No fear dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't fear the age either but I want to be old in good shape lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And this has nothing to do with your birthday coming up Eli ;) It is the burden aspect that I don't like the thought of, and that is similar to you, so yes I hope we are both like your grandmother.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Believe it or not, it has nothing to do with it, Ed. I've never cared about turning years, nor am I one of those who worry about age. I think what matters is those years to be well lived without big regrets. I also hope we grow old like my grandma :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a few days ago I heard a phrase that said that when you turn 50 you start living overtime, so as you say you can plan but in the short term because every day is a wonderful gift and you have to live it to the fullest.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Every day of life is an opportunity that must be seized and lived to the full. I don't mind having reached 50 hehe. Ahora es cuando quiero seguir disfrutando. Un abrazo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not actually afraid of age but I'm surely afraid of disappointments. I hope I can at least achieve something.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your grandmother does know how to enjoy life. Age does not matter. As long as the body can do certain things, it should make the most of it. There are some grandparents who limit themselves. I'm glad she's not one of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She never limited herself even with her hip. She was really a cool lady. Thank you for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not afraid to age. I'm even looking forward to it, so I can retire. Hahaha. I got tired of having a never-ending adult problems.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! you can try to have an early retirement and not wait to be old, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, but my retirement savings aren't that enough yet. I still have to grind. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers! I always want to be my grandfather as well when I grow old. Though I am not afraid to grow old, I am still afraid because I know soon I will leave my daughter and it will be very painful for me and her

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We as parents always have that fear of leaving our children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore your grandmother sis! I wish to be like her too when I grow old, to have that kind of zest about life, no this and that, simply enjoying each moment. I am sure you have her blood running through your veins and I believe you will be like her too :)

Cheers to growing wiser, sis! hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

She was an adorable lady :) Cheers for that sis! To growing old feeling always as young souls, jeje

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She definitely is! Cheers to that sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't fear age, but I worry if there would be someone who will take care of me if I became useless already 😢

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The same sis, My fear is illness and becoming useless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before I do fear getting old. But what I fear now is getting old and not being financially stable. I wanted to retire earlier and I wanted that after I retire I can still feed myself and still be able to buy the medicines I need just in case. I do not want to be a burden to someone next to me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't want to be a burden either. :) I want to always be able to fend for myself and be independent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must enjoy our ages without fear. I don't think I'm afraid of becoming an old lady. I would like to have savings for those times and pay a person to accompany me in what I cannot do. If I become an old man. Only God will tell.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true and God willing we will be very intrepid and active old ladies, my friend ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true. Jajajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not afraid to get older because I'm too old, hahaha. But, I'm afraid of tranquility, silence and I do not have to do anything. Today I have read many items about fears, I even discovered that there was fear of fear, it is like the beginning of the film.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Fear of fear is too much fear for me, lol. I'm not afraid of old age as long as I'm an active person, who can fend for herself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Activa en la pista... Gangsta for life... 905 you know hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not scared of getting old but what I'm scared of is that would my friends still be around and will the people around me still care for me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is a natural fear that somehow we all have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago