Facts about instant noodles

50 72
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

October 17, 2021

Hi readers!

Before anything else let me ask first if there's anyone here who doesn't eat instant noodles?

Because that's my topic for today and because I do love eating instant noodles but only in moderation but if I have to choose over a freshly made ramen soup or instant noodle, of course, I'll choose the freshly made. I mean who wouldn't right? But if there are budget constraints, let's choose instant noodles.

The world's first-ever instant noodles were first created by Momokufu Ando, an inventor, and businessman who founded Nissin Food Products Co. LTD. A Taiwanese-Japanese who first release chicken ramen in the Japanese supermarkets in 1958 as a postwar invention to help curb world hunger. Its cost is six times expensive than the fresh udon and was considered as luxurious food. Being that expensive, these ramen noodles became unaffordable to the vast majority of poor Japanese people.

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
CHECK THEM OUT! CHECK THEM OUT! CHECK THEM OUT! CHECK THEM OUT! CHECK THEM OUT!

What are instant noodles?

Instant noodles are a type of pre-cooked cooked usually sold individual packets, bowls, or noodles that are soaked in hot water and seasoning. Its main ingredients are wheat flour, vegetable oil, iodized salt, water, and kansui. Instant noodles packets usually come with flavoring packets that contain salt, seasoning, and monosodium glutamate (MSG).

How noodles are made?

Since the invention of the instant ramen noodle, the process of making it is pretty identical. They use wheat flour, salt, water, and kansui, and they used alkaline water to adds elasticity to the noodles. The ingredients are kneaded together to make a dough then rolled out and cut to make it into thin noodles. The noodles are then steamed and then undergo the process of dehydration before it was finally packed. They used advanced technologies every step of the manufacturing process. Dehydration is particularly important for the preservability of instant ramen.

CLICK THE PHOTO FOR THE CREDITS

Nutrition packs of instant noodle

The nutritional content of instant noodles varies slightly depending on the kind or flavor of instant noodles. Here's an idea of the nutritional content for 1 serving (43g) of instant ramen noodles:

Here are the nutrients content of one beef-flavored ramen noodle:

  • Calories: 188

  • Carbs: 27 grams

  • Total fat: 7 grams

  • Saturated fat: 3 grams

  • Protein: 4 grams

  • Fiber: 0.9 grams

  • Sodium: 861 mg

  • Thiamine: 43% of the RDI

  • Folate: 12% of the RDI

  • Manganese: 11% of the RDI

  • Iron: 10% of the RDI

  • Niacin: 9% of the RDI

  • Riboflavin: 7% of the RDI

Do remember that one package of instant noodles contains two servings, so if you’re consuming the whole package in one sitting, the total amount of nutrients is also doubled.

CLICK THE PHOTO FOR THE CREDITS

Why instant noodles are not good for the body.

Instant noodles may be luxurious food when it was first released but now it is a popular convenience food that is eaten all over the world. You will find it in all of the convenience stores at affordable prices.

There are a number of serious health consequences if you are consuming noodles on a daily basis or even just twice a week. Here are a few reasons why consuming it regularly is bad for the health.

Instant noodles contain few nutrients with high amounts of sodium and monosodium glutamate (MSG). MSG, is a very common additive found in many processed foods and its primary role is to add or enhance the flavor of foods. It may be widely used in many types of foods and is approved for consumption by the FDA, there are still concerns regarding it short and long term effects on the body.

There are studies that consumption of MSG has been linked to symptoms like nausea, headache, high blood pressure, weakness, chest pain, heart palpitations, muscle tightness, and flushing of the skin. Having or experiencing these symptoms after consuming MSG for some time, you may have a condition known as the MSG symptom complex. However, there has not been definitive evidence establishing the said condition.

It is low in calories, fiber, and protein. Its calories content per serving is only 188 calories a lot lower in calories content compared to other types of pasta. So eating them could potentially lead to weight loss but note that a packet of instant noodle is two servings, and eating it alone in one sitting means you are also consuming two servings.

Each packet contains only 4 grams of protein and 1 gram of fiber per serving. Having a packet of instant noodles won't make much of a difference in your hunger or fullness levels.

They have been linked to poor diet quality

Regular consumption of instant noodles may be associated with a poor overall diet quality according to some studies. There is one study that compares a group of people who consumed instant noodles compared to those who didn't. A significantly decrease intake of protein, calcium, vitamin C, phosphorous, iron, niacin, and vitamin A are found in those who consume noodles regularly

According to a new study by Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) researchers and colleagues. Women who consume instant noodles frequently were found to be more likely to have metabolic syndrome. It is a condition that increases your risk of heart disease, diabetes, and stroke.

sources:

https://web-japan.org/kidsweb/hitech/ramen/ramen02.html

https://mtfortadvisers.com/uskq/instant-noodle-soup-calories

https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/news/hsph-in-the-news/instant-noodle-consumption-linked-to-heart-risk-in-women/#:~:text=Women%20who%20consume%20instant%20noodles,School%20of%20Public%20Health%20(HSPH)

lead image source


Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

21
$ 7.84
$ 7.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MegaKyodaiBanrai
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 10
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

I like noodles and I only eat them when I have money to buy enough, so I will be filled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parents prohibited us to eat it consecutively because it's not good for our health we only ate noodles once or twice a week. Thanks for this informative article!❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here... we rarely eat it at home too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi kami masyado sa noodles. Siguro one a week Ganon. Minsan one in two weeks. Depends kapag nagcrave hehe. Hindi Kasi sya healthy

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

oo sis.. tama yan.. lalo na yung mga kids dapat hindi natin sinasanay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

reason why nagka sakit sa kidney yung teacher namin before, kasi noodles daw mostly kinakaain niya dati nong nasa college pa siya, mga cup noodles kasi yun lang yung madali at walang hassle

$ 0.01
2 years ago

imagine noh.. dahil madaling kainin at ihanda yun ang kinakain natin kahit minsan alam natin na nakakasama sa katawan natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My bestfriend became so sick last year because of eating instant noodles everyday. She eats too much daily. She never listens, matigas talaga ang ulo. Thank God she's okay now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. kaya hindi talaga maganda na everyday nakain tayo ng mga instant

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako gaanong mahilig sa instant noodles kasi mas bet ko pa rin talaga ang kanin hahaha. Saka ang alam ko talaga ee di rin maganda na laging kakain ng ganyan, same sa de lata din.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep anything that is packed with preservatives is not good.. kaya yes to bagong luto na pagkain tayo haha at kahit pa nde bagong luto lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good article, when I was a child we used to eat those noodles, it was easier to prepare. I have not consumed them for many years, as well as the concentrated cubes. We prepare our meals as fresh as possible without chemicals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's the best way to prepare meals... sadly not all have the patience to make it as fresh as possible nowadays... most of the people opt to choose the fast to prepare now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I eat noodles almost everyday because it is fast and easy to prepare. Though, I eat it when I don't have much at home to cook. I have also heard that it is dangerous to eat it always. Thanks for the reminder.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep it is.. and hope you can lessen it for your own health :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gave it a name , fast food. It is very easy to cook. I saw a freshly prepared fast good at the restaurant yesterday. Prepared with carrots, spice and with fried egg on it. I like to eat when it is well prepared.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep there are people who are adding veggies on it now.. but I think it's still the same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intant noodles is one of my favorite to eat especially in the morning but I control myself because I know,that its bad to eat to much.hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

actually, anything too much is bad.. which reminds me not to eat egg tomorrow lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me who loves to eat instant noodles 👁️👄👁️ Reading this article makes me question myself if do I actually love myself or not. I didn't know that 1 cup is for 2 servings. I watched how instant noodles made in doctor stone anime

$ 0.01
2 years ago

they are not hard to do actually... anyway.. what's the answer to your question haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really could use one right now. Although we have a different brand here. It's called Indomie

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i like that one too! and yep we do have that brand here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember when was the last time I had noodles. I like when they are made at home, but we haven't done it in a while. You have whetted my appetite, I'm going to have breakfast now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha i hope its not instant noodles lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love them, and have with a sandwich if I want something fast and hot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i think no one doesn't love them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Instant noodles if taken too often is bad.. I remembet my formerly colleague who had a kidney disease. She told us that she got that disease because when she's still a student, she relies mostly on instant noodles as her food. Instant noodles has lots of msg which is too bad for our health.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep.. and the processed foods too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just finished my bowl of instant noodles...lol,but I eat only for once or twice in a month. Thank you for sharing this information about instant noodles.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahahaha as long as you're eating it moderately then it's fine lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis noodles are not good in our body. There are a lot of disadvantages. My partner always remind me about the noodles. I'm not fond of it also. It's seldom that I eat a noodles sis..

Thank you so much for this sis. A great reminder for everyone...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

me too... unless got no other choise hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I eat noodles because it's a fast food. I eat noodles on days when I'm too tired to go through the stress of cooking a full meal

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i hope its not always :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, not always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love noodles a lot and it's my favourite especially when mixed with fried egg.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

try to limit it if you can for your health :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know one packet contains two servings .. hmph! lols... this is good info... MSG is one of the contents I blame everytime my vertigo hits. But of course, I could be pointing a finger to least likely a culprit since the last time I had vertigo, I don't remember eating anything with MSG hahaha...

My first episode may probably have an MSG player there..

Freshly made noodles still the best. :) but can't say no to pancit canton...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep.. freshy made are still the best.. though it needs a bit time to prepare especially the soup

$ 0.00
2 years ago

iba ba ang pasta maker sa noodle maker? diba meron nang mga ganun na nabibili?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

alam ko pasta maker meron pero d ako sure sa noodle maker hmm macheck nga lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

napaisip nga din ako eh. magkaiba nga yun siguro no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha teka nga masearch na naintriga ako eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a cousin who suffered a mild hepatitis because he was eating instant noodles everyday, almost 2x minimum! After that he was prompted to change all of his habits and lifestyle to reverse his illness.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

that's scary.. and yep we have to be conscious with what we really eat especially if it is full of preservatives

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really not good to eat instant food always or else our life span will be instant as well sis haha.. kung ano pa masama sa kalusugan talaga yun masarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha natawa ako dun sa life span will be instant pero ganun nga ang nangyayari haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omyyy, so guilty of this. I eat cup noodles twice a week too. As much as I avoid eating it, my system craves for it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

try to limit it.. though i know it is the easiest to prepare and cheap too

$ 0.00
2 years ago