Even Rusty Rarely Comes, Keep Writing

73 133
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

10/07/21


Things are not the same as before. I know I ain't the only one who noticed it. The rewards and tips significantly changed, it either went lower or higher (you lucky if you are in the latter), but I am still thankful we are still blessed with it.

Rusty image from Unsplash

I am not one to talk about technicalities like these, but at least, that's what I personally noticed. If you don't have an idea what I am talking about, it is Rusty, everyone's best friend, Rusty the bot. There are simply days he does not want to visit my articles that much. I don't know, is he tired of my daily personal sharing, or bored of my nonsensical rants, or whatever. Maybe we got into a fight that only he knows. I hope he lets me know so we can reconcile.

Hey, we aren't gonna talk about our cold war, but something related to it. Do you experience the same? Is Rusty not that sweet to you like before? You can agree when you also notice the tips you get from him being lower than usual.

Here's what I want to let you know: Keep going. Just write, darling. Don't stop. Just continue doing it like how you always did. There is nothing wrong, nothing to be changed, nothing to be worried about. As long as you know that you write original content, you follow the rules, and you do your best, just keep going.

May I suggest you to stop making theories about why you are not earning much as before. The best thing to think is that, a time will come when everything will be back to how it is before, and it's best because it would just come when we least expect it.

Let me tell you a story. I was once a bit of a whiny person. I guess it was two or three months ago, when there was almost a week that Rusty did not visit me, and I am sure I am more than a month in the platform. I was used to getting an average of at least five bucks per article (which is already a big deal to me back then, and of course, until now). I did not openly complain, and just pushed my mindset to "Just write, and write!"

But you know, I could not help but be bothered. Imagine getting less than 50 cents per article for consecutive days? I could not lie to myself, I became frustrated at some point, because I could not upvote others' articles as much as I wanted to, and then the feeling of not receiving what I deserve. I know you get what I mean. I spent almost two hours writing, editing, and revising an article, and then I earn minimal amounts, those were back in the days.

That "feeling bad for myself" went on for roughly five to six days, and I did not write any article for three days, I think. That was also the time I was dealing with some personal struggle inclined on the mental and emotional side.

On the fourth day though, that's Saturday, I remember that. It's just another plan of ditching writing, but I suddenly had a realization. I did not sign up here initially for the money. That is the second priority of mine. My love for writing comes first.

And a few hours or minutes before Sunday came, I just saw myself visiting read.cash, hitting that "Write an Article" button, and typing my thoughts away, like how a persistent river flowed. It was just a simple blog, sharing how my previous days went, how I felt, all my concerns, and even some health problems. For the first time again, I did not think of the upvotes that article may receive. Truth be told, I was more than happy I could release all those stress amd emotions bottled inside for how many days.

That very article also did not reach to a dollar worth of upvote, but it did not matter to me. Because I saw a comment or two, of people who really supported me. I was touched by their words, how they understood what I shared in that blog, and it warmed my heart. Those comments made me really, really happy.

You maybe curious now what article that is. I won't tell, because the people I am thankful about may read this, and I am shy they will see this (Lol!) Kidding aside, let's see if I could attach thay article somewhere here. It was a while back, so I am not sure if I could still find it conveniently. Again, let's see.

Anway, after that, I just wrote again, as usual, and that's when I saw the tips gradually coming back in. From six dollars, it grew to eight again, to twelve and I did not expect I would even reach 28 dollars per article on the succeeding weeks. That's what patience did to me. Those times when my articles got an average of 18 to 20 dollars each were the best part of my journey here, so far. I mostly just did personal sharing, random blogs, and some word of God related articles. The best part was, I enjoyed every bit of it. Let me end the story here.

Looking back at those days, I could only stare at those articles that earned more that $15, because I rarely get that nowadays. There is a bit of sadness, of course, and longing for those experiences, but what stands out is my enthusiasm. That thought that maybe tomorrow, or next week, or next month, Rusty may be sweeter to me. Because we all know how random he is. I mean, we always forget that don't we? Don't deny it! I know we all sometimes wondered why there are articles rewarded handsomely while there are others who rarely gets visited. Remember, random is in his name! (Haha!)

Okay, I guess I failed in making this a somehow formal article the moment I commenced telling a story. I don't regret, because it's what my brain made me write. I know there is no discrimination of topics, and even writing styles here.

Where am I getting at?

Are you one of those missing Rusty's presence? I urge you to do these things, as these are what I do, and these worked for me.

  • Don't check the upvotes notifs from time to time, so you won't be disappointed when you don't see his name that much. This may sound funny, but trust me, this works.

  • Just do your thing. Publish as how you always did, still taking notes of the rules, and the quality needed to make it read-worthy.

  • Support your fellow writers with what you CAN. Upvotes at least 0.01 are still something helpful, than zero. If you can't, support can still be shown by being an avid reader, and by commenting sensibly, to add value. I personally still read articles on my free time, and try my best to support with what I can at the time of doing such.

  • Keep yourself motivated by things other than money. It becomes a hard task already when we are only motivated by the money, this is a fact. Because when money comes short, our motivation also disappears. These days, I am personally motivated by my goal to be more responsible of my time, seizing every opportunity that comes by, spending time to worthwhile things, and of course, my passion for writing. This way, even my articles don't reach 5 or 6 bucks, I don't beat myself to it that much.

As said by @immaryandmerry :

We just have to write and expect nothing in return, without expectation, there is no disappointment. (Thanks for this, Mary!)

  • Don't be stressed, and just go with it. Definitely the easiest way, I guess. It may also seem to summarize the thought of this blog. Sometimes the answer to questionable thinhs, is to just go with the flow, but not forgetting your purpose. Like what I do, going with how everything is, but still managing my activities here. Maybe temporarily limiting my upvotes amount, or accomplishing my sponsorships one at a time, or adjusting my quotas.

These are just some of my thoughts regarding the current changes in Rusty's ways. I hope it won't bother us that much, and just continue writing here. Can we do that? I believe we all can.

Maybe Rusty was on a vacation because he has been roaming around different people in this platform. What if he caught the virus? Hopefully not! Oh, he's a robot! He won't be affected! My bad, I almost forgot.

Anyway, I hope that your interest in staying here in read.cash is not in any way affected by the recent changes. Remember, all of these are part of the process for us to learn and grow.

I have read an article by @Jane, talking about her own "If I were Rusty.." version. Read it now, if you haven't yet. The comment section also entertained me. If you want to answer that question, too, just visit her article and comment your own idea.

Wait a minute.

So this has been so long, I guess. I have been writing since 8pm. And I feel my system gradually shutting down. I know it's been craving for sleep now, after a tiring day at work.

I hope you laughed, learned, and gained some helpful insightes from this article of mine. Don't forget to share your thoughts in the comment section.

That's it, I am slowly drifting to dream land. Until next time!

ps. Can anyone here guess how many times I used the word Rusty here? (Excluding the one I just mentioned.) For a "Random" surprise, GO!

Start your read.cash journey NOW!

Oh, wait.. Do you prefer interacting through short posts? noise.cash is perfect for you! Let me know, so I could guide you through.

Welcome to my sponsor's block! You are always welcome to join the list. I'll be very thankful. ♥️

#Club1BCH

To God be The Glory.

❄️ Some reads you may like:

25
$ 6.94
$ 6.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I was going to browse from the part where I left off but the title caught my eye. Well, I have experienced that for months now but I am still here. But frankly, I really miss when I get more than $15 or more per article. I rarely surpass $10. 😔 I feel like our friend is playing favorites. Just my observation though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely, you gave a justifiable thought about sir Rusty. You know what my second article got an amount coming from rusty that gave me a big amount as a newbie on this platform and I am so glad that my first encounter is so memorable. Yes, you are right ma'am that “just write and write because there is a better day ahead and I am inspired by this. Even though that some of my articles got a small view but it would not make me to stop sharing my own articles. Thank you ma'am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts here. Thanks a lot. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha beautiful 🤩

I am so happy to have encountered with this write up It is so much motivational And yeah we all crave for more and remember those memories for sure.

Those day articles received 20$ was when I joined. Imagine how much I would have dreamt so bad to have some dollars for myself also my article recognized. It with great minded people like you at the top we kept on with the pace and it’s okaay to today. No regret.

I know good time would surely come over again.
Thanks for this superb write up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the nice words, friend. ♥️ Patience is also a vital quality here, and it is always tested. I hope we could always pass the test. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Thanks for the words of encouragement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh, that’s the worst feeling. I feel like I am unlucky for everyone as whenever I step in on any platform their management will change after days. 8 months ago I signup here but I didn’t publish article due to my laziness but I remember that time reward was good enough but one month ago I thought to start my writing here but see now rusty has decreased its reward. Hehe, and day by day he is decreasing and this thing is demotivating me. Haha, btw how can we ignore them every time I visit other people articles only bot appears on my eyes first. Haha, well i hope everything will be better soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just be more patient. It took me more tham a month before Rusty became more generous to.me, too. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not everyday is Christmas day pa naman nga. Nag take ng rest day si Rusty kaya ganon, napapagod din ata siya kakaikot. Sa dami ba naman natin. Hahaha Pero agree, just keep on writing lang talaga. We have other generous users din naman that gives tips consistently e. And if wala din mabigay, a like and a comment would be much appreciated talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. Sa totoo lang,, nakakakilig pag alam mong may mga taong nagsusupport sa articles mo. 💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaaaays so true Elle. Yung kahit, sila sila lang din everyday nakikita mo? Alam mo support sila sayo, enough na yon to continue. 💜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yas , yung makita ko yunt icons nila every end of my article, ang sarap png talaga sa feeling. Tapos pag may dadagdag, nakakatuwa lalo. 💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have already said it several times. I just started visiting me in two articles. Then it disappeared for approximately 18 days. With everyone's help and support, I kept writing and here I am today. Endlessly grateful for revisiting my articles. Although it is much lower than the numbers that you are used to, for me it is a world to reach $ 1 in my article. Just keep writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here. Whatever amount is okay, but you know it's 100% better if we get more than that. So tp be deserving, we must do our best for every article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right Ellehcim. Whatever happens keep motivating and don't give up. Just enjoy and don't stress yourself. Just go with the flow. Still continue and do our best.

This is an opportunity, it help us a lot not financially but through ourselves too for helping us to improve and develop. It helps also in our future through writing and reading articles where we get a learnings from it to widen our knowledge from different things.❤️

Thank you so much for this Ellehcim.❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, because aside from money, we also get manu valuable things here for free. Like new learnings, beautiful insights, and experiences of others that inspire us. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lastima que los que hablamos y escribimos en español no tenemos tanta suerte como ustedes. Ok, odio esa brecha de los idiomas, amo ser chilena y latina. Pero quisiera poder tener más posibilidades en páginas como esta. Rusty nunca me ha visitado 🤷🏻‍♀️

No leo publicaciones en ingles, pero la tuya me gustó mucho. Me hizo entender varias cosas, bueno no sé si entenderás lo que he escrito. Yo uso el traductor para comprenderte a ti.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, my friend. i apologize for replying late. I also used a translation to understand this comment. i hope you won't be frustrated when Rusty does not visit you because you don't use English.

I just want to let you know that English is not my first language too, and other friends of mine uses Filipino language im some of their articles. I still see that language being visited and rewarded.

Though it us much preferred that the language to use is the international one, it also does not discriminate on other languages.

Please wait patiently for Rusty, and just keep writing. Or you can have some aternatives. 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is just a test of our determination and perseverance. Kaya ayaw kong icheck ug upvotes notification kasi masasaktan lang ako ahhahaha Laban❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo, as in! Madaming ibang notif na pwedeng tingnan, like subs, mentions etc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes if writing is really a passion, we will continue to write...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We just could not help but be sad by the number sometimes, but tuluy lang! Next time, tayo nman ang sasagana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same same same! Pighati talaga. Pero push pa din! Sana ngayong weeks maging smooth lahat :) at sa mga susunod pa. Hehe. Fighting!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi, kelzy! I think medyo nagiging okay na lahat. Konting hintay pa, babalik na din sa normal. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4 or 5 times? I guess.

--

Anyways, I do agree with everything that you have told above. What I like most among those is the just do your thing part. Because it's easier that way. We just have to write and expect nothing in return, without expectation, there is no disappointment.

Been here 8 months and I must say it wasn't always Christmas. I only experienced getting more than $20 of upvotes for like 2 times. one of those times is from Rusty, and the other one is from a generous user. Also, here's a short story, it took me 2 weeks straight before Rusty noticed me. And when I thought everything is going smoothly, this happens. From last week of March to third week of June, I barely earned a dollar on my every article. That was such a long time yet I still consistently published article just like how I used too. I still don't get that much until today, but like what you've said, money is not the thing here, it's our love for writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We just have to write and expect nothing in return, without expectation, there is no disappointment.

This! This should be added above, because you nailed it! I love the wordings.. I hope people sees this. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Thanks! Those who loves roaming around the comment section will surely see this. You can add that tho, I don't mind. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, later, I may edit this. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan din ako before. Cents lang talaga natatanggap ko while sa iba halos may $30+ pa. Walang magagawa kundi tumingin at mainggit. Na demotivate din ako tbh. I planned to abandon mg account pero diko ginawa. Nag rest lang ako tapos bumalik na ulit. Pasalamat talaga akos a other user noon kasi kahit wala sya gaanong pag mamahal sakin anjan naman ung iba na handang mag bigay 🎂💙💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo, that feeling when you see them getting 30-40 per articpe tapos ako 0.05 lang, minsan nakakademotivate talaga, pero di naman lalago yun pag huminto ako eh. Tuluy tuloy lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is normal for someone to be sad when Rusty didn't show up but when we realize that we are being shaped into a better writer here, we won't be bothered because we know it's random and will definitely come around anytime. We need to be patient just as you were and eventually got rewarded.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spot on, Princess! I also had my moments of being sad, but would I let that stop me from growing? No, jist keep writing, and the rewards will eventually come more often than we realize.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of the things I went through before now prepared me for moments like this. During the Steemit booming days, when everyone was cashing out, I just started out and wasn't earning much. I kept at it. I don't even bother checking other people's post payout anymore... I just kept at it while engaging others. It was only a matter of time that my fortune changed for the better... Same with Hive that time too.

This is a wonderful post because resilience is needed. We should keep at it... There would be sunshine again...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this, Ola! Resilience is the key! If naybe I could take a look in the memory lane of my starting days here, I can see just how many articles of mine did not get any upvotes, yet, I am still happy writing. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly... You stayed at it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely right. We should keep writing. That should be our motto. I found you people here & all are amazing writers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And amazing supporters too! I won't stay here if not due to the warm and welcoming community that never made me feel like a newbie. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patient is the key sis, nakaka inggit talaga yung andaming blessing from rusty deserve din naman nila yun kaya kung "inggit pikit "nalang hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Though minsan I could see others na through copying and rewording articles lang, sila nakakakuha ng upvotes from Rusty. Mayroon din namang mga tao na di deserving, buti nalang may mga vigilante sa mga plagiarist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

12 times ?

$ 1.01
2 years ago

I counted and it is 10 (11 when the Rusty in the picture is included). Anyway, you have the closest guess so let me give you the surprise reward. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you count the title ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! And did you include the one I used in the question? it's not supposed to be included.

Anyway, I might have counted wrong. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I did

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, maybe that's why you got one more than mine..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found this article as a very friendly guide, thank you for your helpful tips, I will definitely use them...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries, Ellen. I am happy i could help. ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This has a connection to my article for tomorrow that was supposed to be posted today. But since I accidentally posted my If I were article this morning, I just opted to post it not the one that was meant to be posted today 😅 Basta wala bibigay hahamm keep writing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! Hahaha, saw that, and when I opened it it said Error 404. I just noticed you re-published it. We enjoyed naman. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang makakapigil sating magsulat ate Ell! Hehe maging patient and passionate lang po tayo hehe 🥰🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama yan, Athaliah. Push mo lang teh.! 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you focus solely on the money then you would be disappointed when you dont receive. I love writing and that is why I am here, even if Rusty is absent for a few days he will get back. But Rusty does give me inspiration!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amazing mindset, that will surely make you succeed, Oikawa! I can't wait you bragging soon that Rusty loves you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁Thank you friend❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries! Just for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sulat lang ng sulat, sis. Libre naman tayong nagregister dito :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa true lang, it is not like may binayaran tayo to write nor interact din. Diba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, let us keep writing because that is what our systems want us to do😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! If we just got used to writing, we know we'll just keep going even we get not much as we initially do. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, just keep writing as though nothing has happened! Thank god a lot of us love writing for sharing's sake, so the tips are secondary.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Others must have signed up here mainly to earn though.. I don't know much, but I think it's netter to just enjoy first, then think of earning second to the priority. Thanks for reading, Em!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please don't use "Ms".. Just Em will do. hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Edited it right now, Em! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ms. Em! Haha! Oops. I forgot this is not my article. Sorry for replying. LOL. Ms. Em? Really? hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cutie ni Mary. Hihihi! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha naughty Mary is here!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup, Ms. Em! Present! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No "Ms" please, Mary!! GGrrr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oops. okay okay. haha. as much as I'm having so much fun calling you that, I'll stop now. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kind Mary... hehe.. it's just that we are all equals here, so there's no need to show "respect" like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, I get that. I also don't like it when I was being addressed that way. I was just teasing you. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago