Why ants touch themselves.

37 70
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Today was a really hectic and strenuous day for me, I couldn't even do my usuals on read.cash and that was because of how busy my day was. I'm so glad to finally be home; reading, commenting and tipping some articles whilst writing mine too.

Part-time classes resumed today, so I went to school, it was quite boring anyways, reason; because we had just one lecture.

While sitting down and quietly observing, I noticed the movements of some ants.

I've noticed this before but I'm not the kind of inquisitive person that will immediately feed my quest by surfing or asking questions. Today's own was just quite spectacular, I had to finally surf the internet to check out what it meant.

There are alot of things one can actually learn from an ant.

  • Teamwork/co-operation.

  • Savings.

  • Deligence and hard-work, to mention but a few.

What I noticed, which I've actually noticed before.

Ants, when moving, touches themselves, they move closer to another, touch the other and continue moving. It was just so fascinating, I've actually seen them act this way before, but I wasn't all that interested, not until today. I did a video of it, but I just don't know how to upload a video on read.cash, so let's see if we'd see a picture of it on unsplash.

This picture seems perfect, notice those ants.

After surfing the internet, I got to understand that ants are from different colonies, they touch and smell eachother to be sure that both ants are from the same colonies, if they sense that the other ant is not from their colony and there's actually an intruder, things might get tense.

Due to the ants olfactory system, they have their ways of terrifying intruders. Their olfactory system can tell off the scent left from an intruder than one of their owns. So when two ants from different colonies meets, the one without any colony members (the intruder) backs off and protect its life.

Colonies of different ants have their own unique smell, members recognize eachother and sniffs out the intruders. Ants produces pheromones, pheromones are scent chemicals used to communicate and make trails.

Also, when you see an ant that stays too long; touching its fellow ants, they are actually passing ingested food to the other, an ant might be going in search for food and might meet another ant on its' way, they touch themselves for long to ensure the other well fed, either from the mouth or from the anus.

So...

Anytime you see an ant bumping into every other ant that comes their way, just know that they are either:

  • Smelling themselves to know which colony the other ant belongs to.

Or...

  • Feeding themselves through the mouth or the anus.

Don't feel it has poor navigational skills, the ant might just be telling the other of the danger lying ahead. But if they stay in contact way longer than normal, then you're seeing/watching an insect deed that ensures everyone is well fed.

Apologies: I must say this, I didn't really participate in engaging today, was stressed and still is, also wasn't in a good frame of mind. I'll definitely be more agile tomorrow.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

25
$ 3.16
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.10 from @MichaelBCH
+ 18
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

Oooh I get it now, just like zombies.... Once they smell anything other than them things always get intense, well am glad I just knew that same goes for ants and I do enjoy their team work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The ants are working continuously and in a slow way but finally, they attempt their objective this reminds me of the attitude of endurance at work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Informative article!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I miss my biology class and my teacher. He is no more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ants are among the most cooperative and united animals on earth if not the most United. Unlike other animals " they don't possess the survival of the fittest "aggressive mentality... They assist and help each other even though they are blind. To me, the aunty will remain one if the greatest wonder in the world. How such little animals could build castles thru unity, grit and hardwork is just really amazing

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ants are truly exceptional, this is so true Bilqees, ants are really amazing creatures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Funny how you're just finding out bout some of these, I knew half of the things you wrote here when I was a kid, from watching animations about ants lool (no offense intended though), sometimes we learn things from unexpected places. Now that said this was a really nice article gave more insight to my knowledge of ants and I likes that, thanks for this it was a wonderful read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take me to biology class this is wonderful and educational.. 👏👏👏kudos ella I have learnt a new thing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww, thanks boss, I'm delighted

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The ants are actually very hardworking. When I was little I thought ants would touch and talk to each other. I read your article and found out the real reason.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes indeed; they are hardworking. Thanks for stopping by Sonali.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You made a beautiful article. I have only known about ants smelling themselves as part of recognizing their colony. This post widened my experience.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot Gianna, good to see you here. Wow!, (Rhetorically) "Did it?" That's great to know dear Gianna

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just taught us the wholeness of ants in a well simplier form, you'll do well if you take up teaching BIOLOGY in schools. Lol🤣. The cooperation I see in ants is what always baffles me. They're like soldiers, the move with crowd

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwww, I take that as a compliment Kay, lol, 😂 Biology Is not for me ooh... Science has never been a thing of mine. lol, it was just to feed my curiosity; that's why I read and wrote about ants. Lol Exactly, they cooperate alot, sometimes I do wonder if they don't fight eachother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its not easy being a student, I can tell you that cause I'm a student too, but I'm sure you would do great, you have many people rooting for you here, including me. Happy Sunday, if we can all think and act like an ant, things would be more better

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really not easy Fash,😔 awwwwwn, thanks alot Fash. Yes exactly, things would be more better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting. I have seen some Ants in our place and I have already seen that they are literally bumping to each other I never knew that it was their strategy to know if they are in one colonel. I find it interesting to know from your article. However I already observed how Ants work as a team, and they are also hardworking to get some food for them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, thanks Grey. Exactly Grey, ants are really hardworking and they embrace teamwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We could get some lessons from the lives of ants. Even how small they are, their character of having teamwork could inspire us the importance of a member in a certain group. Likewise, ants taught us also to work and save for our future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Han you're truly right, there are alot of lessons to learn from ants.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, another informative stories from here, I ignored ants but now I think whenever I saw ants I can have questions also and I can remember this one 💚💚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwww, thanks for stopping by here Dawn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehe sure 💚💚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't had any idea that touching themselves is passing food from each other. That was mind-blowing! What I don't like to ants are they bite me and it stays there for few days. Thus, it is very itchy too. However, reading your article today is awesome.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, yes Marc. their bites can be really itchy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All will be well. These are good lessons from little ants.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Tife, thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it is part of their communication. I can't get this touching, smelling interm of feeding but yes passing some massage quite possible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, you're right. It's also part of the way they communicate to eachother, ants sometimes touch themselves to warn eachother of an approaching danger. I just didn't want to make the article really lengthy, else I'd have included: "how ants communicates with eachother."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh so that's the matter, your article is really really amazing for me coz whenever I see ants same question pop up in my mind I always thought that they are greeting each other just like we humans do(haha) but honestly speaking i never searched about it so your article cleared all my questions related to ants meeting with each other.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Kainat. Lol, that was exactly what I thought too dear... I've always thought they were greeting eachother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take good care of yourself Ella. Combining academics with regular readcash engagement ain't easy. Btw Ants are spectacular beings, I do admire them when they move in colonies all to one direction. Very cordinated.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot Chief, I would. Oh yes, they are. Yes, indeed organized.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow am also learning too . That means ants smells to know if they are families that really creepy. congratulations on achieving 100 subscribers ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Kay, I learnt this yesterday too. Awwwwwn, that's true😱 thanks Kay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful information! I wonder if we bloggers/readers do like the ant while grazing on the blogging field!

$ 0.00
1 year ago