Time varies; don't despair.

35 68
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Literally speaking, I had no prior idea to what I intended to draft as my today's article, this came directly from my personal experience, it's more like an advice to myself and to everyone out there.

Before I kick off. Join me once more; in admiring these lovely, awesome, sweetest and supportive great writers. I'm so lucky to have them as my sponsors.

Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty

Three gbosas to my sponsors, I love you immensely and I'm so grateful for your loving show of support.

Today's blog.

Time varies; don't despair.

Time

the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues 

Wikipedia

One of the causes of greed is jealousy or envy towards the progress of others. We sometimes forget that we might just not be meant to make it the same time or period our friend makes it.

Let's use nature as an example:

There are different seasons in a year and these seasons have their specific timing.

  • Autumn or fall.

  • Summer,

  • Spring

  • Winter

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.

Ecclesiastes 3vs1

The sun has its time to shine, so does the moon. I don't know about you, but I've never seen the moon shining at twelve noon. Neither have I seen the sun shining in the night.

Everyone's timing is different.

  • Oh you didn't get admitted to college sooner, your friends are already in school and you're still trying to figure your life out.

  • You didn't get married at your planned date, whereas your school daughter back at college; is married already with two kids.

  • You've been married for the space of five years and yet no children to show for it,but your friends and younger sister have birthed their second child.

  • You wrote your exams a couple of times and failed, whereas your friend; who is not as brilliant as you are, wrote it at a go and made her papers.

  • You graduated with a first class degree, but even at that; you're there, jobless. Whereas your friend that barely crawled through school is already counting his salary in millions.

It could be difficult, wait; did I just say "could?." It is difficult, believe me; I know. I'm still here.

With the way I pictured my life, I should be wrapping up with my educational life by now, I mean; some of my mates have.

There was a day I cried.

Why did I cry?

I saw one of my juniors, back in high school; in her matriculation gown. Don't misquote me, I was happy for her, but I was sad when I remembered the age I was; when I wore my own matriculation gown.

This girl in quote is just 16years old and she has already entered a prestigious University called; Obafemi Awolowo University and I'm here, struggling in a ploytechnic, it was like a great slap to my face. I started wishing I had figured out my life in time, I started wishing I got admitted into a university instead.

You can never be late.

Patience is not simply the ability to wait – it’s how we behave while we’re waiting.”

Joyce Meyer.

During this waiting period of yours, don't despair, always remember that: in due time, it'll work out fine.

Don't weigh your friends achievements with that of yours.

Don't question your abilities all because your friend seems to be made

Just learn to smile and be happy.

Image source: Unsplash.

Start learning these tips.

  • Learn to sincerely congratulate others.

  • Anytime that depressive feeling knocks on the door of your heart. Learn to remind yourself that you're good at what you do and that even if it's not now. You'll surely be who you've dreamed of someday.

  • Always wear a smiling face even in the face of challenges. This way, your heart and mind would start getting used to happiness.

  • Learn Self motivation: Sometime last year, I was so tired of writing, infact I was at the edge of losing myself and that was because, people on my WhatsApp contact list left little or no feedbacks as regards my poems and all. I needed motivation from them. I needed to hear words like: "I love this poem" "this was inspiring" "what's the meaning of this poem" I also wanted to hear critiques like "you shouldn't have put a comma after that letter" "simile would have worked better in that phrase...."

I wanted feedbacks!!. Was that too much to ask? So I almost lost it, it was then one of my spiritual fathers told me: "Learn to motivate yourself, don't always wait for others to motivate you." These words sank in and since then. I tried my best to start motivating myself.

  • Congratulate yourself: Just learn to congratulate yourself, tell yourself sweet things, remind yourself of your previous accomplishment, always remind yourself that "this is a phase, that would soon be over." Tell yourself in, "Mr Macaroni's voice" "you're doing well."

  • Whenever those worries starts triggering in, just smile and try to remember only good memories.

The wait might be long, but tell yourself this: "I'll get there."

Learn not to feel bad if your friend makes it before you. Be happy and smile for your own day of celebration is soon to begin.

Always remember:

Time varies, don't despair.

  • Some people get married at the age of 25, and gets her kids within the space of a year.

  • Some, gets married at the same age but gets their kids within the space of six years.

  • Some; don't even conceive at all.

Serah in the Bible, conceived at the age of 90. (Way above menopause).

  • Some people; immediately they are done with school, they get their dream jobs, in their dream company.

  • While some have to wait for few years of movement, sweating and submitting curriculum vitaes' from one company to another before they finally gain employment.

In all, let's just patiently wait for our time, one of the reasons why you hear of "rituals in Nigeria" or "fraud" "killing" is basically because of greed and impatience and ofcourse lack of conscience.

One of the reasons why a best friend would go about "seducing her friend's" husband or boyfriend is jealousy and that jealousy is sometimes; triggered from impatience and despair.

Most people these days just want the results, they are not patient enough to wait for their own time.

Above all:

Time, they say; is money, so use your time well and use it wisely.

It is here, I'll drop my pen. I'd be glad to read your beautiful comments, I'll love you hear your views on this.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

24
$ 3.10
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

Well technically we only have 2 seasons In this damned country lool, but that's besides what your whole article was about... I've never really thought about these things you wrote, people having their own time and all, that would mean I believe in destiny or fate. Where as I feel "there is no fate but what we make", maybe it's cause I don't really react to things the same way normal folks do, but I'd do well to keep all you wrote in mind.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. All fingers are not equal. I was done with secondary school the year I clocked 16. Then decided on my own I was too young for the university. Decided to taste life by being independent and working to fend for myself. All the while, my classmates were gaining admission into the university/polytechnic. Did I regret not going to the university sooner? Absolutely not! Because those years I spent working and making a living has taught me a lot and equipped me for life. It has shaped me into who I am today and I am sure it will play a big role in who I'll be tomorrow. Don't fret...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for sharing your experience with me, Aimure. This is really inspiring. I understand now, one should definitely not think about things as this. Thanks Aimure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are uniquely different and time varies for us. The examples you gave are just it, impatience, greed and jealousy pushing People to their breaking limit. A lot of people are no longer ready to weight for 'Godstime'. The urge to move away from God's time is always there especially with the current situation of the economy and world, but we mustn't let occurrences to dictate for us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for reading, Kay. You're right. We mustn't let occurrences dictate for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine giving myself wholly to something and it being underappreciated. I get sad most of the time. So, when I knew this about myself. I started to not feel like people owed me a thing when i write a good poem, or a story or anything of the sort. My notepads are filled with poems, or writings about people, nature, or an imaginary world I created... and I know some people wouldn't understand the emotions that hung in those words. So if I continued to do it for the recognition, what happens when it stops. Now, that's how I thought to let go and just be the creative, and amazing writer I was meant to be.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Honestly, being in such shoe is really depressing. I love your conclusion Vince. And yeah, people might not even understand the emotions one tries to portray in ones poems. These words of yours have reminded me of what I ought to continuously do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Delay is definitely not denial". The advice about patience is one of the most valuable advice you can ever give to someone. We should always be patient in our wait, so long as we keep doing our best and we haven't yet destroyed our relationship with God, we would definitely be remembered very soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh! I love your quoted sentence. Absolutely correct. Oh! This is just so awesome Bilquees, we would surely be remembered soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As our faces are different so our times. We are all predestined to achieve things at various times. The fact that i first attended polytechnic then put in for direct entry into the University isn't a waste of time to me, i have seen it as a blessing, what i learnt in the polytechnic is still the bed rock of my cornerstone. Last week a level mate of mine when we were in secondary school called me, and i asked where I was, i told her i was still in school that i haven't graduated, she was surprised, and said " sé kòwá tí tó tán ni?" I believe it's time designed by God for me.

Ella, don't worry. You're gonna achieve greatly, polytechnic is sweet and based on practicalities , I have enjoyed it too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwwwwn 🥺 Ayo, little wonder why you nicknamed yourself "NICEAyo" indeed these words you typed melted my heart. Thanks for these words, and thanks for sharing with me; you r experience. You're right, everyone's timing is different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The race is definitely not for the swift. A lot of persons have been denied of their blessings because they fail to look at the bright side. Things may not be positive always but a positive mindset is all it takes to realize that and focus on the bright side of things. A lot of us has gone through conditions where we put God to question but at the end of the day things seems to get better. We may not be there now but we are not far from there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Chief, I love this part: "we may not be there now but we are not far from there" Hmmm, all you said; cuts really deep. Thanks for your inspiring contribution Chief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right Ella different people and different time for them .. God handles these things and he knows best for sure

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Jumper, different people with different timing. Thanks for your lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely understand this for this is one thing that I believe in and kept sharing to others too :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Article, I hope others would also understand it as much as you do. Thanks article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it is the decision of parents not to get children in the first five years of marriage but after they decide to have children, it is not always a medical problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something I needed to hear today!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwn, thanks for stopping by Bloghound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this article, it what I really needed right now.. it's true that we all have different timing just like the different seasons. Sometimes it'll rain our side, sometimes the sun will shine and other times harmattan will take place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for loving it, Bali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is a very precious thing in our lives. We are all familiar with time. It is better to do the work on time. Either you have to face a lot of losses. Even then, if the time changes, it does not break in despair, then firm conviction

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right Sonali, thanks for your lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everytime I see people with their success, I'm very happy for them. I don't need to be jealous. But if I am jealous of something, I would say. Like, "oh how I wish I can earn as much as you do. I'm jealous but soon I can achieve it."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do we call this positive jealousy? Lol, silly me. I believe their achievements is like a motivational stepping stone to you. And with such faith, you'd definitely achieve it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah a positive jealousy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is an independent variable. We can't control it. Yes time varies. And I don't despair my self if my batchmates got married early and me at the age of 35. I am not worried about that. Some don't have babies yet but me I have two adorable kids anymore. Don't be lose hope.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We indeed can't control time, Han. I won't loose hope, thanks so much for this Han.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very true. In addition to being patient, we must be thankful for our blessings in the moment and also happy for others' success. Very often we are conditioned to be competitive and therefore measure ourselves against others and can become depressed or envious of someone else's success. I think a key to happiness is finding joy in the joy of others, even as we practice patience. Also, religious texts tell us that sometimes the things we pursue or desire might not be the direction we are meant to pursue, and so, not only patient but we must be discerning and accepting of God's will. Have a great day, dear.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Trifecta on this, once again you've said it all. Hmm, this: "finding our joy in the joy of others" Is inspirationally new to me. Thanks alot for your very much intelligent contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks as always for your kind words, Ellawrites. Enjoy your day. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyone that reads this should get motivated, my mom do tell me its not how far, it is how well, I know of a friend that gain admission into OAU university same time as me.. But lack of funds stop me, I'm in my final year in Kwara state polytechnic, and she's not done yet, I'm even studying the course of my dream, also my junior Cous got admitted in the polytechnic before I did, but currently we are in same level and I have work as an administrative personnel in different company. When I look back at my journey, I just know I have done well so far.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwwwwn 🥺 Fash, this is so inspiring, I'm glad you shared your achievements, thank God for your life and career. Your momma was definitely right, it's not a matter of how far but how well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah..so let's take life with ease

$ 0.00
2 years ago