Musophobia.

38 67
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

I would have drafted and published quite earlier, but writers block really feasted in my brains today. I'm literally just coming up with something.

Something random popped in just now, it really got my fingers moving speedily.

I decided to write about my fear of mice or rats, household rodents.

I actually wanted to just write out:

  • The fear of rats.

But then, I knew it will definitely be a phobia, @Bilqees made me understand this. This little knowledge I gained from the aforementioned name, made me surf the internet to get a better glimpse of what type of phobia it's called.

Musophobia

Google defined it as a fear of rodents. People with musophobia are no fans of rodents infestation or problems within the house.

Rodent.

Truth be told, I feel so agitated whenever I see these rodents. I have so many experiences to buttress on this.

Oh! You really need to see me shaking whenever I see a wall gecko, there was a day I saw it in my room. I had to leave the room to sleep in the living room that day.

I was trying to look into the eyes of a rat, few months back, I tried to love it since someone told me they were cute, but then I could actually bare it no more. I ran away.

My experiences:

There was a day I saw a rat in my former place of residence, oh! That day I wanted to prove myself to be finally bold. So I followed the rat right until it went behind a carton. Immediately, I used my fist to punch through the carton; the rat to the wall and it died indeed. I checked to confirm, I celebrated my victory. It was a win at last. (I was 17years old then) here comes the big part for me:

  • I had killed the rat (something I've never done in my life).

  • But who would pick up the rat to trash it out?.

Now, that was the big question.

Oh! Thank goodness my dad was around. Me to my dad.

Me: Daddy there's a rat behind that carton.

My Dad: Okay! Kill it.

Me: I've killed it already.

My Dad: So why are you telling me about it?, Have you trashed it?.

Me: No, I have not. Please help me trash it. (I did that babyish face, lol, I do that mostly when I want someone to do my bidding, the person would actually look at my face and just wouldn't be able to say no. Except the person is just trying to be vile. Lol).

I don't know how it happened, but unusually, my dad agreed and helped me trash it.

Second experience:

I wasn't home for a whole week, so when I got back home, I was doing my chores, and oh no! I perceived the smell of a dead rat. In my room!! Oh! Of all places, why must it be in my room?!!.

I had to get rid of it, so I searched my room and finally saw the dead rat, a really small dead rat.

Immediately I saw it;

  • I located a chair,

  • Sat down and went deep into thought,

  • What was I thinking about?

  • I was mind-rehearsing how I would get a broom, get a dustpan, bend down, use the broom to push the dead rat into the dustpan, walk to the door, open it, go outside and trash it out.

  • I stayed there for seconds, seconds turned minutes. I would go to the living room, pick up the broom and dustpan, come back to my room, look at the tiny rat, grumble again and start lamenting.

  • I cried, yes, I actually cried that day at the thought of having to dispose the dead rat. Daddy was not around this time around. I was left all alone.

  • I really, really cried.

But over 30minutes later, with pacing back and forward. I summoned up courage, went towards the door, opened it wide, put on my nose mask, picked up the broom and dustpan, walked towards the rat, bent down, closed my eyes, tilted my face away a bit and hastily used the broom to push it into the dustpan.

I was satisfied.

I opened my eyes a bit so I won't use my face to hit the wall. I walked hastily outside and quickly disposed the dead rat.

Sighs...

It was that easy!

I can't be the only one on this table right? Who else has musophobia?

Special Appreciation: Thanks alot @foryoubtc09 for the sponsorship, I'm really grateful for your show of support. Thanks a whole lot.

My readers, subscribers, sponsors, commenters, likers and upvoters, believe me when I tell you this:

You all are the best. I'm grateful for your consistent show of support.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

19
$ 2.57
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

After reading your article, I came to know that there are lots of Phobias , I didn't even heard about them. We can only win against our fears if we face them , now I guess you have less fear for the rats.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Evelyn, there are a whole lots of phobias. I really need to start facing them indeed. Lol, not exactly Evelyn, but I'm learning to have little or no fear towards them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all have different phobia's, well phobia's has different form too and so it's not surprising. Anyway, I felt sorry for the rat but of course I do feel sorry for you too. Since I also have phobia I know how it feels to see the thing the we we're afraid to. Some says we should fight our fears as there's no other cure for our phobia's but to conquer it, well they might be right but I still can't agree with that. Sometimes our phobia was formed by a traumatic experience and so dealing with our fears was indeed difficult.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gray, exactly. We all have different phobias and some were formed by traumatic experience. It's really really difficult Gray.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe having musophobia from rats is completely reasonable for many reasons. The first reason is the transfer of illness when a rat bites you off your finger. Second, if they enter the house they also eat what you have as dinner and this is also bad.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right amani, maybe it's normal then. I've always been checking your page whenever you leave a comment on mine but I noticed you've not written an article yet..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have luck of ideas as article requires a lot of time and ressources

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh amani, just start, start writing soon. Start from the least. I'll love to read your article someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This your story weak me oh. Let me just keep mute.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ better leave me ooh πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€²

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never killed rats by myself before I just wait for it to eat rat poison πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ and after it eats the rat poison, you actually dispose it yourself? 😱

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rats, I'm sort of scared of them too but not as much as youπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, I had to muster up the courage to pick them up when I was working at a research institute a while back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaaah, those creatures are something else πŸ˜‚ Wow! Congratulations on that, you really tried In that, I'm pretty sure it has made you completely overcome the fear of rats.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not completely but I'm better now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay phobia for rats (musophobia); lool sounds like being weak to meπŸ˜‚... Okay kidding, besides wall gecko's ain't rodents though.

You cried cause you wanted to dispose off a dead rat yo! What the hell.... Am I the only one who finds this really hilarious. And you punched and killed a rat... You're a killer, you killed an innocent creature only trying to survive loolπŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ™„ lol, Correction taken...

It really wasn't funny that day yunno πŸ˜‚ It was disturbing my peace, I'm sure you've killed one too πŸ˜‚ Innocent kor, πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only time i could remember i feared rat was when i was a kid. Then, omo, come and see race & cry whenever they throw it on me. But since i began to grow up, no more fear.

Glad to have read your article, though i'm new here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I can only imagine... Thank goodness you fear them no more. I'd love some boldness pills from you.

Awwwwwn, welcome on board Ayo. I just subscribed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey Ella, I believe I'm on this table with you. I can't bear the sight of wall gecko's. It scares the living day outta me. Thanks for letting me know the name associated with the phobia.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ really. My oh my!! It really does scares me... you're welcome Bali.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Aren't we all afraid of rats. atleast you are much better then me because you had the courage to eliminate one before. I even prefer seeing a rat I'm my room than a 🦎. Ah, lizard! 😭

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aaaah 😱 Bilquees... My oh my!! Really πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Honestly, we share the same mind as regards that. When it comes to preference, I so much prefer seeing a rat than a lizard or wall gecko.... I take to my heels immediately I see one πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The smells of dead rat is argggggg. can' take it. Ohhh sorry to hear that about your phobia .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really disgusting Kleah... Thanks Kleah and thanks for stopping by here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Does it mean you are scared of all rodents or just house rats. I don't like them, but I like rabbits,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ All rodents, Aimure, I'm scared of them all. Wow, you like rabbits? That's quite awesome, you have one right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, I don't have one. I just find them aesthetically pleasing to watch.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you must really hate rats with all this funny stories. I can't even fear them my dad will knock some sense into me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, I really hate them ooh. That day I wasn't laughing. You need to see the seriousness of my tears πŸ˜‚ Lol, πŸ˜‚ aaah thank goodness for your dad. He trained you well to be a man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no you're the only one. My bestfriend perhaps have musophobia too. I can remember her running all the way out or their house when she saw a rat staring at her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ really?!! She definitely has it πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have any deep aghast about rats, but one thing about, it gives me apprehensions cause they are treat to our health. They bring diseases to us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes meruem, they are threats to our health and it's contagious too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you finally trashed it. Lol

I don't like rats but, my deep hatred is reserved for the snakes. I get oogies anytime I even think of them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aaaah I'm glad too Vince, lol. Snakes... Eeeeeeew, let's not go there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I know what I will use to scare you whenever you look for my trouble πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ If you try it ehn, we'll just kuku stop talking πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago