It's You against You.

26 57
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago
  • It's you against you.

  • Not you against your siblings.

  • Not you against your friends.

  • Not you against the world.

I noticed something, basically from my own experience. There are some times when I feel bad about myself. I tend to have this feeling whenever I see a person who does the same thing I do, or who is into the same thing I'm into; doing far better than me, for instance:

  • Taking steps I neglected.

  • Growing or getting better than me.

  • Making money through the same thing I do, while I've got nothing to show for it.

  • Getting noticed while I remain in the dark...

Don't take this the wrong way, I'm sure some of us might have felt this way in time past, we allow the successes of others to weigh us down and deaden the tinniest bit of effort we make.

But then, there's something I keep telling myself especially when these deadly thoughts comes piercing deep into my soul;

  • When I see a sixteen years old girl taking steps I was ignorant of when I was her age.

  • When I see a girl who is a graduate at my present age; while I'm still here struggling with my undergraduate life.

  • When I see a girl who is fulfilled and married at my age.

  • When I see....when I see...

I always remind myself of this:

Ella, it's you against you, don't compare yourself to others, don't allow their achievements lead you into feeling inferior or sad.

I viewed something really interesting today while going through the WhatsApp statuses of people on my contact list.

I stumbled upon the status of a very great writer and artist, this is a screenshot of what he posted:

We would never recognize our full potentials if we keep using people's achievements to weigh and measure ours.

It's you against you, you against what you were in time past.

If I measure my success with that of my friend's, I'll surely and definitely feel down and so bad of myself. But if I measure my success with that of my past self, oh! You need to watch me raise my shoulders in ecstasy.

Remember our secondary school years, that smile we can't help but wear on our faces whenever we check our report cards; seeing an higher percentage than that of the previous term.

Or...

As an undergraduate who just heard the news of the results being released; checking the notice board to view your result; only to find out that your Gradepoint for that particular semester is better than that of the previous semester.

I don't know how you feel, but trust me, there's this excitment that gushes out from my innermost part whenever I see a better and higher gradepoint.

Yes!!!

That's the spirit, it's not about friends, families, it's not even about your fans or the world as a whole. It's about you, yes you.

It's about getting better, doing greater things and consistently fighting in order to be the best version of yourself.

Taking a glance back to the days of yore, I can't help but smile; reminiscing those great small steps I took.

I'm proud to say this; I'm better than what I was before.

That should also be your checkpoint.

Just as I was proofreading this article, this WhatsApp message popped up, it's from a motivational group I joined recently:

What a coincidence! πŸ˜‚

It's all about being better than what you were in the past.

Don't forget this:

It's you against you.

So instead of looking at that friends achievements or allowing that achievement get the better part of you, start seeing more of your own achievement. Start working towards improvement, be happy, be proud of those little steps you take or make.

And...

Be the best version of yourself.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

21
$ 0.25
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.03 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

The only person you should compare yourself to is you in the past, it's like that, my dear, you are against you, otherwise you will not know a path to success or satisfaction, each one of us has his chronological timing. You cannot compare your first stage with someone's tenth stage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear Lara. Honestly; I love what you said in the last part. You broadened my thinking faculty. "You cannot compare your first stage to someone's tenth stage." Truly deep.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me against others what was I've been doing in my secondary School days, because we all want to attain prices at end of the session

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uhhhm, that's a good one but I still feel that one attains better when one evaluates oneself with oneself and not with others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Comparison is one of the things that kills faster that anyone can imagine. It can push one both positively and negatively so a balance is needed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear, it kills faster than we could ever think of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, everyone as their own time and age doesn’t mean one is losing, I get the feeling sometimes too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear Coga. We all have our timing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the biggest causes of low self-esteem esteem is to engage in comparison. I know it's comparison helps one to put up a fight against a stagnant life but in the other way, it breaks the soul.

Yes, comparison can't not be completely avoided in our daily lives, but let your comparison bring out the better part of you instead not breaking the mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes exactly Kay, you're right indeed, thanks for stopping by here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. I have made myself believe that everyone is running a different race, so that way, I don't do comparisons. I don't think there has been a time I saw my results in the university and was genuinely happy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Maybe this year will be different.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I love this concept, exactly indeed. Everyone is running a different race.

Aah, lol πŸ˜‚ I would have loved to ask why? πŸ€¦πŸΎβ€β™€οΈ

Lol, I'm sure hoping so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The why is simple. I am a perfectionist, and anything short of that is disappointing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel like everyone should strive to be a better version of themselves everyday. The goal is to be better than you was yesterday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly Levi, that's the goal and that should always be the goal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Comparing yourself to someone else will cripple your emotions because you're trying to be like the person. The only person you can compare to yourself is you. Just you to you!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true Sis, it's best if we compare ourselves to ourselves and not to others

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We feel this way atimes because we want to be like other people that have succeeded. We should not forget that we were all born at different times and by different parents. So, we should run at our own pace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly dear, we were all birthed at different times and that's how life is, everyone would succeed at his or her own pace or timing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A perfect doze of inspiration to start my day off. And to think that I just left my Alma mater's group and felt down when I saw some of the achievements of my mates..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch! I'm glad this helped.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a matter of knowing that things you do and work hard for, is for you. And there is no such great thing as loving you self too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes indeed dear Charm, there is no such great thing as that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Comparison is really a threat to progress, rather than focusing our energy on ourselves, we channel it to hating another person..yes! When you are so into another man's success, you will start hating on them, wishing and hoping they could just pause and then you over take them.

Comparison is a related to jealousy and that is one habit we need to get off our mind. Everyone has their winning season

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this, exactly dear Wrinkle. Comparison is indeed deadly and related to jealousy. Everyone has his/her own timing to succeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago