Hearing from the horse's mouth.

41 73
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

To hear from the horse's mouth is an idiomatic expression that simply means:

To hear it from the person who has direct personal knowledge of it.

What's this blog all about?

The truth.

One thing about the truth is that it mostly comes out into the open, just the same way a pregnancy can't be concealed, the truth can't be hidden for too long.

There are some situations some people find themselves in, mostly as a result of their ugly past experiences. Some might prolly be as a result of the number of body counts, or as a result of the number of abortions they've had. Some might be as a result of murder, deceit, and so much more atrocities you can think of.

It's really hard to tell the truth, especially when we need to tell it to our loved ones or someone we can't bare to be separated from. But while struggling with your conscience, always remember that:

"The truth sets you free."

Have you ever been in a situation whereby you concealed a bad thing in your mind for too long, but after sometime, your conscience just wouldn't let you be, so you spilled and whooah! Do you ever notice how free your mind becomes whenever you've told the truth? It's awesome right?

  • The truth is relieving,

  • It's stress free.

  • It might start off on the bad side, but trust me it heals.

  • The truth isn't hidden for too long.

  • It saves you from constant pains and regrets.

  • It also saves from blackmails.

But...in the end.

It's always best when the truth comes from you and not anyone else.

Most people are so scared to face their past, some people's past still hunts them even after they've tied the knots.

That's when you'll see their past boyfriend who had done one or two things with them; coming back to hunt down their happiness.

People fall into a more deeper sin, just by trying to hide the truth.

A short dialogue.

Helena: Zach, I can't do this, you know I'm now a married woman, I can't meet up with you, especially not in an hotel, I just can't.

Zach: I'm giving you 24hours Helena, 24hours to make up your mind, else your pretty little husband would find out about how many abortions you've had.

Helena: (sobs) why do you keep doing this Zach?, Okay fine, I'll come, text me the address, but please let this be the last time. I can't continue doing this please, name your price, I'll pay you any amount. Just stay away from my family please.

One thing about Helena's past is that; it'll keep coming back to hunt her if she lets it, the only way Helena could have conquered her past is by telling her husband. Dropping the bombshell directly from her mouth.

It would still be hard, but it's always better if you are the one they hear it from an not anyone else.

It's always best if they hear it from you first, it makes them heal faster. It might take some time, but they'll be more grateful to have heard it from you and not anyone else.

Gregory is filled with tears, while Helena Is on her kneels, begging.

Helena: I'm so sorry Greg, I'm really sorry I didn't tell you, I was too ashamed of my past. I just couldn't fathom what would happen to our lovely marriage if I had spilled, please forgive me Greg. I'm really sorry. (Sobs).

Greg: You should have told me!! You should have told me Helena, do you know how I felt when I heard it from someone else?. So my wife keeps secrets from me, I had to hear it from another person. You should have told me!!!! (Walks away, enters his car and drives off).

Helena: (painfully screams after him) I didn't want to loose you!!!!! Oh no!! Greg!!! No no no, I hate you so much Zach! I hate you!!!... (Sobs) Greg!!!!.

Lights fade out.

Most people feel that telling the truth would make them loose their loved ones, forgetting that no matter how much they try, the truth would still show it's face. It's only a matter of time.

Even if the truth makes them loose their loved ones, it's still always better to take the chances; especially because the truth gives freedom to your conscience.

Even the Bible says:

He who covers his sins shall not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them shall obtain mercy.

Tell the truth, and let that truth be heard from you first and not anyone else. It's always better if it happens this way, than happening the other way around.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

25
$ 2.80
$ 2.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.07 from @Aimure
+ 19
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

It is true that we want everytime to say the truth but we are not living alone, some times families pressure let you lie about some subjects or your boss or even your partner forces you to lie about something to someone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mother says me since my childhood my daughter truth must reveal one day how far you keep it behind a lie one day one month one year . It must be reavled at someday and if we hear it someone else it will hurt us so if you have any truth to tell us .just do courage and tell me .due to her this lesson i never tell a lie to her. I have this fear it will reveal soon. Same as you write Helena should tell her husband may be he would not react too much as he reacted after listening from anyone else.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, I'm glad your mum told you this, she's completely right. The truth would always come out in the open. Helena was so wrong for not telling her husband the truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Say the truth, and the truth shall set you free, we should not conceal evil/lie in our heart for too long, because it will keep eating us up, it's just a heavy burden that will keep on pressing us down unless we free ourselves from the sting.. and no matter how long it might take, the truth will surely prevail.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love this, you've really said it all...the truth must surely prevail, so it's always best if we tell the truth at all times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gbam!! , Saying the truth pays

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth does set one free, keeping in things makes it hard for one to breathe,any slight question from the person would make you think otherwise. A lovely article as usual Ella.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly... Not telling the truth; chokes a person. it's always good to spill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth might not be what you want to hear but it is definitely what you should hear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Brilliant, I love this. The truth is what we should hear even if we don't want to hear it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've withheld truth before and I know the feelings. Even if peace of mind is trying to settle, once you see anything that reminds of it, the peace will disappear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch!, I can relate to this. It's so true and that's why it's best to always say the truth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I once refer to truth as a log of wood no matter how you try to sink it in a water. It will always float up back.

The truth will always come to light, it might take time. It might be after the person's death.

Saying the truth will indeed set one free

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This is a really great one. I love this.

Yes indeed, it'll always come to light. Awww, thanks for stopping by here Mr Tomi.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is a pleasure reading your amazing write-up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lying is a continuous thing. When you think it's just a small lie, you discover that the lie start getting bigger and bigger and then you lose control. I always tell myself that there's nothing like once in life so I rather come clean

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, you've spoken well dear Vie

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Always been a fan from of truth-telling. That is not to say that I don't withhold information or tell half truths.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uhhhm, withold information? Tell half truth? Omo! E no clear for my eyesπŸ€¦πŸΎβ€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ really?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth can not and never be hidden. Just with time, it will show itself. Sometimes it is difficult to say it but it is always a relief of burden and a peaceful spirit to say it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly dearest, the truth can never be hidden

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe that the truth always comes out. Even if people try so hard to hide it. It will come out, sooner or later. We couldn't expect more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Cherry, exactly. I believe so too. Thanks for stopping by dearest friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Couldn't agree more. The truth always prevails no matter how hard we try to hide it. It can't be hidden because it is a very necessary repellent.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes hybreed, it can't be hidden, it always prevails so it must be told, thanks for this lovely comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when we reveal what really happened then our lives will feel calm, no burden and feel peaceful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very true, it's always best when we say the truth, it really heals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, this needs to be addressed, I encountered an old friend last week and she lied about her educational status, not until I told her mine, it was then she opened up. I was shocked

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch! I'm wondering why she decided to lie about it, I guess she either thought she was older or too young. So she wanted you to say yours first. I do this Sometimes especially when I'm asked my age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess she felt like I would downgrade her because she hasn't gain admission yet, it was when I told her I just gained admission too that she decided to be sincere with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth is always the best in whatsoever situation.. I agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, my dear Ella, if our loved ones hear the truth from other people instead of from our mouths, then it becomes really hard, painful and sometimes unforgivable to digest it. The truth is relieving and saves us from constant pain and regrets.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, yes dearest Ellen. It's really relieving and it's always less hurtful when the truth is heard from us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth will come out sooner or later. We must not allow them to spoil our bilateral relations. Our loved ones should hear everything about us, not from anyone else, but from us. Helena got it wrong

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear friend, exactly!, It's always best if we are the ones who spill the truth and not anyone else. She really got it all wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we say it ourselves, we'll be reassuring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing about blackmailers is they can never stop, the more the person gives them the more they have reasons to blackmail the person, until they are arrested or the person tell the truth about what they use in blackmailing the person, they won't stop..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honestly! That's just it... These people never stop, so it's better to report them or say the truth...but it should be heard from you and not them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth is a painful, is a mighty weapon that can be used against anyone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago