Fear of asking for help.

41 78
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

FOAFH is an acronym to these words:

  • Fear

  • Of

  • Asking

  • For

  • Help

We all know that it's good to ask people for help. The truth is that, no matter how we want to paint it, we need eachother, we actually can't do things on our own, we need eachother to actually pull through and succeed.

What are some psychological reasons why people are afraid to ask others for help?.

  • Asking for help often makes people feel uneasy, they feel like they are exposing their problems to others. It doesn't just go well with them, they wouldn't also want to feel dependent on the help of others.

  • The fear of rejection: (this one is me ooh,I practically don't like it when I finally speak up and tell you my worries and problems and boom... The next thing you say is that you can't be of help or assistance). People are scared to be turned down, so instead of being turned down, they'll rather keep their problems to themselves and just not bother asking for help.

A short story from my experience... Lol, I love talking about my experiences. (smiles)

Incase you don't know this, am a part-time student in the prestigious Yaba college of technology. My part-time classes falls on weekends alone.

In my first year and my second semester, there was a little bit of difficulty based on finances. The money to foot the school fees was just not forthcoming, part-time school fees is like; times 3 of full-time fees (triple expensive). Things were hard, life was just too tough. My brother and I couldn't pay our fees till exams fully commenced. I could remember how I would keep trying to dodge, so I won't be sent out of the examination hall, once one isn't with ones docket, one won't be able to seat for the exams.

I literally don't know how it happened but I was able to seat for the exams without being harassed. But the problem here is that: "the fees were still left unpaid." They kept closing and opening the school's portal. Still the struggles was just there.

Without payment of ones fees, the exams are as good as useless and that's because it's when you've paid your fees, you would register your courses. So do tell... Of what use is seating for an exam that is not registered?. Answer is... There will still be no result!.

The thing is, my very close friend, "Vicky" had enough money in her account back then, the money would have paid my twin and I school fees and there would still be change. She told me about the money she had.

My mind kept pushing me: Ask her, ask her to lend it to you, so you can pay your fees. By the time you finally have money for it, it might be too late, the portal might have been closed, but it won't be too late to pay her back.

But I told my mind: Wo, leave me... I can't ask her, she knows I've not paid my fees, if she wanted to help, she would have.

My mind: Just ask and hear what she has to say.

Me: No, I can't ask her, what if she says "no" what would then be the use; staining ones ego and still be rejected at the end?.

And that was how I never asked Vicky, till they closed the portal, by the time the money was finally available, there was no going back. The portal for that semester had been closed for good.

And now readers, all the exams I wrote for that semester are as good as useless. Infact I didn't see my result for that semester when the results were finally out. That's automatically an extra year for me, since I had carryover in all those courses.

Truth is that, if I had asked... She might have said "no" and also, she might have said "yes." But how would I know?

I never asked...

  • Fear of looking incompetent and feeling ashamed: for some people, like myself, the fear of feeling shameful as regards our situation would make us not to ask for help. I think this happens mostly to people who doesn't like talking about their problems, they'll rather keep it to themselves than to spill it all out. Oh!.. this is the typical me.

Another experience of mine.

There was a time, there was hardly any food in the house, if we even saw "cassava flakes" I'd have been grateful.

There was practically nothing... My stomach was rumbling with hunger, I had friends that I was so sure of... So sure that if I had asked any of them or told any of them that I was completely famished with not even a grain of rice, they would have supported me with something, even if it's a cup of rice or beans.

But...

I said completely nothing, I felt too ashamed to tell my friends that I was hungry, I felt it would look and sound like am begging, the shame was just too much. I kept it all to myself.

I never stretched out my hands to ask for help.

My mum would say: Girlgirl, ask your friends, they might have.

Me, to my mum: Mummy don't worry, no need. They don't have.

My mum: Who told you?...

Me: (adamant) I cannot ask them.

It's really burdensome and that's the truth, not asking for help doesn't mean you're strong, it's just toxic to your health.

Someone who finds it hard to seek help from others might as well end up dying in silence.

It's better to ask and be rejected than not to ask at all.

Appreciation: It's one thing to be sponsored, and it's another thing for that sponsorship to be renewed. Dearest @Talecharm this heart is expressing its gratitude to you, for renewing your sponsorship. Thanks alot, and I'm immensely grateful for your loving show of care and support.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

19
$ 3.06
$ 2.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 18
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

I find myself in the category of those that don't ask unless if we are very close....and only if the thing needed is on emergency. But if we're far or I notice that you'd say or procastinate when I ask, I better not say it. How do I know someone that would procastinate or say no? A clear example is the uncles and aunties in the family. I know it's not their fault to always turn down because they have family to take care of.

During school days, God blessed me with the kindest of friends, always ready to help anytime

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Kay, this is still good. You; making your proper research about them and knowing who to ask and who not to ask.

Awww, you are really lucky to have friends such as that Kay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is me in your write up, though not the school part, another thing is that I have always love twins, no wonder I like you naturally. Anyways asking for help when needed can be a burden that can torment someone mind. Mine even got worst at a point that asking my dad for money feels like it would be a burden, he has never for once deny me when I ask but I do feel ashamed to ask.. But currently, I can only ask help especially when it involve money from my family.. Thats my parent and siblings, and I have some selected set of friends that I ca ask, and if they say they dont have.. I trust them💯💯

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwn, Fash is making me blush ooh, thanks Fash. And yes indeed you're right, it's actually a burden to ask for help from others, aah, you hardly ask from your dad!. Sighs... I'm glad you've started doing so. Thanks for your contribution Fash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Youre welcome madam surrender 😏😏😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 😂 my chest 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also feel shame to get support from other. But we all need to support each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we all need to support eachother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is relatable. I too am afraid or ashamed to ask for help. That's the reason why I missed out on a lot of things and opportunities.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch! And I can also relate to what you said, it's just hard sometimes to ask for help.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They used to say that a close mouth is a closed destiny....I have always assumed too and would not ask for help because I feel they will reject my request or most times, I feel proud and afraid of letting them know something is wrong with me, but the truth is that, there are still some people who would gladly help you, and you trying to assume they can´t or they don´t would only make us lose things. I can now ask for help and I am turned down, I will be happy I did asked but I was rejected. It´s good to speak up and hide our ego.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love your reference to "a close mouth is a closed destiny" indeed it sure is. I wish to emulate this new trait from you. I need to start making request. Speaking up and being rejected is still better than not speaking at all. Thanks for stopping by here, Princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that 😭. There's a time when I have no money left because there's a lot of school fees. I only have 10 pesos in my packet at that time and I can't go home because jeep fees cost 20 pesos. I wanted to ask my friend if they have but I'm too ashamed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really bad for one not to be able to make a request when one is in need. It's saddening too, I can deeply relate to this dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started learning at a young age how to be independent. Personally, it is usually difficult for me to ask others for help, especially when it involves financial help. Even my dad, I call him only when e don over me or it is for things like school fee and my rent. I have started learning how to ask people more. Shame dey catch me ehn, I'd rather suffer in silence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aaaah! Even your dad! Wow... I'm glad you've started learning, I can totally relate to that thing you said on feeling ashamed. Exactly, even though suffering in silence just might not be advisable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was sad at the point i heard all the exams you wrote that semester ended up useless, because you didn't ask her for money to pay your school, but i will still blame that friend of yours for seeing that you needed to pay your school without showing any sign to help you, had it been she showed any sign, maybe that would have propelled you to ask her for help. More so, glad to know you attend YABATECH. A good school to the core.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! It's really saddening... Exactly! She prolly didn't care else she might have offered to help. Awww, I'll take what you said about my school as a compliment. Thanks Ayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear. God be with you and continue to expand your sustenance. Stories like this makes me feel very sad. God knows that I will do all within my capacity to help a friend in need. Sometimes, it's not about you asking, someone who calls him or herself your friend should be able to observe when all it's not right with you. Except such a person wants you to come grovelling so as to inflate their ego and give them a sense of superiority over you and this is totally unfair.. Thank God in each case, you didn't throw your dignity away because such friends who are aware that you are in a dilemma but waiting for you to ask for help would likely use the favour against you in the future, that's if they decide to help.... May God continue to strengthen you dear. You have already passed the test and you will never pass through such a dilemma again niether would you have any reason to beg. From now on, you shall be the one helping and putting smiles on people's faces ... What does not kill you make you stronger and you are already physically, intellectually and emotionally stronger than your age. You will definitely fulfill your glorious destiny.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

OMG,😳 Bilqees, and here I was, thinking that I was wrong for not asking for help... Oh!, After reading your comment, I feel like editing my article. You're so right. If she was truly a friend, she would have helped without me having to ask for it. Oh! Such friends are really rare to find. It saddens my heart... So I did well for not asking... Wow!, Awwwwwn, Amen dear, Amen, 🥺 may I not be put in such dilemma again. Oh! Bilqees, these words of yours melted my heart. Thanks so much for this thoughtful comment of yours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. It's not a matter of *you did well by not asking", it was just the will of God and the kind of heart God has given you and the great plans he has for you. There's like a seventy percent chance that you would still be turned down if you had asked . Don't be surprised that girl would forever respect and admire your courage even though she doesn't show it because it's not everyone that can endure to that extent ( a woman for that matter!).... " God doesn't give his servant an unjust burden unless he make things alot much easier for him in the near future " 😁.... You are welcome

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Deep words here Bilqees, really deep words. Thanks alot for this, you're so right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to for asking help so sometimes there are people who accept helping you while others do not, it depends on the attitude of the other person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it embarrassing to seek help from others. I'm not used to getting help from anyone. There are many generous people who help despite not being told.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm, indeed you're right... So right. They are generous people who help without being told. Ones family could be sighted as an example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had a fear of asking help to others because not everyone think good. Someone will criticize of my actions and someone normal don't won't to help me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, not everyone would actually help, some of them actually uses such means to look down on others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh both the stories reminded me the time, once I faced that too. Well dear in my opinion, asking for help isn't big issue but sometimes self esteem didn't allow you to bow down your head in front of anyone. Secondly it depends with person to person, if you feel comfortable with the person you'll tell him/her without being hesitant. But still it better to speak then imagining internally.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This part really got me: "if you feel comfortable with the person, you tell him/her without being hesitant." Thanks alot Bibi, you're indeed right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes asking for help is dilemma to us. Our thoughts are against to what we feel or what we feel is against to what we expect. But you know, there's nothing wrong for asking. Just be prepared to what will be the response though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sighs... Indeed true Marc, one should ask but just be prepared for the response.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well. You are right. I do this alot, I find it hard asking someone for favour.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly dear... It's just so hard to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we need each other to survive in this world. Life is ups and down, it is like a wheel that sometimes it is on the top and sometimes it is on the ground. Never be shy or afraid to ask someone's help. God is helping us through others because nowadays God cannot shower us with food literally. He will use our friends our neighbor as an instrument to give what we need.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jen, this has summarized it all... God uses people to help us, so we just have to learn the process of asking. Sighs... Oh! Thanks alot for this Jen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So never be shy to ask again. If rejected, it's okay atleast you've tried. Ask other, there are many generous people out there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No man is an island. We really need others especially in times of our needs. We can ask help from our parents, friends and neighbors. There are things that cannot be solved by our own. Try to ask and nothing would lost. Don't afraid to be rejected at least you asked for it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes Han, we need others. It's better to ask and be rejected than not to ask at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel shy too to ask for help cos it makes me feel entitled to the person after such person helped me and I don't like a situation where I will be rejected too, it hurt a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly! That feeling of being indebted to a person can really make one not to bother asking at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago