Why I Don't Like Lending Money

43 73
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Lending, Debt

Disclaimer: This article is not intended to shame or throw hurtful words towards those who have debts or those who lend money. This is just my personal opinion regarding this matter. If you feel offended, I'm sorry but it's not my intention. I just want to let my thoughts out.


I don't like lending money.

Well, who doesn't, right? I mean, who would want to lend money to people who don't know how to pay at the right time and stand with their words?

I am not rich and I don't have that much money to lend but there are still some people who would ask me to lend them a specific amount of money for certain reasons, whether they have something to pay and they didn't have enough budget for it or they are experiencing an emergency.

Sometimes, I would do them the favor and lend them the money they are asking for, especially if it's an amount I can afford to give and forget even if they have no intention to pay for it anymore. However, sometimes, I also would have to just open my ears for the things they have to say but I have to shut down my heart so that I won't feel any guilt later on when I turn them down and say "No" to the favor they are asking.

I don't like lending money because I personally hate debts.

Acquiring debt is like a sin to me. I don't like asking other people, even my friends, to lend me some money even if I have nothing in my pocket. I'd rather be penniless than to have debts because if I ask other people for a favor, especially if it's about money, it's like I'm letting them have something to hold against me if it's already their time to ask for a bigger favor towards me.

Acquiring debt is also just like acquiring a debt of gratitude. And the debt of gratitude is something that I don't want in my life. Well, I do know how to have a debt of gratitude to those people who do me a favor. But if I ask for a favor, I want to make sure that I will pay it back as soon as possible. Maybe, it's just me having a high pride which is also a sin on its own, but that's on me.

The debt of gratitude is like a seed that grows over time, which will become a tree that bears fruits, and those people whom I have a debt of gratitude on will probably use it to take advantage of me until all of my fruits run out. I don't like being taken advantage of so I don't have plans to water that seed. I hope you get what I mean or it's too complicated. Lols!

I don't like lending money because people will get used to it.

Once people know that you always give in to their favors and lend them money every time they ask for it, they will be confident that the second time they ask you to lend them money again, you will easily say "Yes" to them and give them the amount they are asking just like that.

And if I will always say "Yes" to them, they won't do their part anymore to handle and manage their money right so that they won't need to acquire debts in the future. Instead, they'll just spend their money the way they want to because they know they always have someone to count on.

If having debt is a crime, then you being the lender is being an accessory to the crime. You are enabling them to become dependent people who would always run to loan sharks and banks.

I don't like lending money because I don't like being disappointed.

When people ask you to lend them money, they will use flowery words and fake promises so that you will give them what they want. They will promise that they will pay it as soon as possible but when the time comes, they will ask for an extension again because they still don't have money at that time.

Sometimes, those who have debts won't even face you or will even just seen zoned you when you are asking about their payment already. Sometimes, they even get angry when you ask about it. And the next thing you know, those people who have debts from you are already eating in a fine-dining restaurant or flexing the milk tea they just bought. Like, the nerve!


I'm not saying that I probably won't have debts in the future or that my family doesn't have debt right now. It's actually understandable to have debts, especially when we are trying to make both ends meet. However, there are just some people who are not responsible enough to take care of their debts.

And just like what the Facebook post I've read says:

"Di bale ng masama ang loob mo sakin dahil hindi kita napautang. Kaysa naman sumama ang loob ko sa'yo dahil hindi kita masingil."

(It's better if you have hard feelings towards me because I didn't lend you money, than to have hard feelings towards you because you can't pay your debt.)

Be a responsible debtor.

22
$ 9.09
$ 8.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 9
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Money, Lending, Debt

Comments

Hey! This is forbescover from noise. I made it here just as I promised because I don’t want to be in debt of my word. Haha 😅

A wise man once said “The debtor is a slave to the creditor” which is very true.

My eyes are on you 👀 keep on writing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Welcome here and thank you for dropping by. 😹 I agree with that. That's what my father always tells us. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only lend money to people I trust and if I have the money they need.. and I don't like barrowing money too lalo na pag alam qng wla aqng pagkukunan ng ibabayad

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But sometimes people tend to break our trust too. Ehe! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a man of my words and I detest people that don't keep to their words, I'm also a shy person that I can't ask people for whatever I lent them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's good to know. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's this colleague of mine I lend money to last year, he hadn't paid me till today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it's time to remind him of the debt. Hahaha! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't like lending money out, I prefer to just give out than lending because eventually the person I lend my money to when it's time to pay, they would start avoiding me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with that. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like to lend money too. Pero kapag wala ka talagang nabibigay, sasabihan ka nilang madamot na iyo na pera mo. Lol 🥲 di pa naman kasi ako ganon kayaman na afford na ang magpahiram. Tsaka ung humihiram dinaman na need kasi mayaman naman sila samantalang ako, naghihirap pa magipon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kapag hindi nagpautang, madamot agad? Hahaha! Edi sana nanghingi nalang sila para madamot talaga. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako, pinipili ko yung mga pinapautang ko lalo na pag medyo malaking halaga kasi delikado yung iba , bigla bigla nalang nagkaka amnesia. Yung iba naman halos maubos na lahat ng palusot makaiwas lang sa pagbayad. Hay naku talaga!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Ung mga taong may selective amnesia o sa hangin sinusulat ung utang kaya kinalimutan. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great thing you have achieved personally. Lending money comes with many backdrops, I learned it in a hard way. Good to read your post.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for reading. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayoko din ng utang utang na yan, kaya lang may mga pagkakataon na hindi maiwasan so iintindihin mo na lang, mahirap din kasing tumanggi minsan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Mahirap talaga tumanggi pero kung wala din maipautang ay need talagang tumanggi. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap lang din kasinh tumanggi minsan sis kasi ipapamalita nila yun tapos ang labas eh ang sama sama ng ugali dahil ayaw magpautang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sus. Kung nagbabanat nalang po sila ng buto at dumidiskarte para hindi na need mangutang kaysa mang-chismis pa, edi solve sana problema nila. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek..kaso nga, hindi..hahaha..sila na itong nangungutang sila pa ang matapang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman minsan nahihiya tumanggi pag may manghihiram saken tapos nahihiya din ako maningil hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayos pala mangutang sayo. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan din sa ayaw ko sa mangungutang sis. May pinahiram nga ako noon pero hanggang ngayon di pa ako binayaran. Hindi ko na din sinisingil. Ako na ang nahiya eh.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang ending talaga kapag nagpautang ay parang hiningi lang nila ung pera. Hahaha! Hayss. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyy i made article with regards of this issue friend i hate people who ask for money but don't pay back hahahha so annoying

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here. People who don't stand with their words. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also don't like lending people money; was talking to my cousin about this just yesterday. I prefer to give freely an amount of money I can afford than borrow it out and begin to chase debtors here and there...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here. It's better to give what you can than lend out money that will only give you headache in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this article gaved us lesson that we should bare in our minds that we should lend money to those person or debtor who will follow all yoir agreements and stand to his words. Sometimes sila pa yung nangungutang, tapos we are the one who will adjust hahaha.. Relate that much 🤣

Im new here :) GODSPEED

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. In the end, ung nagpapautang ang masama. Hahaha! Welcome here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Why lend money to people who does not pay? I mean if you trust somebody, I think that would be exception.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. You should only lend to those you fully trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always annoying when that happens but some people keep their word, such people, I don't mind lending them some money. There is a principle that we apply in trading that can also be applied to lending, do not lend what you can not live without, it's just a necessary precaution.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lending money can break relationship sometimes. That's why I practice myself not to lend money especially to those people that I closes to, I don't want our relationship to ruin.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is so true. Same here. I don't want to lend money to my friends for that reason. Lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lent money to my godfather. He did not honor the agreement, we quarreled. In the end, I begged him to return my money. Since then, I have not lent money to anyone, and I have not asked for a loan

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww. Yeah, maybe it's better that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true Langga. There are some people who didn't know how to pay their debts. I remember when I was in college she borrow me a money until we graduated she didn't pay yet. I learned a lesson from that.

I think I will lend some money to the people whom I trust and I know they stand their promises or their words. It's depend also of the situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's so sad po. Yes, only lend money to people you trust and depende din talaga sa situation. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I do know how to have a debt of gratitude to those people who do me a favor.

Ako rin te, lalo na at naranasan ko mautangan ng kaibigan ko ng 1.5k e tas sabi babayaram, di naman binalik tapos ako pa ung mukhang desperada sa pera ngayon e kelangan ko rin naman 🙃 patawa masyado. Galing magpavictim

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hayss. Ganyan sila eh. Pag umuutang, ang galing mangako, pero kapag singilan na, ikaw na ung magiging masama. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago