On Money and My Parents

38 64
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Rich, Parents

Do you also sometimes talk about money with your parents? How do you talk about it? Is it positive and encouraging that you feel motivated to work and grind to achieve your dreams, especially your financial goals? Or do you also feel negative vibes whenever money is brought out to be the topic when you talk with your parents because they have a different mindset from yours?

I don't always get to talk with my parents, but when we do, it's sometimes about money. Well, perhaps, because we are not that financially stable yet and money is always a problem in our household. I mean, we need money every single day to buy our basic needs, especially the food we eat. When we buy groceries for our necessities, we always need money. That's why sometimes the lack of it is the cause of misunderstanding that leads to petty fights between my parents.

I have been very vocal about my life that I wasn't born with a silver spoon in my mouth. Although both of my parents didn't really come from poor families because I can say that their parents, especially my father's side, have a lot of land properties. However, my parents were not that financially ready when they got married and started a family.

I'm not complaining about our social status and their financial capabilities. However, I have to admit that sometimes, I think the other way around. That what if my parents should have thought a little longer before deciding to get married and make a family. Perhaps, we shouldn't have to endure a lot of problems brought by their lack of financial incapabilities. However, I'm still grateful for my parents because they are responsible and hard-working enough that they get to provide for our needs and some wants even if they needed to go through the needle hole.

Meanwhile, what I just don't like about my parents, particularly my father, is that he doesn't want to be rich. He has this mindset that whenever he has a lot of money, he needs to spend it all on food so that he gets to taste the fruit of his hard work. He doesn't think much about the future and he doesn't save up. Well, I couldn't say a thing about how he spends his money because it's his money anyway. So his money, his rules.

The other day, he said that he doesn't want to be rich because we will all die someday and that those riches we have will only be left behind as we can't bring them in the afterlife. It's okay for him not to be rich because he is already satisfied and contented with the life he has.

I'm fine with that kind of thinking but what bothers me sometimes is when he tries to dictate to me what I should do with my money. He would always tease me to withdraw all of the money in my bank account already and make use of them. Sometimes, it really irritates me but I'm trying to be patient with him because he's also growing old already.

I don't know what I'm blabbering here but I just want to release my frustration about it. It's just really so hard to grind and hustle in order for me to provide a more comfortable life for them when one of them doesn't even want to get a touch of a better life. I mean, I have a lot of goals for them and in order for me to accomplish that, I need to be rich and have a lot of money because life itself is already expensive, how much more about my goals and dreams in life.

24
$ 9.80
$ 9.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Rich, Parents

Comments

My father have the traditional mindset when it comes to money. He always focus on the present and don't think about the future. Lagi ko ngang binibigyan ng advice yon na habang maaga pa, save some money. Syempre hindi naman sila bumabata, tapos mga ilang taon nalang magreretire na sya. Maganda sana kung may business syang mapapatayo pag wala na syang work.

Si mama naman medyo naiimpluwensyahan pagdating sa financial planning. Dati di sya naghuhulog sa SSS, ngayon kahit paunti-unti nakakapaglapag na. Sabi nya rin na ayaw nyang totally umasa sakin pag tumanda sya. Pero syempre mag giveback pa rin ako. Nakakatuwa lang medyo alam ko sa sarili ko na di ako masyadong mahihirapan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parang normal na talaga na mostly tatay ung may traditional mindset about money eh. Haha! That's so nice of you. Buti naiimpluwensiyahan mo mama mo. And tama din, matuto parin tayong mag-give back sa kanila kahit hindi natin un responsibilidad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Based on experience, it seems like most of the old generation parents have the mindset of "di ko naman dadalhin ang making pera sa hukay so why not spend it now". I get it and understand life has been easy back then. Though mahirap kumita ng pera, you can get your daily shares in life by being a farmer, fisherman etc. Compared to now, earning your daily wage + paying bills , rent etc. they are astronomically high.

Most of parents doesn't have savings nor insurance which is sad because once they got sick the whole savings of everyone gets depleted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true. Hay. Ending, kawawa lang din ung mga anak na magbabayad ng hospital bills pag nagkataon. 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Be happy. For at least you have Dad and money. Some don't have a Dad and many have no money. Well, on a more serious part, that is your money and you can do whatever you want with it. Maybe he is just suggesting because he knows about it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am happy and I don't want to lose my father either. That's true tho, that it's my money so my rules too. Ehe! He just loves to tease me about it but it's annoying sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money is so powerful a tool, it rules the world actively, we have to pay attention to getting it until hopefully it doesn't become an issue, but as long as the earth remain, money would keep being a determinate, so I too talk to family about money, and close friends. Let's help each other get it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it really is a powerful tool as if it makes the world go round. Let's just aim for financial stability to have a better life. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are not rich too, there are instances that I think about it but I don't complain. However, there are people who sometimes act like they don't care.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's good for you. Carry on!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun stepfather ko ganyan din ang mindset kaya minsan yan napag aawayan namin ng mama ko. Para kasing walang pangarap sa buhay eh.. Pero sadyang may mga ganyang tao talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Un nga po. Ung sumasabay lang sa ayon ng buhay at hindi iniisip ang future. Gusto ko din naman ng ganyan pero antataas kasi ng pangarap ko eh. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganto din father ko and I can't bare this in mind dati kasi bakit namn di nila naiisip yung para sa future like mag ipon kasi pang mala one day millionaire talaga father ko hahaha ngayon narealized ko na bakit kasi gusto niya naibibigay nya lahat ng sobra sobra pa at di nya iniisip ang bukas ganun hahaha kasi ngayon ganun na rin asta ko juskonwhahaa pag may pera gora.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Spend like there is no tomorrow talaga sila eh. Hahaha! Basta nakakapagtabi parin para sa future. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the same with my father hehe pero ayun nga, allot ka money for them, then the rest, it's your own na to decide para saan gamitin. Nasanay na rin ako sa ganyan sis haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww. Un nalang nga ang gagawin ko. Nasasanay na din naman ako pero naaasar din talaga ako minsan eh. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I kind of get his point, but a saving culture is also necessary, cos you never know what emergency might come up

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I get him, too. And that's what I'm trying to say as well, that they need to learn how to save some for emergencies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, when I get money, I often spend it on family needs and I rarely give money to my parents, but I always prioritize the needs of my family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's okay if you already have a family. I'm sure your parents understand that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro tiniteased ka lang ni dad mo langga. May mga father talagang ganun langga. May mga plans yan si dad mo sayo para sa better future. Yung parents ko naman langga hindi nangingialam.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parang ganun na nga po. Pero hindi ako natutuwa. Hahaha! 🤧😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku pag natanda ata ganun na iniisip pero don't mind it, I am sure your father is rooting for you too maybe he was just teasing you. Sino ba naman magulang ang ayaw makitang successful ang anak nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Un nga din po iniisip ko. Siguro ganun talaga kapag tumatanda na. Haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Toxic tao dito samin kapag about pera ang usapan kaya ayaw na ayaw ko talaga pinag uusapan ang pera kasi alam ko na pag aawayan lang namin yan dito lalo na if about earnings ko

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang hirap kapag napapalibutan ng toxic at pangit ang mindset about pera eh. 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awe that's kinda sad. That's why I don't really tell anyone about how much money I have or how much I earn. Because no one would know = no one would care.

When it comes to talking about finances, I can talk about it in a nice way with my mama and my brother. It's reading important to discuss about money and future plans within our family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it's better to just not talk about it with anyone, even your parents. Haha! It's hard to discuss my plans here because my papa would just say "Bakit ka magpapayaman eh hindi mo naman madadala yan sa langit". Hayss. 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag ganyan po, wag mo na lang ata i share plans mo sakanya. Only share your plans to selective people, those who want to see you fly.

Di ko din kasi sinsabi plans ko especially yung mga big goals. Mas better. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really uncomfortable also for me to talk about money in my parents because it's also one of the things that we always have a problem. But I also want to be rich in the future because I have so many goals to myself and my family that I can accomplish if I got rich in the future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Cheers to that. I hope we get financially stable someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I don't want to talk to my parents as they are always telling me about problems,.money problems.. Like can't they ask first if I am still breathing?🙄

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww. That's too bad but I can relate tho. When they bring up money, I would feel like they only care about money and not my mental health. Char. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahha I feel you..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meaning, the root of it all is because of your parent's unplanned marriage life. Well, it's really common. It is the same situation I do. We should learn from it though. Don't marry until you don't financial stability

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm safe cause I don't have plans of getting married. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe he just want to be comfortable rather than rich. I do understand your sentiments too, sometimes I also think about having lots of money so I can give mom a better life how've I don't let myself get eaten by the thought of all money. Enough is just enough for me 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, that's how he is. Meanwhile, I have huge goals and I want to explore the world but he's trying to limit my goals and want me to just stay to where we are now. Hay. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago