Don't Waste Your 20s!

60 89
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Goals, Achievements

This afternoon, I was scrolling through my Facebook feed when a trending post caught my attention. It was a post of a teacher in his 20s where he shared his achievements from the age of 20 until the age of 26, with the caption "Don't waste your 20s". For the sake of the teacher's privacy, I won't share here his name or the link of the post I saw because when I browsed his profile, he said he's planning to delete the post after it went viral.

But his post went like this:

(And an inspiring message here which I didn't understand because it was in his local dialect.)

I went through the comment section and tried to comprehend the sentiments of those who commented on the post. Some found the post inspiring, but most of them felt triggered as if the post's intention was to show off.

When I read the post, my initial reaction was the typical "Sana all" whenever you see someone who has achieved great things in life at such a young age. But when I read the post again, I was inspired to also achieve my dreams. But as I think about it, I can't help but compare myself to him and his achievements.

I also remembered the great goals and huge dreams I planned to achieve at a specific age when I was still young, which he was able to fulfill. I felt a little disappointed in myself especially with the situation we are in now.

I asked myself, "Am I falling short with my goals? Am I doing my best to achieve all of my dreams in life?"

I'll be turning 22 years old in 4 months and the thought of having another year added to my age just adds weight to the pressure I'm already carrying on my shoulders. Am I wasting my 20s?

I'm only 21 years old. Others would say I'm still too young to be worried about achieving these great goals I have set for myself and for my family. Some would say, just enjoy your life. Don't worry too much. Take things one at a time. It's okay to fail and commit mistakes. And I take all of these words positively.

When I was still in Elementary to High School, I used to plan my life and set goals at a specific age.

Just like him, I also thought I will be able to graduate from college at the age of 20. But unluckily, I became one of the pioneers of the K-12 Academic Curriculum, which means another 2 years were added for my schooling. Instead of just 11, I have to spend 13 years on my education alone because of the Senior High School that was added. And another 4 years to be spent in college.

At the age of 21, I thought I will already have work in the corporate world. I thought I will land a job after graduating from college. But here I am, still a struggling yet striving college student.

At the age of 22, I thought I will then have huge savings in my bank account that I will be able to travel inside the Philippines and to foreign countries.

At the age of 23, I thought I will then have saved enough that I get to go back to graduate school to have my Master in Business Administration.

At the age of 24, I thought I will then graduate with my Master's degree and get promoted from my job.

At the age of 25, I thought I will already be a Young Millionaire because I saved enough from my salary and other investments. I thought I will then get to buy my dream car and travel around our place using it with my friends and family. I thought I will then get to buy a piece of land and build my dream house.

At the age of 26, I thought I will then get married. (Lol This really is my ideal age of getting married. Wahaha! 🤣)

At the age of 27, I thought I will establish my first business and become the CEO.

At the age of 28, I thought I will get to visit my dream International travel destinations.

At the age of 29, I thought I will then become a mother. (Ehehehe 🤭🤣)


But as I think about the future I used to imagine when I was still younger, I don't think these goals will be achieved at their desired time. I believe in my abilities and the power of my dreams, but some things won't work according to our plans, especially with the existence of the pandemic and other circumstances.

Being in my 20s, I think this is such a crucial age, particularly whenever I see those people who are also in their 20s getting to achieve and live their dreams.

I would get to compare myself to them, question my skills, and doubt my goals.

It feels a little frustrating when you are working hard, giving your all, yet it somehow looks like you're not progressing at all.

But I always remind myself, life is not a race. There is no competition where whoever gets to the finish line first is called to be the winner.

So am I wasting my 20s? No, and I won't. But just because I won't achieve my goals as early as I set them, doesn't mean I'm wasting my time.

All of us are taking different paths. We are not living the same lives and have the same privilege. We don't encounter the same challenges and battles others are facing.

Getting to accomplish your dreams at your desired time is incredible, but if you attained them at a later time, it doesn't make it less. You just worked at your own time.

Live at your own pace. Don't be pressured by what society expects you to achieve at a certain time. Don't pressure yourself. We all will get there.

27
$ 12.53
$ 12.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Goals, Achievements

Comments

just read this article and I totally agree. life is not a race and a competition. we have our own time and we should understand that. let's be happy with our own life. and be happy for others as well for our time will also come :) :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Trueee po. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol same here I am relate! 🤣 HAHAHA I also thought that At the age of 21 I am already graduated from college and like what you thought. While reading your article it makes me question again that being in this kind of situation is hard. 🤦🏻‍♀️

I believe in my abilities and the power of my dreams, but some things won't work according to our plans

Correct! We are good. We don't lack. We just expected things before that life is easy but like what you said, life is not a race. Even if we become 30+ years old after finishing our goals, the most important thing is we become successful.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ung mga akala natin na hanggang akala lang. We were young and naive so it was easy to dream. Hahaha! Yeah, it doesn't matter if it takes long, as long as we work hard to achieve them. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Too much life planning, success to anyone who has achieved those goals at an early age. When I graduated from high school the average age was 17 to 18 years old, with luck you could do a university degree in 5 years, I say luck because at that time it was impossible to graduate in that time, due to student problems, low salary of professors, closing of the university. I got my engineering degree at the age of 29 and believe me, it was one of the best experiences I have ever had, I don't think I lost my 20s.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's good to know you got your Engineering degree. Surely you did not lose your 20s. We all have our own timeline to follow anyway. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to know you got your Engineering degree. Surely you did not lose your 20s. We all have our own timeline to follow anyway. 😹

You are right, everyone has their own timeline. I have read some of your articles and I believe you will achieve all your goals in the time you decide. You are already achieving it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gets me inspired reading this, its true kanka kanyang pacing din kc kaya chill din minsan pero wag titigil.. Keep going

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Trueee. Sabi nga, okay lang magpahinga basta huwag sususko. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka inspire nga naman talaga ang ganyan pero bat ung iba imbes na ma inspire sinasabihan pa ng kung ano ano, aguyy.

Anyways, kamusta naman kaya ang katulad konh 26 na, wala pang ka plano plano sa buhay. Wala akong ganyan nong bata ako. Basta masaya lang gora na, para kasing nakaka stress ee. Ung sa sobrang pagka gumon sa tagumpay. Imbes na mapabuti mas napasama pa. Nay ganyan kasi diba, ung dapat chill lang, kaso mo ginawa na ngang race aguyy. Pero sayo, marami kapa namang time, and yeah take your time. Pasasaan ba't maaabot mo din yan lahat. Pag di naaabot lahat, skip mo muna then jump kana muna sa number 6 haha. Tapos balikan mo after 🎊🎉💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Inggit lang un sila. Wahaha 🤭🤣 Okay lang naman ung chill lang eh. At least, you're living a spontaneous life. Hahaha! Wala pa ngang pwedeng asawahin eh. Charot. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your plans reminded me of mine when I was your age. Some achieved on the time indicated, most were not. But it didn't make me any less worthy. Your final thought "Live at your own pace" really sums it all. It is tempting to rush, but then where's the fun in that, right?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree. Hihi We should be having fun while preparing for the future. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, most of us forget that part and when we finally get to where we want, we don't have any other memory but the struggle we went through to get there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. The posts is actually inspiring for others to strive more. It is also good that we achieve our goals at your age.. BUT, do not forget to enjoy life as well.. Because the real-life starts at 30 (not 40 for me haha). So before you get there you should enjoy your life first.. Coz after 30, everything will change and you might don't have more chance to enjoy your life

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Trueee. But some people took the post as bragging. Lols 🤧 Yeah, enjoy life lang. Hahaha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad if he will delete it because of the people he triggered. But I probably will too because of the unwanted attention .. sayang lang talaga when people take your message the wrong way :(

Ohh! I have lots of things planned for my 20s too :) Some I got, others I did not. Sometimes I look back and wonder and think of things I should have done; at most times, I laugh about it. There is a lot to discover about the world and ourselves. If God allows our plans to be set at our defined timeline, so be it. If not, so be it. Let's not waste our 20s . .. but let's also not waste the rest of what's past 20s looking back with "what should've beens". :)

Enjoy 20s Mae!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. I felt sad for him tho after reading the comments. But there were some who knew him personally that defended him tho. Hihi Natriggered ang netizens daming nag-HAHA at Angry react ih. Lols 🤧 Yesss! Cheers to enjoying life and living it to its fullest. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

deba? sa ngayun pa naman ang hirap mag timpla ng mga tao. laging merong negative reaction. Ang hirap maging successful and maging inspiration at the same time. haha.. howell.. you go and be an inspiration! cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes life doesn't happen exactly as we planned. Our 20s can sometimes be disappointing, ups and downs, doesnt mean we wasted it, life simply happened but we should always watch out for opportunities and grab it once it comes.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. Life is full of twists and turns. And I agree with what you said about opportunities. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate with this sis.. I have many goals tol in life. Yes the pandemic is one of the reason. I agree "Life is not a race" step by step I know we will achieve it and the most important is we keep going and never stop to achieving the life goals. ❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Truee. Let's just keep going and keep pushing until we reach our goals. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed sis. That's the best thing to do. Be positive always...❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaisip nga din ako dati Sis, yung iba mas younger pa sa akin but ang laki na ng accomplishments nila. Pero sa ngayon ginagawa ko nalang is mag focus sa sarili ko, I know someday ma aachieved ko lahat. Hirap kasi ngayon e may k-12 na hahhaha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Trueee. Focus lang sa self-growth. Huwag natin ikumpara sarili natin sa iba. Hihi Kaya nga. Yang K-12 talaga eh. Hmpt. Hahaha 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also set my goals with specific years to be targeted. I just started it when I was 18, I guess. Well, sana all talaga sa teacher na nag post. Because of k-12, I somehow still have long way to go. 25 pa ako maga-graduate, after nun 2 years apprenticeship, then licensure exam. Bale 27 years old ako magiging official professional. Hays. Gurang na. 🤧 I also feel pressured kaya as early as 17 talaga noon, gusto ko na kumayod para sa 20s ko, masasabi ko sa sarili ko na may naabot na ako. Di ko iintayin pa na maging ganap na professional. Hahaha. Share ko lang po. Nafe-feel ko din yung parang gusto mo na ma-achieve halos lahat sa 20s, para pag 30s settled na kahit papano. Good luck na lang sa goals natin. ❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Grabe naman ung gurang na. Wahaha! Good luck sa'yo. Kaya mo yan. Atleast ganap ka ng Architect pag natapos mo iyan. Yieehh! Hahaha! Samee. Kaso kung iisipin mo din na settled ka na before 30s, parang boring na life nun. Ewan. Sabi lang nila. Hahaha Good luck sa atin. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ate! Oo parang boring kahit papano, pero feeling ko di pa naman ako settled before 30 kaya di magiging boring life ko . Hahahaha. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We wouldn't know , maybe 5 years from now you'll finally be having your own successful business along with the love of your life. char, sanaol hahaha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow. Sana nga. Claim ko nga iyan. Wahaha! 🤭🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paano niya nagawa yun? Hahaha. Before I also expect na makagraduate ako ng 21 years old but because of the K-12 until now nasa college pa rin ako. Di naman talaga maiiwasan mapressure especially kapag nakikita mo na Yung kasabayan mo successful samantalang ikaw Wala ganun pa rin hehe. But tuloy lang Ang laban ,mahaba haba pa lalakbayin natin.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga pinatanda lang tayo ng K-12. Wahaha! 🤣 Truee. Hanggat may buhay, laban lang. Basta huwag susukoan ang mga pangarap. Maabot din iyan. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel the same way and I am 22 now. I feel so pressured. Some of my friends already have their own family while some have achieved their dreams while me, nothing. I keep comparing myself to them. I am still young but already feeling like this what more to the following years?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. Same heree. But it's okay. Let's not add pressure to ourselves. We'll get there too. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A slap to reality, I have thoughts as you when I'm still in my preschool days, I was young and so naive back then and my dreams is so high, I was so excited back then to finish my studies and to live the life I've been dreaming of. But life is so much harder than I expected, the burden of being a student for a long year is so depressing then they just add again another 2 years, what a life the dreams for my 20s became a nightmare, a college nightmare. But its okay just like you've said life is not a race. We should be patient and continue to strive for the best.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. What matters is we keep going and working hard to achieve our dreams. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

20's doesn't mean we should pressure ourselves for the future. For me, we should enjoy being in 20's because we only live once. It's like we should do something that can help us to have a bright future but rest assured that we're happy with the work we have or with what we're doing during 20's.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with that. We should be working hard for our future but make sure to also live in the present. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At dahil naabutan tayo ng K12, saka pa lang tayo makaka-graduate around 22-23 years old. In God's grace. <3 Like you ang dami ko ding gustong maachieve in 20's but ang daming challenges eh lalo na ngayon. Pero kaya natin 'yan. Let's just take our time but 'wag naman sobra-sobra na. Hihi

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nakakagigil kasi yang K-12. Hahaha! Pinatanda lang tayo. Wahaha! 🤣 Pero true din. Maaachieve din natin mga yan. Huwag lang mapressure at mas magpursigi. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Edi sana graduating na ako at kasalukuyan nang nai-stress sa thesis ko. Edi sana ngayon pa lang ako sasabak sa online classes at sana graduate na kayo at nagre-review na for board exams. HAHAHA bakit naman kasi may pa-K12 pa eh. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My 20s is one of the breakthroughs of my life :) I may not be where I wanted to be right now but hopefully will get there :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. I hope you will get where you want po. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, gusto ko sana sa Paris pero andito ako sa Caloocan bumagsak hehe joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is indeed not a race but as ate i would advise to you to think what you really like to do in the future para di masayang 20's mo. haha. I am not saying na nasayang yung mga past years ko coz I am already 28 but I must say na isa ako sa mga taong di inisip ang future nung mas bata pa ako. di ko binigyang pansin yung mga gusto kong gawin talaga sa buhay. i just go with the flow that's why I regretted that a little. Don't pressure yourself though :) Bata ka pa but you must know your priority and long-term goal for your better future :). hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Thank you po sa advice. Hihi Madami naman akong pangarap at gustong gawin kaso hindi ko alam kung anong uunahin ganun. Hahaha! Bahala na si Batman. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun na lang pag isipan mo kung ano mas matimbang sa puso mo. haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also in my 20's specifically 22 turning 23 this January and I'm enjoying every bit of it though I kinda feel little pressured because almost all of my classmates back in high school already got a professional job. But then I again I always put in mind that life is not a race. Maybe today is not my time yet. I'm gonna achieve my goal when the time is right.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree. Everything will be settled and achieved on their perfect timing. Let's just enjoy the process. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inspiring nga noon 😅 kaedad ko lang tas ganoon na ang kanyang narating wow. Hehe. Lakasan talaga ng loob. Haha. Walang paligoy ligoy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ang galing nga eh. Nakaka-amaze. Paano niya kaya nagawa un? Hahaha! 🤔🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi natin alam baka supportive ang parents hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should say that do not waste your 20s pressuring yourself with goals. 20s is the time where you spread your wings and fly, enjoy it. It is indeed that life is not a race.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. I like your first line. Indeed, the 20s should not be wasted that way. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The 20s are lost years for many people. Indecisions experienced, family members being too intrusive are some of the factors.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's so true. Family members are actually the ones giving too much pressure. Lols 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed life is not a race. Take your time.Though others thought of it like that. But if we thought of life as a race, you might bypass enjoying the true essence of life because you are concentrating on reaching the finish line.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So truee. Just enjoy the journey, as what they always say. Hihi 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yown.. 💪 You are doing just fine. Lots of people at your age are also envying you on your accomplishment because you did great.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago