Does Age Really Matter?

22 59
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

I don't know if some of you guys are already fed up with my dramas about my love life, even if I don't even have any, but here I am again. I'm going to write about something that has been bothering me for quite some time now.

As you have guessed and just like what the title implies, in this article, I'm just going to talk about my thoughts on the question, "Does Age Really Matter?"

Some of you probably know, or maybe you have no idea about it, but I have been talking with this foreign guy that I met from a dating app. If you have been reading my articles, you probably know who I'm talking to. He has been the subject of my previous articles like "The One That Got Away: Dating App Version", "Is He The One?", and "The End Of The Unlabeled Love Story: Final Goodbye". I even have been posting a glimpse of our conversations on the noise platform. And with these, you could tell that he has really grown on me.

Well, he has really grown on me already even if we've only been talking for more than 2 months. And in those 2 months, we probably had more misunderstandings than those couples who are really in a labeled and committed relationship. Sometimes, I blame it on the age gap we have because he is too mature and serious while I'm still childish and still playing around.

And talking about the age gap, I'm wondering if age really does matter when it comes to a relationship.

For context, the man I'm speaking with at the moment is 32 years old. While I, on the other hand, am 22 years old and turning 23 this December. So there's like a more than 9 years age gap between us.

When I shared with my friend about him and some other information like his age, place of origin, and other personal details, my friend pointed out the huge age gap between me and him, and that he thinks we will not work out. So I should just drop him off now before everything is too late and messy already.

Personally, I am really more attracted to older and more mature guys, like those who are 5 to 10 years older than me. While I'm also having crushes on those guys who have the same age as me, I don't think it would go deeper than that. Maybe because I feel like they're still not serious with their lives and just want to play for now and don't care about settling down until they're already in their 30s.

Perhaps, the reason why I prefer older guys more is that they're more likely thinking about settling down already, building a family, and are already done with playing games. However, I know there are also some who are already in their 30s but still feel like in their 20s and keep playing games.

So, does age really matter?

In the eyes of other judgemental people, they'd think that it's unusual for a young lady and an older man to be together, especially if they have a huge age gap like 10 years or even 20 years. When the older guy is rich, some people would even think that the girl only got into a relationship with him to uplift her social and financial status. And this is a toxic trait we all should get rid of.

Meanwhile, if you're the person in the relationship, you would think that age does really matter sometimes because usually, older men are more mature, and the younger ones are more childish.

While I also think that age has nothing to do with maturity, as some older people can also be immature sometimes, age still affects people's behavior.

But if you're already in a committed relationship, I think age gaps wouldn't and shouldn't matter anymore. What would and should matter more is that you both have respect for each other and you always choose to understand and compromise to make things work.

Anyway, I don't know if what I'm blabbering here makes sense but all I'm trying to point out is that Love knows no age. If there is unconditional love between the two people who are in a relationship, age gaps wouldn't be a problem and people's opinions shouldn't matter anymore.

Well, that's all for today's rant. Thanks for reading. See you around!

12
$ 2.32
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Depende na cguru un kung ano ung kinokonsider ng isang taong papasok o nsa relationship 😅...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me hindi rin po talaga problema ang age as long as nagmamahalan naman po ng tunay ang dalawang tao. Tsaka ang dami ko din naman pong nakikitang couples na malaki yung age gap pero successful naman po yung relationship nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Personally, age really doesn't matter. As long you two understands each other, and that you talk about how to work things out.

Sadly, you are correct, in the eyes of the judgemental people around, don mo talaga maiisip na tama ba tong pinasukan ko? Tama ba sila at mali ako?

But kung san ka masaya at kung san alam mong tama, go for it. Just like how love knows no gender, love knows no age too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I agree with all you've said. Basta fight for the love you think you deserve. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fight. Fight. lang sis. Basta wala sila pake. Importante wala naman tayong sinasaktan. Gusto lang nating sumaya. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you remove your focus from marriage and settling down so much, you will realise that it does matter a bit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I think I've mentioned my point there about why age does matter somehow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age doesn't matter at all. Love comes unexpectedly and I don't think it is wrong. People give judgments easily, well who cares, if you love the person, keep him, your happiness is more important than those of the people who just talk on the street. Love is free so be free and be in love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I like your last sentence. Indeed, fight for what will make you happy. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just think that it's the same thing I will do. If it happens to me. I'm actually in the same situation as you are and but in a different case. People give judgment just as they please. I hate the thought of that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

age doesn't matter if age doesn't matter to you. Let people judge but they will not be happy judging your relationship. Ako same din, bet ko yung mas matatanda saken kasi ang sabi ng kakilala ko usually daw ang mga lalaki daw eh late magmature. Pero depende talaga sa preference ng tao yun, basta nagkakaintindihan at nagkakasundo naman ih.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabi nga din po nila. Hahaha! True. Basta may respect and understanding talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age doesn't matter that's true and maturity is not based on age..like you said. If both are willing to compromise to make the relationship work, they'll meet in the middle and try to bend with differences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Willingness to compromise talaga is the key. Sana all willing to compromise. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age doesn't matter talaga ate basta nasa legal age ka na haha. Yung lola't lolo ko nga 13 years yata pagitan nila kung hindi ako nagkakamali haha pero matatg sila sa isa't isa. However, I feel it kinda weird kung age doesn't matter raw pero menor de edad ka pa lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents ko nga 9 years age gap din eh. Hahahaha! May kaso na un pag menor de edad ung karelasyon. Pedophilia na un eh. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age is never a problem. Age does not matter in a relationship. As long as you both understand yourselves, there's no problem. Love is not by age. It's by understanding

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree with you. 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako langga laki ng age gap ko sa partner ko pero mas gusto ko yung ganun na older sakin ng ilang years kasi gusto ko mas matured pa sakin. They are matured already. Naaattract ako sa guy pag ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same po tayo. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age will never be the basis of love. No matter how young or old that person is as long as love was there then it's totally okay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I agree. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago