What did I do during the earthquake this morning?

30 60
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

As shocking as it was, Luzon experienced a sudden, unexpected earthquake that shook us. Earthquakes happen every day, and most of them are mild and unnoticeable. However, this time it was high intensity and a magnitude that could be felt by anyone. I was literally shaking, and all I can say is to stop the earthquake. I don't have fear of earthquakes but I fear that some houses would be severely affected.

This morning I was doing my usual routine. Feeding the chickens, rabbits, and dogs. I finished eating my breakfast meal, ready to set on board online. I know at exactly 9 am, we will be having a class so I finished everything I needed to early. My sister was laughing at me since I stepped on the dog's feces. It stinks so much and I have to apply Zonrox bleach so that the smell will be gone. I didn't notice it because it was in the grass and I am also typing on my phone.

How could I be so idiotic for the things in front is not visible in my eyes. After I cleaned up my slippers, I went to my room to rest a bit. I lay down my back to my bed, deep sighing, focusing my eyesight to the walls in front. I was actually closing my eyes for a few minutes when I suddenly felt something moving my bed. Like, literally I felt like someone was pushing it sideways, and I shouted my sister's name to stop it.

However, nothing's response was heard from the room. I took measure, and opened my eyes to see who it was. Surprisingly, no one's in my room except my own presence. At that moment, I realized it was an earthquake. I was experiencing earthquake and I find my sisters immediately. They were on the sala, playing games on their phones. It was a relief. I was happy they were safe.

I don't know how long the earthquake lasted, but I guess it was around 2-5 minutes long. I became dizzy, my headache came back again, and I embraced the earthquake with firm will. I have to feel it so that I can feel my environment's shaking. All the while, I am fighting my dizziness. I opened my eyes and the earthquake stopped. Goodness! That was intense!

It has been so long since I felt a strong earthquake that made me dizzy. I remember the last time I experienced such intensity was when I laying down with my youngest sister which was an infant back then. The bed was shaking, picture frames are banging, and the towels are swinging back and forth. Such event happened 5-6 years ago.

What to do in times of earthquake?

Image source: Pixabay by Angelo_Giordano

The most basic one was taught at school. Duck, cover, and hold. Duck from wherever you are, cover your head and observe your environment then find a good spot. From there, hold onto your head, and to the spot you are hiding. I took seriously the risk management webinars and practices before.

Seriously, some students are laughing while doing it. It was not funny at all when you experienced the real thing. Will you laugh when you are shaking, your environment is falling down, and someone is trap inside the building or house? No, that's why poor students who laugh are most likely not able to make it alive during natural calamities like earthquake and typhoon.

I saw in the news that some important tourist spots was hit badly by earthquake especially thr UNESCO heritage site in Ilocos. Wait, is it located in Ilocos? Some houses were doomed, buildings destroyed, and a few people found dead. How I wish everyone is prepared, and able to predict it. Keep safe everyone!


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you for sponsorship.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

18
$ 3.88
$ 3.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Grabe talaga Marc. Sobrang lakas ng lindol. Di ko inexpect. Di ko naramdaman na may lindol tas nakita ko nalang sa Facebook ko na Ang dami ng post about sa lindol. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was really traumatizing :( It was my first time experiencing such a big earthquake. Ingat lagi, Den.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung earthquake din dito sa amin noon sobrang lakas talaga tsaka nasa second floor pa kami nun ng mga cms ko nakakakaba ng sobra kasi first time ko rin yun na experience. Nakakahilo. What I've noticed before lang is hindi naapply yung duck, cover, and hold kasi nagpanic talaga ang lahat kanya-kanya na ng takbo pababa tas nagtutulakan na haystt. Stay safe kayoo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, sakit sa ulo no? Hirap talga kapag nag earthquake eh. Tas sunod sunod pa ang mga aftershocks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan Hindi na natatandaan any duck cover and hold made nagpapanic na. Yung ganuon kalakas mapapaiyak ka na lang sa takot talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kasi nga ang nasa isip natin is kung safe ba tayo or hindi.. Tas dapat safe din yung mga mamahaling gamit sa bahay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These disasters can are always dangerous to man. Keep safe dear. Thank God your guys are safe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. It was indeed dangerous to man. Yes, we are safe and fine. Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang daming naapektuhan dahil sa lindol. And during earthquake hindi mo din tlaga alam kung anong unang isasalba. Mas inuna ko pa atang yakapin yung tv bago pumasok sa isip ko na lumabas ng bahay hehe. Ganun pa man, sana maging okay na yung mga lugar na mas naapektuhan ng pag-lindol. Keep safe Denn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo po yan ate. Ang daming nagiba na bahay at mga buildings. Safe naman kayo dyan ate? Walang landslide?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoy hoy, bat di kayo lumabas abah. Grabi ang daming affected ng earthquake ang lakas baga naman ny gosh. Diko lang sure if may casualties peri sana naman ay wala. Yong mga kabahayan nalang talaga. Yun ang kawawa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi na kami lumabas ate since hindi naman sya sobrang lakas. Maraming casualties sa Norte eh. Daming nasirang bahay at mga ilang nasawi rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Earthquakes don't happen here in Nigeria and I thank God for that. The news I am always hearing about it is always sad and bad, cos many lives will surely be taken and also properties. Please stay safe my friend, be always be prepared for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, meaning Nigeria is far from fault lines. Well, Philippines have so many active volcanoes, and fault lines that's why.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had experienced Earthquake 7 years ago, I woke up from an evening nap. And was watching the fan, trying to slow it with my eyes. Soon I felt the bed was shaking. Lamo, I thought there's some ghost. Scared the shit out of me. Ran out of the room and told others and we noticed that it was actually an Earthquake. Best will be to duck and cover in an open space if possible where less tall objects or buildings are around you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. That ghost must be playful. It's scary if we experience earthquake too often. Something is wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Province namin ang pinakanatamaan, but thankful that my family was safe despite some part of our old house collapsed, glad no one was inside during the quake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

San ang province nyo po? Nakakagulat ang lindol eh, buti nalang talaga maaga sya naganap eh. Kung gabi yan, nako po ang daming casualties.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nkakaawa .nakita ko rin sa news dto. Dami sira.. Seems like it's the very first huge problem that will be handled by the new president..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Mas lakas sa bandang Norte eh, lalo na sa Ilocos at Cagayan part. Daming pinalikas since sunod sunod pa rin ang mga aftershocks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe talag kanina HAHA...una kong inisip talaga is lumabas ng bahay tas naisip ko pano na yung tv namin tsaka laptop ni kuya HAHA 😂 papasok na sana ako kaso super lakas talaga buti nalang hindi siya nagtagal ng more than 45 seconds kundi baka sira na bahay namin jusme...yung kapitbahay naman namin tamang sigaw lang ng may lindol...akala ko nga katapusan na ng mundo 🙉 di ko talaga alam gagawin ko that time pramis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Matagal yung lindol samin dahil may after shocks. Nako po, naiwan ang laptop ng kuya mo. Haha. Awit yan. Pero mahalaga ang safety nyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lutang ako nung nagkalindol kanina pre 🥲

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy jusko po. Ang lakas ng lindol dyan sa Norte eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes , when earthquake came i also remain unaware of it but somehow I realize that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must know what to do when earthquake happens in real life. It can save your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've always heard about earthquakes but haven't felt them. I don't wish to feel it because I know the experience won't be great. Please make sure you always stage safe in these times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, you don't wish to experience it. Earthquake is a very dangerous natural calamities. We had several damages to houses and buildings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ,nagulat ako sa balita kanina naku ang lakas grabe ang laki ng damage no?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Ang lakas nung lindol, at ayun na nga po ang daming pinsalang nangyari.

$ 0.00
1 year ago