This is my toxic desires and I am fighting it

38 66
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

I felt so happy looking at my HIVE account. The journey was not easy, but it would become easy as others help me to continue moving forward. I published a story blog about an alien introduction prompted by the community of Weekend Experiences. Honestly, making that story was smooth for me. My mind was not clogged and heavily weighted by anything so I finished it early. When I was writing it, I was checking the word count from time to time. That's my usual routine.

However, this time I didn't bother and I ignored the word count because I wanted to write wholeheartedly. As a writer, sometimes I restrained myself from writing long because I am afraid that others may skip it. Be honest with me, you feel the same thing too, right? Yet, for some reason, I wanted to give my best in writing a story. That's my forte. That's what I do and I write it without reservation. And I am so happy about the feedback I received from it.

In all these things, have you ever had toxic desires? Based on Merriam Dictionary, a desire is a conscious impulse toward something that promises enjoyment or satisfaction in its attainment. Meaning, it is your strong desire to want something and it could be good or bad. Either of it, I will focus on my toxic desires, how bad it is, and how I fight for it. I cannot imagine that those desires are becoming unhealthy.

What's my toxic desires?

One of the toxic desires I had was wanting more than I could understand. I don't particularly understand what I wanted so the basic response I need to do is get it all. For example, I am exploring a new genre of book. Since, I don't know what's the exact thing to get, I would get as many as possible so that I have many choices. I don't know if you understand it, but for me, it's not really good.

To put it simply, I am getting many things to have many choices, and in the end, I would just read only two or three books out of 6 or 8. So, the rest of those books will be left unread in my bookshelves. The thing here is that I spend too much money on books that I will not read. No, I will read it, but it will take time for me to do it since there are ongoing books. It's becoming a toxic desire to buy many books.

I don't recommend people to buy something that more than you can afford or you can use. Just buy a specific book or thing you really need so that you can save money too. Many times it happened to me, and I cannot control myself. When I visit a bookstore, I see many books that suit my taste. I would really buy it for the sake of feeding my desire. My desire to collect books.

What's my solution to my overbought books?

After several times of meditation, I found out that the root of my desire to collect books is my passion for reading and writing. My basic impulse whenever I see a book is to get it and read the back page. Skim the book, read chapter 1 and make an impression. The result of my meditation is to keep myself away from the bookstore. As much as possible, I really don't want to go near them since my money will be drained again.

Each of us has a toxic desire and that depends on how you would overcome it. I don't know how you can overcome it since you are the only one who knows the root cause of it. I think meditation and self-reflection helps me to pinpoint what's the cause. Then, the moment I find out what it is, I will try to eliminate and minimize it by time. Don't force yourself to stop it since it's your desire. It becomes toxic because it has too much excess.

Also, it's Sunday and another new week tomorrow. I don't know, but I already felt tired just by hearing the word Monday. My schedule flashes on my mind and goodness! All the things I wanted to do tomorrow must be met because if not, I would be lazy and procrastinate about it. No, it is not my nature. I wish I could have a good weekday and our health would be better.

Image sources

Photo 1: Pixabay by Pexels

Photo 2: Pixabay by Kollinger


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you for your sponsorship.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

18
$ 2.69
$ 2.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

I read a blog written by shadowspub saying that if you don't feel reading the book, then leave it.

I think buying books is not bad (although you're not reading some of them).

Possible way to turn it to productive:

  1. Sell them
  2. Let someone borrow it so they will learn from the book.

On the other hand, yes, just buy the books that you want to read hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang yan at leadt nga books. Pwede mo pa din naman ibenta if after mo na basahin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Pero collector kasi ako ate. Haha. Ayaw ko isell, sayang ang value nya after decades. Charr

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang kyut nung after decades parang attics and furnis lang ang peg pero totoo ba?? Kahit books?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I relate sa problem na andaming books tas bumibili pa rin na ibang gustong basahin HAHA. Hobby ko ata talaga is collecting books instead of reading them chz.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Nako po! Nag cocollect ako and nagbabasa din haha kaso hindi ko nababasa ang lahat llao na ngayon na nagblogging ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dika nagiisa pre, mahilig rin ako magcollect ng books and basahin sila. Yun lang kaso escape ko saka dun amo nakakakuha ng idea, ayun lang talaga naiwan ko yung books ko sa iloilo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wuy, nagiging active ka na ulit dito sa read cash ah. Good to know. Tuloy mo lang yan saka kapag may time na, sa Hive naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bunabawi nako pre, kelangan ko makuha ulit attention ni rusty before magend work kobsa 11, ready na self introduction konfor hive sa 12, sa ngayon makikisama muna ako sa disc

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I restrained myself from writing long because I am afraid that others may skip it. Be honest with me, you feel the same thing too, right?

Same tayo denn hahaha. Lalo na pg 8 mins reading bka skip agad. Pero beleb ako syo ang hilig mo sa books. Gnda ng image mo hive. Pagpatuloy mo ksi sabi ni Lee is a long term investment ika nga c hive. May pang Maldives na dw ako hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate kaya sa read cash okay lang mga 4-5 mins reading time eh. Kapag sa Hive naman kasi okay lang naman ang mahaba kung mga story. Kasi yun naman ang gusto ng mga curators. Charr. Awiee, pasabit ako sa Maldives ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama! Try mo din sa liketu or pinmapple ksi malaki bigayan don hahaha. Tagal ko na pangarap ang Maldives since highschool pa ako. Punta ka din hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate kaya sa read cash okay lang mga 4-5 mins reading time eh. Kapag sa Hive naman kasi okay lang naman ang mahaba kung mga story. Kasi yun naman ang gusto ng mga curators. Charr. Awiee, pasabit ako sa Maldives ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also try to restrain myself from writing long articles coz it's a known fact that humans these days don't generally like reading long articles especially online. Whenever I notice my article is becoming very long, I split it into two and post the second one the next day 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. But in Hive, the longer the better. Haha. I don't know, but I just noticed that most of the articles that exceeds 1k words gain many upvotes. Hmm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now that you have mentioned it, I think you're right! I have noticed the same thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If only I have a lot of time, I would collect and read more books as well... But I am more into articles now.. My toxic desire is probably pushing myself to a limit to the point that my hobby compromises my health. That is something I need to get rid of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a lot of reading everyday ate.. That's more than enough. Oh, that's quite a bad thing if it comprises your health. Better do something about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyy yung mga books ko naka safe hahaha naka wrapped after matapos to preserve the looks and quality... πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naysu! Sakin din eh. Naka cover sila para iwas gusot at punit. Maganda naman talaga ang book preservation para tumagal hanggang sa kaapu-apohan. Hahhaa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me? Im buying books from students who are selling books to help them in a simple little way. Some of those books ay di ko pa nababasa hehehe. Hwag ka na lang talaga papasok sa bookstore denn lalu na kapag may sale hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! That's a good cause of buying ate. Anong mga books sinesell nila? Haha, hindi pa naman ako nagala sa mga bookstore ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More on christian and health books. PPH po na mga books.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the wish of getting something more is found in each one of us it is nature of human being

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we are. But wanting more extra and too much is not really good at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you. I also have a lot of books pending on my TBR list but I'm not spending a penny as they are all ebooks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, that's good though kung ebooks lang or epub. Ayoko kasi non since masakit na sa mata mag basa. Babad na ko online at di ko na kaya kapag sa books din is online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ako mahilig magbasa pero may total ako ng eight books. Out of eight, tatlo pa lang nababasa ko. Ako 10 minutes bago ako matulog, nagbabasa ako ng book haha. May wattpad rin ako na binabasa ngayon, yung special chapters na lang di ko tapos haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di naman ako mahilig magbasa rin ng libro. Medyo lang charr hahaha. Medyo lang yung may sarili na kong bookshelves for my books. Hindi naman halata diba? Charr.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahilig ako magbasa din, pero sa umpisa lang. Pag Di ko maintindihan, Iniiwan ko o tinuyulugan ko, except Kung interested talaga ako sa story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy totoo po yab. Minsan nakakatulog din ako kapag nagbabasa. Nangyayari yon kapag medyo naboringan ako sa part ng book.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako lang siguro dito ang hindi mahilig magbasa at binago ng platform na to😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Araw araw ba naman mag basa ng blog ate. Ewan ko nlang talaga kung hindi ka pa maging mahilig sa pagbbasa haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama Marc it's depend on us kung ano yun at pano natin yun harapin at i-handle. Hehe Monday na naman Marc. Noon nung nag office work pa ako basta Monday na sobrang busy talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatamad talaga kapag Monday. Haha. Ang daming gagawin at hindi naman pwedeng iset aside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Marc tama. Sobrang busy talaga pag Monday talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahilig ka pala magbasa ng mga libro bro. Kaya pala matalino, sana all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Hind nman. Nakakadagdag lang yon sa knowledge mo as a person and lalawak ang imagination mo. Charr

$ 0.00
1 year ago