It was because of clams that my lola had mild stroke

28 67
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

This summer everyone loved to enjoy to go visit various beaches, resorts and pools to ease the heat. We sometimes used the phrase “beat the heat” and it was common to all of us. On the other hand, there are food that is seasonal and only suitable every summer. Well, I know we love Halo-Halo. A refreshment made of mixed fruits and crashed ice with milk. Who doesn't love it anyway?

Last couple of years ago, we are enjoying in the beach with my family. It was an outing and at the same time, a family reunion. I remembered we occupied 19 tents in that particular resort because we're too many. The day started with fun and a lot of stress because of food preparation. We were in rushed actually. It was because the one who supposedly go to the market to buy ingredients fell asleep so deeply and didn't heard his alarm clock.

So, when we brought back all the ingredients in our house. We have to chopped, prepared and cooked all of them within 2 hours. My lolo got mad. He told us why my cousin was tasked to go to the market instead our aunties. Well, my cousin insisted to do so and everyone doesn't want to go as well. So we had no choice but to give it to him which is a big mistake.

We were at the beach and everyone was coming every several minutes. As usual, we swam and ate delicious food. We did boodle fight, playing volleyball, touch ball, and bonfire as well. Little did we know that, there will be a horrible incident happened later on. I was still sleeping and didn't know what's going on in our house. When I woke up at eight in the morning because my body was so heavy and tired because of yesterday's event.

My sister told me that our lola was in the hospital. I got curious and my chest was like crumpled that moment. I asked her why and she told me that lola got dizzy and fell in the floor. Fortunately, she didn't hit the floor because my father saw her that time. In that moment, I felt I was crashing by strong current and earth ate me because I cannot move at all. My mind was thinking about my lola if she was okay. I cannot do anything because that time we're not allowed to go outside.

Do you still remember those days during the first and second lockdown? In our municipality, we have to own a trespass ID which certifies that we are good and allowed to go out. But that time, I didn't have one. Our family's trespass ID was named to my father and mother since they are working outside. Even though I wanted to visit my lola, but we cannot. I cannot contact my father because his phone was left at home. They had no phone so we basically have no communication and news what happened there.

It was 1 o'clock in the afternoon when my father went home. Yes, we're ready to whatever happened. He told us that our lola got stroke because of high heat and clams she ate yesterday. Her stroke is mild, but she cannot move half side of her body. I think it was the left side. He body was like shutdown, and she cannot even lift her arms and move her fingers.

This is the photo when it was my time to visit my lola and substitute to my other aunties who cared for her in 3 consecutive days. The moment I saw my lola laying down in that bed, I felt weak. I didn't know why, but that was happened in my body. I didn't hugged her right away because she was sleeping. She can talk, but you cannot understand her words.

It was like she was just mumbling and murmuring. My struggle back then was how I accompanied her in the comfort room whenever she felt peeing and pooping. I didn't washed her poop. My auntie did it. My lola cannot eat hard food so we basically have to cook soup food like sopas, porridge, champorado and fruit shake. She was really strong. I felt weak, but my lola always tapped my back or hold my hand. She was like saying to me that she was not dying. It was only stroke.

I didn't took photos much during those days because I was so focused on her. She cannot chewed her food so I always watching if she will got choke or something. Thankfully, she did no experience any of it. The nurse who assisted my lola was so good. She was skilled and you knew how much effort she exerted to her patients. I knew her name actually and we're friends on Facebook. *smiling*

My lola started to recovered a week after she was sent home. Everyone adjusted their schedule and time because there should be at least one or two persons taking care of our lola. She cannot walk and eat herself alone. That situation lasted for about 6 months. She started to walk during in her 7 or 8 months. She got her therapy session for her muscles because it is needed to make her blood vessels to run again in a smooth way.

Today, my lola was so good. She can walk, run, jog, plant and her normal activities. But one thing has changed, her food habits. We didn't allowed her to eat clams, or any food that is high in cholesterol. We didn't want it to happen again to her or in any of us. It is because we struggle so much physically and financially. So, I want to give you an advice that food is good, but when it is too much. It might harm you the way it harms my lola.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thanks so much again my generous sponsors. I love seeing you all in that block until now. Love lots!

My previous article you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I wish to see you next time!

21
$ 4.94
$ 4.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 13
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Sana maging okay na yung Lola mo, ang hirap nga talaga magkasakit lalo na kapag alam natin na yung PhilHealth budget nacorrupt na hayy ewan..

Tamang lifestyle adjustment lang yan and positive mindset 🙌🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy okay naman na si lola beb. She's fully recovered na and talagang mag iingat nalang talaga sa mga kinakain hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry she had to go through all that and I pray her health would be perfected even though she's better now. Well done and warm regards to her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, thanks bro. She's super healthy and thanks for your prayer. Claiming all that. Yeah, I appreciated it a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's great. 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope your Lola recovers soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is. She's totally okay and recovered now. We just have to maintain her maintenance medication

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti naman at okay na Lola mo. Bantayan niyo na talagang mabuti ang mga kinakain niya. Dapat sa kaniya yung mga pagkain na may Good Cholesterol lang, iwas na lang sa matataas ang cholesterol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabilis namna sya naka recover ate after 5-6 months. Opo. Ngayon super bantay talaga kami sa kanya kasi nga baka maulit na naman. Pero si lola naman na mismo ang naiwas kasi nga ayaw nya rin maulit haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka highblood si Lola mo nho? Buti na lng naging okay na talaga sya at mahirap mastroke. Hirap din sila mgsalita nyan. Di lahat ng seafoods is safe Lalo na sa taong maraming bawal kainin naku wag talagang pilitin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Na highblood si lola then sobrang init pa po non. Kaya ayun, nastroke na. Never again talaga. Hirap mag alaga ng ganon. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pala then dpat kasi balance eating kasi alam pala nya na HB sya. C tatay ko nga HB din yun kya binabantayan namin kain nya. Di madali alagaan pg nastoke na ksi mga pasaway din yan hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just good that your lola has recovered from such illness, my father had stroke way back 2016 and it was really shocking for us back then. But now he is healthy, but yeah he's still full of attitude sometimes 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Handling and caring for stroke people are so hard. Like, how you feed them, assist them and even basic like walking and changing clothes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malakas kasi cholesterol nun kaya cguro taz pagod pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa init din ate. Nung time na yon, sobrang init po talaga like nag hike ng 41°C. Tas sinabayan pa po ng highblood kaya mas lalong hindi kinaya ng katawan ni lola. Buti nga po nakuha sa gamot yung namuong dugo sa batok nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad your lola is okay na, pahamak ang clam sarap pa naman nun, kaya dapat ingat tayong lahat especially sa food intake, tandaan lahat ng sobra ay di maganda.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Salamat. Masarap nga po yung clam kaya napasobra ng kain si lola non. Hindi rin namin napansin kasi nga reunión. Busy ang lahat sa mga kuwentuhan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow your lola was indeed strong! Ehem bakit parang mag something sa nurse?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, she is. Hahaha. Si ateng nurse kasi eh. Kinukulit ako. Ay? Hahaha. Ang harot ko talaga. Charr

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabuti at mild lang yung stroke and mas mabuti dahil okay na si lola today. Well kamusta naman yung nurse may pa smile pa ah Char

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo bro. Mild stroke lang pero ang tagal nya bago naka recover. Talagang hindi mo kamo magagalaw Literal yung body parts mo or hindi mo sya macocontrol. Ayun, si ateng nurse jowa ko na ngayon. Charr! Eme lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabuti okay na siya now Marc, ang alarming ng ganon kaya okay talaga na bantayan yung mga kinakain niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sarap pa ng tulog ko non tas may nangyayari na pala sa sala na ganyan. Hindi ko talaga namalayan yon wala rin kasing gumising sakin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah, hoping for full recovery and more time to live healthy Lola. Now for sure she needed to take mandatory maintenance?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is fully recovered bro. But yeah, maintenance is highly recommended. I think she's intaking two medications.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your Lola will be fine.. Truth is , you shouldn't stress her much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks! She is totally okay now. Fully recovered and active in her physical and recreational activities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago