Calluses: This is the evidence of my hard work

30 49
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

We have different mindset and thinking of how we look others if they are hardworking or not. Basically, when someone is rich and wealthy, we thought that they are hard working people. People who have been used the time properly and wisely. But how about those people in the bottom, like me, or us? What's the symbolism of average and poor people being a hard working?

I still remember when I was young, since I grew up in farm I know the hard work my parents, grandparents and neighbors. Whenever they are cultivating the farm field, I noticed the hard skin in their palms. Sometimes it was big or small. It also depends on the area where it mostly used. I asked my parents about it. Why they have something like that in their hands?

They didn't answered me, but they smiled. The smile I know which has a very deep meaning. I never questioned them about callus anymore since then. However, I asked my grandparents about it. I am still a kid so I didn't understand where it comes from. All I know is about warts which I had in the very first when I was six. I didn't know where my warts came from though.

Sad reality of being a worker under the sun

If you don't know, working in the construction is very hard. You have to endure the heat which penetrates your skin. It has a high heat factor as well in our body and it really drains you inside out. I worked in the construction for a while as an extra job. My grandpa is working as on-call constructor and all-around carpenter. He has his own men as well, but sometimes if the project will need more manpower. He will contact and hired me.

As of now, I have been with my grandpa in the construction for about 4 years now. Yes, just an extra job which pays you good. PHP500 (USD9.57) per day is not bad at all. Sometimes, to finish the whole house, I will be with them for a week or two which means I can earn enough money and save it. I still remember the highest amount I earned is about PHP7500 for 15 days. However, although it pays good like this, we cannot deny the fact that they don't have government support like SSS, PhilHealth, and Pag-Ibig.

It means after they retire, they will not received a pension which is truly sad. Yet, it will not happen if they will contribute as early as possible to those mentioned government mandated benefits. In addition, can you imagine how much callus they hand on their palms and feet? Have you seen one of the their hands? If you don't, then you can't understand and imagine what I am describing now. I truly wish that these people deserved recognition as well.

These are my hands after all

Courtesy: DennMarc

What you are looking now is my left hand after working in the construction. Yes, my hand is quite red and I have three calluses there. It wasn't big here, but when I woke up in the morning. It became bigger and clearer. The calluses were in my hands for a week or so. It didn't fade away unless you trim it or apply some ointments to reduce it bit by bit.

Courtesy: DennMarc

This is my right hand which is always been severely affected whenever I work in construction. Do you see the greenish yellow in the left side? That's the worst kind of callus I don't want to have. They last so long and it quite hurts. I'm so proud of myself whenever I look at to the house we build because in these little hands. There is a family waiting to set their things and created memories in the house which eventually will be called home soon.

What my professor told me

I would like to share what my professor told us before. He was our professor last semester and he was cool. I admired him very much because of his teaching consistency and ability to understand our problems. One time, he mentioned that his family's livelihood is to mine gold. Yes, the real gold. If you are thinking that they are rich, no! They are working in the mines and digging the land themselves.

It was truly a definition of hard work. They digged the land for about 15 to 20 times deeper an average human height combined. That's how deep they dig every night to excavate and get gold. At the very end, it's worth it. He said that they can earn up to PHP40,000 (USD765) every time they do that. The challenge about this is, they can't breath properly underground because they are too deep. The oxygen is very limited that's why they are rotating every hour.

You don't have to work hard if you can work wise. What I mean is, if you are working as factory worker and earning PHP373 per day. And if you can teach online earning PHP120 per hour, where do you think is better? Of course, in the online teaching. I am applying for a new job, just an extra job this summer. It's online teaching tutorial which one of my professors manage. Let's see what will happen next.

Thank you for reading!

17
$ 3.76
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @MichaelBCH
+ 8
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Be proud of your calluses and scars. It only means you work hard. I did have a chance to experience being a construction worker when we had to rebuild our new home. Mining is one of the livelihood here in our locality. I did enter a mine before and it was stifling and claustrophobic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oho, you really did bro? Yeah, I'm not ashamed to have calluses because it will soon fade away. You are from Baguio right bro?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Calluses are the evidence of your hardwork indeed Denn. I can understand the pain gotten from them. I like your hard-working character though buddy. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks buddy! You know when you what something, you'll work for it. I like doing this job anyway. Although it's exhausting, but I found joy working and experiencing it at the very least.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, somehow that was the saddest thing today. I liked that you were proud of it of being who we are. I noticed that teenagers today seem like life was so much more comfortable to them, not until they had to carry their own bucket that the time where they will felt the hardness of gaining a small amount of hayst.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some teenagers thought that earning money is easy. They haven't had a opportunity to work so they don't know the feeling of budgeting and allotting finances at home. All they know is to ask their parents for money and have fun. Such things will not help in times of in need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank You

$ 0.00
1 year ago

all your hardworks will be paid off, sir. Rest assured on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course it will be. When we work hard an eventually we will get want we want. To achieve something great is feeling good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I admire you and your family's hard work. It must be fulfilling to look at the finished construction knowing you did a good job

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, it is. Working in the construction and building houses are really good in feeling. Whenever you finished one, you will think that did I really do that?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apakasipag naman neto plus the good mindset and the attitude you have, for sure magiging successful in the near future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung tamad at tambay lang sa bahay buong maghapon, hindi naman kikita haha. Saka po nag aaral pa rin naman ako ayoko ng full time job. Hirap maging working student.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan din kamay ko hehe and I never ashamed of it, infact I am proud of having a lot of calluses in my both hands.. my husband too, his hand is rough and sometimes ashamed to hold my hand but I always told him na ito yung proof na hindi nya kami pinapabayaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi naman nakakahiya na may kalyo sa kamay. Eh pinag hirapan naman natin kung anong meron tayo. Plus, marangal na trabaho naman ang ginagawa natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sipag naman ng batang ire. I am sure all your hard works will be pay off. And I can't wait for that to happen. And goodluck sa online teaching I know you'll eventually be hire once you apply. Fighting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy salamat po sa words ate. Talagang hoping ako na makapasok sa online teaching since magiging source din yun ng fund for my own laptop. Haha. Fighting lang po talaga. Dream high!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As long as marangal na trabaho yan dong ,go lang .Soon kapag makatapos kana at makahanap ka ng magandang trabaho na hindi na need mabilad sa araw. Mas mabuti ng ganyan kasi alam mo kung paano mag adjust ng trabaho.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po. Minsan lang naman po ako pumasok sa construction. Kapag tinatawag lang ako ni lolo pero alam mo yon ate, masarap lang din sa feeling na alam mo yung pakiramdam na bilad sa araw. Another whole experience lang din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napakaswerte ng magiging asawa nito, ang sipag na bata. Keep it up lang, gaganda din ang buhay basta tayo ay nagsisikap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awiee! Mag aasawa na nga ako eh. Joke! Oo naman ate. Aasenso tayong lahat at magkakaroon ng magandang buhay. Let's hope na maging maayos ang kapalaran ng bawat isa. Ikaw din te, alam ko nag sisikap ka for your kid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napakasipag naman. I know mahiging successful ka in the future with your attitude. Ipagpatuloy mo lang yan Marc. May mga ganyan din ako dati. Sobrang gaspang ng palad ko. Pero nawawala lang siya sa tuwing naglilinis ako ng kaldero gamit ang buhangin.😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy nakakawala talaga ng kalyo yung pag gamit ng buhangin ate? Sabagay magaspang din naman kasi ang buhangin. Salamat sa iyong salita ate. Nawa'y maging successful tayong lahat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakaproud ka naman Marc. Sobrang napaka hardworking mo. Yung nakita ko talaga sayo na someday maging successful. Mostly naging successful na mga tao yung mga masisipag. Nakaka inspire naman Marc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sarap naman basahin nito ate. Kung medyo tatamad tamad sa buhay, eh wala namang asenso at magandang buhay na magaganap. Tuloy tuloy lang kung anong extra job ang pwede habang nag aaral pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Marc yan nakikita ko sayo. Grabe napaka hardworking mo. Yes marc tama. Tuloy² lang..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's pretty tough work DennMarc. Being a construction worker is not easy at all cause it makes your body exhausted. That calluses are evidence of your hardwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it will definitely exhausted your body to the point you wish to sleep all day long. However, life still continues and grind more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka-proud ka naman bebe! Sana lahat ng mga teenager ganyan mag isip jusko!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Maganda rin kasi ate na naeexplore mo ang mga mahihirap na trabaho para masanay ka. Para kapag nasa aircon kana nag wowork, di mo makalimutan kung anong pakiramdam ng nakabilad sa araw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago