This is why you have not been able to Appreciate a Piece of Music: Your Problem Solved...

29 40
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I once told a friend that music and the way we perceive each note and the melody that comes from the combination of these notes differs within us as individuals. Just as we see in the real world today where someone feels good enjoying a Burger meal with a bottle of soda while another will prefer to enjoy the same Burger meal with a bottle of water or even a bottle of beer because of what I call individual preference.

This is what happens when it comes to the perception of music. Each time I hear how people condemn a particular piece of music either because it is not of their musical world culture (does not come from their region or country) or because they are not open to listening to that particular genre of music, it makes me sick because I believe they have made themselves to have a myopic appreciation of music. This is one of the greatest threats music as an art faces in our world today. I am not just writing this because I want to but it is because I have seen a lot of loopholes when it comes to our level of musical appreciation.

 

This article is intended to spur you to see music in a broader form and not as a one-sided piece of art. If you have had the opportunity of attending an art exhibition, you will understand that art is not and should not be perceived with a closed eye i.e. myopic sense of reasoning. The word Art is more than you can imagine and the only way to swim in its ocean is by opening your inner mind because art deals more with the inner mind than the physical.

This is seen when an artist carves, paints or writes either a piece of music or poetry and he is asked what inspired him, you will begin to hear things that may be very hard for you to understand. This is because he is more connected to the spiritual than the physical i.e. what the eyes see is translated into the inner mind to give it millions of ways to express it in another form. I would want you to try and understand what I am talking about in this article because I believe that the understanding you will get will go a long way to affect the way you appreciate a work of art, especially music.

 

The Perception of Music

Source

In other to break this down in such a way that will be easy for everyone to understand, I will give an analogy of what I have been practising over the years when it comes to musical perception. These three things are what I call The Human Behavioural Pattern towards Appreciation of a Piece of Music. This is completely my thought which came as a result of my years of practice in the music sphere, therefore, I would not say that it must be the same for everyone but I believe that a lot of people may have had a similar experience when it comes to appreciating a piece of music. What are these three behavioural patterns? They are: (LACE).

  • ·        Listening

  • ·        Acceptance

  • ·        Enjoyment

I will try as much as I can to break it down in a way that you can be able to relate it to yourself as regards your musical appreciation. Let us look at the first one.

Listening

Source

Listening deals with the ear as an organ of the body and in all my life I don’t think I have seen someone born without the ear lobes on his head. What this means is that we are created to listen to each other. Another thing we must know is that listening can only occur through hearing. You cannot listen to someone if you cannot hear clearly whatever they are saying at a given moment. Therefore, for you to say you are listening to a piece of music, you must be sure that you can hear it very clearly and for a given duration.

When we hear, we are led to listen which take us to the gate of understanding. Now, let us look at what happens to us when we try to listen to a piece of music. At the moment we hear a song either from the introductory part (prelude), middle section or the end, what happens is that most of us do not give a particular song the desired time or duration for us to truly hear what it has to offer even before we begin to criticise it. This happens mostly when the artist is not well known or the beat is not the type of vibe we want. This will make us either fast forward the song or change it entirely.

 

Once we do that, we have succeeded in not hearing the song which will hinder us from listening to it and by so doing we will end up not appreciating it. So in summary on the aspect of listening to a song, we must make sure that we can hear the song up to a given duration or if possible we should allow the song to play out but not without listening to it. You know that listening comes in two forms i.e.: the Active and Passive forms of listening but the best form of listening is the active form which takes away every form of criticism, bias or distractions.

 

Acceptance

Source

Acceptance is the second in the pattern because it is only facilitated through active listening. You cannot accept a piece of music if you do not listen to it for some time. There is something that happens when you give a listening ear to a piece of music and that thing is what leads to acceptance of the piece. As you are listening, you will begin to hear notes, punch lines, the lyrical flow and the meanings it carries and also you will begin to hear most especially the vocal texture of the artist. These are some of the things that will make you accept a piece of music and once there is an acceptance, you will automatically find yourself in the next pattern which is enjoyment.

 

Enjoyment

Source

Just as I have stated above, you will notice the patterns and the way they were flowing from one to the other. Now, for you to enjoy a piece of music you would have seen in this article that it requires some form of commitment which must be flowed carefully. First, you must listen to the song by allowing it to play more than ones and as you listen to it, you will begin to accept the hidden treasures of that particular piece and once the appreciation level increases, you see that your body will begin to enjoy the song either by nodding of the head, shaking of the body even as you are seated or by completely dancing to the song. This enjoyment level can be noticed when you see yourself putting a particular song on repeat in your playlist.

 

When next you hear a song, do not be quick to judge the piece of music without doing these things I have outlined and tagged as the human Behavioural Pattern towards the Appreciation of a Piece of Music.

I hope I have been able to inform you and not deform you through this article.

If you are pleased with this article, feel free to ⏩SUBSCRIBE⏪for more.

Davinchysax loves you…💝💝💓

Lead image.

11
$ 3.06
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.05 from @Mictorrani
+ 4
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

I love how you viewed music and the way you convince us -your reader to become an open individual. I do love music but then again I would be honest to you that I too judge music according to my choice and preferences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not a bad thing for one to have a preference after all we cannot love the same thing as individuals. What I am saying is that for you to truly appreciate a piece of music, you must be able to give it a fair hearing and by so doing, you will see the hidden treasures in that music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always love music every since it was introduced to me. I even explore it more by composing songs, learning how to play guitar, ukulele, and keyboard. I'm still on my way in learning the violin. Music is timeless for me. It has been my signature ever since. I just love how music enable us to feel every note it produces. I like it how new genres are released, but I will never leave the old ones, they mean a lot to me that the new ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leaving the old ones is like letting go of your foundation and you know what will follow... Join me in spreading the good news of every music...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, I've published an article about music. You might want to check it out. :) It has 2 parts.

https://read.cash/@noisytoothie/what-is-music-to-you-6480704f https://read.cash/@noisytoothie/what-is-music-to-you-part-2-bd229576

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is a good one from a musicologist. I really have to apply these when next I want to jump over a particle song or fast forward it.🙊🤣 Most times I even delete ones that aren't very pleasing to my ear and most times those songs I don't even take the time to listen to them till the end. When the beginning just seems too flawed, I move it to trash without even thinking twice about it🤭😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you change or fast forward the song, you have ended up judging the book by its cover and you know that we are not supposed to judge a book by its cover. Give every song a critical listening ear and I bet you will find something hidden in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

music is art that should be enjoyed... every beat every lyrics every melody... they are all part of music that will bring you somewhere.... thanks for this article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music is not in parts rather it is in whole and I believe when we listen with an unbiased mind, we will get the positive effect the song is meant to give.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said. While i am reading your article i was listening music. I don't know but i listen the music with cencentration and passion. It make me relax and i feel serenity. Music is become part of my personality. I cant live without it. When i read and when i go to bed i put headfree in ear and play the music. Indeed music is best partner

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music a the soul of the spirit and it gives meaning to everything there is... I bet you are yet I get the best out of music... You know music is like a beautiful girl and once you pamper very well, she will give you all the love you need in the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like in everything, we all have our preferences like food, clothing, favorite color, etc. Same is true with music. We should not hate someone for listening to a genre that we want. We like music that appeals to us. I like how you summarized the behavior we all should have: LACE. I'll try to remember that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One cannot dispute the fact that music has a lot of branches, therefore, we cannot expect everyone to hang their cloth on the same branch, but that does not mean that there is nothing good in that genre you do not like... It is just an ocean where everyone can dive in and swim through but you must be ready to stroke very well to swim across.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When others ask me what is my favorite music, I always say everything. I like every genre for there is always something to appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very good. Myself not limited in genre, I listen to everything from modern to opera, I have often been irritated on people who are very limited in taste and don't want to give something (to them) new even a chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It breaks my heart when youths that are meant to explore the world f music limit themselves to one particular genre f music. I wish the world will come to understand the vastness of the ocean of music. Thank you for the tip, I so appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with that. While me, I appreciate music by enjoying it. I mean, the rhythm of music which gives me the reason to sway. Or it can be by understanding its meaning. It happens that, even I don't understand the language of that song. But the feeling gives it to me makes me enjoy them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is the power of music... It is so vast that something should catch your fancy about a particular song. This is why it pains my heart when I hear people talk down on any song that does not soothe their genre or taste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, music is indeed powerful. Oh. That's really sad. As of now, I don't hear from someone that talks down to other songs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have them all around me and I understand their problem which a why I keep preaching to them to embrace music with the mind of a baby... When you look at a piece of music with the mind of a baby you will be pushed to listen and listen in a bid to know more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a good one. I was even smiling while reading because I am guilty of the listening category lol. And like you said we should give a song a particular duration of time to be able to convey the message before condemning it I am fond of changing a song when it isn't my taste or doesn't carry the vibes I want😂 Guess I will have to try and give it time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were the reason why I wrote this article 🤪😝 Keep changing the song one day you will end up changing a song done by your close friend... I am still looking for you hope you know that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂 my close friend will have to tell me na if not OYO lol. You are looking for me?🤔🙄 where? Am I owing you? Come to think of it, you are the one owing me the keys and passwords to your assets🙄🙄😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I said it, you are planning to finish me but wait till I catch you... I will pull your hair😝🤪😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pull my hair?🙄😂 what if I don't have hair? Kinda bald?😂😂🤭

Oh my God! Thank you for the sponsorship, I am crying (I am just being dramatic, you know😂😂) if you want to see me cry, make it $50😂😂 and I will role on the floor hahaha.

Jokes aside, thank you so much dear, but I still need those keys and passwords lol🙄😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then, I will knock your bald head

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🙄🙄 let me see you try

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music is emotion.

Many people have prejudices, and they put a barrier in front of the curiosity. Just listen.. let yourself be carried away. :0)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet you are a soul in the world of art... We must allow its rich and overflowing cool breeze touch us in ways we can never imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago