Sharing some little knowledge on the Hive

73 107
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you dear Read.cash readers? I can't believe that January is almost over. It has been a bit of a tough month for me, especially the last days and I hope that the following ones will be a little lighter.

Before I get into the topic. I want to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you who left me a message of encouragement and prayers for my husband's health in Do Not Enter - Restricted Area. I thank you from the bottom of my heart, and I will update you before I continue.

My husband is home, after a few days in the hospital. And after that anxious night in intensive care for fear that he might have a heart attack and running some tests, the diagnosis is that he has pericarditis (inflammation of the membrane that covers the heart). Apparently for having had covid a few weeks ago. Although he never showed symptoms of having it, my son had covid 3 weeks ago with mild symptoms. So it seems my husband although asymptomatic also had it. It seems to be a more or less common consequence in some covid patients, but a condition that if left untreated is very risky. So he has to be on full rest for at least 2 weeks with a strict diet and lots of medication.

Now going to the subject on the Hive.

Make your vote count and don't let it be dust

By chance a few days ago, I came across an old post in Hive, which title was something like. So I shouldn't vote the comments in Hive? That of course piqued my curiosity.

The person in his post asked how much was the minimum reward paid on a comment. From the comments and then researching in other posts, I learned the following. For the reward on any post to be paid, it has to be at least 0.02 cents. This doesn't mean that if our vote is less than this amount it has no value. It does as long as we vote on a post whose total rewards are at least 0.02. Many of the posts will reach at least this mark. But not so the comments.

Many people who vote comments have very small voting power. So although the intention to vote the comment is very laudable, we are wasting our vote, because the author of the comment will not receive anything unless the value of the vote or the sum of votes of the comment is at least 0.02. But comments usually just get one vote unless the comment is too good and caught some attention.

What I got from Hive Power Up Day

Maybe if you have read me before talking about Hive you know that in the last few months I have wanted to participate in some initiatives to try to grow my HIve account. One of them is the Power Up Day. This besides showing a commitment to the Hive blockchain, has helped me to start having curation rewards. Simple, by participating in the PUD and following some rules you are eligible for some prizes in a delegation of HP. This is easier to achieve in accounts that are just starting out because they are based on the percentage of HP increase in your account. Of course, there are minimum requirements, but it is worth a look if you haven't done so far.

You can see your curation rewards as well as other useful stats at https://hivestats.io/. Just ad your hive username following the address, for example, @coquicoin as I use the same username here and there.

Since I've been on Hive I've received 15 dollars in curation rewards, not that I'm going to get rich for it, but that's what I've received for voting other people's content. If I hadn't won some delegations in the PUD, the amount would be much less, I probably it wouldn't reach 2 dollars. But thanks to the delegations I won in January and especially the ones I won in December I have received more curation rewards. And probably I would have received more if I had the knowledge I have now about voting. Many of my votes I'm sure turned into dust.

So basically when someone delegates HP to you, they are delegating you, voting power. So the little piece of advice is to take advantage of this as much as you can.

Learn about your voting power and the curation rewards

I have read a lot of posts that talk about this. But the basic thing is that our voting mana is recharged at a rate of 20% per day. That is, if I am at 100% and I spend 20% on the votes I make, this power is regenerated in 1 day. From what I have read it is advisable not to lower much than 80% not to compromise our voting value.

And how much do our votes consume in terms of percentages? A 100% vote consumes 2% of our voting mana. So if we only want to consume 20% we should do 10 votes a day, of course, this is not strict and we can modify the percentage of our vote if we use Peakd or Ecency. In HiveBlog the vote can only be adjusted if the account has a minimum of 500 HP.

There are those who don't want to think about managing their votes and decide to follow a curation trail. I haven't explored this point much yet, so I'll leave it for later. And there is also the possibility of delegating part or the total of our voting power to big accounts that do curation like OCDB, Curangel, or LeoVote to name a few. And receive proportional rewards to our delegation, depending on how much these accounts distribute among their delegators.

This turned out to be a bit longer than I thought it would be. I hope some of my friends on Read who are now posting on Hive and who don't have as much time being bees and may not be aware of all this will find it useful. @FarmGirl @Eylz2021 @TengoLoTodo @foryoubtc09 @Bloghound @jane @Duvinca.

That's all for today. To you, my dear readers, thank you very much!

These are my fabulous sponsors, be sure to visit their articles, you won't regret.

Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise. Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

January 31, 2022

35
$ 11.41
$ 10.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.06 from @JuanyChelme
+ 25
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

So glad that you're husband is fine now. Praying for you and your husband for his fast recovery. Everything will be fine soon and better days woll come for you. God bless you and your family 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping for your husbands full recovery maam.

I don't have hive account for I really have no time doing research about it but I see users here also posting on their hive accts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to what happened to your husband and your family. It seems this year is not a great start for you and I. I hope everything will be better soon.

I remember during my last days in Steemit before I finally decided to stop posting there that there was the same concern about comments with a vote value of lesser of the same 0.02 (I think) and we call those dustvotes I think. It's been a long time now. I can't remember much of the details.

Anyway, good luck with your Hive journey!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, Kuboy! The beginning of the year has been eventful and not so good, but I have faith that everything will get better. I hope you and your family are well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to hear that your husband is fine now. Anyway thank you for this information as I wanted to join Hive too but still didn't know what to write there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! And there are plenty of communities in Hive with a very wide range of topics. Also some photograph and video related communities, so you will get lots of ideas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad your husband is fine now! I still don't know anything about hive but I started to get interested.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, Jelena! Let me know if you join Hive

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! glad your husband is okay now, and your son too! Gosh! What a long ordeal! Great tips, though I don't think I can join the bandwagon, my hands are full..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, LykeLyca 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this sis! I have also just been reading in the morning because I found out my voting power was always below 60% which makes my upvote amount too little. Then I found out I was wasting them. I went on to cancel all the curation trail that I was following and also the fanbase that I started a month ago :)

There are a lot of things to learn yet on Hive, and this is one of them, so thank you :) I am not upvoting now, so pardon me haha. My Voting Mana was blasted and I went to as low as 40% a few days ago, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi sis! you are welcome. I haven't joined any curation trail yet, because I've read we have to be careful not to affect our accounts when following more than one. And that if we follow more than one our votes may overlap.

I have thought now that I reached 500 HP of my own, I will start delegating some HP to big accounts, probably starting with OCDB. Let's see.

And don't worry about the votes sis. We have been voting our comments for a long time. And most of those votes turned to dust :( I know you are my main support there and you know I will also support you in whatever you need. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Eli, so glad to read that you are doing better at home. I'll text you over discord later on in the day, I have some things to say, good things of course. May God keep blessing that big heart of yours 💞

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias Rebe, espero que tú ya estés bien y recuperada 🤗😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La verdad es que no entiendo casi nada de Hive, hago lo mínimo y voy viendo poco a poco como funciona, así que tu artículo sí que me ayuda, es útil saber todo eso, ya que voy un poco a ciegas a veces, familiarizándome cuando leo a otros usuarios que explican o dan recomendaciones. Así que gracias y gracias por mencionarme!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

De nada, y cuando tengas dudas puedes preguntarme, no soy experta pero he tratado de ir aprendiendo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Vale muchas gracias, te agradezco tu amabilidad... de momento voy publicando y comentando algo y votando, un poco a ojo. Pero por ejemplo tengo Hive Dollars y Hive Power, pero me pregunto si es conveniente tener también Hive que imagino que es el token de la plataforma...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yo suelo cambiar el HBD a Hive, porque ahora mismo todo lo que gano lo esto convirtiendo en Hive Power para hacer crecer mi cuenta. He participado en algunas iniciativas de hacer Power Up y eso me ha permitido avanzar un poco mas rápido. Pero todo depende de lo que quieras hacer. En todo caso si quieres retirar algo de lo que has ganado, lo mas fácil para mi seria convertir a Hive y enviarlo a Binance. Cualquier duda estoy a la orden. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ok, gracias de nuevo... de momento espero un poco más hasta tener más cantidad y así ya empezaré a hacer alguna cosa o cambio. :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't know the information you gave about voting, that's good. At least we wouldn't have wasted it. When I look at my stats on curation rewards I see 0.01 hp for all time, I guess that's because I wasn't active and good enough there! Thanks for the information.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No, the reason is that your vote still has a very low value therefore the curation rewards are very small. However being active also help, you have to use your vote

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything about Hive confuses me till this day. Can I make as much earning on hive as on read.cash?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In the beginning, your earnings are less. Also in Hive, you need to build up your account staking Hive, so you need to invest in your account some of the earnings if you want to grow faster. But in the midterm, you can win more there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was planning to join hive before but then later on it got out in my mind to the point that I forgot about it due to my super busy schedules. But when I'm done with everything, I will make sure to join the hive.

Thank goodness that your hubby is now feeling better ate ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, Jini! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hive is very complicated and I keep discovering new things every day, it does get stressful sometimes 😆 but all these you have said all boils down to the amount of HP a person has, that's the fuel that runs hive (HP literally translates to hive power!). Speedy recovery to your husband ma'am

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you! Are you in Hive? Which is your username there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Are you in Hive? Which is your username there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's also kushyzee. I haven't been active there for some months, I got a lot on my plate right now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I have to research more about Hive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I still need to learn more about hive and its voting power. Some of this, I am just getting to know here. I have always used my vote on comments many times and I think I need to be careful now. Thank you ma

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, princess. I didn't think about tagging you since you are more experienced in Hive than I am. And yes, we have to be conscious when we vote for a comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's no problem 😊😊 thank you for the advice too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually don't mind going under 80%, going down to 60% is still fine as well I find

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, it is not strict what we can lower, and I suppose when our vote is very small, it doesn't matter much how much we lower the voting mana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, I will pray for your husband that he get well soon. Btw, I heard from somewhere about Hive but didn’t explore it, but from your article now I am thinking to join it. Thank you, mate for such information. It will be very helpful for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your prayers. And let me know if you join Hive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray your husband get well soon,and thank you for this information about hive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome and thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's best t I think I would joind the hive , but there's a hinders cause of some other business

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am not really sure why I can't join Hive, sigh..I shall try joining again..Thank you for the helpful tip, my dear Eliana and I do hope that everything will go well with your husband.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Glaiza. 🤗 If you want to open an account try in Ecency, the number of accounts that can be opened everyday are limited so you need to try through different Dapps ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alrighty! Thank you so much for the tip. I hope I will get lucky one day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't post therr for quite long now due to busyness and pegaxy haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pegaxy hum, every time I want to read the club's messages on TG I give up in the face of the bunch of messages about Pegaxy. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is Club1Pegaxy now Eli @CoquiCoin 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I read a lot of times about Hive ma'am CoquiCoin but until now I didn't try to join. I'm afraid if I got a mistake. Honestly I'm really interested maam CoquiCoin. I read Hive from princess article. Thank you for sharing this ma'am. It's really helpful.

I'm glad that your husband is getting well already ma'am CoquiCoin. Take care always and to your family also ma'am.🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome! I'm glad you find it helpful. And don't be afraid to make a mistake, we all do at some point ;) but we learned from them. Let me know if you join

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really helpful,i was thinking to join hive but didnt start it yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a big help to some who are in Hive especially to me now that I am planning to join there too. Hope i will find time to explore Hive in the next days

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you found it helpful. And let me know when you joined. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Coqui, how are you? It take me a long time to reach out to you. I just joined Hive yesterday and I just to ask, how can I earn Hive power? I really wanted to engage there but I can't. Is there any way I can obtain Hive power?

Sorry for the questions. I'm just really desperate to know about it and I also wanted to engage with others but sadly I can't.

thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah i will let you know. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usted a avanzado mucho en Hive, eso es maravilloso. Estoy completamente segura que su esposo se va a recuperar y usted volverá a tener tranquilidad de tener a los que ama sanos y salvos.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hola Juany, muchas gracias! No he visto más publicaciones tuyas en Hive últimamente, ya no estás publicando?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lo que sucede es que tuve muchos problemas con esa cuenta y me dijeron que podría hacer otra. Siempre y cuando dejará de publicar. Aquí escribo ahora https://peakd.com/@jcchelme

Tuve que comenzar desde cero.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, ahora mismo empiezo a seguirte :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds complex. I'm planning to be on Hive. Have heard about your husband only now Coqui! I'm glad that he is on his way to betterment. Praying for his complete healing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I hope things are going better at your place, as I have not been so active here lately it has been days since I have seen any of your posts. I hope everything is better 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything is going better Coqui. Thanks for looking after me. I appreciate you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear everything is going better. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello dear friend, you are also a little bee and you are already aware of many things that happen in Hive, that makes me very happy because you are also teaching others and unselfishly share your knowledge. I wish you the best this year so that your rewards multiply.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, amiga. I would say a very very little bee. I thank you so much for all you have done for me on Hive. When you helped me I was completely lost there 🤗😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowsers, so not only are we wasting our voting mana on voting but it really is worthless, that is invaluable to know Eli, a massive hug and a kiss for that 💙 Am glad hubby is on the mend as I knew already, but am curious what is the diet?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No salt, no sugar, no saturated fats, complex carbohydrates preferred. We don't use much salt regularly but no salt at all is a big challenge. And he is taking a lot of medications including a high dose of aspirin three times a day. Recovery is slow and he will have to be on rest until the inflammation of the pericardium goes down to avoid risks. But considering what I feared at first I am thankful that he will be able to recover following the prescriptions.

And as for Hive, I knew I wasn't being efficient with my votes and so I started reading about it, but I couldn't believe it when I read about dust. Hug and kiss back 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes no salt would be a challenge, I generally only tend to salt potatoes, and I am glad he will be ok it could have been worse as you feared!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite helpful as I'm a new bee on hive

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you found it helpful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sad. Is he ok now? Not in Hive but thinking to join. Perhaps seen Kelzy joining that. Yesterday she said so.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Recovery is slow but he is doing well, thank you, Luci. And let me know if you join Hive. I'll help you to start ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear. I need to buy a new laptop first. I'm on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago