I need a paper bag

70 109
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you, dear readers of Read.cash?

Here I am trying to write an article when for me it's still the second day of November. Although, I'm not sure I can write an article every day of the month. I want to try. And this morning, I woke up with the idea. But in the hustle and bustle of the day, I had not been able to sit down to write. And I spent most of the day thinking about it, but it was as if I had suddenly been drained of all ideas.

However, at the end of the afternoon, I had to take my husband to the Millenium shopping mall in Caracas to go to the preview of a movie. And in the car, we had a conversation that was quite inspiring for me. I think I have told you before that my husband is a filmmaker, but he is also a writer. So today in the car, I asked him what ideas he could give me to write some articles because I was lacking inspiration.

From our conversation, I didn't get any concrete ideas to write an article. Or maybe I did because I'm writing about this right now. But my husband, instead of giving me an idea, said: instead of asking me for ideas, what you have to do is to get your paper bag. I looked at him not understanding what he wanted to tell me and thinking he was pulling my leg.

But then he told me that he was referring to an anecdote that stuck with him from a book of interviews with Woody Allen that he read a long time ago. In which he said that he used to write down all the ideas that occur to him every moment and then kept them in a paper bag. Many of them as he said in the interview were written down on pieces of napkins. And when it was time to write a new story, he would take out the contents of the paper bag to go over his ideas. And he did not rule out any without having used it.

Woody Allen's career as a director and writer is very prolific. Without judging any of his films or the controversies of his private life, everything he has written is admirable.

Although, I'm not thinking of becoming a scriptwriter or a fiction writer, hehe. I need to have a bank of ideas like this. I need a paper bag.

The Millennium Mall from the street in front. I took it when I was taking my husband there.

I don't know about you, but most of my ideas come to me when I'm not writing or sitting in front of the computer. They come to me when I'm cooking or I'm doing house chores. When I'm driving, reading a book, watching a movie, or while I'm taking a bath. And the truth is that many of these ideas go to oblivion faster than they occurred to me. And that happens because I don't write them down at the moment.

So if I want to be more effective and write more, from now on I need to have my paper bag. To write down everything that comes to my mind during the day that I could write about and have them in one place. I've never written a journal in my life, but I do take notes. So I just need to carry some post-it notes or a notebook with me. Or in the worst case, a napkin or any piece of paper will work. I even can take notes on the phone or record some voice notes.

As for the book, I was referring to. If anyone is curious, it's called Conversations with Woody Allen by journalist Eric Lax, who for years was interviewing Allen and published all the interviews from over three decades compiled in a book.

And you. Do you have a bank of ideas? Or do you need a paper bag like me?

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 2, 2021

33
$ 13.04
$ 12.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 20
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I need a bag, I get a lot of ideas, but when I'm in front of the pc, I get distracted doing anything but writing and the ideas vanish. I love your article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Frank. :) The concept of the paper bag is great, just thinking about the number of ideas that occur to me but when I sit down they are gone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I started read.cash the same thing happened to me. No ideas came to me, until I decided to write down possible topics so that I wouldn't forget them. I have written down in a notebook all the possible topics I could write about, including trips I have taken in the past, personal experiences that come to me at a given moment and I write them down before I forget them again, things that happen in my environment that could be interesting to research and write about, and something I always do is to write about topics I know and deal with, such as aspects related to personality psychology. I have little time here, but the good thing about ideas is that they never end... the important thing is to know how to transform that idea on paper, so that it can be transmitted in an interesting and attractive way to the reader of read.cash. greetings dear friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right, the ideas don't run out and I'm definitely going to start writing down the ones that come to mind during the day. Thank you very much for stopping by. Un abrazo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ideas can come in anywhere and we must be ready to get them down as soon as possible before we forget them. This is why I do take along my phone, Jotter and pen when I am going out. When ideas comes to me, I will quickly type it in my phone so I won't forget, I will then transfer it to my Jotter so I can write on it later. Many of my articles are built with ideas I have written down before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is a good habit that I need to start having.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah! I always have a lot of ideas when I am taking a bath. But once Im out of the comfort room, everything will be gone. How I wish there's a paper and pen that will not get wet from the water so that I can bring them inside and write all the ideas that will came through.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! You will have to record some voice notes on your phone as soon as you get out of the shower, 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha. I just did it earlier Coqui. That's why I got to write an article tonight. 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I should start doing it if I want to write more this month. The shower is the best place for poping up ideas 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha so true Coqui. I should take a bath everyday also. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣, I do it every day, some days twice, so plenty of opportunities to get ideas. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I need a paper bag to today. I am amazed to know that your husband is a film maker and also a writer. My dream profession is film maker but we don't have enough money to choose that course in college. But it's okay, Gods plan is better than my plans.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My husband studied journalism and then when he started working, he was able to study filmmaking. So don't lose the hope that you can become a filmmaker one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen! I will claim that Miss Coquicoin. Nothing is Impossible with God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to you. It's just so weird when we get to have a topic to write about out of the blue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, writing down the ideas helps us not to get blank when writing, hehe;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have a bank of ideas, paperbag, folded napkins, or a diary. My ideas just popping out when I see some reference that can catch my thought. If there wasn't something to catch my interest, then prompts is going to be the saviour of my day again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, prompts are sometimes salvation, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, I get a lot of ideas in my head when I am working or doing something but when I am at the moment of having my time to write, all the ideas are gone lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You need to start taking notes all the time, like I need, hehe. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mis ideas vienen de una fotografía, de una anécdota buena o mala, de una discusión del día con mis hijos o mi esposo, o sino tengo ideas me pongo a cocinar una rica receta con lo que tengo ala mano. Recuerdo que un día solo tenia zanahorias, por un momento pensé que no había nada para comer, busque en internet recetas con zanahorias y salieron no una sino mil. super fácil hice unas zanahorias gratinadas con salsa bechamel, luego tome una buena foto y listo. Lo que te quiero decir es que no hay que matarse mucho la cabeza, trabaja con cosas simples y luego cuando te sientes a escribir todo fluirá como la espuma. te deseo un excelente dìa amiga.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Muchas gracias amiga por los consejos. Y tienes razón si uno se centra en escribir de su día a día surgen muchas posibilidades de cosas simples. Que tengas un excelente día tu también y un estupendo mes de Noviembre para ti y tu familia. Abrazos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times when I read some publications ideas come to my head and I write them down. Then when I don't think I have any ideas I go and look up what I wrote down and from there I get my inspiration for the post to write.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's exactly one of the things I need to do. Take some notes while reading, so as not to forget everything that comes to my mind. Have a great day friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I should also need a paper bad for myself because most new and interesting thoughts come to my mind while taking a class hehe, and in the bathroom. Have a blessed evening friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You should start making notes and keep them in a paper bag, hehe ;) Thank you! And have a blessed evening you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm... that's really not a bad idea, having a "paper bag" but with technological advancements, let's say the notepad app. Thanks for this helpful anecdote.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome! And yep, we can use our phone but what matters is the idea ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Subscribe me back plz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Farmboy is full of wisdom. Our smartphone can be our paper bag. Once the idea comes i quickly jot it down in my note and use it later.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, we can see the cellphone as a paper bag, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the odd is my idea come when i am taking bath and it can fly once I am done

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That happens to me sometimes too, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here! Ideas will only pops up when I'm busy doing something, but if not, no ideas would appear haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, but the problem is that they pop up, and after a few hours they disappear LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i need one too. It's so often true that ideas usually don't come when we want to write

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep, I think having an ideas bank is a must if we want to write often. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens same way for me too, I tend to forget quite easily... that is a very good idea to write it down and make sure you pick them up to compose one or two more stories from it... our minds will keep telling us the idea repeatedly but immediately we stop an activity it vanishes 😔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, sometimes at some point, we come up with lots of wonderful ideas, and hours later when we want to write them they are gone, hehe. So an idea bank is a great option. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very true, i came up with two topics for today and I still can’t remember them because I didn’t follow what I learnt from you yesterday..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What I use anytime I have inspiration is Google note and since an signed in even if I lose my phone if am logging in into my Google account it would still be there

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a great idea, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use the note on my phone or the memo ")

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I should do that too, my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Use you smartphone note app🤣🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to, tell me. I have a lot. I'll give it to you. Don't worry. Please don't mind, I made fun of you. It was good to read your post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, my ideas come when I'm busy doing something else, thats why I'm always with a pen, also I had the plan of writing all through October, but reality hit me really fast😫😫

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll have to have a pen with me all the time too;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The power of the pen on paper can it be overemphasized. It is a great deal if idea to keep a note of ideas you conceive during your quiet ot troubled time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will do that, thank you for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need a paper bag too, sis. More times I get ideas in the shower. But by the time I'm done and do any other things, I'd lost it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That happens to me all the time. But I already have my paper bag ready, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you have yours :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome Eliana. I don't have a paper bag as such. I do however have a notepad and pen by my bed and another in the sitting room that I use to write thoughts and ideas. Also I use the phone when out and about, and every so often go through them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a very creative mind, Ed. Remember that you have a Super Brain in that sense, hehe;) And I'll start taking notes from now on. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

creative yes super brain I am not so sure lol and yes you should take notes now Eliana :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Every time there is an idea that pops out of my mind. I eventually write it down coz it might be gone later, lol..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I definitely have to start writing down the ideas, because I forget most of them, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I get ideas I write them down on my phone or on the computer if I have it nearby. Thanks to read.cash I have come up with many things to write or draw. All the titles I write them down in excel so I don't forget them and once I have the article ready and published, I put that name in green and the date of publication. I know I'm new and I'm just starting, but I don't want to forget the ideas I want to share.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your methodology. And good luck on your journey here at Read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Geez I badly need a paper bag also but anyways you really have a busy life but you manage to keep things in order I admire you with that Maam, may God give you more knowledge and wisdom in writing as well as strength in everything that you do🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and best wishes. Many blessings to you ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha I think its common thing between us that mostly ideas come to us while doing cooking or other house chores ...lol But I think paper bag is a good idea.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, when I heard the story, I thought it was great. And a good idea to have a paper bag ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah i think need a paper bag also hehehhe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A mí me sucede también, todas mis ideas se vienen cuando estoy haciendo otras cosas y después se me olvidan. Por eso comencé a escribirlas en un blog de notas que llevo en mi teléfono móvil. Deberías hacer lo mismo 🙂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tengo que hacer algo así. Porque muchas veces no sé que escribir y es que muchas de las ideas que me vienen a la mente, acabo olvidándolas porque no las escribo en el momento.

$ 0.00
2 years ago