Coffee moments and a dream

52 76
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

How are you amazing people of Read.cash. And even though it's still Tuesday for a few minutes here, most of you are already on Wednesday, so Happy Hump Day!

A day ago, I wrote an entry for a contest in one of my favorite Hive communities, one dedicated to coffee. Yes, I am a coffee lover, and I think everything we do with a cup of coffee in front of us, we do it better.

Well, the contest winner was my dear Eddie Wildlife @TengoLoTodo, who invited us to have coffee with Dafty, and my dear friend @FarmGirl and her ideal coffee shop in front of the lake came in second place. My entry took the third prize. So it was all in the family, and it seems the BCH guys and girls are rocking the Hive.

Getting back to my entry, it was an acrostic about a dreamed coffee shop. I was inspired by a dream I had in my college years; at that time, I wanted to have a small coffee shop and bookstore. I had the thought that after working for a while in the business world, I would like to retire and set up that small cafe. That dream never materialized, and to tell the truth, today is only a dream of youth, and it is not in my plans to have that cafe now. But to write my publication, I was inspired by some coffee shops that I have visited in all these years, leaving an unforgettable memory.

The first one is a cafe I visited many years ago in Lisbon, Portugal. It was a family trip, and we were visiting one of the city's most traditional neighborhoods with a lot of steep streets. We went into a small cafe to have a drink and rest. The coffee shop had a very informal atmosphere and a small lounge with super comfortable sofas. There was also a shelf with books and magazines that invited them to sit and hang out. And like everything in the Alfama neighborhood where it was located, it seemed that time in the area stopped, and there was no rush. The coffee was pretty good as most of the coffee in Portugal. I was looking for some pictures in my files, and the only one I found of the place was this one of my son.

The second cafe that inspired me was one I visited years ago in San Telmo, Buenos Aires, also a traditional neighborhood. It is very bohemian, full of antique shops, and where many of its buildings may seem a little neglected and give it a slightly decadent atmosphere, but it is full of corners that are worth exploring, and that also seems to have stopped in time. One morning during that visit, we discovered a tiny cafe near the small hotel we were staying in; I remember we had a good time in it because the guy who was at the counter was Venezuelan and we talked a lot with him. While we were there, we took this picture, and every time I see it, I want to go back to the cafe and, like the guy with the headphones, sit there with my computer and watch the world go by through the window while sipping a cup of coffee.

The third cafe that inspires me is one that is here in Caracas. I've written about it in Hive and published some photos of it in Noise. Years ago, when I started to go there, the owner tended the bar and you could spend hours sitting there chatting with him. This cafe is famous for serving one of the best espressos in town, and although it no longer seems to follow that motto, I loved that they used to open when they wanted to and had a sign that no longer exists that said: We open when we open and close when we close. So they opened their own way, sometimes they were closed at mid-morning; sometimes they were open on Saturdays and sometimes not.

The place is full of antiques, posters, and news of other times on the walls.

And now, the acrostic of my dreamed cafe.

Morning sun shines on a street where, despite the hustle and bustle of the city, people seem to be relaxing and enjoying a new day. Many seem to be heading for a store whose door is flanked by a few pots of blooming geraniums.

Your senses will be delighted with the scent of the coffee been freshly ground as soon as you walk in the door.

Daily routines seem to take place all over the space. Everyone seems comfortable as if they were at home.

Rear of the place is a cozy living room with soft sofas and armchairs. That invite you not only to have a cup of coffee but also to spend hours reading.

Eating a couple of croissants and drinking espressos is a couple in one of the sofas while each of them is reading a book, and they seem to be in no hurry.

Aside from the window, a guy with headphones is working on his laptop while sipping a cappuccino at a tall bar-like table. He looks up overlooking the people strolling down the street from time to time. He seems ready for a long day's work at the café.

Meanwhile, behind the counter, the barista on duty prepares a macchiato for a girl while they chit-chat about a movie they watched last night.

"Even bad coffee is better than no coffee at all.”, a David Lynch quote is in a small sign, and it is one of the many that hang on the wall behind the counter.

Decorating the place are also some antiques and vintages details. Among them, some retro coffee makers are on display.

Crypto payments are accepted. And it is the favorite method of payment of the place's regulars.

Assortment of sweets to have with a cup of coffee is always freshly baked. There is never a shortage of alfajores, pastéis de nata, and coffee cakes.

Few minutes in the place, taking your coffee to go, spending hours chatting or enjoying a day of reading, impregnated with the aroma of good coffee. No matter what option you choose, whenever you enjoy the good vibes of the place.

Even if this coffee shop just exists in my mind, don't you think it would be nice to grab a coffee there?

If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading.

Thanks to all my sponsors. Those who have recently renewed your sponsorships, those who have been in my bar for a long time, and the new ones. You are all awesome!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

January 4, 2021

24
$ 7.80
$ 6.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 18
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I would love to be in every coffee shop you mentioned, real or not :) I like exploring cafes too and see what they have to offer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Jeje, I'm sure you would love them as well as my dreamed cafe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was magic getting the 1-2-3 clean sweep of hive by read writers muahh. And of course I want a coffee with you in so many different shops Eli :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cheers! for having many coffees together someday ☕️💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The scent of coffee beans really ignites our senses..ahhhh i would like to have a cup now

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love the smell of freshly ground coffee beans. I hope you enjoyed a good cup of coffee or several ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like the places you went to. They look really cozy. It has also been one of my dreams to have a coffee shop, and why not? Although I think that maybe it would be a little difficult to maintain it, I think it should have something that attracts a lot of attention, that distinguishes itself from other coffee shops.

I really like your acrostics, I would like to make some, but it is very difficult for me to make them in English....

PS: I hope you have a happy and prosperous year 2022.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wish you also a happy, prosperous, and healthy 2022. Yes, a coffee shop in our country today would be challenging to maintain.

And concerning the acrostic, try it ;) you will see that in the end, you get it. Write the text first, then separate the ideas and look for the words that can form the acrostic at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will practice a lot until I make a presentable acrostic haha.

Although many of us love coffee, it would be a challenge to have a good coffee shop and keep it always in good condition.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want a coffee invitation toooooo haha. Congrats, amiga!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I will always have a coffee ready for you amiga! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations! 😊Third prize is also great! I don't drink coffee, but when I read this I have such a nice impression that it attracts me to start drinking, although otherwise I have no wish to drink it. 😊 I googled San Telmo, beautiful place.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you :) hehe, maybe if someday I open a Cafe you change your mind about coffee ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing you have visited some really cool coffee places, one that accepts crypto payments too! Thats fantastic, I love coffee too and think I should treat myself a bit more often.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Treating ourselves with a good coffee is always worth it. I wish you the best for this new year; thanks for stopping by :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congratulations on your award. I really enjoyed reading. I even made an entry but it was too late. I brought it here. I do too much jumping around all day and I'm late to many parts hehehehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, Gertu. Next time you can enter, they often run contests in that community. I will invite you to the next one I see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend, hopefully I won't be busy and will be able to go. Sometimes there are so many things that get in the way and take away my time to be in 4 parts. I look forward to the call.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Congrats to the 3 of you! Cheers! I so love the bohemian style cafe, I would definitely drop by and dine..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you LykeLyca 😊 You will always be invited if I ever have a cafe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to try Hive too and I geuss, I am gonna try it within this week hihi. Ypur acrostic is amazing Coqui 💓 Congrats for being the third placer💓

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! 😊 Let me know when you drop in Hive so I can follow you there ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the ambiance of the second pic, maybe because of the colorful view on the outside that makes it looks so relaxing. I also wanna try visiting a coffee shop, but too bad there are no coffee shops in here. It's full of milktea station lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Here we don't drink as much tea as coffee, so there are just a few tea shops or stations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the acrostic and coffee shops. I wanted to visit one soon too to experience the feeling inside. Because seriously, I only visited McDonald's Cafe 🤣🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha you have not been to a coffee shop, oh my my !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I hope you do it soon;) And thank you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make your dreams come true and find me I'm willing to be your coffee buddy hahaha so let's sleep and dream again hahaha just kidding. Such a beautiful coffee dream you have. Coffee is life!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agree! coffee is life :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely. I wouldn't mind if I get a cup of coffee as well.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi! you would be invited anytime you want, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a coffee lover ma'am CoquiCoin. My mom love coffee too but I'm not. Hehe I tried drink coffee when I was in college ma'am because my bestfriend was really fond of coffee. I like her coffee. It tasted so good.

Wow! The coffee shops are amazing ma'am CoquiCoin. I like the place. It's very relaxing then the things we can see at the walls are so damn attractive.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe one day you will be a coffee lover too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dreamed coffee shop was great, any plan to materialize it? Seems coffee shop is one of the ideal business ideas as everyone loves coffee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

At this point in my life, I don't think I will ever have it. I think I will enjoy my coffee at home and at other's coffee shops. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to have some dear. When will I get my call? Make me a part of that dream.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe, you will always be welcome if I ever have a cafe, Luci :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations 🎉 dear! The Beautiful Dream of shop which is coffee shop amazing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats to you guys. And that dream coffee shop of yours is beautiful, I'm sure people will love that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats to the 3 of you of being a winners at Hive. How I wish I can taste the other coffees in other countries.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much, Jean! And I wish you could someday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome.. Hope soon I can taste it😉😉😉.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful coffee shops! I'd love to go around the world and try different coffee shops. I am happy for the 3 of you winning the writing challenge on Hive my dear Eliana!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, Glaiza 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a good idea by having your own cafe!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is an old and, I should say, forgotten dream ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whaoo, you have visited so many café places or should I say coffee shop, I'm a coffee lover too but the only place you can get it is either you make it yourself at home or people that sell along the road side

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Coffee made at home is also good ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah sure, one of the best

$ 0.00
2 years ago