Greetings That May Not Be Received Well

44 45
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Good day fellow writers and readers.How are you today? Hope all is well. I'm doing ok just trying to be as positive as I can be. I'd like to first give you update on me because a lot of you have asked. Yesterday I had an eye doctor appointment and was given good and bad news.

A few things on the good news. I no longer have physical limits I have to follow. I'm still going to take a cautious approach to this. I was told that the bubble line in my eye should be gone in about a week. The bubble however will still be there for a few more weeks. Once bubble line is out of my vision view doctor said my eyes won't be so sensitive to the sunlight. All good for my timeline to getting back to normal activities.

The bad news is that my pressure in my eye is still high. Doctor prescribed me some new eye drops to use to combat this. I'll find out next Thursday when I get checked again if this is effective. If not I have to see another doctor which will most likely lead to another surgery. That's where I'm at friends, let's get onto the main course my topic for today.

In my last article, "Sir and Ma'am "I wrote specifically about using those two words for greetings. If you haven't read click here. Today I'm going to touch on greeting one usually makes to the opposite sex. Most guys aren't too picky on what they are called by women. I believe that is not the case for all women. I'm going to mention the following terms: dear, honey (hun), babe, and sweet heart (sweetie)I've found some dislike them and only prefer thier partners to call them such.

Dear

I think out of all the greetings I mentioned this one is used the most. I use it myself a lot but not everyone likes it. I find it's probably the easiest one to say to someone out of the rest. I do not use it when addressing my full-time customers. It's a little different with my other job. I will use to some of the merchants I pick up from because they know me well. If a customer refers to me with an opposite sex greeting I will end with a thank you dear.

Honey (Hun)

Ok I'm moving down the line on what may be hardier to say in my perspective. Some may be okay with being called honey. I have noticed s lot of waitress use this term. Are they taught to say this? Obviously it's easy to use back if referred to first. It can be used to someone you have built a friendship with. It just depends on which context you use.

Sweet Heart (Sweetie)

I hear this word and automatically think of my late grand mothers. I can't count how many times I've been called a sweet heart by an older women. Just for clarification purposes I'm talking about 60 years of age or oldier. I rarely use it and the only time I would if someone did something above the ordinary for me. Whoops I do use it on Noise to someone who refers to everyone as sweet heart but does that even count? I do use sweetie a lot though but again to those I know well and to a waitress that is serving me msybe.

Babe

I think this one is more or less to only be used with our partners. Not saying it doesn't get used elsewhere. I have used in the past but with someone who knows I'm not interested in them more than a friends.

Final Thoughts

There are several other greetings one may say to the other sex. These were just a few I came up with and use myself. I will admit being older it seems I'm allowed to say these more freely than someone who is under 3o to say.

Disclaimer I have never been slapped for using any of these terms. So I must use them wisely.

Haha but I have been told on social media twice not to even call them dear. I respect them for it and I'm still friends with one of them. I will slip every once in awhile and she doesn't call me out on it. Now I will often ask right away if they mind being called dear, sweetie, or honey.

Are there any gender greetings you don't like to be called?

This is all everyone thanks for stopping by again :)

Lead imagine obtained here.

17
$ 2.22
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
+ 12
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I use "Dear" a lot when communicating with a lady. The word is sometimes misused and I think I'm also guilty of that. Also some people, especially those not close to me don't really appreciate ben called dear. So now, when chatting, I use "hey dear" for close friends and "hey, there" for acquaintances. 😃

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I use dear a lot. Ya sometimes you have to basically use nothing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will pray for your fast recovery, and I hope that you feel much better soon. Take care of yourself and be healthy as always.

For me, dear is acceptable, because a lot o f here call me that way, but it's okay . But still, you're right we need to be more extra careful in addressing someone with these words because others my find it discomfort and unacceptable..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Lynlyn I'm really hoping this works out.

Ya dear is used a lot here. I use it quite a bit here as well but only to those that say it to me first.

You take care to friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sweat heart... I have only heard in movies and series jaja as I don't live in the US, but neither when I was there. But also in other languages we can see the same, in Spain some people use some words (more less similar) very easy to anyone, like if they were your family or lover jaja too much but we got used to it, but I never use that. The context and the well use of the words in the proper moment are important in our communication.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes that is the key context and proper moment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. I get all of these but now that I am in mid30s, I am mostly getting Ma'm. I am fine with that, it;s also less creepy. :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha less creepy. I can understand that especially from strangers. The female drivers here hear a lot from what I'm told.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha!! That's good that you are cautious about using these greeting. I remembered once I said my cousin "Sweetheart" he took it to heart and felt that I am flirting with him😅😂🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe I bet that was awkward. A lot of older women here use the term sweet heart. Sometimes I feel they are flirting but they say to a lot of people. It can be they are just happy and want you to be happy. It doesn't bother me that much though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also discuss about this topic before and I consider this as our differences. Some people normally has different types and ways of how they like to greet and to be greet or address by others. As for me, I am good being called by my name, it doesn't matter for me. However some people are normally sweet that they love greeting others on their normal sweet way.

Anyway I hope the drop's are effective so you don't need to have another surgery.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you I am hopeful the extra drops will work.

Yes sometimes its the safest just to ask someone how to be addressed or ask permission if it's ok to say certain things.

I don't mind being called by name as long as it's what I prefer to be called. I go by Bob but I don't like it when I'm called by my birth name Robert. Also I don't like when someone calls me Rob or Bobby. Only one person that calls me Bobby is my mother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Except the "Babe" sir and the others I never experience someone calling using those words. My best friends call me "Babe".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My father in law calls all women babe. He's over 70 and it's always "Thank you, Babe". He says it to all of his daughters as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir that's why using babe is normal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was called before babe, baby, hun, dear, honey, darling, and sweetheart. My first reaction was, don't call me that, I'm not your babe or whatever.

But as time goes by, I find dear and hun acceptable. I still want someone to call me babe tho, but it should be coming from someone special. 😅😅

Anyway, get more rest and avoid too much use of gadgets.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ya those terms can be found strange coming from someone that isn't the special one. I guess for me I sometimes use them to compliment someone but not a romantic way though. For me I've done this more as I've gotten oldier.

You will find love MJ you are a perfect match for a lot of good guys:)

Yes I have had more than enough rest sitting around the house a lot. I'm doing ok justs lot of twiddling my thumbs waiting on the healing process

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for as these words have all the Sweetness good people can feel. I mostly used dear for my crush and babe like that. You should be careful about your eyes, please we can't miss our friend just because of eye issue.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you I've been very careful and cautious. Really looking forward to be not so sensitive to the sun light. According to doctor that should be really soon.

Yes these terms have to be used when both understand what the context means. I use some of these among just friends.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your eyes will be recovered soon I will pray for you from core of my heart dear and specific words are used for specific people we usually address people by calling dear but we cannot call them as honey or babe it would be bit personal

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can agree to that. If I ever slip a hun to you ever don't take it personally. It sometimes is plain language for me. I won't say babe so your safe there 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha don't worry I don't mind such words! 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Delighted to hear good news as well as sad because of bad news, i hope your eyes will recover soon. in my country if you people would be offended, if you would call them honey or babe because those terms are solely used by husband for their wives and girlfriends. so, i prefer to address everyone as dear.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I can understand that. Dear is a common and probably the safest to use among many words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

why are you are awake at this hour? its nor morning yet go to sleep again dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Went to bed really early last night. I will rest again soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad for some good news... But I am really very sorry and the sad news made me sad and unhappy. I wish I could go that away, only I can wish and pray from the depths of my heart, "May Your Eyes Recover Sooner Than Expected".

It is very much informative and so interesting. I didn't say babe or honey. I am still wondering why will someone mind dear or slap someone for saying it. Rather they can say, never say that again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha the slap might be an American girl thing thing. Some just don't like sweet things said to them because they only want their special person to do such.

Thank you for the kind words I'll keep everyone informed. Hopefully no more bad news.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really strange... Anyways as they please I am sure no more bad news

$ 0.00
1 year ago

most of the peopl n my place calls differently since we are not speaking English but some people( even men , older mem) class women "lang, langga, and gang which is kind of the same as the ones you mentioned above. SOmetimesi find it offensive especially when otehhr men laughs about it and teh tomne too! Mostly men who offers motorcycle ride calls it to women

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya I understand the offensive part if used and accepted it shouldn't be funny.

Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yo welcome. see you around

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll pray for your fast recovery my friend. Most of the foreign people really used "dear" that sometimes I'm confused to used also lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Jean. It can be considered not that serious of a term. Think of it as writing a letter. Often letters start out Dear.... Why I didn't think of that early 🤔 lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoping that the eye drops will work on your eyes so no need for another surgery.

I encounter the words sweetie with a gay in a parlor, theybare sweet with thier customers

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm hoping as well, thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope and pray you won't need another surgery.

I'm okay with such endearments. I find that sweet.

I used to think when I was a kid that those you mentioned above were only used by romantic couples or to your loved ones and friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you me too.

I think it depends on the person a lot I don't just throw them out there. I do like using them sometimes because I believe it compliments them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I play it safe too. I only reciprocate to those who say those to me :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you are recovering fast sir. Our eyes are very important to us for living. Follow your doctor, always..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks I'm definitely doing so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friends and I calling each other "dear" sometimes, and for me its a polite word to greet someone...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think of it as an easy word to address only had two people that didn't think so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago