Sir and Ma'am

43 49
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello my good friends of Read dot Cash. How are you all doing today? Things are going ok so far for me. I have a Dr. appointment today in the afternoon for my eyes. I wish I had made it in the morning because it will be on my mind all day. Anyways let get onto the article.

Addressing someone properly is important. One should address another how they want to be addressed. Topics I will discuss about these greetings will be:

  • Military Use

  • Personal life

  • When not to use

Military Use

Everyone has probably said yes sir or yes ma'am at some point. Probably not as much as me unless you were in the military. I was raised at an early age to use these, my father was in the military. It was not hard to adjust saying them when I too became a serviceman. The only thing that was kind of strange was when everyone starting saying it back to me.

I can recall many times when a new person came to us from basic training. They are very ingrained with using ma'am and sir. It is a requirement to address your superiors as such. At the very least you have to address officers as such but for enlisted (non-officers) members it's up to the individual being addressed. A common saying amongst enlisted members is don't call me sir or ma'am I do work. It's kind of a poke at the officers for just giving orders and not getting there hands dirty. Often these new members have to be told it's ok you can call me by rank or first name.

I can remember one girl that took several weeks to stop calling us sir or ma'am. She explained it was her upbringing to greet everyone as such. She was from Texas, a southern state and had very good manners. It wasn't too annoying but came to be kind of funny. She would laugh as well when we gave her that look to stop because she was just trying to break the habit.

Personal Life

I use them all the time. I greet all my customers at both jobs with it. Some one leaves a door open for me I say thank you sir or Ma'am. If your a complete stranger you will hear those words from me. I find it's a nice and respectful way to great someone. It doesn't matter to me what walk of life there living. I'll say to the rich and to the poor. Same goes for the elderly or a young person. I have just always used them

When Not to Use

If you are on the phone or in person with someone and can't figure out there sex don't use it. I have made this mistake a handful of times through out my lifetime. Every time it is very uncomfortable. My last boo boo was a week or so ago. It was here and I refferel to a guy as a women. I first glanced at photo and thought it was a girl. Upon hearing back from guy I blowed up profile picture and quickly realized my mistake. I apologized for my mistake and told him why. So I blow up all profile pictures now. If you don't have a face picture I won't address you as either unless I know.

Once you become friends with someone you should throw out the window. It is very awkward knowing things about someone and they still call you sir or ma'am. I guess in the virtual world it's ok to a point. Now if you are involved in personnel messages with that person it's probably good to just let go of it. Also if one doesn't like to be called such

Sometimes I feel people may see it as a term for those with great wisdom or older age. I respect those that think that way. Sometimes they don't like older people calling them such. It's not often I get told of this though. I'll tell you of one incident a few months back. I was making a delivery to an apartment and my son was tagging along. Anyways we get to apartment and a 8 year old boy answers the door. He tells us to set the groceries on the floor please. Once we are finished he hands me a cash tip and I simply said, Thank you, Sir." No big deal right, my son questions me, "Why did you call him sir that's so weird dad." I said, "Why not I'm showing my appreciation to him." He explains to me that boy looked a little shocked. I feel some are offended by the term. If I know this I will surely not call them such.

Final Thoughts

I use sir and ma'am a lot. Only was I raised to use them I got it reinforced more when I did time in the military. I'm still connected with the military but as a civilian now so there is no less of hearing sir and ma'am. It's not appropriate to use all the time and I try to be careful when and who I use it around. Just curious how you feel about being greeted as such.

That's all I have for today. I do feel I'm not done here as I want to talk about other greeting terms as well. That will be another day maybe tomorrow, haha. Take care all and a great day ahead.

17
$ 1.95
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 14
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Haha. Pinays like to address most foreign guys sir. Some don't mind but others find it a bit odd. For them, the sir is only to be addressed to people who are of higher ranks or a bit way older. Hehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hi MJ :) I haven't found many men that find it odd but again I have only been in foreign soil in military uniform. Any American foreigners find it odd? Could be that it's coming from a female but that doesn't bother me though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We often use Sir and Ma'am to address people we talk to, out of respect regardless of the positions that they have ;) How's your eye? I hope you get better soon. take care always and keep safe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Lynlyn. I had good news and bad news. The bad news is pressure is high but I'm hopeful new eye drop medicine will fix. I go back to Dr. Next Thursday to have it checked again. I did get released from physical limitations but I'm going to take a cautious approach on getting back to somethings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the best to you, hoping that everything is will back to normal soon and may. Just take of yourself, and be good all the way. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well done, we should keep being courteous and polite, unfortunately some manners and words are disappearing and some people just say: hey you!! Not good at all in every context, better to use other terms more accurate as you do! Here the police say that to people, and people now make fun of it, let's keep some elegance while we talk with others!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't agree more. Ya hey you doesn't register well with me sort of seems like an insult

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A trivia.. when we where in highschool for cadet training, every officer is a "sir" regardless if they are men or women. It was funny. I think we have a collective agreement that "ma'am" was reserved for our teachers. It does make one feel older then when you were called a "ma'am".

On the "giving" end, showing respect through ma'am and sir feels a "must". But on the receiving end it felt weird sometimes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I get that now. I feel women don't necessarily like the term because of that. As I get older I need adjust my greeting. I still feel young at heart, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The key to staying youthful is to stay young at heart hehe. I don't think we will grow old.. nope.. we wont hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope appointment with Doctor would have be resulting good and not any serious issue. Take good care of your health and especially eyes please.

Same was the case with me I sort of shocked when heard ma'am from you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks I got the idea from you Leona. Please explain was it because I am older and your younger? I have been so busy so behind here. I did post update to eye doctor on noise.cash and haven't had a chance to get there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad I or my explanation could somehow helpful you... May you get well soon, that's what I want and will pray

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We used that too often too, but sometimes when we are clueless about gender we just greet and add the word PO as a sigh of respect too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's good to know but not being Filipino would it be strange or awkward if I used PO? I'm just curious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, PO/OPO is a word we used when we replied with our oldies, its our practice and our manners too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the explanation. 🤔 Been addressed as PO a couple different times on Noise, am I old? Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its a sign of respect too eventhough your not old as long as you are talking to somebody/someone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Filipinos use sir/ma'am a lot too. I don't have problem with it. It had been taught to us to address someone with such as a sign of respect not as sign of submission or feeling inferior as what some would say and even discourage unless the one you're addressing is a teacher, police or someone in position.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I get that some people would only use it for persons if authority.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The military people have this kind of respect to people when they are at service, as a military man, you ought to respect those who are above you.

I'm also found of saying sir everywhere I go, it really shows sign of respect

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For sure I find it only easy to say but a lot find it as a sign of good manners

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Sir||ma'am has frequent use in army no doubt. We should be careful regarding its use in marketing also.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup military has a fine line when it comes to custom and curtusies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think its a good manner and good way to show respect to people, but i prefer to use dear to address someone or to show respect or love to someone

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya dear is a good word to use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

read my first article just published it now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is commonly known about servicemen that they want everyone say yes men to them. Indeed it's a good manner we should give respect to others. Actually I also got confused while calling trans gender that if they are female or male.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Transgender you call them based on who they want to represent. I have dealt with them as customers and need to know there gender to make passenger reservations. We have to go with their legal gender.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to call sir or ma'am even if I know the person unless were so close enough so I can call by their names directly. its a sign of appreciation and respect that we should learn and teach to the young ages nowadays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree the children should know what to say to be respectful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Calling ma'am or sir is a sign of respect for me and it's way better than calling once name unless we're too close to say each other's name. With this kind of address to someone, we usually do it in school or in other respected places such as offices, etc but if we were just here in our neighborhood, we usually call the elders such as aunt or uncle, even if it isn't blood related to us. But those bosses of my partner, we called it boss and while if it's a woman or lady, we called it madam.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya sign of respect. I didn't know you called elders non blood relatives uncle's and aunts in your neighborhood that is pretty cool.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I also use sir and ma'am to show my respect, but I don't easily give address to a person specially if I just meet the person for the person Sometimes I use miss or mister, as I also knew that some people don't like being addressed too professional. However I also knew that sometimes it is not appropriate for calling a person by just their names, because I know for somehow that it's an disrespectful manners as well. So usually I asked a person's permission first about what address he/she wants me to address her/him. But of course if I am at work, I automatically call my boss ma'am/madame, and sir.

Anyway, I knew addressing a person appropriately is also important to show some respect.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ya I see that . Was that way in the military you didn't call your boss by first name. Either sir or ma'am or by their rank and last name. Enlisted service members generally don't like being call ma'am or sir. Officers on the other hand demand it. I never got into miss or mister. I can see using miss but mister would be tougher for me. To me its like hey you, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope that there's nothing major problem with your eye. Hope your Dr got it sorted. And lol I don't use Ma'am or Sir but I'm very bad at he and she. 🤣

I remember the one I watch when a customer phoned the bank and she was addressed as Sir even after stating her name which is a girl's name. But because she sounds like a man the customer service keeps addressing her as Sir. And she wasn't happy. But to be fair I too, thought she was a man.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya that has happened to me on the phone s couple of times. Only once I addressed a lady as sir in person She had short hair and some masculine looking tattoos on her arm and a tucked in button down shirt with blue jeans. Very rare here anyways to see that kind of dress attire for a women

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I always use sir and mam to address the people specially the ones who are stranger to me, but usually I call everyone dear out of respect instead of calling names, and yeah hope you gonna be alright and doctor will sort out everything just take rest and don't be online much!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I posted in noise cash about it just don't feel like writing about it now. I like dear to. I'm going to mention Dear and some others in my next article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me dear is a cool words would love to hear from you haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I use ma'am and sir also when I was still working at the office sir, those people who belong to the average and to those wealthy people I treat them equally and greeted with "ma'am or sir".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ya me too. I extend it to all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir. It's a respectful way also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago