Look at what we've become.

34 56
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

Where religion has taken us 

Thursday, well nothing much to talk about my Thursday, aside from the fact that I was feeling one of my beats I was making and the vibe was just hitting the G spot in my brain, haha, before Power Supply company took the light and I wasn't happy about it, like why now that the beat is making sense.

A little confession, I'm one of the people that like to do things halfway and finish them whenever I hear from God, haha, well depending on the project sha, cause I don't like to hurry things up unless I need it in a hurry, if not, I will just take my time and do it when I'm inspired to finish it, I went home and relax hoping to have a wonderful evening before I log in my Facebook and came across a news that happened this morning in my country, very sad news that could be avoided but still, people let it happen. 

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

Before I start writing about it, first I will likely say that I don't do religious discrimination or tribalism, or political views, I don't discriminate against anyone because of what they believe in, but the truth is that most people take religion too seriously and all these things usually happen in the local environment that none rich people live, hardly you will see two rich people fighting over religious or tribalism, they don't have time for that, they just live their life and be happy when enjoying the fruit of their labor, the effect of religion is hitting the Africa continent so hard, especially my country, the way they do things like there's no tomorrow and they don't care about what others feel. 

This news I came across is about a young lady that was beaten and set ablaze because they said that she was blasphemy their religion, this happened in the north side of my country (Sotoko state) she was beaten with no pity, some were stoning her while others were using woods to hit her, even after she collapsed, they were still stoning her as if she committed an unforgivable crime like killing people, they didn't stop at the beating, they made sure she's dead by setting her ablaze and the people that carried the barbaric act didn't have any fear at all, they were proud about their actions and taking credits like they just saved the day, 

What caused them to beat her and burn her, secondary, I don't know about how the Muslim religion is and what they are being taught at their mosque, but according to the news, someone opened a Whatsapp group for the school and they were to talk about their exams and all, so someone now forwarded a picture that concerns the Muslim prophet, then, she now reply with this, though she spoke in their language and this was the translation. 

What she said is wrong but it wasn't supposed to cause her life, they didn't even take mercy on her even if it was against their religion to speak badly about the prophet S.A.W, even if it was written there in the Bible too that a person should be killed for blasphemy, that was in the old testament and the world is changing, why should one die for this, not just any death but very painful death, the family is into mourning just because of what some people believe.

All of these things happened today and Twitter NG was on fire, people were not happy with the news at all, and some Muslims don't have anything about it and some were saying the death was too painful, which means they support her death but not in this manner, believe or not, religion has done more harm than good and it's still going to do more.

Some top Muslims did come out and say that they support the death and this should be as warm to anyone that will try to blasphemy their prophet, I use to think that all these things were caused by the illiteracy rate in the north, but it was what they were taught and they also abide by it, something similar to this happen last year and a young man was sentenced to death by the court for blasphemy the prophet S.A.W

A Muslim lady that knows how to drag politicians and other government people for bad leadership, she was even among those people that were on the front line at the protest that occurred in 2020, when she was asked why she hadn't said anything about the girl that was killed because of religion, she diverted the question and was saying something else, she was dragged and once again, religion couldn't get her to speak that it wasn't right because that was what she was taught too and she believes it, so sad that people have not been arrested yet, if this was to happen in the east, you would have seen soldiers in the street, killing and arresting people. 

Reno Omokri said that we shouldn't blame the religion, we should only blame the perpetrators of the crime, which I would have agreed with him but that was what they were thought and how can you blame people that were following what they were taught, the matter has to be approached from the root which is the religion and not the people himself, blaming the people for following what they believe in is like cutting a tree from the top, it will always grow with more branches, but when you cut it for the root, the branches will also be affected. 

Once again, to be clear, this writer doesn't support religious discrimination or tribalism, or anything that has to do with hate because of someone's belief. Thanks for yet again, another ride. 

Lead image source

12-05-2022

15
$ 3.25
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
+ 12
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

Comments

I have read already this issue from my other friend. It's really a heartbreaking news. There's no love at all to those who did this kind of death. How can you love your God, if you don't love your neighbor.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And later they will come and be preaching peace when they are the ones being violent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Things dey occur for this country sha. I personally think that Nigeria is better off without the North.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omo, if splitting it will make things better, let it be done, you can't save someone that doesn't want to be saved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God knows I have been very unhappy since I heard this news

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's just so sad 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not discriminating any religion but some religious beliefs are strange. As in, can't God avenge for himself? Must it be human that must kill to bring Justice to things like this?

When I learnt first learnt more of some of these religion, my heart ached. Some gods applauds them for killing and gives them reward for it. Make the world end abeg

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I believe they think they will be rewarded after killing her, that's why they always do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aah, but her death was so unfair and very much uncalled for, it's really sad...how can they do this? Such height of wickedness...no...no, this is really not fair. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

These aren't fair but what do we expect when they are the people leading us. It 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reno omokri can be very foolish sometimes. So he wants to compare a robbery case to what happened to that innocent girl, he dey mad? How are they the same thing? I watched that video yesterday and I was heartbroken, the girl was already dead but they kept hitting her with sticks and stones, omo! Those people are barbaric sha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah swear, aside reno omokri own self, if you read wetin Aisha write, you go just swear for her💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How could they kill a girl like that? Religion should promote love, compassion, and mercy not to kill.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I use to think too, but they have done what they know how to do

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have no words and it just confirms that humanity is fading away as we are not even practising the law of God. Where is mercy? Where is compassion? Where is correction? If everyone is to die for every offence that negates another, then I'm not sure many more people would be alive today. It's disheartening what we have reduced ourselves to. Even animals behave better but humans are the worst.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This was same the same thing I was thinking too if everyone were being sentenced to death for their sins, that means the world would be a lonely place and people would be afraid to speak.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. They are not being rationale. They are just being blinded and it's sad... especially in this modern age and time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard to save someone that is already blinded by religion. I hope they change their ways before it becomes too late for them all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are extremists, I doubt they would change their ways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's horrible! Although the girl really made a mistake, but it should not get to the point to kill her. They are blinded by religion, not the teaching itself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Though it wasn't her fault too because the group was talking and posting only about their lectures, posting other content shouldn't have been allowed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG that was so horrific!😔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very sad news to read

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Religion will most definitely be the end of this country, like how do you commit such barbaric act in the name of religion. Why not Allah fight for himself, derailing from the main princeps of Islam to take laws unto their hands. I hope the perpetrators of this crime are brought to book.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, you can't fight for Allah, I don't get why people won't understand this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ppl are too blinded by tradition and old ways. While it is written in the Bible, those who live solely from the laws of old testament will never have true salvation. Why did Jesus ever save us if we'll continue to live the traditions from old testament. I am not saying that we should disregard the Words of Old Testament how've we should understand that what we should focus on is our relationship with the Lord not religion

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, so many bad things are in the old testament but when Christ came, he changed a lot of things there, I don't know why some people will just choose to be religious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually heard about the news too. It's so disheartening how most people are sabotaging religions. Why do they think they should fight for God? It's not right and it's so sad how top Nigerian Islamic practitioners are in support of this. I'm a Muslim and I visit the church. I've always dated Christian guys. I don't care about your religion because it's nothing to me. Religion should preach peace to the world instead of all these. It's so sad and I feel sorry for the poor girl. I pray that her soul rests in peace🙏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One can't be preaching what they don't practice, it's just so sad that she was born in Nigeria, Nigeria failed her. 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful write up. I didn't even hear of the news until now and the excuse Reno gave was just out of it, did the girl steal before she was killed.. Very stupid excuse

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think he was trying to let others see it from his perspective which isn't valid at all, they are talking about an innocent girl and he's talking about thieves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As in ehn... This is just pure misplace of priority

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This incident is so sad. But true to your words, the root of the matter must be addressed not the surface alone. Mind you, the leaders who taught them to kill blasphemers also do it in secret, I have my evidence but IT IS WELL😔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s true, these people don’t just do it because they want it, they do it because they were taught to. 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago