You Crazy Little Abal-Abal

118 238
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Hmmm... that moment when :

You think someone is knocking at the door, you open it and get hit in the face by a flying beetle lol.

my daughter holding a beetle

Well, hello there lovely people. This blog was kind of a last-minute thought, and not sure how interesting it will be to most lol. I just remember a beetle (not a car) story that happened some years ago. The photo above is my daughter holding a beetle when she was still 4 years old I think.

My husband got her to no longer fear Abal-Abal beetles and started bringing them all into the bedroom. She just put 2 Abal-Abal and one June Bug on the bed lol. She has carried one Abal-Abal around for the last 4hrs lol. Silly kid.

So yeah, this little critter you see here is a common beetle here and is one of the most popular beetles in the Philippines. It's called "Salagubang" in Tagalog and called "Abal-Abal" in my Ilokano dialect. They are some sort of creepy crawlies. In the U.S. they look a lot like what they call a "June Bug", although these are not green. They're kind of brownish-gray-black combo in color. There are diverse Salagubang or Abal-abal that can be found here in the Philippines. Sorry, that's the only photo I found in my albums. Maybe I saved them somewhere so...

The Story Goes Like This

I remember these little booger Abal-abals were crawling on a sack of tiny tomatoes (cherry tomatoes) we put outside the house to be dried so that we could plant them later. We have a little garden of veggies in our backyard. So here is what I found - a little crazy though, they were gobbling on these tomatoes like candies. Hey, that's fine with me, gobble away guys lol.

But then the next day, I went outside and looked and the Abal-Abals were lying dead on their backs all around the bag. There were about 6 of them belly up!

Now, you would think that other beetles would see this and say,

"Oh no... not me! I ain't going near THEM tomatoes!"

But no! There were 4 more of them climbing around on them, and later, I found them outside the bag on their backs too. Silly little boogers.

Now here is something you may find a bit of a shocker especially to my foreign friends. Maybe. (It certainly shocked my husband too - he's American). In some parts of the Philippines, like my province La Union, these guys are fried as a snack. Kind of a finger food thing you dip in vinegar. You can either fry the beetle or the larva (looks the same without the shell).

I remember when I was a little, my cousins and I used to catch them and tie their bodies to the yarn, rolling our arms like doing some kind of arm exercises. We were amused looking at them fly. My grandma used to fry them in a huge clay pot too. I have tried it a few times, and I thought then it was very yummy. Ooops! Don't you roll your eyes on me. That's rude lol. Bon appetite!

Disclaimer:

(If you are a Vegan/vegetarian and you find this post offensive, please respect our culture, ignore, leave my post and move along. Thank you.)

It's rainy season here and it's their season too. I just saw one yesterday, but I forgot to take a photo. It was raining real hard. We used to catch them all the time, but their legs are thorny and they are strong, so you would inevitably drop them. They're very intimidating and they hiss like angry cats too lol.

I really don't mind any of them, even giant spiders as long as I walk up "on" them. What I hate is the surprise giant bug right in front of your face. Like you're in the bathroom, and you look to the wall next to you, and there is a huge beetle hissing or a spider the size of your hand 6 inches from your head lol.

But, hey! I will take all of that over mosquitos. These tiny knuckleheads feed on you while you sleep and you wake up looking like you have measles or chickenpox or something.

Have you seen a Salagubang/Abal-abal? Does it scare you? Have you tried eating them? Sorry, too many questions.

Good evening once again, and that's all for today. I think I saw another one outside the window. Hold on a second lol.

One love

@Bloghound

July 21, 2021

8:47 pm

Philippines

(The photo is my own and taken by me)


34
$ 13.65
$ 12.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 20
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Comments

I have never tried eating them. I have friends from Thailand and they have snacks like small insects. Even though I don't eat bugs I respect other cultures. You would probably find strange what I eat, but that's fine. My wife has different culture than me and we never say to each other you should not eat things like that.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh definitely Thailand. You can find them around the streets and selling em as street foods. My husband says the same. He's also caucasian and find eating bugs amusing lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am from Hungary, but here in the UK they throw away certain parts of the chicken for example. I eat chicken liver, heart, gizzard, neck and feet. Soup or stew is very nice with these parts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hungarian like Szandra! Beautiful country! Gotta fly there in UK. Those chicken parts are my favorites 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I know Szandra from here. :) That's great. You know what the best parts are. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww. I miss seeing salagubang / abal-abal! I find them cute and adorable. There are a lot of those in the province but I have never seen anyone eat them. Lol. They were always being caught and played with indeed.

Do you know before they become like that, those are big white worms underground that eat vegetable roots? We used to find many of them when I was a kid during our planting lessons. Other kids would kill them but no not me, I would just throw the worms far away from our plot so they don't eat the pechay we plant. Haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh heck yes! Those worms freak me out tho haha. Thanks for the visit Lucy and nice to meet you β™‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko ma imagine ang lasa, parang di ko kayang kainin. Sigiro kung mga challenge ay kakayanin ko haha!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

try mo po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a "kalibobog" in our native language. I used to play with it when I was a kid and sometimes I will cut half its inside wings and put it on top of the water. It will fly just on top running like a speedboat. aahhhhh Nostalgic!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Parang tunog "libog" hehehe Onga, kuya eh. the good old days :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayayam ko di ubing nak haha. Talian ng sinulid ..tas may lalagyan ako nun parang aquariumm na maliit tas nagcocollection ako πŸ˜‚.. I never tried to eat them .and I want to try.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Isu met ikaskasta mi did, ading hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opo..pero ngayun naaawa na ako πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

onga e ako din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha! I haven't seen or caught one in a very long time. The mango trees around here no longer house them. There used to be plenty of these critters and once summer rolls around, they'd be dropping to the ground. We liked picking them up, making them sleep by clapping our hands while cupped, and snapping off the thorny legs so they end up with limbs that just tickle when they move. And yes, we used to tie a thread around one leg and throw them to fly. That was fun!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha that was cute. Sounds a lot like my childhood days!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen a salagubang. Friends used to catch them and make them a their pet they said haha tinatalian pa nila ng sinulid para di daw makawala. Ako kase takot ako sa ganyan kaya ginagawa nilang panakot saken. Ayoko din ng tunog nila hehez.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We call the beetle "Alam bom bom" here. I can remember as kids we love catching and playing with it. Most times it dies from exhaustion or from heat. Later we got to know how to keep it for days, we give it sugar and fruits but after few days it dies.

Since then after playing with it for few hours my brother do release it and we look forward to the day we will catch another.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

haha that's even funnier, Valour. Alam bom bom sounds a lil bit naughty lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nya ngay raman na? Han ko pay man natry dayta haha! Ay ayam lang di ubbing kami dagita.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kasla imprito nga mani haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen one, scared? hindi naman, pero yong kids ko takot sa ganyan, pero na try ko mglaro with this noon yong itie mo sya ang then lilipad and then babalik lang sya sa akin. kakatuwa, childhood memories. Eating them? I have not tried and would not try I guess.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Di ba nakakatuwa silang laruin, sis? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung time na may nagpaayos nang motor dito sa bahay tas yung asawa nang may.ari nakakita siya nang ganyan na nasa guyabano na tanim ni mama. Kinuha niya at gulat na gulat kami kasi kinain niya bigla.. Ayyy naku naman! Skl po.

Anyways, buti pa yung kiddo niyo po, hindi takot sa ganyan. Pag ako siguro, naku, hindi naman sa pagiging OA noh, baka mahimatay ako, magugulatin din kasi ako..πŸ˜…

Talent niyo talaga siguro yung photography Ma'am noh?..πŸ‘

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Omg kinain niya ng hilaw? Jusmio, hahaha nakakagulat nga if ganun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hahaha.. yun nga sis, gulat na gulat nga kami sa nangyari.. πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay haha as in di pa luto, ren? ayos ah hehe Salamat, sis. Hilig lang magpicture picture :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OO talaga Ma'am.. As in gulat na gulat ako, especially si mama, tas nagtinginan nalang kami. Kitang-kita ko kay mama ma rinding-rindi siya sa nakita niya..hahaha. Hhmmm.. I appreciate your talent po talaga..Walang kimi..❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

salamat ulet, ren

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hihi.. always welcome Ma'am..❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nung bata din kami nangunguha kami ng abal abal and eat them. haha pero now di na.tamad na kumuha. hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

taga san ka, sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Central Luzon me :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ingat po kayo jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kayo din jan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

salamat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i know they're eaten here but i still don't want to try them πŸ˜–πŸ˜–πŸ˜– seems kind of like eating grasshoppers and I don't ever wanna do that again

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe. i was still little when I tried eating them, sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so you got used to the taste ;;-;; isn't it bitter tho???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it tastes like real nuts lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so bugs can taste like nuts ;;-;;

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pretty much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa to sa exotic food na gusto kong matikman e. Pero sa lugar na kung saan kinakain hahaha dito samin hindi kasi baka iba makain ko 🀣 then usually, laruan yung salagubang dito hakhak

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mostly yan ang laruan ng bata bata dito sa probinsya nun, sis. Ngayon wala na hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito rin po hindi nako masyado nakakita or maybe because gadgets na laruan ng mga bata ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just heard that this food is tasty, but never looked at trying yet. But I'm willing thou haha..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Try mo met, kabsat tanu addan u met is isturyaem haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung nakita ko po yung title, nasa isip ko yung sasakyan na motor na may tabla. Hehe. Yun pala yun, walang H. Hehe. Tawag naman namin po dyan baweng.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahhh. Baweng pala yan sa Pangasinan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I love your disclaimer πŸ˜‚ move along now, nothing to see, I want to eat one now Mrs P

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha you should try a piece, uncle ed. it tastes like deep fried peanuts 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then I definitely want some Mrs P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd fry a bowl for you, uncle ed. bring your beers 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes , munchity crunchity and wash down with beer Mrs P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

American pla hubby mo? Kala ko pinoy πŸ˜… Si papa dati kumakain ng exotic foods.. Ganun kc sa place nla.. Ilokano yun. . So far, nilalaro lang namin yang saligubang nung Kabataan namin πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe uu sis. Isa ding no filter ang bunganga nun gaya ni ano lol mas tactful lang 😁

Mga ilokano talaga sis kahit anung exotic masarap. Kumakain cguro ng palaka si father mo no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I got a traumatic experience with all those flying bugs, including mosquitoes. Hindi nmn phobia pero hindi ako mkatulog pag meron akong maramdaman na lumilipad sa paligid :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ok naman ako sa kanila, doctora. Wag lng yung patay ang ilaw o kaya bigla na lng susulpot lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakita na ako nito sis. When I was Iloilo that time, then I was shocked kasi niluluto nila yan at kinakain.. yes sis it's salagubang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes, sis. kinakain cya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis na shocked talaga ako...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

memories bring back memories. πŸ˜… marami nito sa amin sa bisaya, tawag namin dito is bagang. nilalaro din namin yung tinatali tsaka papaliparin. kawawa nga eh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ganyan nga po ginagawa namin nun huhu wawjng salagubang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it doesn't scare me..not me but my niece...pag nakikita niya yung mga ganyan namumutla talaga xia hahah tapos yung anak ko naman kinukuha niya tapos tinatakot niya pinsan niya..ang kulit hahahha may kilala din akong kumakain nang ganyan kasi marami kasing ganyan sa mga kakahuyan eh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hala! kawawa nawan po yung bata baka matrauma 😬 Madami dito samin, sis. yugyugin ang kahoy lalabas na sila hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga pinapagalitan ni mama anak ko eh..yung pamangkin ako ayaw talaga nang kahit na anong insekto madali matakot..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu sis. pag ayaw wag pilitin. may effect yan paglaki nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

di naman namin pinipilit kaya nga palagi kami nag di disinfect sa bahay kasi marami kaming takot sa mga maliliit na insekto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi po maam bloghound... Naenjoy po ti agala ti abal abal no mumalem po, ti met bgat aros aros po agwagwag kam ti kaykayo nukwa ti bgat..idi pay ubing kami ay ayamin mi dayta naimas kanu nga cdaen ngem diak kayat ah kanen hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

nu tatta, sis madik metten kayat hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha... Very interesting story....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

glad you like it 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We rarely see them here these days. Di ko alam na pwede sila kainin at ayoko din mag try 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dito lang ata samin yan ginagawa, ate hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag enjoy po ti agala ti abal abal diay taltalun ni mumalem no ti bgat met agwagwag kami ti aros aros inta kaykayo hehe imasen da po ditoy ayan mi ti abal abal ken aros aros ngem siak diak kayat hehe hi po maam bloghound!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aynaaaaa umayak man, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ti Kabuwanan na ti abal-abal maam ken may-june po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

isu ngarud, sis. adda kam met asideg taltalun kitdi. dijay lang ngarud ta covid covid metten isu maamakak pay met nga agkararuar hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay diay Ilocos ngamin Ma'am ket nalawa ti pagalan isu saan unay agkumpul kumpul ti tao hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wen, sis. mejo nalawlawa dita kesa d2y mejo urbanized met gaminen ditoy la union

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay deta lang ah Ma'am hehe ..salamuch po sa pablessings po..Maam adda damagek ngem ton bgaten kasi rabiin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anytime, sis. sensyan ta bassit pay tatta hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Come to think of it. I rarely see these bugs these days. I have tried playing with them when we were younger. I can still remember about their thorny legs and how they feel on my palms so yes i drop them most of the time then. My brother and cousins pick them up anyway.

I have not tried eating them though. Lols.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

parang nilagang mani lang, pich lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may after taste? lels o parang nilagang mani lang talaga.. hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

parang mani talaga sya lol. pero that's what i remember ha? I was still very young then. everything tastes good when you're a kid :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate salagubang or Uang so much hahaha it's scared me. the way they climb into my skin sobrang nakaka kilabot haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

tas lilipad lipad pa sila, sis no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay jusko hahah mahihimatay ata akoπŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™‚οΈπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did many times. Same as you, I also played that one. Putting a tie around that salagubang's body and then play with it. Now I feel so guilty for doing that. I can't imagine how hurt they were. Hehe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Kasi nun mga bata pa tau at wala pa namang mga gadgets. Mga salagubang lang masaya na tayo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article title let me feel laughed more than your article πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

abal here called brainless , stupid and so on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu, natatakot ako talaga sa ganyan ate. Minsan nilalagnat pa ako lalo na if dumadapo yan sa akin 😭

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kasi bigla bigla sila dumadapo tas lilipad di ba? hehe nasanay naman na ako, sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo po huhu. Ako nilalagnat tlaga ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay hala. baka may allergy ka sa mga insekto, sis 🀒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Very funny.

It's rainy season here too and it's their season so they will keep coming out. But where do they get the strength to knock?🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe thank you, Queen! I dunno. They're very strong like carabaos lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen one neighbor who cooked and eat it, but when he invited me to taste it, I just said thanks but maybe next time. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe naimas, Julez. Kasla fried peanuts :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko po alam pero natatakot akong tikman haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahaha. i understand po :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha natawa ako nung nabasa ko yung intro. It happened here too, kala namin tao na kumakatok d pala. Tigas din ulo nila ayaw paawat haha.

Pero d pa ako nkatikim nyan, wala ata ngluluto dito sa amin

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang lakas nilang kumatok, sis no? haha. Kala mo naman may dalang regalo eh. Wala na ata nagluluto nyan ngayon. Level up na lahat ng mga dishes. DI na yan pedeng pang IG ba :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha true, ilang beses nauto c hubby sa katok nla🀣

Wla na sis, yung png IG iba na, moon level na dw hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha onga, sis. Goodafternoon sa inyo jan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa inyo din sis jan. Lakas ulan now dito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

than you, sis. on and off din kuryente huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok pa nman dito, internet lang ang pangit. Ingats

$ 0.00
2 years ago

xoxoxox

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming salagubang dito sa amin sis lalo na pag summer. Minsan pumapasok sila sa bahay. Medyo takot ako sa kanila kasi lakas nila kumapit.😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ba, sis? Hehe. Panahon na naman ng salagubang haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago