Smile Was Enough As Gift

32 61
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

This post was inspired by @Eunoia with his article, How Rusty Knew Today is My Birthday?

It is not my birthday yet but I wanted to write this now for today's post. Actually I was trying to write about Darkness, the writing prompt #4 of Ms. Jonica, it's gonna be next after this. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/htEGTleSCZk

While reading Eunoia’s post, I paused and thought when I read the line, “My parents ask two things the day before my birthday…” I don’t remember my parents asking me the question, “What do you want on your birthday?” when I was a kid.

Looking back at those memories, I just realize how hard it is for a parent to be consistent at not asking his son or daughter what they want for their birthday every year. We can’t even ask our parents for anything when our birthday comes. Even if we wanted something special like eating at a restaurant or asking for toys, it is just better not to say it. It’s not going to happen. The reason was poverty.

My parents, especially my mother would just greet me or my siblings a happy birthday with a smile. I just remember one time, I guess when it was my eight birthday, my mother told my eldest sister to bring me to church to give thanks and praise. Then we would go to my aunt to let her know that it was my birthday. She gave me something as a gift, as far as I can remember it was a set of crayons. But of course for sure our first birthdays were celebrated with a simple party. 

Photo was during my Sons B-day last year

It was only when we were grown up that mother would sometimes have something for our birthday. You know, she would cook “Pansit”, a traditional way of celebrating birthday for a typical Filipino.

As years went by, my parents have managed to make things a little bit easier. Mother has found ways to help my father with their finances. Sometimes she would work in handicrafts, you know, like making bags out of “Abaca” for export. Earnings were kind of cheap but it was big enough to support the finances.

I Hate It

https://unsplash.com/photos/WE-N1KDqEno

Back in grade school, our teacher used to mention kids that had birthday's. So they will ask the class to sing a birthday song to whoever has a birthday. Most of my classmates belong to a middle class family and whenever they have birthdays their parents used to bring food to school. Some would bring candies and the celebrant would give us candies.

I hate it when our teacher does that. I felt embarrassed when they would sing me a birthday song because my parents can't afford to bring food to school, not even a pack of candies. You know when kids know that their classmate has a birthday, they would expect for the next thing to happen. It's kind of embarrassing when I don't have something to celebrate for them. But parents need not have to do so. Some parents do that for some reason.

https://unsplash.com/photos/Rt0fXXXvf4w

But then again I had so many wishes during my birthdays when I was a kid. I felt envious of my classmates whose parents were able to provide for their children. Sometimes I feel self pity and become sad. I can't help it, I was only a kid.

Nevertheless, I see the reason why I can't be like my classmates when they have birthdays. I don't regret it. I just made a promise to myself that I won't let that happen to my kids in the future. At least my parents will be proud if they see me succeed in the future. They would understand. I don’t blame them either for living a life like that. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/Wr3comVZJxU

Now that I am a father of two, I always make it sure that my kids will be happy during their special day. I always make ways to celebrate their birthdays with happiness because that was something I miss when I was a kid. I always ask them what gift they want on their birthday but it's just enough for my budget. They would understand and they are not asking me too much. Sometimes they would tell me what gift they want when their birthdays are approaching. But there are times that we lack finances, I told them about it and there is no big deal with that.

Birthday celebration in three days

Birthdays are the most special day a person has every year, that's why some people tend to celebrate it the most. They said it only happens once a year. I remember a co-worker back in my old employer. Whenever his birthday comes, he would invite almost all of his friends and celebrate in two or three days. He would even invite his friends in nearby provinces for his birthday. He would purchase one live goat and make it for the celebration. He never cared if he would consume 10K to 15K PHp for food and liquor. Then he would have a leave of absence in three to four days. 

That’s a lot of celebration, it was more than a feast. Even if I have extra cash for my birthday I wouldn’t do that. That's nonsense and a waste of money.

Anyway these are just my stories about birthdays. On this coming 25th, my only princess will turn 11 and she was asking for a hoodie as a gift. But I still have something for her and I want to surprise her.

What are your birthday stories? Please share in the comment. I would love to read it.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Forget About Your Girlfriend But Not Your Wallet Password

Pretend: Good Or Bad

He Was Lost With His Post

Listen: Do You Want To Know a Secret

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Kyle Head

Gabe Pierce

Ryan Quintal

Nathan Dumlao

17
$ 8.57
$ 8.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
+ 6
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hehe. Same with Mhean. Parang walang happy birthday song sa amin nung elementary. Ang naalala ko na magdadala ng pagkain kapag Christmas party. Tapos sasabihin ng nanay ko "oi yung Tupperware wag na wag mong iiwanan". 🤣 tapos nalulungkot ako akapg walang pumapansin sa food na ginawa ng nanay ko. Kaya ako doon ako babawas tapos sabihin ko pa sa katabi ko "oi masarap toh kainin mo". Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, christmas party, marami ako unforgettable memories dyan nong grade school... pero di ko talaga alam ang lasa ng birthday cake noon haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

habang binabasa ko to hinahalukay ko sa memorya ko pero parang wala ko maalala hahhahahha. Di ko alam if dahil sa anesthesia oh ano lol, pero wala kong maalala na celebration when I was a kid lol . feeling ko meron hindi kolang maalala talaga... mas naaalala ko yung nasa highschool and college na ko. mas naghahanda noon siguro kasi medyo nakaluwag luwag na..hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha di ko nga alam ang lasa ng birthday cake noon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a good thing that what your parents has not been able to do with you when you were a child, you were able to do it with yours. In my own experienced as well, I have not received any gifts even once for my birthday, when I was child. That's a fact. No celebrations like we dreamt of as a child. Since just like yours, it is because of poverty. But just like yours as well my parents never forget to at least cook pansit and that was more than enough. I am happy and I was happy for that. And just like you, I am praying for my future that I will be able to celebrate the birthday of my child if ever the way they wanted it to be.☺️

By the way, advance Happy Birthday to your baby girl. 🥂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never had a chance to know what a birthday cake taste like when I was a kid. Yes, I won't not let that happen again to my kids. But I am grateful for having a very hard working parents.

Thanks for the greeting and thanks for sharing your story too. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. And yes it is always the experiences we have that can make us work hard and achieve the goals we set.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko yung kabataan ko. Hindi ko rin naranasan na maghanda sa birthday ko. Naiintindihan ko mga magulang ko naman kasi wala talaga. Greet lang nila ko ni mama at papa sa madaling araw tapos e kiss sa noo. Tapos hihingi ng pasensya kasi wala daw pang handa. Di ko rin alam kung bakit kada birthday ko wala palagi work si papa ko. Haayyy. Kaya ngayon, gusto ko marananasan nila papa ko na maghanda kahit kunti sa birthday nila. Sa awa ng Diyos mula nung sumali ako sa noise.cash at read.cash, nakakabili ako ng gamit nila at panghanda sa birthday. Umiyak pa nga mama at papa ko nung nag birthday sila kasi daw di daw nila nagawa sa amin ang ganun. Pero sabi ko, walang problema kasi naiintindihan naman namin. Tsaka, sapat na na napalaki nila kami at napag aral. Subra subrang gift na yun para sakin. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, yon na yong magiging sukli natin sa kanila, kapag may sarili n rin tyong pamilya gusto natin hindi na maranasan ng mga anak natin yun at yong mga magulan na rin natin ang bibigyan natin in return. Thanks for sharing your story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo sir. ☺️ Masarap sa feeling talaga mapasaya ang mga magulang. Na amazwd nga sila mama at papa ko na nakayanan ko daw handaan ang baby ko every month. ☺️ Gusto ko kasi e celebrate ng baby ko ang month milestone nya until mag one year. ☺️ Thanks God at nakayanan na man. Malapit na mag one year old baby ko. True na ginagawa namin ng partner ko makakaya namin para d maranasan ng baby namin ang naranasan namin noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.. good for you, Have my warm regards to your parents and your family as well. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. God bless to you and your family. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung bata ako sabi ko sa tatay ko di madadagdagan edad ko kung walang ice cream..kaya ayun kahit hirap sa buhay pag bday ko may ice cream kami...hehe Pero tama ka ganyan yata tlaga ng parents ano, gusto natin di nila maranasan ung hirap na pinagdaanan natin kasi alam na natin ung feeling ng ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ok pala dad mo so kung walng ice cream in three consecutive birthdays di ka tatanda hehe.

yes, true kasi alam n natin kung gaano kahirap yon as a parent kaya hanggay kaya natin ibigay habang bata pa sila, bigay natin pero dapat maintindihan din ng mga bata na hindi laging ganon.

Thanks for sharing your story Ghitte.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yap! Hahahah, kaso di sya pumalya😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa. Time flies so fast, she's already turning 11? I don't usually celebrate my birthdays too. Most of the celebrations were either my dad feels a little extra or my friends made effort for us to eat together and my birthday last year, my extended family celebrated it with us. But after all, what's important is that we are healthy and safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I almost didn't notice it that she is growing fast.

Indeed what matter is we stay healthy and safe. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't wait for an opportunity to come to you, pave your own way to success and opportunities will flock to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this story since then, but when i get married its the same situation.. Because my husband is have no work only me so that he cant surprise or cant give gifts to me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's okay, more important is we you understand each other in terms of finances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onek valo apnar dat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why did this article made me tears. 😭 I remember my childhood days. Even up to now, my parents can't afford to celebrate our birthdays because they can't afford. I remember my parents will greet me and tell me 'pasensya na nak huh? Wala kaming pang handa ehh. Ito na lang limang piso, bili ka kandila tapos punta ka sa simbahan para magpaslamat.' Naiiyak ako pag naalala ko yung mga time na yun. Masakit marinig sa magulang na humihingi ng pasensya dahil walang handa. Buti na rin talaga at araw ng sembreak ang birthday ko kaya never pa ako na kantahan sa school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... I didn't mean too. Hush now. Medyo same lang siguro tayo ng kwento ng buhay nong bata kaya siguro medyo emotional ka. Anyways ang imporante masaya at buo ang pamilya. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also relate to your story.. back then, I was jealous to my classmates especially when to those who can afford to buy cake in their birthday. But mine, though i love to have a cake but we cant afford because its too expensive for us..

However, for that reason, Ive strived hard so that I can finished my study and to buy my first ever cake when i got my salary. 😊

Kudos to my parents though, even though we dont have that much.. they still gave us what we truly need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that's one thing we are about to do that when we get to have our own ways to get finances we will buy those things we never have before. Thanks for sharing our story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks too for sharing yours :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were also poor when I was a kid, but I can clearly remember how my parents would do their best to celebrate our birthdays. Now, I can give gifts to myself starting this year. Your daughter would love to see your surprise gift. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure she will be surprise, hehe.. thanks for sharing your story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure, sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance, kuya. Your story sounds a lot like me. I have never had a bday cake my whole life. Promise. I just don't like it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, thank you.. di ko alam ang lasa ng birthday cake nong bata ako haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same kuya. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago