It's Not What You Think

10 45
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Have you experienced being accused of something that you never did? How did you defend yourself to make things up?

There are instances that someone would claim that you did some blunder but you are sure to yourself that it wasn’t you. There are also times that you will even feel embarrassed because someone was pointing at you for some error but you are not guilty.

The worst part was that people around would seem to believe without knowing the truth.

Dead body outline by Vera Kratochvil

For some similar but serious circumstances, there are a lot of convicted people because of false accusations. You know, like cases of setting up someone, lack of evidence or no one wants to testify for a crime.

There are also similar incidents like mistaken identity where a person was mistakenly a victim of someone’s evil intentions.

On the contrary some of those incidents turn out to be humorous. For example you belong to some group of people, then your friend next to you was kind of playful, he farted loud and immediately looked at you. How would you react when everyone’s eyes are on you with all their faces frowning?

Annoyed by PublicDomainPictures

If you are not kind of used to that joke you will get embarrassed. You know for sure that it wasn’t you but people are becoming judgmental and think that it was really you who farted.

The example might be nonsense but if it were not about fart how would you react to the accusation? What if a lost phone was found in your pouch? What if there was a red stain in your shirt’s collar, how would you explain it to your wife? Just make sure that it was spaghetti sauce (laughs).

There were several instances that I experienced such events. Mostly it turned out to be a laughing matter. But one incident I can’t forget was when I was a customer service representative (CSR) at the same company where I am connected right now.

Male customer service by zcool.com.cn

Reputable Job

I started as a CSR in BPO. By the way, just to make things clear, BPO employees receive a lot of criticism here in PH. I know there are users in this community who work at a BPO like me. They can tell how hard it is to work in such an industry. It just saddens me when some narrow minded people tend to judge people in this type of work easily. Try to put yourself in our shoes first before you judge us Sir/Ma’am. 

Anyway as much as I want to, I don’t like writing about grievances or sort of rants in my post. I would rather write things about ants or bugs than rant.

So going back to my experiences about false accusations, it happened when I was on call with an American accent customer. Right at the beginning of the conversation I could already hear him coughing and he told me that he has some sort of colds that I should excuse him for coughing frequently.

Then I told the customer that it was fine. So I go on with his concern until I have successfully resolved his issue.

It was a mistake

The next day my TL approached me and did some coaching because she told me that one of my calls was picked by the QA. Luckily it was the call with which I spoke to a coughing customer. Yes, the call was lucky or I should say the customer was lucky enough (laughs).

You know what? The QA’s remark was that I was the one who kept on coughing during the conversation. Oh well, that was very pleasing. My TL really believed that it was me who was coughing, not the customer.

Young woman thinking Petr Kratochvil

How would you react to that? I explained to my TL about the call but she wouldn’t believe me. She still relies on the QA’s remarks. I ended up being reprimanded.

I was a little upset about the accusation but I just let it pass. I think that was the thing that gave a great impact to my scorecard and that I failed to become a customer service representative. 

New opportunity

After the evaluation which I expected to fail, my TL told me that perhaps CSR is not meant for me. Fortunately I was rehired to work in the Workforce department so most of my journey in BPO is in the Workforce.

You wouldn't like it

Being accused of something that I didn’t do is something I don’t really want to happen to me. How much more of a mistaken identity. You might think that I am kind of a tough person but when unexpected scenarios happen, I tend to have a mental block.

Have you experienced being pointed at your face with a gun for 5 seconds then pointing down at your feet, then pulling the trigger? I was only 17 when that happened.

Stay tuned for the full story in the next post. A mistaken identity story.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Mistakes And Misery

The Homemakers

Theories Are Not Enough

The Great Story Teller

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Vera Kratochvil

PublicDomainPictures

Zcool

Petr Kratochvil

9
$ 29.77
$ 29.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 1
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I remember being coached by my TL because of a call, she said that I wasn't following the spiels. But I don't recall doing so, then when she checked again the name of that agent, turned out that it was my batchmate with the same name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh... sometimes that incident could be a laughing matter but it's kind of frustrating on our end especially if they are insisting that it was really you even if it was not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero paano naman na ikaw mapagbintangan na umuubo? Kasi maririnig naman sa recording yun di ba na hindi ikaw. Not familiar with a CSR set up pero yan yung tingin ko na di ko kaya na maging trabaho. Ewan ko para bang di ko lang alam paano magsspiel tsaka baka di ko masagot kapag may itatanong si client. Interview nga di ko masagot, yan pa. 😅 sa experience sa gun, yes naexperience ko na pati yung kalandian ko tinutukan ng baril. Hahaha. It was one of my most darkest pasts na gusto ko maerase sa buhay ko at siguro kahit sa buhay ng pamilya ko. Yun yung dahilan bakit ako naparesign sa isang work ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha, ewan ko ba sa mga yun, samantalang recorded yun call at kung rereviewihin maririrning yong sinabi mismo ng custumer na masama pakiramdam nya kaya sya inuubo.

ay grabe, kalandian talaga haha.. buti nga sayo tinutukan ka lang.. e sakin tinutuk sa mukha ko tas kinalabit sa may paa ko pumutok. teenager pa ako non.. napagkamalan lang.. di ko talaga makakalimutan yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What. I laughed so hard with the second picture. But I got scared for the last part. A gun on your face? That must be so terrifying! Anyway, one of the things I hate the most in life is when I am accused of something I didn't do. I don't know it triggers the angty cells in my system. Haha. It's really an experience no one would want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! The photos in those post are not from unplash as there was some sort of server error with the site yesterday. I really wanted to finish this post last night that i had to look for other free photos on the net.

Yes, that was true about that gun. It was a mistaken identity and was terrifying. I don't want that to happen on me again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ibam so looking forward to the next part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka crush nya yung QA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ewan ko don.. nag resign n sila pareho haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha panalo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago