The Homemakers

10 50
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

The post Am I Preying On Young Girls? By @MarcDeMesel led me to his YouTube video,Responsibilities of Housewife/Homemaker”.

I was following Marc’s YouTube channel for quite some time when I learned about Bitcoin Cash through this platform. I just found out that he is the top tipper on read.cash and has pledged to be a 100% donor of funds.

My brain cells couldn’t absorb yet about this Cryptocurrency that Marc was talking about in most of his videos.  You know those graphical representations of the rising and falling of crypto prices is kind of new to me. So I take more attention to some areas that Marc was sharing like cars, girls, relationships and other aspects in life outside investing.

Cars. I love cars but cars don't love me, maybe not this time (laughs). 

Girls. I’m not good at dating. I was clumsy as sh*t when it comes to telling how I really feel to a girl in the past. I don’t even remember how I courted my ex-girlfriend (now my wife), all I can remember was the time when I asked her to marry me.

Relationship. There was a saying like, lucky is the woman who is the first love of a man and lucky is the man who is the last love of a woman. I guess that explains our relationship as husband and wife up to this present time. So no need to elaborate.

https://unsplash.com/photos/wHaQ4XJ9SgY

I like how Marc talks about housewives. The thing that made me decide to marry my wife was when I visited her and ate dinner at her house. I found out that she was the one who cooked dinner. I still remember the dish she cooked back then, it was a “Tinolang Manok” (Chicken Tinola).  I was impressed by her skill at cooking and I said to myself, this is it. I found her.

I remember an old man once told me that when you want to marry a woman, she should have known about household responsibilities. So I did not let her go and I made up my mind.

In Marc’s post about “Responsibilities of Housewife”, he talks about her mom although most of his time he was with his nannies. Every mother would protect her kids no matter what. She would fight for her kids even if it meant harming another.

I remember when I was bullied, I was about six years old back then. I went home crying and then my mother rushed to make a confrontation. She was agitated to the older kid who bullied me. 

In my post, The Great Story Teller, I have talked about my mother who was once the storyteller to us and my siblings.

Mother is a responsible housewife and a homemaker. We are less fortunate financially. Even if my fathers income was not enough, my mother can still manage to make the budget sufficient. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/QkflfhJn1KA

She did her best to become a good housewife. She has raised us all as god-fearing kids but sometimes no matter how hard a mother does for her children, there is always a child who will choose a different path. 

In my post, Melodrama, I have shared about how hard our life back then was. I narrated that one of my siblings dropped out in college and that was the hardest part my mother had experienced in raising kids.

I was only 10 when that happened and I don’t understand. I couldn’t see any wrong with my mother or that she was irresponsible that my sibling needs to do such a foolish thing.

I didn’t see my mother spend time with neighbors gossiping or even saw my younger sister cry out feeling neglected. She does the laundry regularly and I assist her on Saturdays or Sundays. I don’t remember seeing the house in a mess because of unclean surroundings.

https://unsplash.com/photos/iURehao7EPI

Marc has quoted that he doesn't want to live in a messed up household and that he wants a partner who knows household responsibilities.  Cleanliness is next to godliness. Who would want to live a house unclean?

I have seen some housewives in our place who lack this characteristic of a responsible housewife. Here in the Philippine most people from provinces wanted to go to Metro Manila to look for better opportunities. However, one common problem in living in the cities of Metro Manila is the place to stay.

Most relationships and marriages are created in different slums of every city.  Partners can’t afford to pay high rents in some decent apartment so they will choose living in a rented small house built by illegal settlers.

So some relationships ended up having an uncontrolled children. Even in our area you can see kids playing outside as if there is no pandemic while the mothers are gossiping or gambling or drinking.

https://unsplash.com/photos/3VLHF9b9Plg

This is one common problem here but I will not discuss it more for this article. I think I’m going to make a separate post about it.

Anyway, going back to being a responsible housewife, Marc also quotes that when you choose your partner you need to be compatible. In order to run a family you need to be on great teams. You can’t have a relationship if both of you keep on contradicting each other's ideas and views. 

I have been married for fourteen years and I can not tell that it is a perfect relationship but at least I am trying it to be perfect somehow. Partners always have misunderstandings and if either of the couple doesn’t want to understand then there is no reason to continue. As Marc has said, you need to be compatible. 

So for me I guess the responsibilities of a housewife should also be a husband's responsibility. It doesn’t mean that the husband should take full responsibilities of a housewife although some relationships tend to be that the wife was the one working.

How about you? What are your views about the responsibilities of a housewife? Please share in the comment below.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

For your reference please watch Marc's video post about “Responsibilities of Housewife”.


Feel free to check my previous posts:

Theories Are Not Enough

The Great Story Teller

Ovation In Your Own Motivation

Anybody Can Do It, Why Can’t I

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

@Cineholic @CryptoBabe @CryptoMax 

@scottcbusiness @FrieLincs @JonicaBradley 

 @Pantera  @immaryandmerry 

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:


Marc A. Sporys

Benjamin Manley

Lars Kienle

Jordan Opel

12
$ 24.35
$ 24.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Bloghound
$ 0.01 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Lucky is the woman who is the first love of a man. Lucky is the man who is the last love of a woman. ay ambot. Usapang lablyp. Hahaha. But I think I would prefer if I am the last love of a man. Kasi if first love then there's a bigget possibility that my man would fall in love with somebody else. Then again you mentioned something about the compatibility and responsibility and I thought of the popular line, "Happy Wife. Happy Life". However they usually forget about the spouse wherein "A happy spouse is a happy house".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh well. My husband and I are the exact opposite. An introvert and an extrovert. A very quiet woman and a very talkative man. Guess what, we get along.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As much as I can't disagree to the trueness of the things Mr. Marc has said about the housewife responsibilities, it would also be nice to hear 'Responsobilitoes of the man of a family' from a woman's point of view. Not me, though, I am nor yet married.

Honestly, it's just sad how woman in our country are stereotyped as just 'helper, all-around' in the house when she becomes a housewife. It's like she hs to sacrifice the degree she studied for, her professional career, even her own self-care habits. Because she has to be that someonwe who'll just focused on cleaning the house, housekeeping baby sitting etc. Though that is the normal setup now, I still do believe mothers can still have the right to have freedom about doing their thing aside from being just a housewife. I mean, her actions should not be limited to what a housewife does.

I don't know if I am making sense, but I just want say nannies and housewives are not the same. While they have almost the same reponsibilities, nannies are paid, housewives are not.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

you make sense here Elle, as i have mentioned in the last part of my post there are relationships where the husband becomes responsible housewife for some reason that the husband wasn't able to work.

Thanks for your insights. Keep safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am glad that part is added in the last part. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched that linked up to the video and I can see why he is insistent on housewife. I subscribed to his channel too. No one can blame him because he lacked that while growing up especially with the wife his dad remarried. He spoke about how she couldn't make any decent meal and she was always out. Our experiences while growing up would always shape up.

I had a full housewife in my mother too while growing up. She would do everything. Her strength was admirable. I would come back from school and she would sneak into my room, pack my clothes and washed. I sincerely missed her. Her strength, even mental strength is admirable. Thinking about her right now is getting me emotional.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It kind of hard living a life with less time with our biological mother but I'm glad that Marc at least experienced with his mom even for a short period of time.

I'm sorry to hear that bro, hope she is fine wherever she is now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's why every moment shared should be cherished because they are the memories we would hang on to.

I believe she is in a better place with dad too. That's life, sometimes. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also watched the video and was on the live chat where the guy made that statement that prompted Marc's article. Though the world is changing everyday and everyone is trying to shift towards the "housewife is an insult" mentality, we should know somethings are just meant to be the way they are, I'm not against a woman being educated and all, but she should never neglect her duties at home. So many children are more connected to their nannies than their own mother, this shouldn't be. If I'm to get married to any lady, she must be a perfect home maker, my children must not lack good food and care, and of course I will make sure I fulfil my duty of providing enough fund for her upkeep and that of the children

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I thought you are not a Filipino, but when you said, tinolang manok. Oh .pinoy 😁 I like how sir Marc talks about it too. The article was great where he shared about his side.. We can't really dictate to someone what to do with his life especially if he's smart enough to handle it..

$ 0.05
2 years ago