Kids Should Learn Household Chores

22 53
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

How have you spent your Wednesday so far? It is my rest day and I was kind of busy the whole day for some household fixing so I just checked my account late this afternoon.

I’m a bit tired and exhausted. I just did some carpentry work and a little mixing of cement for some house renovation. Yes, more like construction working but not as extra income. Just doing some repairs at home.

https://unsplash.com/photos/IClZBVw5W5A

My hands are tired due to wood sawing and cement mixing. I'm beginning to feel some body pain which is normal for a whole day of working while the sun is up.

I wanted to pass for my daily article here at read.cash so I lay down on bed while my wife is preparing for dinner. I started playing World War Heroes on my mobile phone to spend time while resting. After playing for three sets, I logged out and browsed the net for anything that I may find interesting. After thirty minutes laying in bed, I pulled myself and opened the PC instead. You know I am just resting and better to just write than spending time doing nothing.

So here I am, still trying to write for my daily post for you to read. My fingers don’t seem to cooperate but are not tired from typing on my keyboard.

I’m thinking of what to share for you today but while doing my intro, I have it in mind already. 

Being Obedient

https://unsplash.com/photos/XIPZQ1SrPx8

I always mentioned in some of my posts that I grew up a poor kid. Meaning I was used to doing household tasks, light and heavy, at an early age. That would include fetching water for household consumption, assisting mother for the laundry, buying firewood for cooking, and assisting father with his job as a motorcycle mechanic.

We are five kids and everyone has given the assigned task by our mother so that no one would be pinpointing of who’s going to do a certain task.

I was assigned to do the fetching of water for daily consumption like for drinking, cooking and for washing the dishes. As for the laundry, mother would just go to the deep well and I will assist her with washing the clothes.  

Imagine filling two drums with 100 liters of water, then fetching it with a bucket.  Then I would walk at least fifty meters back and forth, the distance of the deep well from our house. I would do the process two times daily. One in the morning and the other one late in the afternoon. I think I have been doing it for over 10 years because we don't have our own house, so we lack electricity and water at home too. We used kerosene lamp for lighting our home during the night.

Aside from those tasks, I used to cut grass too when the landlord would ask for someone to do the lawn. I would do it manually using a bolo. At the end of the day I would have callus in my hands.

It appears that most of my childhood was spent with household labor. So at a young age, you would see visible veins in both of my hands. 

Blue-collar job

When I went to Metro Manila, I was employed at printing and publishing. Working in that type of industry was real hard labor. However I did not find any difficulty when given a certain task because I was already used to hard physical tasks during my childhood. I was in the industry for more than ten years. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/hqCEQTc5gZA

The only thing that challenged me and found it somewhat difficult was when I would be assigned to work on night shift. That’s kind of tiresome because another thing was that it’s hard to sleep during the day especially if you are renting in slum areas in Manila.

Nevertheless I still managed to live a normal life. But I always think of leaving the company and changing career as I kind of losing my taste in the field.

Until one day I have the opportunity to work in an office which is my current job right now. It seemed that my agony had ended. No more hard physical labor. Less risk of accidents in the workplace as I no longer handle large and dangerous machines for printing. Less sweating while working and more comfortable. Unlike before, I have to carry heavy and large sheets of paper and cans of inks or would do general maintenance of the machine.

This is where my body is missing. I have been working in an office, sitting for more than five years and my body has been rested for manual labor. So whenever I do some hard manual task at home, I get easily tired.

I think there is an advantage in working with blue-collar jobs because there is no need to go to the gym to exercise. Your physical body is working the whole day so you release those sweats while working without the need for exercise.

This is the problem I am facing right now, I am no longer used to working on hard labor. I get easily exhausted whenever I do some hard task at home.

Teaching Kids of Household Chores

https://unsplash.com/photos/TF5U-7bjLwU

One thing that worries me is that my kids grow up without experiencing hard manual tasks at home. My fourteen-year old son doesn't even know how to wash his undies. I think I am having a problem here. However he always belongs to top the notch in their class since day care up to 8th grade.

So my advice is if you are a parent and experience hardship during childhood, we should teach our kids some household chores. Of course we would not want our kids to experience hardships too just like ours. As much as possible we would want to give them what we don’t have during our childhood. But at the end of the day we will regret it if our kids don’t even know how to wash the dishes. Remember that they will have their own family too so it is important to teach them more about house rules.

Anyway I hope I have shared some valuable content even if my hands  are tired for some household task today.

So how about you, did you grow up the same as my childhood? Do you have kids? How did you handle household tasks with your kiddos? Share it in the comment so we exchange thoughts. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Ending The Pain And Suffering

Don't Be Shy: Share Your Passion To the World

Not All Your Interests Are Your Passion

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Todd Quackenbush

Goutham Krishna

Markus Spiske

CDC

12
$ 17.00
$ 16.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I agree. That is also what I want to teach my kids if ever I would have a family of my own. We were taught to do household chores when we were kids but it qas partlt me who was doing it since my brother would always reason put and my mom would just let him be. That is why I was surprised when I saw my brother doing the dishes at their home because my sister-in-law that time was sick and they did not have any helper. It was really cute. I even teased him for doing the dishes. LOL.

About work, I agree. Being in the food industry, I have walked a million times inside a restaurant because of walking back and forth whenever there have orders or when guests call. It was really an exercise for me. Now that I have been unemployed for more than 3 years, I am not sure if I can still endure to stand for more than 8 hours a day but I really miss those andrenaline rush during peak hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also was born on a poor family everything is not easy, but what's positive side in it is that we've learned how to do household chores etc. we become happy on the small blessings that God given to us, and it's the reason why I am encourage to study well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should teach kids survival skills and all household chores and more. We should teach them how to be resourceful and independent. Kids nowadays are way too spoiled. I remember someone saying it's not about kids but it's about how parents treated them. Sometimes we want to think that kids should not suffer the way we did which is true but we should not spoil them too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed and sometimes I tend to spoil my kids because of the hardships in life I experience during my childhood and I can already see the drawback. But I always tell them what is was like living in the past so they can understand why they are living easy life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope they will understand if you talk to them about it. However, it makes me think that yes, life is hard but that was in the past and now they have their own struggles to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Even I hated being told to do the household chores when I was a child, now I am thankful as an adult because at least when I live independently, I would know how to wash the dishes, cook some dishes to eat, and maintain the place with proper housekeeping.

If these kids don't learn to do these stuff when they're young, it would be hard for them to learn this in the future. It would be a bit embarrassing to say, at least. And even burdensome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true I have known some family friends. Their daughters are already grown up like in their late 20's but didn't even know how to was their undies or cook rice even in rice cooker.

So it is important their kids at their young age should learn this, at least the basic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My hands are tired due to wood sawing and cement mixing. I'm beginning to feel some body pain which is normal for a whole day of working while the sun is up.

I felt that. My father is a carpenter too. He does all the construction works. You need the rest you deserved :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For me carpenters are the best artist. I don't know. I just feel it. Thanks anyway. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because they're good in geometry and other skillful activities to make the project successful ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they should. And there should be no segregation of both male and female. They all must know how to do the basic chores in the house.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, as all the things the cab be learned are from home, at least they know the basics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening! I don't have kids for now but I'm certain I will teach them how to do household chores if I got one someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

in the future you will for sure have your own family and it is important that our kids should learn those house rules as those are prerequisite to learning home living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely. I'm going to make sure I'll do that someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I'm agree with this, children should learn a household chores it's their for own good. But only those basics and simple chores since they are still children. Like washing dishes, sweeping on the floor, cleaning windows, washing some clothes ( not too heavy) .

God bless.🙏😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes indeed, at least they know the basic because in the future they will be living their life on their own, you know without being dependent to their parents. Keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true... Keep safe too sir..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am 100% pro to training kids doing household chores. It will be to their advantage in the long run. We don't necessarily need to let them do hard labor if it can be avoided, learning the basics is a must in my opinion. I can't forget my own experience a long time ago where we went to a cousin's house and they asked me to cook rice. It was an embarrassing experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww! that's really embarrassing, I bet when you go home that first thing you ask your mom was how to cook rice. But anyway it was like a challenge and lesson in life na rin, at least nabuksan isipan natin as a child na need pala talga matuto ng mga gawain bahay. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was. My cousin was like "Asus, kanin lang d mo alam!" then he taught me how. Oo, lesson yon sa akin din. Although tinuruan naman ako sa bahay, d lng kasi ako attentive haha. You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago