Ending The Pain And Suffering

10 62
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I’ve been waiting for Ms. Jonica’s writing prompt last Monday. Unfortunately she wasn’t able to make it due to unexpected circumstances.

But she made a short post about what’s going on although it’s quite sad. I hope her friend could still hold on despite the tragic loss of her husband.

Anyway I still appreciate Ms. Jonica’ efforts of creating the weekly writing prompt even if we know that she has some responsibility to attend to. Although it is not an obligation for me, doing things like that with your own free will is more like showing compassion.

This weeks writing prompt number 7 is about Compassion. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/vI9wPJ8L5MA

When Ms. Jonica posted about what had happened to a friend. I was a bit curious and felt sorry for her friend. I think that was the first time I heard someone committed suicide at a later age. Most common news about such incidents were from teenage kids and some adults.

When I hear a news about someone killing himself, I kind of regret it and wonder why. I immediately thought about what could be the reason.

First things first, why do we need to have a gun in our home?

I will try to share here what I have read about gun ownership for most Americans. I think  Ms. Jonica knows more about it so she is more in position of explaining about that subject.

American culture

https://unsplash.com/photos/g1MG9i0ux8Y

According to Wikipedia, Americans have the attitude of owning a gun for the purpose of hunting, militia and frontier living. 

Hunting. When the United States was an agrarian, hunting became their passion. It was also necessary for them to have a gun for survival and a rite of passage as well for boys entering manhood. So whenever you see an American film with father and son bonding in a forest hunting deer, that's more about their tradition. An American culture.

Militia. Before the American Revolution, the government desired to maintain a full-time army thus having ammunition and weapons for all men was mandatory. It was only during the 19th century that civilian militia slowly ceased.

Frontier living. The frontier tradition was something related to militia tradition where every home needs to have a gun for self-protection.

In the Philippines, only prominent or the rich people tend to own a gun but of course it has papers and the owner should get a license to carry a gun.

There have been reports about suicide using a gun and those incidents came from police authorities or a  celebrity.

Unfortunately some reports of killing innocent people with a gun include police officers. Worst was there was video footage being shared over several social media platforms. But these cases are no longer new to us. There were similar incidents that happened in the past.


In 1994, Kurt Cobain the front man of the grunge rock band Nirvana found dead in his home with a shotgun on his body and a suicide note. Police confirmed that he committed suicide. 

By the way just a trivia, the smiley profile I am using was a trademark of Nirvana with the album “Nevermind”. I am one of the millions of fans of Kurt Cobain. I used the icon in memory of him. The song “Smells like teen spirit” was a famous hit back then. 

https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/694469205024283008/

Accessories

https://unsplash.com/photos/MfM3p2yn4Ew

Speaking of guns, if you have one in your home how does it feel? I can’t tell how it feels because I never held a real gun in my entire life. But encounters with people pointing guns at me I guess I had it three times. Two incidents were not really pointed directly at me while the one was a mistaken identity and was terrifying because the man pulled the trigger. I think I have already shared the story here in one of my posts. 

You know if you have a gun in your home there are only two things that can possibly happen. Either you might kill somebody or yourself by suicide or accident. So there is always a suicidal tendency whenever we have a gun in our home even if we have a clear understanding of how to properly use a gun. We can’t deny the fact that couples would tend to do such acts whenever they have heated arguments.

On the other hand if the person is really determined to end his own life he will find ways to do it. I remember an old high school friend who committed suicide by hanging himself using a wire cord. I just heard the news from another friend. 

I haven’t encountered a friend with suicidal tendencies. I always talked about how my family has been through when I was kid. Like when my older sister failed to pursue her college education, it was a real breakdown experienced by my family. Both my mother and my sister were so depressed and I think my sister was planning to end her life. I was only ten. Things back then were kind of blurry but it was clear to me that my sister was writing her suicidal note.

I felt pity for my sister but I couldn't intervene when mother would beat her. I can’t even show my compassion for her. I Just watched her cry in the corner. 

Of all the traits that I need more to develop in myself I think is compassion. I guess, perhaps. I don’t know. But whenever I see homeless people on the street, I wish I could help them all to make their life better. But what can I do? It’s funny that the only solution I can think of to help them is to give them money or food. I wanted to teach them knowledge. Even if it would mean teaching them to write for read.cash then why not. But I am not an advocate. If being compassionate to these people and helping all of them would lead me to finding my real purpose in life then why would I hesitate?

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

*My description about American culture was only brief and base it on Wikipedia. If you think there is a need for correction please let me know.


This is my participation in Writing prompt #7 by @JonicaBradley which is about Compassion.

Here are the rules:

  1. Write about Compassion

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag  @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity and donations please visit me at Cointr.ee 

When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

You Can Shine No Matter What You Are

Not All Your Interests Are Your Passion

Selective Reduction

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Dave Lowe

engin akyurt

Thomas Def

11
$ 9.19
$ 8.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 5
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Speaking of writing prompts, tagal ko na hindi nakakagawa. Di ko na din maalala yung last ko doon. Anyway, naalala ko yung gun story mo na sabi ko relate ako sa pagtutok ng baril. Pero matapang pa din ako noon kahit may baril nakatutok. Hahaha. My dad has a gun. I have held it many times when I was in high school. Pero yung tamang hawak lang. Yung pag aim and shoot wala though pre pandemic napagusapan na namin yun ng tatay ko na sasama ako sa kanila kapag mag firing range sila. Kaso isa yun sa mga sinirang plano ni crown. But I agree that there are really people who feel powerful whenever they have a gun. It is not like "it only happens in movies".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lagi pa rin nman ako nasulat sa writing prompt.. yong last ngayon about dreams pero andami ko na nasulat about dreams before hehe kaya pass n muna.

To be exact I have 5 unforgetable experience about guns and the worst was yong talga tinutok sa mukha ko tas ipinutok sa my paa ko. grabe. as in black out utak ko non.. siguro mga 60 seconds bago ako nahimasmasan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have different preferences when it comes to gun possession. In U.S. as what I saw on the movies, it seems like it's natural for them to have gun but with precautions or limitations. But as for me, I prefer not to have as I am so nervous whenever I see one. I might play with it out of my curiosity. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already held a gun. Omg even thats only kalibre kwarenta bigat pa din niya. Anyway that person who owns it, keeps it on his car. Yung lugar kase nila talamak ang patayan. At palagi daw madamjng naholdup. So kaya siya may baril kase, sa trabaho niya, may threat. I can still remember the guns weight! It is really heavy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, sometimes people need to own a gun for protection.

It's metal so most likely it's kind of heavy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea here in the Philippines in order to have a gun that you own you need to have a license but i prefer not to have gun in our house. We can't say what accident it may bring to us or to someone. Also me whenever i see a homeless people and beggar in the street even if i want to help them, i can't im also struggling but when i have extra then why not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we Francis M said in his song, we can't talk peace and have a gun. Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the sponsorship :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is also my first thought, Sir. Why would people have guns in their houses? Knowing a lil bit of their culture enlightened me. Thank you so much. I do believe , however, that a dangerous thing like that should not be easily accessible, especially to people with suicidal tendencies.

Well, I am not one to talk though, as we aren't fortunetellers who could predict if someone's gonna take his own life or not. So complicated, so unfortunate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's the question I used to ask myself whenever I am watching American films. But it's clear to me now, that is their culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago