Don't Be Shy: Share Your Passion To the World

18 59
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Two months ago I posted about an Indonesian guy who’s been doing drum covers of some of my favorite rock bands.

The post was about people who have some attitude of disliking a YouTube video content without seeing the most out of it. Have a quick look here.

Do you think a drum cover of any type of music deserves a dislike when he uses DIY drums out of pales and metal sheets as cymbals? That fact that the cover was done perfectly, does it really deserve a dislike?

I am a music enthusiast. I have had a rock band and I have been doing some gigs in our local area when I was just a youngster. So whenever I see videos like that on YouTube or in any other social media platform, I have my high appreciation for them. That is a real inborn talent.

Yours truly

During my college years I was active as a rock star teenage kid. We have had a band and named it “Knights Templar” and we cover songs mostly of noisy music like death metal and gothic metal. I was on lead vocals and guitars. I think being a music artist is not my passion because I did not pursue becoming one, although I can sing a song as high as Steelheart's lead vocalist Miljenko Matijevic with his famous song “She’s Gone”.

I love playing drums too, that's why I was so impressed by this YouTuber who was covering songs by Metallica and Dream Theater. Sadly drums don’t like me (laughs).

Speaking of drums and drummers, I will share another YouTube influencer who’s been posting videos about her drum experience. Yes, she is a female drummer artist. Her name is Dorothea Taylor

The first video I watched of her on YouTube was when she did a cover of Disturbed’s “The Sickness”.  She was playing for Drumeo as a promotional video for drum lessons.

What really impressed me about her doing the cover was her skills as a drummer doesn’t seem to fit for her appearance. She is already a granny. Yes, this grandma kicks ass.

I can’t believe my eyes but she was playing it cool as if she was just like eating peanuts. I mean Disturbed is a real noise, heavy metal, aggressive voice of David Draiman, heavy drum rolls and lots of guitar riffs. She is not your typical grandma. She played the cover perfectly until the end.

I was trying to find out about her on the internet to know exactly how old she is but I only found her on FB, IG and her YouTube channel. I think she is in her early 60’s. After her astonishing performance of the cover she talks and shares a bit of inspiration. She said that she has been drumming her whole life. I think she was just 13 when she started playing drums in their school's drum and bugle corps. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/Btwkkw_3xVE

She was remarkable when she said:

 “Drummers come in all ages, size, shape and regardless of how good you are, how old you are, we are all part of the drumming family. So don’t judge a drummer or anybody by their looks and always, always, always keep sharing your drumming passion to the world.”

I guess what she said was kind of applicable in general. Just like writers here on this platform or outside this community. Some are young, old, students, parents. I think there are also members of LGBT writing for read.cash, it doesn’t matter. We are all part of this writing family.

Never judge anybody by their looks or underestimate someone because of his physical appearance. We never know what he/she is capable of. Sometimes we judge so easily without knowing what or who we are judging.

https://unsplash.com/photos/uUbHwCMl5nM

Whatever your passion is, be it a drummer, paint artist or writing, keep sharing it to the world as what Dorothea have said. We never know of who the people we inspire of the passion we share. Even if we don’t get something out of it, more important is we inspire and motivate other people.

So there it goes again, I hope you get inspired by this somehow. 

What can you say about this granny? Share it in the comment and let’s exchange ideas. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity and donations please visit me at Cointr.ee 

When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Not All Your Interests Are Your Passion

Selective Reduction

The Good Thing About Trying

Social Media and Peers

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound @FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Vidar Nordli-Mathisen

Joshua Oyebanji

14
$ 8.88
$ 8.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You rock, Dorothea! 🤘 I have always wanted to be a drummer probably because I find them really cool especially during our yearly intramurals when I was in high school. But of course I did not buy a drum set or enroll for a drum lessons. It was my sister-in-law who did when she was not yet married to my brother. She sold her drum set after years of using it. I remembered my cousins when you mentioned metal and Metallica. They also had a band when they were in high school and even had gigs. When you say noise, it was really noise. It was where they met some other local bands like Valley of Chrome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala rin ako napala sa pagbabanda banda haha... siguro hindi talaga destiny..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, Sir.I find drummers of a band really cool. They bring life and enhance the dynamics of every song. And the energy they have whenever they're performing. Wow... It is true. Talent and passion don't care about age. Granny is so lit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly drums don't like me. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She's really cool. I need that determination. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, granny needs to teach us lesson, literally. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ang cool ni granny. 😍 Tbh, i love music so much, that songs are my comfort. Kaso I am not blessed with singing, but okay lang naman kasi kumakanta parin ako kahit sintunado na. 😅

I hope you got a chance to sing again. Stay safe and God bless you more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw! She's a cool sweetheart! She's showing that passion never gets old.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

age are nothing but numbers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

salamat sa inspirasyon, kuya. duet tau minsan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe, hopefully. parang si @Firenze lang, panay ayaan namin mag mountain climbing tas puro drawing haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bwahhahahaha..di pa naman kasi talaga nakakamundok eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dream should be your passion. You have a such a dream which never make you sleepy always do hardwork to achieve it. I love rock star and i am also wanna see you rocking so keep alive your dream and set small goals and traget and achieve them than go for big target. All the best buddy 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe someday... hehe thanks anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the beginning all the way to end, this has been so inspiring. And wow! Your voice is awesome imagine you can sing the song "She's gone". Oh my!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know anyone can be inspired by someone.

Medyo kinakalawang na nga boses e, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. It is the right thing to do, we never judge to others since we don't know what are they specialties and capable of. Continue your goals and plans. Keep fighting. God bless you.😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I do that, you know jumping to conclusion easily but I quickly withdraw too and think.

Thanks and keep safe always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago