A Place To Stand To Move The World

18 199
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

When I was working at a publishing house as an offset printing operator, I used to read books, magazines and any printed materials.

The company I was once connected was publishing quarterly magazines for private schools in Metro Manila and textbooks as well.

There was once a booklet I printed with several inspirational and motivational content. I can’t remember anymore who the author was.

https://unsplash.com/photos/hd41GESb3ZY

I was inspired and motivated by one of the writings on the booklet so I jot it down. I was curious enough about who the real author was, so I searched it on the internet hoping for sure that I will have an answer.

Fortunately there was. The internet will always have this in every inspirational website.

According to the one website I have found it was written on a tomb of an Anglo-Saxon Bishop in the crypts of Westminster Abbey.

I will quote those lines here verbatim but I will first give my own insights so as not violate read.cash rules.

Can I change the world?

https://unsplash.com/photos/gEKMstKfZ6w

There are times when we are alone thinking about the world we live in, we come to think of changing the world which is very impossible but could possibly be done.

Sometimes we always think of the entirety of what we can do to change it but forget to think of what we can do first with ourselves.

It’s more like we cannot discipline people from the entire planet without practicing it to our self first. If we do so, our siblings and family will do the same and most probably the neighborhood and the entire community will be disciplined enough.

Same as with viruses, what if love would spread like a virus. Love will start within us then sharing it to our family, friends, neighbors, community and neighboring countries.

If we want to change the world, we should set ourselves as an example. It will always start from ourselves.

I will move the world

https://unsplash.com/photos/8cZr8HUet7U

I also dreamed of changing the world, but I don’t know what kind of change I will be doing. Perhaps if I have a place to stand I will move the world and place it somewhere in a distant galaxy literally. You know, just to make it a little bit different. What do you think?

But why do we want to change the world? What is your purpose and reason for doing so?

Sometimes when I look in the mirror, I say to myself, all these years what have I made? Am I the same person when I was still free? As I see myself now with my own family setting myself as a good example for my kids, somehow made me think that I can change the world. Just by beginning it with myself and within the people around me.

We don't need special equipment to change the world

https://unsplash.com/photos/-flQuOWF18Y

I always like to watch Time Traveling movies or short films, in fact that was my choice of topic when I started writing for this platform. I am not really good at physics and science, it's just that when I was kid, I was fascinated by pictures of the planets and the universe in every science book. I also love experimenting with chemicals, mechanical and electronic equipment.  Yes, sometimes I feel like a chemist, a scientist or inventor.

Time machines can help us travel through time as the inventors has claimed it. In some Hollywood films, if a person wanted to change the course of his life in the future, he will travel back in time to change it. Thus changing one’s timeline has something to do also with changing the people around him and all the people connected to him. Most likely changing the world.

Perhaps if you were to ask what do you want to change the world right now, I guess your answer would be reverting back to the world when there was no COVID virus.

Yes we can

https://unsplash.com/photos/__Hw50q04FI

Did you know that we can still revert it back? Yes, changing the world to where it was safe to go out without wearing a mask, protective gears and bringing sanitizers is still possible.

It should begin within ourselves, each and every one. We should start by keeping our house and surroundings clean, always washing hands and all things that we can do to prevent the virus from spreading. We should teach our kids the same way too so they can share it to their friends and classmates about proper hygiene. But of course this can be achievable if we practice self-discipline. In short, there should be an awareness.

The only way for people to do this is to first show them examples. Action speaks louder than words. We cannot always reprimand and punish those people who don’t want to obey. In other words, if your neighbor saw you always cleans your surroundings everyday there is a possibility that he will do the same.

The world doesn’t need superheroes to change it. We can change it by beginning with ourselves. 

*Here is the famous inspirational short essay. I just re-type it and took screenshot. Please see link in my resource below.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Kids Should Learn Household Chores

Ending The Pain And Suffering

Don't Be Shy: Share Your Passion To the World

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Charisse Kenion

Ben White

Slava

Maxim Selyuk

Drahomír Posteby-Mach

Resource:

http://www.inspirationpeak.com/cgi-bin/stories.cgi?record=118

13
$ 10.20
$ 9.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha. Kaso yung kasambahay namin kahit naman nakikita na niya na ganun ginagawa ko sa.isang bagay eh hindi pa din niya ginagawa kahit na ilang beses na pinagsasabihan. Simpleng face shield lang ay ayaw magsuot. Katwiran ay mainit daw. Napipilitan lang magsuot kapag required sa grocery pero yung bibili sa gulayan o panaderya sa labasan ay face mask lang. May mga tao ding kagaya ng kasambahay namin na matigas ang ulo. Yung gusto nila ang dapat nasusunod. Tsktsktsk. 🤦‍♀️

Naalala ko na naman yang time travel. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I've been there when you have soo much free time that you don,t know what to do so you pick up the magazine and start reading. I don't remember how many magazines did I read. But I was into the Italian language I visit the website to translate the magazine and start reading they really have some very good services you should try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are quick to blame others when things don't go our way. We like to criticize our neighbors, our leaders but we don't see the mistakes we do. Just because others are doing what you don't like, it doesn't make you holier than them. We should make the change that we need and not rely on someone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this motivational article. ❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome dear. That's our purpose here, to motivate and inspire others. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each one of us has a power that we can't even imagine, changing the world may sound utopian, but it is possible when we start with ourselves and our environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that true.. It should always start by changing ourselves first and be an example.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyone can be a superhero... Or I must say everyone is hero for someone 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true! I would also like to go back in time where there's no pandemic spreading around. This has been around the globe for such a long time and many opportunities have been closed. I would also like to restore humanity for I believe it's the true religion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately we can no longer turn back time, so we just have to look back so we can make amends for a better future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's it. To amend or to even make it at its best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gandhi said "Be the change you wish to see in the world" succinctly summarizes how anyone can do his part to change the world. Just like you said, we don't need anything to stand on, we just have to start where ever we are, in our own little ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have to always make ourselves as an example if we want to make changes in our environment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I totally agree to that. We're supposed to not point fingers unless we've checked ourselves first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A normal thing and words is "love" which can stop everything in this world Only if the love feeling come from positive ways..

Love can change the world and love can destroy it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago