Listen To Us!!

16 27

Talk!! I know you want to say something. Say it!! Say it and be free. Don't hold that grudge anymore. This is the voice of a mother to her child. The child seems to be a teenager. A teenager who is forced to say what she has on her mind. A teenager who has always been told to shut up since she was a child. A teenager who has a lot on her mind and she's fighting so hard to let those thoughts go.

Is it too late? I think it's a bit late for the child. Well, it's never too late. Anything can happen at any time so I shouldn't think she's running out of time. I think it's late for the mother to shout at her that way. Forcing the young lady to talk when she doesn't feel like talking. Leave her alone!!!!

Do you know the funniest thing about African parents? They'll blame you for everything. Oh yeah, you're responsible for your actions but I think they shouldn't blame you for everything. They have faults and I'm gonna prove it to you. I'll give you a few instances to buttress my point.

Every time a child looks sad, something is bothering her. Dear parents, I expect you to ask what's with her and give her time to express herself. Would you believe that some parents will ask the child what's wrong but wouldn't let her express herself fully?

When I was a little child. My uncle used to live with us. This man fondles part of my body but anytime I want to talk to my mom, I'm always scared because I knew she would beat me even before dealing with my uncle. My mom is very harsh and that's why I don't tell her everything. It hurts so bad because this is the first time I'm revealing that my uncle fondled parts of my body because I was too scared of my parents. Due to the fear that my mummy will beat me, I won't say what I'm going through. But now, my mom doesn't beat me again.

I know there are many children out there, dealing with this same issue and they want to talk to their parents but some of their parents are not available while some of their parents are too harsh and they believe that if they tell their parents, they'll be the beating of their life so they'll rather keep shut.

Recently, my mom complained to me in our family meeting that I don't talk to anyone in my family about my issues. I just smiled. I smiled because I've learned to keep quiet which was caused by fear.

Honestly, there are many things in my mind to say but I'm used to not talking to anyone. It's killing me but I find it hard to talk and I don't expect my mom to complain about that anymore.

You may have a child, cousin, niece, or friend who's always sitting alone or not looking sharp. Observe them and you'll realize that they want to say something.

A lot of people believe that a small child doesn't go through a lot in life. In Africa, older ones believe that experience is by age. I don't agree with that.

There are a lot of people who can't control their sexual urges because they also faced what happened to me when I was small.

A lot of us want to talk and be free from that thought in our minds. A lot of us want to talk to get justice. A lot of us want to talk because it's killing us inside but we find it very hard to talk because we have been shut up since we were small.

Just make sure that you're a good listener. I believe that we all want to talk. And I've been sharing some of my life experiences because most of the people reading my articles are not people that I know physically. Writing articles is the major way I express myself. I'm thankful for blogging.

Remember, everyone wants to talk but make sure you listen to us.

13
$ 0.92
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
+ 4
Sponsors of Bisolammy
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is just one of the many trauma parents put their children through because they don't want to listen or feel their children just develop strong hatred for someone. I had my own share of child abuse but regardless of this, have promised myself to always give a listening ear to my kids complains

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great Let's make sure that we always listen to them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes all we want to do is to talk what's inside us but it seems that there's no one who wants to listen to us, that's so heartbreaking, and make me demotivated sometimes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sorry about that There are still people who wish to listen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many Nigerian parents don't take time to become their children friend. Friendship is very important in parenting. But most parents believe in scolding everytime.

And I have seen instances where children open up to their parents and their parents used their words against them or to scold them.

Sorry about what you went through as a kid. I'm sure you would make a better mum in future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't even wait to be a mum😅 I want born but I never ready😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for what you experienced as a child. It's really sad. But I think there should be someone you can talk to about it because stuffs like this can affect one emotionally if one refuse to take an action. I hope you find peace, Bisola❤️🤍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone has something to say but not everyone can say it. Everyone can lend their ears but not everyone will listen. When we lend our ears make sure to listen that someone will have the urge to continue telling what they wanted to say.

Lets find someone, a friend, a family where we can say everything and someone who will listen to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes There are some people who are willing to listen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that's how all parents are, great influencers on how we are today, it's a shame that at the same time they are the people who love us the most. By the way, thank you for those words that made me feel better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome dear friend Happy sunday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should not keep things in our heart. We should take to our parents for everything I think. A better understanding between parents and their kiddos helped a lot because a dangerous society is ready to destroy us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right dear. We should always learn to speak out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really sad to know parents shuts their children from saying what's bothering them. I think thats why I respect life in the united states, their laws are accommodating which gives minors charge over the affairs of their life

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I prefer that too Thanks for your point

$ 0.00
1 year ago