Have you checked your Blood sugar levels recently ?

19 82
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Few months ago, I was on a public transport on my way to get some stuffs from the market. The person seated next to me had been on a phone conversation for several minutes.

From what I understoodod from his discussions with the person at the other end, the young man had a diabetic mom whose condition was out of control to the extent that one of her legs had been affected. The doctor had said that it would have to be amputated in order to halt gangrene.

I already knew it had to be type I diabetes (insulin-dependent) but I wasn't sure whether the young man was aware that he's likely to acquire diabetes in the future since such type of diabetes is more of a genetic don'tition which is due to the failure of production of thr hormone insulin from its source.

In fact, he stood a 50 percent chance of having diabetes since one of his parent have the condition already. The other 50 percent generally depends on lifestyle habits.

Nevertheless, a young person who's family have a history of the disease can still prevent or at least delay the onset of the condition by:

* Avoiding smoking and heavy alcohol consumption

*Avoiding soft drinks ( it has been proven that they could be more lethal than alcohol in the long run)

* Excercising regularly. It doesn't even have to be vigorous, so long as one is consistent.

*Maintaing a balanced diet that includes fruits and veggies.

It is also imperative for one to constantly monitor their blood sugar level. Routine observance would help one quickly notice the slightest changes in the normal blood sugar and immediately take preventive measures in order to cushion the effect.

The normal blood sugar level is around the range of 3.5mmol/L - 7.8mmol/L.

A reading of about 11.0mmol/L indicates that the sugar level of the blood had spiked and one needs to be more careful.

13mmol/L to 15mmol/L translates to diabetes.

You could always divide by 18 to get the value in gmmol/L.

Unfortunately a lot of young people who have diabetes in their lineage are ignorant of the importance of blood sugar testing. That's the reason why someone might just suddenly develop diabetes even when they are sure that they hadn't been engaged in an overcomsuption of sugar over the years.

Type I diabetes can be chronic and it has no known cure. Unlike type II diabetes that could be reversed by eating low calories on a strict protein diet or by engaging in a marathon fasting for a week (although you still have to seek medical advice first In case of hypoglycemia ).

This is because type II diabetes is not found on a mutated gene in the family tree. It is only caused by the common added sugar in our diets like soda and junks. That's the reason why some people would hardly have diabetes no matter how much they consume junk. Instead they become as fat like @Kushyzee when he was a still a child 😆

This doesn't mean that such a person wouldn't suffer from other health conditions as a result of over indulgence.

But in the case of type I diabetes, the islets cells of langerhans that are responsible for the production of insulin in the pancreas can never be reactivated no matter how long you fast since they are already obsolete due to genetic mutation.

In fact, each time one try to fast for long periods, one would lose more energy and might later be hospitalized. This is because in the absence of insulin, the body cannot immediately metabolise glucose which is the number one source of energy again.

The female diabetes ward at any government hospital in Kano state is always filled with patients during Ramadan. Some housewives would never listen whenever they are warned not to fast due to their health conditions. 🥺

Hence, in the absence of insulin, the body would have no choice than to turn to secondary stores like proteins and lipids for its energy reqirements. This is the reason why patients with type I diabetes always tends to lose weight since the flesh that should be stored to improve the body's appearance are now been used as the immediate source of energy for his day to day activities.

So, the patient becomes weaker, especially when they haven't eaten. And even when a patient with type I diabetes eats, they could consume more food than normal (dysphagia), since they have to make up for the constant lose of energy from their body.

No need to mention that they tend to always feel hungry and dehydrated, since they urinate often and glucose ( energy) is always passed out in the urine.

..... By the way, insulin is an hormone: (hormone=chemical messenger ) that is responsible for the conversion of excess glucose ( sugar) in the blood into glycogen for storage in the liver and adipose tissues.

.....For a diabetic patient, glucose is been wasted in the urine since there's no insulin to help out.

Worse is that type I diabetes can attack a person at any time. Just imagine if one is diagnosed with this type of diabetes in her teenage years! I don't know if that person would live for another 10 years. Complications would definitely begin to come in no distant time. Conplications lije kidney failure

So , a person whose either parent or even an uncle is diabetic should check their blood sugar level at least twice a month as soon as they attain adulthood. It would help them take precautionary measures in the form of modification of their lifestyle, dieting and exercise in order to adjust the blood sugar back to normal or to a fairly normal level.

I once asked a friend whose father was disbetic wether he had gone to have a sugar test ( FBS, as it is popularly called ) recently. He replied that he had never had the test. According to him, he believes that if he goes to check at a pharmacy or a lab, they'd prescribe some drugs for him after the test, and he doesn't want to buy drugs.

I was shocked at such an ignorant mindset. Although, he plays football every evening and looks very fit. This is very good for him especially as he spends more than thirty minutes daily exercising on the football field.

Well, as long as he doesn't consume refined sugar from soda to bread, egg roll, meat pie etc. everyday, I believe he'd be alright.

A lecturer once revealed that a lot of young Nigerians are not aware that they already have diabetes till around 15 to 20 years later when the complications begin to manifest. This is because no one is even talking about the high levels of cholesterol that had accumulated in the body over the years as a result of the carbohydrate addiction and unhealthy lifestyle.

"We should always take care of our body as it is the only place we have live".

Thsnks for reading 💖💖

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.34
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

I haven't monitored by blood sugar since the last time I have had a blood test and that was many years ago. When we have a history of certain diseases in the family, it's wise to watch our diet and lifestyle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, this is a good explanation about diabetes and the importance of periodic examination, but let me tell you something you missed, my friend, the family story in type 2 diabetes is more present than the first type. That is, type 2 diabetes, when it is present in the family, the children are more likely to have it, but type 1 is not. Which family history in type 1 diabetes is rare, but in type 2 diabetes is common

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Thanks so much for the clarification Doc.. God knows that I had been wishing that you'd show up when I was writing this article yesterday so that you could shed more lighttt on DM. I remember a time on this platform when you made me understand more about DM especially the preferred diets.... Well, i have a friend whose grandmom was diabetic. Her mom and four of her aunts and an uncle ended up with diabetes too. i could remember that she told that they all had type I. So, that was the basis of my assumption or maybe she was mistaken or it could be that type I is genetically more prevalent in a particular race than others... I don't know, I guess I would ask her again. Thanks Doc . Lara 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my dear, there is no need to thank, you can ask about anything you want at any time and I'll be happy to help 😁❤️ and from your friend, this could happen and more than one family member may have it, this is a one case, but the generalization is that the family history is rare in diabetes type 1 , unlike the second type

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh! This is so educative. I have also not been paying attention to my sugar level. I hope to get that checked soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You could check it bimonthly so long as you eat healthy and exercise

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are a lot of things I haven't checked and this is one of them..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pls check it siin. Also blood pressure too, very importanter 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As far as I know, there are not diabetic in my family. What if there is and they don't know? Nevertheless I plan on taking a test Sha. Can't be leaving things to chance. Lastly, what is fishies?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't have anything to worry about dear. Just keep up with a healthy lifestyle 😁.... Fishes? Lol, maybe it was a typo, I can't remember mentioning theat... This auto correct of grammarly have been making me make embarrassing mistakes recently

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The past couple of months, I have been home doing nothings exhausting (maybe once a while) and eating a lot (majorly because of boredom) I understand the basic logic of weight gain: when energy intake is more than energy use, it leads to weight gain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣 how did my name makeit to this article? It's crazy how you can remember small details about people no matter how long it has been, see as you just use me take do bad example because of something I talked about months ago 😂

It's God that saved me that there's no history of diabetes in my family, if not I would have gotten it when I was still a child 😆 these days I have learnt how to minimize my sugar intake to avoid stories that touches the heart later on .

But this your article na PhD thesis sha, see the biological and medical jargons wey full am 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😆 God has blessed me with a photographic memory. Could still vividly remember in details countless conversations I had with alot of people during childhood. That'ss why exam no dey hard me cos i dey quick remember even though it's just once I open book for a long time..... Lol, as a little child, he wouldnt get diabetes since the body needs all the sugar and glucose they can get for energy and body building. Except in the case of juvenile diabetes which is actually a congenital malformation and it is very rare . No wonder children are more active and energetic than adults as they run and jump up and down alot... But as one starts approaching 30 or 35, one have to be careful about his diets and lifestyle as the human nody grows weaker and worn out with age since it has been working for long.. Generally, sugars are for the young since they are energyy giving food while proteins, veggies and fruits are ideal for the old, since they help body building, repare of worn out tissues and also strengthens the body's metabolism ... I don dey write novel again o ,😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This one na another article on its own 😂 it seems you like biology? Anyway, you're right sha, children need more sugar than adults because they are more active and need the energy from it. I had to tell myself to reduce my sugar intake and take more of fruits now coz man don dey old 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omor...as it is now ehnn...there could be a possibility that my blood sugar level is high oo cos sugar is my middle name. Although I hate anything hospital or drugs, I should do a test Soon!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't have anything to worry about that dear since yiu are still young . You just as hsve be careful of refined sugar especially when one is approaching myddle thirties cause the body system is not as how it uses to be before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Bilqees, thank you, your article was very useful and informative. My paternal grandmother has been suffering from diabetes for as long as I can remember. She liked to eat sweets very much and sometimes she secretly ate sweets away from the eyes of her children. Fortunately, none of her children have yet suffered from this deadly disease.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, thank Goodness! that some if her children had the disease... Sugars can be very addictive ma'am. One of the most addictive substances in the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i have a sweet tooth but i still control the sweet consumption because we have diabetes in our lineage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago