Shortbread cookies with chocolate and nuts

18 34

Good day to all and good mood my dear readers read.cash.

I would like to say that I write about cooking and cuisine, as well as everything related to it.

I continue to publish recipes, menus, and other stuff, that solve one problem: "how to make sure that at home there is always a healthy, delicious homemade food, and you spend a minimum of time, effort and money.

Yay! Today I'm writing my next recipe. I love this project read.cash you can write about whatever you want and share your thoughts and even recipes😋 .

I, as always, have no idea what to tell you. Stories from my childhood came to mind, all for some reason related to movies or cartoons. I really liked to watch "12 months" and "Morozko". Who remembers: "Is it warm for you, maiden, is it warm for you, beauty"?  It was a good movie. What's my point? Read on. :))

And so still until about 8 p.m. tonight there was no story. I baked cookies, but I have no idea what the story is about. But I think, okay, I'll start writing and I'll think of something. My son went to his grandmother, my husband and I had a romantic dinner, lit some candles, and then I remembered about the fireplace. I had to think of him. My husband refused, saying that we had not touched it for a year, let it be, but I was adamant: I want, say, a fire and warmth and comfort. My husband reluctantly lit the fireplace, I calmed down.    Candles burning, wood in the fire crackling, lights dancing, warm, good. My husband nestled nearby, warming his bones. For 20 minutes the idyll was complete. Then my husband began to smell. Smoke was not going up the chimney but down the house. Not good, you can also poison yourself, we opened the windows. But the fire is burning, and the smoke is smoky....Any more fun: my husband is running around the house with a stepladder, I open the windows... We put out the fireplace, ventilate the house. January, everything is wide open! It could be -17° at night... And we keep watching the movie. We're sitting on the sofa with my husband, all wrapped up in plaid, me in a hooded sweater and gloves... I have to share a recipe and write a story.  Are you warm, maiden?

Anyway, again without a story the cookies will be:))    Delicious and easy to make. And with our favorite and traditional ingredients - chocolate and nuts.

And so the recipe itself:

375g general purpose flour

100g fine cooking sugar

1/4 tsp salt

200g soft butter

30g soft cream cheese

2 tsp vanilla extract

200g unsweetened chocolate chips (or chocolate), at least 60% cocoa

1 cup chopped roasted hazelnuts

1/4 cup currants (frozen, defrost)

1 tablespoon currant syrup

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 190°. For baking prepare either a baking tray or a 30x40 cm dish, cover with baking paper.

- Mix the flour, sugar and salt in the mixer bowl. Change the mixer bowl to the flat nozzle and add the butter piece by piece, beating it on low speed. Add the cream cheese and vanilla extract and whisk lightly on low speed until the ingredients are blended. Continue by hand to bring the mixture together into a clump.

- Transfer the dough to a baking tray and spread by hand around the circumference. I rolled out with a rolling pin on the paper and then transferred it to the baking tray.

Bake for twenty minutes, flip in the middle.

-While the cookies are baking, melt the chocolate in a water bath. Grate the currants, mix with the syrup and add to the melted chocolate.

-Take the cookies out of the oven, cool slightly (about 5 minutes) and spread the chocolate mixture on them. Sprinkle with nuts or marmalade slices or whatever you like.

Let stand for about fifteen minutes and slice with a sharp knife or round cutter. Transfer them to a rack and allow to cool completely.

This portion will yield approximately 48 pieces.

My notes:

-The original had a little more butter and more sugar, I reduced it.

-The original suggested spreading the chocolate chips over the dough as soon as we took it out of the oven. I was afraid that they would not melt, and I wanted to add currants to the chocolate. You could substitute raspberries.

-I rolled out thicker dough (my baking dish is a little smaller), you can make the rhombuses thinner. I baked for 20 minutes.

-It is very important to cut the cookies into loaves while they are still soft and cool. Then it will crumble.

And before we begin, I thank my sponsoring friends!

My sponsoring friends, thank you!

No matter how strong we are, support increases our strength! It's like a breath of fresh air when difficulties pile up and don't let us breathe! Thank you for your support. I will always remember and thank you.

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/onion-and-garlic-jam-f71c50ef

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/forest-glade-themed-cake-b6adf80b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/we-eat-to-live-not-live-to-eat-5fc88f83

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/choice-or-a-reaction

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/gravlax-or-they-are-not-rolls-fb460b64

18
$ 2.79
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Those cookies especially with that chocolate top coating is calling my name right now yum ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love the cookies yumm yumm.. Hope I can taste all you recipes😉.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I congratulate you for your cookies not for the smoke they made at home. I made gingerbread cookies too. I took advantage of my son being off work and in the evening we got to make the cookies. We ate some freshly baked. The rest for later hehehehe. Your cookies look delicious. Ummm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. Although the evening was spoiled it did not spoil our mood. Doing something together is so great! It turns out twice as tasty and fun to slay what we cooked)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can you post a special dish of fish curry?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's do😉👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your husband must be so lucky to have you, having a person that can make these perfect recipes is a blessing. I'm so jealous.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I sincerely wish that the one who will be worthy of you appears in your life.Or maybe you already have one😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dont have one yet, I'm still waiting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Belozoriana, what you said about your romantic dinner and the smoke from the fireplace and the cold air in your home was very interesting, and I smiled, it's very good that you didn't take it hard, many people in this situation, they get on their nerves, they don't watch the movie anymore, and they make this beautiful night bitter for themselves. What tempting cookies, the recipe was great and healthy, thank you dear...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's my own fault, so panic. I wanted romance, and the fireplace had been broken for a year. When we ventilated the house, it was terribly cold. Thanks for reading me, and the cookies are really good))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love cookies so much my friend.🤤 I know your cookies is really delicious.🤤 Last week I have a cookies, I ordered it from my partner's friend worth only 5$. I love the taste too.

The reason I love reading your article about cookies. I am really fond on it. Cookies is one of the best snacks too. More article my friend. I love it because it's all about food.❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad the smoke didn't turn into a fire. Your cookies look so delicious!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thsg look yummy delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good work looks super delicious feels to eat it . takes time but its worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait to have a taste dear friend. Where is mine?

$ 0.00
2 years ago