Horseradish or you can't watch without crying

13 51

Good afternoon dear readers of read.cash. And welcome to my article.

I love my family, my dear men, I love my home and garden, I love cats and flowers. Very much I love to cook, and since recently to take pictures (if it is possible to name so).I write is all about cooking. This is where you can introduce yourself and write everything you want in your comments. I'm happy to meet new people and make new friends.

I would like to say that I write about cooking and cuisine, as well as everything related to it.

I continue to publish recipes, menus, and other stuff, that solve one problem: "how to make sure that at home there is always a healthy, delicious homemade food, and you spend a minimum of time, effort and money.

I would like to thank my sponsors for their faith in me and their support. Thanks to you, many people have learned about me and my content and become my friends. Thank you! I was so happy when I saw the sponsorship notices from you, it means a lot to me and I am grateful for it)

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Today my husband said, "Wife, cook horseradish (hren)...

Pixabay.com

Well, I was shocked, of course, because to do it indoors is like death. And to go outside and cook it would freeze my fingers off.

But I would not have been me if I had not thought of a genius solution! I have a blender, so he grinds my horseradish (he grinds well into a fine such mush). And then I ran out of the kitchen after cooking, and had to open a window, even though it is freezing outside. It's good that now the age of different electric devices. And before we did it by hand. Yes, without tears exactly can not remember. Rubbing horseradish root was a little punishment for me and my sister. At least no one got sick.

Now who's to say I don't have any no horseradish in the fridge...

I was wondering if I could find a recipe for vassabi - green horseradish?

I've seen many videos on Tik Tok where they rub horseradish root in a welding mask or even in an iron diving helmet, well that's a joke of course, though....🤣

It's very simple and it tastes so much better than the store-bought stuff. And this is what horseradish root looks like:

Pixabay.com

No store-bought crap compares to homemade horseradish, at least as far as yumminess goes. Yes, if you've never made horseradish, be warned! Tears from onions are pathetic drops compared to tears from grated horseradish it will be crocodile tears. Therefore, it is advisable to carry out the grinding process either in the fresh air or, at least, with the window open. To act in this case should be as follows... chopped in the combine ... opened the lid and, without haste, run away from the kitchen. Wait for it to check, then come back in five minutes. Then there will probably be few tears.

Actually, this is not even a recipe... but a mini recipe I want to dedicate to my dad, because it was the first time I made horseradish with him (and apparently the first time my dad made it with me), and it was unforgettable! Forgive me, Dad, for having such an unsightly recipe associated with you, but it was unforgettable!

Dad and I rarely did anything together. He was too tough for that. And the "fun" we had was too different.  Mom played dolls with me. Dad loved to cook, but he hated to have anyone under his feet. I even inherited a few recipes from him, like how to bake bread and pies. I also learned how to know about spices. We talked about this not in the kitchen, but outside of it. But he did let me in on the horseradish-making process once. I don't know why. Did he need help? Or was he bored? I don't remember. Or maybe as punishment for our pranks.

I remember cleaning that horseradish with him. It was a painful job, but we didn't notice it. I remember putting it in the combine and turning on the infernal machine. I remember opening the lid... And I remember how we crawled out of the kitchen with our eyes goggling, crying and sneezing, and knee-high snot, while laughing wildly, because it was the most ridiculous situation.  It was the first time I had ever seen my dad cry.

After weeping and blowing our nose and sitting in an ambush for half an hour, we finally made it back to the kitchen. What else was there to do? And there, the dickhead was still waiting for us. Strange that she had not escaped, and we had hoped so much.  I don't remember how daddy dealt with it afterwards. I only remember that from then on, we only made horseradish outside in the summer house. I wasn't the only one who remembered that lesson very well! Well, that is, until today... when I ventured to make horseradish at home. Naturally, with maximum precautions! No, I cried a few tears. Not without that. But not as completely as I did the other day... with my dad. 

Many dishes that we cook especially often in the winter, just need to be accompanied by horseradish root or mustard. For example, cold cuts, boiled meats and tongue, grilled sausages, baked pork, and just about any kind of stuffing in general. Of course, horseradish is sold in all stores, but if you know what homemade root horseradish, it's not just that the store-bought stuff doesn't but if you know what horseradish is, then purchased horseradish won't seem so "juicy" but it will make you think that there's too little horseradish in a jar;)

And as for homemade - it seems to me that not a single microbe has a chance to undermine your health, even if just if you just smell homemade horseradish seasoning.

I'm lucky, the horseradish roots are my own, from our patch, but you can also buy it from grannies from hands. I also have a large horseradish root in the freezer that I bought at the nearest supermarket just in case. Well, who has dumplings in the freezer, who - a horseradish root, it's so to each - his own, as they say. And about the way of storage - yes, the root perfectly tolerates freezing, nothing with nothing happens to it.

Take:

The actual horseradish roots.

Salt.

Sugar.

Vinegar.

Olive oil, or any vegetable oil.

Prepare:

Peel the horseradish root.

And somewhere like this we shred, so that the blender was more convenient to deal with it.

Shred with a combine, blender (in a closed bowl), meat grinder (on the meat grinder package), or what else will you think of shredding? And on a grater, it's a sea of tears.

Add salt, sugar, vinegar and oil to taste.

The horseradish shouldn't be too dry, but it shouldn't float either.

Put it in a jar and put it in the fridge! That's it! You can eat it almost immediately. Well, okay... Well, not right away, well, wait a day and boil some cold cuts, or what do you eat with horseradish? Tongue and stuff like that and eat it to your heart's content!

Horseradish is very poisonous, especially at first, even sniff carefully. But for amateurs, it's very good!

Don't think in any way that it's stinky. No!!! It smells nice)) Ginger smells like ginger, celery smells like celery, and dill smells like dill. These smells are very different! Each one has its own unique flavor. So does horseradish, it smells like horseradish, only its smell is very pungent, but no flu and covid you are not afraid of!!!! I would classify this recipe as the most useful and effective in the fight against colds. Oh how!!!

I also add horseradish leaves to winter preserves, like pickles, they spice them up and make them super crispy (and even horseradish cheers up🤣)

And of course, to make our horseradish pink, you can add the juice of freshly squeezed beets. And how does it taste? Mustard, hot pepper, ginger, they are very spicy, and now increase the spiciness by five times! This will be the taste of grated horseradish. My husband is so full of it, but I can't. It's too spicy for me, it gets so bad that it's impossible to eat it without crying. So when I eat it, I mix it with sour cream. And milk has been known to suppress the burn. Here's a tip: Drink milk after hot peppers and you won't have "burning" in your mouth.

In the wintertime (and beyond). Horseradish is a must spice for just about horseradish is a must-have item on almost every dish on the table, whether it be meat, sausage, ham, fish, dumplings and on and on to infinity. :-)

Horseradish is good for both to those who make it and to those who cook it and those who eat it.

At New Year holidays we all dream and want our wishes to come true. Well, if you have a dream - run to it.

If you can't run, crawl if you can't crawl, lie down and lie with your head towards your dream!!!!

Be healthy! Health is the most valuable thing we have, and the rest will follow.

This article was written in memory of my father. He's no longer with us...🕯

I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/onion-and-garlic-jam-f71c50ef

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/forest-glade-themed-cake-b6adf80b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/solyanka-or-meat-pickerel-f982f73b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/stuffed-cabbage-rolls-with-bacon-and-minced-meat-in-a-tagine-72c8463f

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/chicken-with-fried-rice-fd76245a?

14
$ 3.08
$ 2.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is new to my eyes, love this i might have this recipe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow., Look so yummy. Though I am not familiar with that kind of recipe but you said that it is very healthy to eat. Hoping to have more food article to read from you. May your father soul rest in peace. God Bless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My uncle used to make different recipes with horseradish, it's his favorite. I guess I'll let him see this so he can also try

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May your father soul rest in peace. I would definitely try this recipe out

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't know that horseradish root could be like this, what you said was very interesting, and also it was very sweet to share your memories with your father. What is obtained from this process something like a wasabi, or like a pickle model?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Look so yummy. This is good for the health. Thank you for sharing your menu here😊 nice to meet you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's new for me. Never had that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May your dad find eternal rest, my friend. Horseradish in the Philippines is malunggay. We do not cook its tree or branch or flowers, we usually cook the leaves as soup. I learned something new today! I just hope I am right if it is malunggay if not, may a Filipino correct me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think this is the plant you're talking about. I added a photo to this article of what this plant looks like. Thank you my friend, for your responsiveness and kindness💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Google betrayed me my friend I am so sorry...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I have it happens, nothing wrong👋 And sometimes even whole sentences are not translated correctly. Have a good evening, darling😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so nice that you and your husband spend so much time in the kitchen together...nice!

$ 0.02
2 years ago