Good Morning, Sunshine!

6 35
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Fiction

I wake up at the crowing of the rooster, repeatedly screaming, cock-a-doodle-doo! I know it's dawn now because it often starts making noise mostly at around 2️⃣am. I turned on my phone to check the current time.

Image from Unsplash

Ugh, it's still 4️⃣am.

I get back to sleep since I don't have anything to do this early in the morning. After a while, I hear the flickers of the switch in the kitchen that is next to my room. Aside from the crowing of the rooster, the chirping of the crickets, and the stomping of goats and carabaos, there is a sound of silence that maintains harmony throughout the night. Though these animals make sounds as much as they want, the sounds of little noises inside the house are still louder than them.

The flicker of the switch is a sign that my mother is already awake and is about to prepare breakfast and coffee for us. I'm still sleepy and I still can't fully open my eyes, so I drifted back to sleep again.

A little while longer, I hear the whistle of the kettle. She's probably making herself a coffee. I can also hear the sound of water running from the faucet from washing the pot. It's quite easy to guess if it's a pot since the banging sounds of it are loud and clear. I checked my phone again to check the time.

Image from Unsplash

It's 5️⃣ am now.

I hear the creaking of the door, followed by the heavy footsteps going towards the kitchen. It's definitely my father, getting up for work. I hear the whistle of the kettle for the second time. My mother knows what time he usually wakes up, so it's already a routine for her to boil water when she wakes up to make coffee for her and my father.

A few minutes later, I hear the sound of the woods being cut by the ax. It's my father helping my mother by preparing her enough firewood before he leaves. Meanwhile, I can hear the sizzle of the boiling oil as my mother fries, probably an egg. After a while, it becomes silent again. The roosters and crickets also had stopped making noise. I'm slowly drifting back to sleep again.

I'm about to lose my senses for being so sleepy when my mother suddenly making perp-perping sounds calling all the chickens to be fed. I can hear them pecking the grains on the ground, it sounds louder because of the silent surroundings of the countryside. It becomes much noisier when the chickens are making "Urkk" sounds. They probably fighting with each other for food, or one of those elder chickens is picking on the younger ones.

Image from Unsplash

As the carabao goes along with the chickens by continuously stomping its hooves and keep yelling "moo". I can't sleep anymore. They are the noisy early birds for sure, a perfect alarm clock to be used. I just continue to lie down though I'm fully awake now. I wholly covered myself with my thick blanket, the coldness is growing stronger.

I haven't kept track of the time since I have slept in a short while. I can already hear every sweeping sound of the broomstick in the backyard. My mother is already cleaning, it's probably brighter outside now. I get up and fix my bed. I tie my hair and go outside.

The sun is rising slowly overhead the mountains at the east. I walk to the backyard to see it clearer and catching the rays with my body which is passing through the leaves of trees.

Image from Unsplash

The plains of ricefields, at the lower lands from where our house stands which are on higher grounds, are full of morning mist. It explains why it's colder today. The birds start chirping as they fly over the branches. It's like they're greeting me "Good morning".

Well, good morning too lovely birds, and good morning, sunshine.

━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━

Hey, there!!!

Good morning, beautiful people! Another morning means another day to grind and strive. I just like to drop here a fiction short story of a day in a life of living in the countryside to lighten up your day. Just keep being motivated and don't lose hope. More importantly, always be grateful to the Lord for giving us another day in our lives.

Thank you for reading this article until the end. I wished everyone who can read this a good day ahead.

━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━

If you enjoy reading this one, you may like to read these;

Call Me Alien, Weird, And Unique But I'm ME

Are There Still Nuts In A Shell?

Quarantine Restrictions Mostly Affects Poor People

End Month Self Evaluation: Achieved Or Improve? [JU3121]

The Best Team vs. The Moody One

You can also make some noise with me at noise.cash!

━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━━━ »»•••«« ━━━━

Thanks for dropping by.

Stay safe and God bless us all!

3
$ 2.92
$ 2.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @francescawrites
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 2
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story, Fiction

Comments

This makes me very happy. I can imagine everything perfectly. Good writing.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Thanks po. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your description of things. It made me feel like I was the one experiencing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! I'm just practicing my narration skills. I'm glad you liked it. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, a new day is a new start. However, for me, it was the opposite. I tend to differentiate my time so instead of having a 'good morning', I was sleeping the whole day.

Nonetheless, I hope you'll have a great day. Have that morning vibes going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a good day, too! 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago