Winning Mentality: Power of The Mind

37 69
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

The mind is a powerful tool, and people really need to start harnessing it's power. Last Sunday, was the last day of the English Premier League for 2021/2022 season win would guarantee Man City winners of the league. I watched the game and saw the team fight from beginning to end, looking for a win. In fact, they believed they would win and that belief didn't falter even when they were two goals behind.

They were more convinced they'd win the game than their opponents were. This was what I took from the game that day. Their belief worked for them as they turned a two-goal deficit around and took a one-goal lead in the 81st minute, 9 mins away from full-time. They had scored three goals in quick succession, the first of which came in the 76th minute, 14 mins away from full-time. In essence, they had started their comeback and completed it in a timeframe of 5 minutes. That's how powerful a winning mentality can make you.

In the world we live in, it won't be an overstatement if I said that the entire population wants to be successful. Though, I would not be wrong to say a lot of people are doing nothing to be successful, I would also not be wrong to say a good number of people are doing something to be successful. You see, it isn't enough to have the will to be successful, you also have to believe that you will be.

*Cogito Ergo Sum - I Think, Therefore I am*

This is not me saying you stay in your comfort zone and believe you'll be successful and so shall it be. I am saying you put your heart where your muscle is. Even though we may not care to admit it, the state of mind affects one's output. Have you seen someone who is downcast being productive? They are unlikely to be because their mind is not in the right condition.

As a student, I try to pay attention to whatever is being said in class instead of writing as the teacher is talking, I grasp and process better when listening, having my full attention in one place. Just so my mind doesn't get distracted, I often try not to lose concentration and not let my mind wander off into the unknown. Because whenever I do, I lose track of the learning process which is easier than getting back on it.

The first step to achieving success is believing success is achievable, only then will your mind open up to all the ways in which it (success) can be achieved. This is not me saying be optimistic, as I wouldn't even describe myself as an optimist. But there is a thin line between optimism and belief. Although, I would say that one complements the other. People put the work in to achieve success, but do not really believe that they can achieve it? You may ask; why then are they working for it? The answer is simple; many people put in the effort just so they can have the satisfaction of knowing they did, and not necessarily because they believe their work will yield results.

Winning mentality was the difference between Manchester City and Aston Villa. While they both worked hard all through the game, only one of the teams believed they would win and that made the difference between the two sides.

So, you believing in your success can make the difference between achieving and failing. The work or effort alone is not enough, conviction is needed too. in whatever you do, have that winning mentality. Winners don't quit, and quitters don't win.

Thank You For Reading πŸ–€πŸ–€

27
$ 4.83
$ 3.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
+ 24
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Everything we do start from the mind. To be afraid of an opponent is different from fear. Once we let fear enter our mind we've lost 50 percent of winning a Battle or overcoming a particular problem. The mindset is very powerful and it is what made David beat Goliath apart from divine intervention.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is always good for someone to go with winning mentality. Once a person go with winning mentality he always have confidence in what ever he is doing, he always believes that he will succeed in what ever challenge he is facing. So no matter the circumstances he wouldn't easily give up.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's quite right, I agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true, I've always done better when I had the conviction that I would be successful

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great to hear that. Further proves my point.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The mind can handle everything, when the mind is in balance, your body will be and only then can you carry out things

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true what you say Mafer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, I'd say optimism is same thing as believing. When you are positive about something, you are like saying you believe it. When we are positive about getting good results to our effort, it has been programmed into our mind and then it's means you believe you will get a good result.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I understand you. I believe they can be used synonymously in certain context, thus, why I say there is a thin line. But I wouldn't say they are the same. For example, If I believe God exists, I am not particularly optimistic about him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having a positive mind towards something fuels your energy towards achieving that particular thing

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is right Oyin, I agree

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mind over matter. Believing you can win something helps to rewire your brain into performing better at that task, it gives the much needed confidence required to carry out that task

$ 0.02
1 year ago

So, believe you can hack CBN and do it. 🌚🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's something also call overconfidence πŸ’€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And stupidity😹😹😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ exactly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are who we think we are, it just require having good thought for ourselves and working towards it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Agreed! You are right about that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why they say discipline is the most important thing. It is better than motivation. Some even say that one needs discipline more than prayers.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Discipline does matter, you are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an insightful reminder to us all. It's full of encouragement too. Motivation and positive thinking are great tools to have and we should apply them all the time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well said. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our minds are our greatest weapons to success, if you know you can do it, you definitely would. That's the first step which is followed by discipline and others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Apt, and I agree with you completely. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is literally how law of attractions works... you attract what you believe.. Always start doing things with the mindset "let's do this" instead of "I think it might be hard"

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! Saying it is hard closes your mind to possibilities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sincerely speaking, what City did made me flabbergasted. Anyways, what should I have expected, everyone knows belief, like you made a mention of it here, propels humans to do the unthinkable, it is therefore necessary to build ourselves a winning mentality always

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Apt. The unthinkable could have unfolded had Villa had conviction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is such a powerful article, Aimure. And I love your Latin, cogito, ergo sum. Would you believe this is my signature line for one of my emails? Another line I use is acta non verba, more actions, less words. Funny because I am super wordy, hahahaha. Anyways, I agree with you that the first step to achieving success is believing success is achievable. I'll tell you a quick story. Once I worked for an oil company for a bit. The job was really difficult to get, like you had to have some powerful connection to be employed there. Anyways, I grew up really poor and I knew no one, but I believed that I could work there. And so one morning, I told my mom that I got the job. I got up, dressed for work, left home and went to the library and spent the day writing applications to the company. My mom thought I was working with the oil company. Every morning I did the same thing and I promised my mom that I'd have my first pay check at the end of that month. I truly believed that I would. After that first day, every day I'd go to the gate near the entrance to the HR department with my resume. And to cut the comment short, I landed the job and worked there for a few years. So, I am a believer and I've proven it, that you believe, you focus, you put in the effort and you'd achieve your dreams. Great post.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Glad this comment is stamped here as proof, confirmation that you can do anything if you put your mind to it. Thanks for this Trifecta.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This will of belief has been let me do some impossible tasks in a very low time frame. Not everytime as unless the effort is equal or greater to the will. It's like a hidden ability which any person can have!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, the effort too has to match your belief. Not just believing and not putting in the work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like it's been said whatever we think that's what we attract, so definitely we have to train our mind and also prepare it for winning always and also understanding that losing is okay but quitting is never an option

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well said, we need to train the mind to change the mentality into a positive one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are a product of what we think of often. We are a product of our dominant thoughts and that's why I agreed to the quote that says "I think, therefore I am." Whatever we think goes into our subconscious which we act out and believe strongly in.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well said sir, and I agree with you too. The mind is a powerful tool.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it is. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago