Reminiscing An Embarrassing Experience

42 57
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Earlier today, I was going through some of the books I had kept away and came across one I read in the second semester of my first year in the university. I remember reading a chapter that explained curly, wavy and straight hair a bit. I remember fondly when I read that particular part of the book in the school’s library and how I had rolled my eyes because it made me remember an experience I had in secondary school (highschool). Permit me to share this story with you.

I remember this day because it was the most embarrassing day for me all through my time in the school. It was a Monday morning on the general assembly when the school’s counselor had decided to use two males as an example for the entire school. Unfortunately, I was one of these males, and as fate would have it the other make student (who was my classmate) happened to be behind my on the assembly line.

She called the both of us in front of the assembly and asked us to kneel down. I was confused as this was the first time that had ever happened to me. More so because I had not done anything wrong which I was aware of. According to her, the reason she called us out was because of our hair. I do know one thing we (the guy and I) have in common is our hair, because it is both wavy and dark. Thus, forming what we popularly call “sporting waves”

According to the school’s counselor, we had gone to the barbershop to get the hair done that way (sporting waves and dye) so we could use it to entice seduce naïve girls in the school. 😅😅🤣🤣 Yes, it is funny, but you’d be surprised it is not far from the truth as a reason as foolish as that was something people did back in the day. Also, it wouldn’t be far-fetched if I said girls actually like(d) guys with sporting waves.

All we could do was just look at each other in utter confusion and disbelief. We had been in the school since SS1 we are now in SS3 and not once has anyone mentioned this to us, neither had she, because I remember meeting her in the lab a couple of times before that day. She must have seen me or my classmate before but said nothing.

It is not uncommon for people’s day to start badly which will make them look for the slightest reason to vent out to others. Neither is it uncommon for people to use the slightest opportunity to show their power as a way of psychological warfare. Well, there was no particular war going on, but doing such a thing to us in front of the entire school can have an effect on the students.

We tried explaining to her that our hair is naturally like that, but she wouldn’t hear us out. She was judge jury and executioner while we were just the people who had sinned and had no say. She told us to go cut off the hair, until she was sure we’ve removed all the waves before we can enter the class. I had cut my hair the day before and was on a low cut. Any further barbing would mean I was going bald 🤣🤣. We had no choice, we had to do it even though we were unhappy about it.

I remember that was the first time going bald in the school and how ashamed I was of everything that I couldn’t even go out when it was time for break 😅. When I read about how my hair is only genetic and how I was punished for it for in more ways than one as I used my own money to get the haircut, I was disappointed and wondered if the woman knew and still decided to do what she did anyway.

Well, that was the story in my secondary school days, and I remember the last time I saw this classmate of mine, we joked about this event and laughed at that moment. I can assure that when we were being crucified, it wasn’t funny at that time. But this is the beauty  of memories and the magic time has on these memories is that they eventually become a funny one.

 

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

Thanks to @BCH_LOVER for the sponsorship renewal, I appreciate your support ma'am.

 

23
$ 3.44
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 26
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sporting waves was king back in the days sha, it's crazy how it has fallen out of trend and it's now replaced by two crazy things: dreadlocks and hair tinting 😑 But how that woman take become una school counselor sef? Make I no say wetin dey my mind sha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂 na me to dey ask that question. I meet her for the school o. Me go dey rock my low cut go sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh, I have so many embarrassed moment infact I can still remember them especially they are part of my life before. There's alot of learnings from it and alot of realizations. Each time I remember them all I laughed at myself

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what they should be, memories to laugh about. Thanks for coming by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awe, i can only imagine how you get embarrassed of being bald. However it is now a memory, a somewhat funny memory 😅.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes GarrethGrey, that is what It has become now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What! 🤣🤣🤣 I can imagine how embarrassing that was. Secondary school was the period of consciousness. The i dress and appear matters, going bald at that period will be embarrassing for me. I doubt if I'd have listened to her if i was the one. I stubborn for Secondary school o.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂 she had our bags, I had no choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You must have felt that one sha. That time barbing skin is like a punishment. If it were in my school they'd do it with razor for you not even clipper.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Really? 😂 She asked us to go cut it ourselves sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? 😂 She asked us to go cu it ourselves sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂....how come I'm just hearing this story? When we resume, we should all talk about our lost embarrassing moments abeg...😂...Pele!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Don't worry, we'll have all the time in to do that 😏😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were the woman, I would chew "chingum" and plaster it in your head.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 I first know sey you no like me at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. No, not all. I was also reminiscing high school days. There was this business studies aunty whenever she catches a student chewing gum in class, she would use it to design his/her hair 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And those were hard to remove😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not embarrassing I mean it wasn't your fault if your hair is like that, I can imagine it and I think you have beautiful hair, stupid school rules that don't allow a person to style their hair as they wish 😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. Thanks Lara. Past that now so I can style it as I see fit now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol 😂 how could she say it was a way of enticing girls!, Lol, I can't imagine you kneeling in front of the whole students on the assembly ground, damn it must have really been so embarrassing.

And seeing you on afari as it's usually called. Lol, did you take a picture then, I'll love to see it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

See you on🤣🤣🤣🤣. You think I'd take a picture of that? Don't mind her, maybe we were enticing her. 🌝

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spending time in high school is like a story. The memories of Madhyamik are always memorable.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, they usually are memorable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guy... Like for real, she did that to you in SS3.. I honestly can't remember the last time I had a bald head🤣🤣🤣🤣. Probably JSS2.. Hahaha. You must have felt somehow, I get. The Seniors of The Whole School. Lol🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, had no choice but to get over it eventually. People forgot the experience too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm searching now how the sporting waves style looks like. Hehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe. By all means 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I easily lost respect to those who are power trippers. They are supposed to teach us yet they are the ones who are ignorant. Public humiliation is not a proper way to deal with issues like that.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, I don't think they care much .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm curious what your hair looks like with that sporting waves style. Gonna Google it right now...Anyways, you're always welcome Aimure. You deserve it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe. Sure you'll see what it looks like on Google. Thanks ma'am

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't even want to imagine what you would have looked like then😂😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣 please don't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's unfortunate that your school counselor would use her influence in this way but good that it did not have a lasting influence on you and that you can laugh at the memory now. I wonder, did she ever apologize later?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

She never did. I didn't expect her to since she didn't feel she was wrong, but instead she felt she was doing what's right. If at all, it was us who owed her an apology.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I suddenly got curious about what your hair really looks like 😅...no sample? Haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha 😅. Don't have my picture on this phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. going bald in ss3? .. I know it would have been so difficult then.. jezz 😂😂😂😭

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Believe me, it was. Me wey dey do soft boy then 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine how you must have felt, she did that out of the blues. It's good that you're reminiscing about it with your friend. I love reminiscing😁😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe. Would like to hear the good and the embarrassing memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll definitely write about it 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago