LGBTQ Plus or Minus?

39 73
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Recent events in the football world which I can say I am quite current in has caused me and some others to raise some eyebrows. I don't know which came first, but there was some news about some Qatar hotels that has said they will not entertain people in the LGBTQ community. This had lead FIFA to say that they will not patronise such hotels. That is understandable, since the hotels offer services, and it is up to the customers to either accept their terms and conditions.

Recently, a player of PSG football club decided not to wear a jersey that supports the LGBTQ+ community. Since the jersey was worn during a football game, that means the player inadvertently missed the game in question. Now, this is understandable, as I have seen cases players decided not to take the knee before the start of a football game as a protest against racism. So, I guess this applies as long as the team doesn't suffer from your absence I guess.

What baffles me in this particular case is that the football federation of the country/league had asked the player to apologise to the LGBTQ+ community, not the club he didn't play for, but the community his faith does not support. Of course I have read somewhere that this 'punishment' was metted to him because he is African. That is not for me to say.

While reading an article by Deeepensiverse earlier titled Is Indifference To The LGBTQ Community Being Homophobic?, I had a lot to say about my countrymen. You see, anything under the umbrella of LGBTQ+ is heavily frowned upon in my country. In fact, there is a jail term for homosexuals, so even though there are such people in every society (mine included) they usually do their thing in their own secretive way.

Personally, I am indifferent about the whole situation as I really do not think how anyone else chooses to live their life is my business, as long as I am not affected and neither is anyone I care about. I won't be wrong or saying too much if I said that most Nigerians are homophobic. This made me think about a Venn diagram, wherein all homophobic individuals are. Also, the subsets of this universal set are various reasons why people are homophobic. Although one person can be a member of two or more subsets (i.e they are homophobic for more than one reasons).

These subsets can be explained as:

  • Those who are homophobic because their religion frowns upon it;

  • Those who are homophobic because their culture and tradition frowns upon it;

  • Those who are homophobic because other people are and they wouldn't want to be the ones who were different from the rest;

  • Lastly, those who are homophobic because they don't understand why people have different taste from them, thus, the best way to deal with the darkness is to accept everything bad about being gay.

A friend once told me that until we all indulge in homosexual relations, we shouldn't say for a fact that we do not like it, or that we are not homosexuals 😅. Well, I can see the logic behind his statement, but I don't always have to try something before ascertaining that it is not good or that I don't like it.

I believe everyone is free to believe in what they want or live how they want to as long as they are not affecting others in the process. Also, my beliefs shouldn't be forced on another simply because those persons don't accept it for one reason or the other and I do.

My eyes are starting to shutdown, and I am having a hard time staying awake because I've had a long day and I am very tired too, so I'll just draw the curtain here and maybe do great justice to this topic another time.

Feel free to leave a comment and tell me how you feel personally about the LGBTQ+ community and whether or not you accept it or you are indifferent like I am.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

21
$ 3.94
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 23
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I also read about the Guy's case on the the sport site. Whatever someone's faith does not agree with, shouldn't be forced on him. I think they need to respect his belief. As it stands, even if he is to apologise, its only to psg and not the other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I tire for France FA. They are being extra about the issue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Obviously it's because he's black. Even the Pulpy in UK, so many players didn't wear it. I didn't hear an apology from them. I don't know why he should apologize for what his belief didn't align with. Did they apologize to him for forcing their belief on him? The world is mad. I've said it many times over and over again. Certain rules apply to some while it doesn't apply to others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is the harsh truth. Laws apply to some people while some others dare not go against the rules.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's crazy and totally unfair. They always look for scape goats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This LGBTQ issue is a very grey area that I will rather not meddle in, as long as they are not disturbing my space then we no get problem but that doesn't mean I will wear any stupid shirt to show support for something I don't believe in just because other people showed support, that football federation is going too far , they just dey do the whole thing like say it's a must to support LGBTQ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing tire me o. It's not like the guy is actually homophobic, he has said it is because his faith is against it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The FA is taking Gueye's issue too serious. Only PSG have the right to sue him or ask for an apology because he is employed to play for them. He owes no community any apology. Personal, i don't care about anyone's sexuality, it's their life , they should do what makes them happy.Religion is the major reason people oppose it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Like what does one person's support matter? I suppose they are just being extra about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only say let's respect each other no matter the gender, race or anything else.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I completely agree with that. To each their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although some psychiatrists still classify homosexuality as a sexual disorder, and this is really what we study in our books, many countries, including Germany, have recognized the right of homosexuals to marry and live their lives freely. I am not against any choice that a person makes with his complete freedom and does not cause harm to others, and no one has the right to control the inclinations of any person, including his sexual orientation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you on the last part. I guess it is easier to accept it is a sexual disorder as it goes against what many would call normal. But homosexualism has also been observed in animals too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why will they tell baba to apologize...is it by force to be open to gayism and more. Those people are just exerting unnecessary power on the poor boy cos they can. Rubbish!

I don't think I have to say much, you already know where I stand with this so called community..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Don't mind them. Like sey na by force.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I come from a country and culture that has only three genders and one sexual preference, that is attraction towards the opposite gender.. I did not even learn that there is called a whole community for other genders and preferences called LGBTQ+ only before few years.. but does that give me a right to judge others?? absolutely not.. as long as nobody is hurting anybody, they should be able to practice what they believe in..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! It is the same way there are different religions too, and everyone choose whichever works for them and everyone live with that and be happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though This is the first time I'm hearing of this community, I don't think there is anything wrong in deciding not to represent a certain group or idea, I mean what happened to freedom to express one self? Try editing the article, so many typos

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😅😅 was typing it when I was half asleep. I will do that now though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the same thoughts. I also don't have any problems with being a gay or lesbian of a person. It is their lives and they have the freedom to choose which gender they wanted to live on. It's not my business if they wanna be part of LGBTQ, besides they are not affecting my life and so I don't have any thing against them. Hopefully people would understand each of us rights and have a peaceful life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hopefully they do. I feel it will be much better if everyone let every else do what they want to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about the football player. Telling him to apologize is infringing on his free will, he claimed he isn't homophobic but he just refuses to represent the community because it is frowned upon by his religion. I don't like the fact that everything seems to be about the community lately but I have no problem with people doing as they want, it's a free world after all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I suppose they don't care about his belief and somehow feel his belief should be able to accommodate every thing else there is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and that's selfish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something else I want to ask you, how did you come about your name?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂, if I get $20 each time I was asked this question, what's 1 BCH I can't have?😂

Well, my nickname is Deee, Pensi means thought in French. It's basically a world of Deee's thoughts, a world of my thoughts.

What about you? How did you come about your username?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting. I take it you are a French enthusiast. Aimure is my real name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, then. I was taking a French course then so it influenced it.

I'm surprised it's your real name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder. Why? Does it seem foreign?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it does. It doesn't sound Nigerian

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not force ok but own people has own choice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right about that Mr. Shawon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If anybody don't like this color or dress committee will select another one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What baffles me in this particular case is that the football federation of the country/league has asked the player to apologise to the LGBTQ+ community, not the club he didn't play for,

All I can say is that the devil is at play and has been able to capture peoples mind via these kinds of things.

It's just absurd that he's be told to apologise by simply excusing himself based on his beliefs and opinion. Isn't that indirectly depriving him of his human rights?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do wonder. Not to mention that he's being forced to accept what he doesn't want to. Well, there's only so much I can change in the matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I heard of the PSG player who refused to wear the rainbow jersey in support of LGBTQ. Everyone one has the right to make his/her decision. And one can't be Forced to support what he is against. So telling him to apologize is nonsense

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was surprised to hear that too. Oh well, I guess freedom to express oneself means nothing no more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago